Brudders, i noticed the COE for bikes is increasing over the years. COE for my 1st current bike 2 years+ ago is only about $500+, and now shoot up so drastically to the current $1.2k+.

For cars, latest COE now drop to only 9.6+ for 1600cc and below. Remember few years back it's like 20k+ to 40k+ just for one piece of paper.

Just soliciting opinions - in the next 3-4 months, what do u think the COE for bikes will be like? Swinging upscale or downscale? Will it hit 1.5k or drop back to 500?

• Replies 30

Hmm.. upward trend or downward trend im not sure. Seems like its still like rising in the near future cos of many new bike models coming up. However, the COE for bikes is at its peak currently. And im sure, what goes up must come down... but yet again you may never know.

De@th is Cert@in, Life is Not. Live life, ride s@fely.

2003 - Aprilia Extrema (FN649J) scrapped

2005 - TZM 150 (FP398Y) sold Dec '06

2005 - SP 150 (FT3783B) sold Oct '06

2006 - Wave S 125 (FU9094M) sold Jan '07

2006 - Aprilia RS250 (FP1807C) sold Nov '07

2006 - Hyper Vtec (FR6993D) sold Dec '07

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000

Hmm, the day COE hits 2k i think i prepare to sell bike and ride bicycle instead liao.

Is the current 1.2k the highest over the years? How much COE in the 90s?

can't compare 90s coe becoz LTA created shortages for cat D.

in the 90s, there r surpluses of 2,000 coe in cat D.

LTA is reducing coe for motorcyle every year n transferring it to car categories.

now demand is higher then supply, do your study.

when demand is high n supply is short, price will go up n up.

Bro Ronsonal,

1.6k u say?

Scarie man - hoping history doesn't repeat itself again (at least in the next 3 months or so time)

Bro stsoh,

Aiyo pls lah, i know my economies of scale lah.

Only thing u brought to my knowledge is that LTA transferring bike COE to car COE gradually year-by-year - this i didn't know.

If this is the case, then i think for bikes COE to revert back to 500+ is near impossible leh.

Originally posted by SW76@Dec 26 2006, 09:46 AM

Bro Ronsonal,

1.6k u say?

Scarie man - hoping history doesn't repeat itself again (at least in the next 3 months or so time)

yes, $1600... that was ard mar2000, FR plates.

in 2003 it once hit... $1. yes, ONE BUCK

Originally posted by Ronsonal@Dec 26 2006, 01:38 PM

yes, $1600... that was ard mar2000, FR plates.

in 2003 it once hit... $1. yes, ONE BUCK

I remembered hearing it on the news back then..

Bro Ronsonal,

1.6k u say?

Bro stsoh,

Aiyo pls lah, i know my economies of scale lah.

Only thing u brought to my knowledge is that LTA transferring bike COE to car COE gradually year-by-year - this i didn't know.

If this is the case, then i think for bikes COE to revert back to 500+ is near impossible leh.

sorry we do not call that economies of scale. its simple demand and supply. get educated.

i love dividends.

any unused COEs will be recycled, and not necessary in the same category. In the $1 bike COE days, dealers were just snapping up the COEs for the sake of convenience. Even if they didn't sell enough bikes, it was still cheap to let the COE lapsed. All these unused bike COEs were subsequently converted to car COEs.

Thanks for correcting me bro onefour02. Indeed you are the most educated among us all here. Need me to give you a 21 gun salute or not? Or would you prefer me to go on my knees to hail you as the greatest?

Bro, please input with constructive inputs and not mindless sparring of words as in the other thread - it really serves no purpose here in this forum. Thanks.

IMO ... COE price might go up nxt mth due 2 the increase in GST in Feb ... :sian:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/n687922172_4603.jpg

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

Originally posted by SW76@Dec 26 2006, 05:36 PM

Thanks for correcting me bro onefour02. Indeed you are the most educated among us all here. Need me to give you a 21 gun salute or not? Or would you prefer me to go on my knees to hail you as the greatest?

Bro, please input with constructive inputs and not mindless sparring of words as in the other thread - it really serves no purpose here in this forum. Thanks.

sorry, i just couldnt help it, found u beyond stupidity, esp in the 'money matters' question and ur theories.

i will not do it again. cheers.

i love dividends.

Hi Bro onefour02, your "sorry" is accepted and forgiven. Actually i pity you for your poor upbringing. Unless you learn to take critism in good stride, i'm afraid you won't go far in your career. You should try not be so narrow-hearted, else i think you will be better off wearing a skirt sorry to say this. Young man like you should be more controlled, and not so rash and quick-tempered.

Good luck to you then.

Originally posted by J73@Dec 27 2006, 03:11 AM

IMO ... COE price might go up nxt mth due 2 the increase in GST in Feb ... :sian:

there's always a silver lining.

coe will come down after the gst increase ;)

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

One of my colleague’s contractors commented that we can expect a drop in COE premiums for cars right after CNY period. His reasoning is simple: Most new car owners will want to own a car before the festive CNY period so that they can drive around visit relatives. So bidding will most likely exceed quota = High COE premiums. After CNY, those whom want to get a new car would have gotten, so now the demand will be low, resulting in quota exceed bidding = Low COE premiums. This sounds logical enough.

Just wondering - how about for bikes? This theory if apply to bikes, sounds a bit err “weird”. Does any one tries to buy new bike just before festive periods? Is there such a need to?

Originally posted by SW76@Dec 28 2006, 04:07 PM

One of my colleague’s contractors commented that we can expect a drop in COE premiums for cars right after CNY period. His reasoning is simple: Most new car owners will want to own a car before the festive CNY period so that they can drive around visit relatives. So bidding will most likely exceed quota = High COE premiums. After CNY, those whom want to get a new car would have gotten, so now the demand will be low, resulting in quota exceed bidding = Low COE premiums. This sounds logical enough.

Just wondering - how about for bikes? This theory if apply to bikes, sounds a bit err “weird”. Does any one tries to buy new bike just before festive periods? Is there such a need to?

very true ppl would have to purchase their cars before CNY.

not sure about bikes, maybe year end bonuses would increase sales.

i love dividends.

Originally posted by SW76@Dec 27 2006, 10:47 AM

Hi Bro onefour02, your "sorry" is accepted and forgiven. Actually i pity you for your poor upbringing. Unless you learn to take critism in good stride, i'm afraid you won't go far in your career. You should try not be so narrow-hearted, else i think you will be better off wearing a skirt sorry to say this. Young man like you should be more controlled, and not so rash and quick-tempered.

Good luck to you then.

only words of successful ppl carry weight. :cheer:

i love dividends.

However, who bids for bike COE? Isn't it just the dealers? Don't think owners will bid for it themselves?

Are they (dealers) competing among themselves to get COE, in time for 2007 new bikes? Or is it that the COE bikes that are expiring soon (late FN-FP plates) are all the 400ccs, which are still widely popular in S'pore and hence not de-registered, reducing the overall COE quota for bikes?

Email guay_hansen @hotmail.com

My blog at snowparang.blogdrive.com

http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/79866156/medium.jpg http://www.pbase.com/snowparang/image/95749015/original.jpg

Originally posted by snowparang@January 01, 2007 02:28 am

However, who bids for bike COE? Isn't it just the dealers? Don't think owners will