Bro, i`m actually looking for actual size light weight pully. But brand new very ex leh.. And also did think of decat too !!

eh... dun change the pulley lah... heard that it can be quite unsafe and screw up the ride even more...

• Replies 135

Lolz.. Bro, i`m not into performance stuff.. Just wish to make it more lighter when pickup. Any suggestions on cheap & good ways to do it ?

Better pick up uh, let's see... can think of lighten ur ride like

- remove spare tire

- change seats (to lighter seats lah)

- change to cf boot ect

- forged rims

- change to smaller tire (if u r on 235/245 change to 225 enough liao)

also can help by lighten the load at crank like

- change to lighten crank pulley (Perrin so far i feel is the lightest)

- change to w40 engine (if u r on w50 or w60)

also can help ur engine breath better by

- changing high flow filter

- de-cat (if ur ride has 2, de-cat 1 can already)

all the above mention can all help a little here & there & there is 1 method tt driver can feel the most effect is to have it tune (factory setting is too conservative)

btw, tt was how i started... did onli stock tune & the poison got into me :cry:

Edited by comics00

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

eh... dun change the pulley lah... heard that it can be quite unsafe and screw up the ride even more...

bro u hear who say? i change liao immediately can feel the effect, so far so good. give it few more mths see how. Oh! here i m of course talking abt exact size pulley, not those under size stuff.

check out the below

http://www.fastwrx.com/pulleys.html

http://perrinperformance.com/products/show/181/Lightened-Crank-Pulley-?category=4

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Hi bro, welcome to this thread :)

Thanx Bro!

Anyway, for better pickup, have u ever thot of converting to FWD? I know it defeats the purpose of a AWD but the pickup is much better and saves fuel. Handling wise is not that bad. 1 of the guys has done it and IMHO its quite impressive.

Do give it a thot.

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r116/navihawkk/owl.jpg

Winners Never Quit, Quitters Never Win !!

Really ar !! but wat`s e damage like ? How abt decat ?

1999 - TZR

2000 - TZM

2002 - Super4 V-tec 1 & KRR

2004 - R6 & Wave S

2005 - Y125Z

2007 - Subaru Impreza & X1-R..

Dun Ever Learn Mistakes Through Accident..!

Better pick up uh, let's see... can think of lighten ur ride like

- remove spare tire

- change seats (to little seats lah)

- change to cf boot ect

- forged rims

- change to smaller tire (if u r on 235/245 change to 225 enough liao)

also can help by lighten the load at crank like

- change to lighten crank pulley (Perrin so far i feel is the lightest)

- change to w40 engine (if u r on w50 or w60)

also can help ur engine breath better by

- changing high flow filter

- de-cat (if ur ride has 2, de-cat 1 can already)

all the above mention can all help a little here & there & there is 1 method tt driver can feel the most effect is to have it tune (factory setting is too conservative)

btw, tt was how i started... did onli stock tune & the poison got into me :cry:

I did think of removing my spare tyre but wat if out of sudden in need ? Lolz..

I`m still waiting for my friend to sell me his rex seat !

Bonnet i had change to e rex bonnet liao for better cooling from e scoop ! Haha..

I`m using e kyowa 17inc gold rims.

Engine oil now i`m using e cheapest in town ! CarLub - $28 for 5L

Pully & decat may be next project. Btw bro, u know where got to decat cheaper ? Cause i heard just knocking it out can cost abt $200++ !!!!!

1999 - TZR

2000 - TZM

2004 - R6 & Wave S

2005 - Y125Z

bro u hear who say? i change liao immediately can feel the effect, so far so good. give it few more mths see how. Oh! here i m of course talking abt exact size pulley, not those under size stuff.

check out the below

http://www.fastwrx.com/pulleys.html

http://perrinperformance.com/products/show/181/Lightened-Crank-Pulley-?category=4

I`m looking out in S.C.S see if got ppl wan to sell cheap cheap or not..

1999 - TZR

2000 - TZM

2004 - R6 & Wave S

2005 - Y125Z

Thanx Bro!

Anyway, for better pickup, have u ever thot of converting to FWD? I know it defeats the purpose of a AWD but the pickup is much better and saves fuel. Handling wise is not that bad. 1 of the guys has done it and IMHO its quite impressive.

Do give it a thot.

Bro, i had never think abt convert to FWD yet. Hee..

1999 - TZR

2000 - TZM

2004 - R6 & Wave S

2005 - Y125Z

Best mod save the money sell the car buy a faster one. Thats wat i did no regrets :)

Beating a Honda is like banging a fat chick. Everyone can do it but who wants to brag about it....

WELCOME TO THE DARKSIDE!!!

Best mod save the money sell the car buy a faster one. Thats wat i did no regrets :)

Its never ending... after a while you will think that your faster car is not fast anymore, then you gotta buy a faster car.

Sometimes, the fun and enjoyment is in the modding itself. Ppl riding hayabusa, the world fastest bike back then, also keep modding to make it faster... that's when money can't buy a faster bike :thumb:

Well e main thing i wan is to improve e pickup only cos Ts is heavy. I`m not into making it to go high speed in e shortest time or wan the "G" force. Cos normally i only drive ard 80km/h - 90km/h. I prefer to enjoy e ride n not e chill feel :p

1999 - TZR

2000 - TZM

2004 - R6 & Wave S

2005 - Y125Z

Thanx Bro!

Do give it a thot.

change to FWD pick up maybe faster but slower in & out of corner, less stable & u will loss the all other advantages of AWD handling :nono:

I did think of removing my spare tyre but wat if out of sudden in need ? Lolz..

I`m still waiting for my friend to sell me his rex seat !

Bonnet i had change to e rex bonnet liao for better cooling from e scoop ! Haha..

I`m using e kyowa 17inc gold rims.

Engine oil now i`m using e cheapest in town ! CarLub - $28 for 5L

Pully & decat may be next project. Btw bro, u know where got to decat cheaper ? Cause i heard just knocking it out can cost abt $200++ !!!!!

i removed my spare b'cos i have never needed it for the pass 10yrs driving in SG, furthermore we r on tubeless so tire won't go completely falt unless u leave it unattended for couple of days. btw if u have upgraded ur brakes then the spare tires prob will not fit anymore

$200++ for de-cat!!! boy that sound ex to me. i did my below $200 with DynoTech in Paya Ubi.

Edited by comics00

personnally modification of my ride is not all abt how fast it will go :dot: it is the process of seeing my car "grow" both in strenght & maturity. i m not the fastest (ohli 362bhp) on road but each time i can throw my ride into a corner & pull it out & far far away from cars much more powerful then my... the feeling is really satifying :thumb:

Totally agree. If only I can pluck money off the tree. At one point, felt regret trading my EH for this current ride, ts.. But wat the hey.. Overall just a good family sedan at best. No point doing mods on a ts. Unless u toking bout swapping to a 2.5 NA engine, at the end of the day, It's still a TS.

If ur ride's a Rex, then......

Current ride>>

motorcycle

Previous rides>>

Skateboard

Bicycle

Non-LTA approve electric bicycle

Skate Scooter

Bus no 11

change to FWD pick up maybe faster but slower in & out of corner, less stable & u will loss the all other advantages of AWD handling :nono:

Have u tried a FWD TS? I drove it before and its not as bad as i previously thot. FWD and AWD driving techniques are different so its not necessary true that its slower in and out of corner. For imprezza TS i m very sure it will be better but not for WRX or STI cos the torque is too much and FWD will probably cause it to lose traction (wheel spin?) when throttle is applied as compared to AWD.

Anyway, the rule of thumb of track is slow in and fast out. With FWD, faster pickup means faster out than a AWD. (With the correct driving technique). :)

Just my 2 cents worth.

Have u tried a FWD TS? I drove it before and its not as bad as i previously thot. FWD and AWD driving techniques are different so its not necessary true that its slower in and out of corner. For imprezza TS i m very sure it will be better but not for WRX or STI cos the torque is too much and FWD will probably cause it to lose traction (wheel spin?) when throttle is applied as compared to AWD.

Anyway, the rule of thumb of track is slow in and fast out. With FWD, faster pickup means faster out than a AWD. (With the correct driving technique). :)

Just my 2 cents worth.

bro, u r right diff setup requires diff skill set.

always this saying for taking corners - Slow in Fast out. Fast in never come out :lol:

personal experince (with my avg lvl limited driving skill) is AWD allows me to brake in for corners later & pull out earlier, more aggressive as i have more confident of its traction & less worry of over steer :thumb:

as for TS, sorry i have never own 1.

Speaking of subarus, i'll be putting my OPC hatchback wrx for sale on sgcarmart in the next few days. If anyone is interested or knows anybody interested please pm me.

End July 2008 car, 2.5 turbo 5-speed manual. 17 inch wedsport sa-70, fgk catback (no decat), opensource tuned by SPT, JIC lowering springs, cusco front strut bar, sti replica wing, steel braided brake hoses, aps intake. Will also give new owner stock exhaust, springs and wing. Mileage 35k.

Will be setting asking price on sgcarmart at 57.5k, negotiable of course.

Those who risk nothing, do nothing, achieve nothing, become nothing.

bro, u r right diff setup requires diff skill set.

always this saying for taking corners - Slow in Fast out. Fast in never come out :lol:

personal experince (with my avg lvl limited driving skill) is AWD allows me to brake in for corners later & pull out earlier, more aggressive as i have more confident of its traction & less worry of over steer :thumb:

as for TS, sorry i have never own 1.

Yupe... Just sharing my experience in a FWD TS which belongs to a friend of mine. :)

Anyway, Do u go track often? or anyone goes track in their Subaru here? I only go to Sepang now, dun really feel very safe in PG with the tires and walls so close, if u get what i mean. HaHa!

Its never ending... after a while you will think that your faster car is not fast anymore, then you gotta buy a faster car.

Sometimes, the fun and enjoyment is in the modding itself. Ppl riding hayabusa, the world fastest bike back then, also keep modding to make it faster... that's when money can't buy a faster bike :thumb:

For 1.5 hatchback got more choice on exhaust. Our bro " Dream Machine " is using Tanabe. U may wan to ask him abt it ;)

1999 - TZR

2000 - TZM

2004 - R6 & Wave S

2005 - Y125Z

i removed my spare b'cos i have never needed it for the pass 10yrs driving in SG, furthermore we r on tubeless so tire won't go completely falt unless u leave it unattended for couple of days. btw if u have upgraded ur brakes then the spare tires prob will not fit anymore

$200++ for de-cat!!! boy that sound ex to me. i did my below $200 with DynoTech in Paya Ubi.

I`m still on stock break. I think i`ll do e pully n see how first ;)

1999 - TZR

2000 - TZM

2004 - R6 & Wave S

2005 - Y125Z

personnally modification of my ride is not all abt how fast it will go :dot: it is the process of seeing my car "grow" both in strenght & maturity. i m not the fastest (ohli 362bhp) on road but each time i can throw my ride into a corner & pull it out & far far away from cars much more powerful then my... the feeling is really satifying :thumb:

wow bro, i saw ur ride in SCS..!! Black Knight !! Cool..

1999 - TZR

2000 - TZM

2004 - R6 & Wave S

2005 - Y125Z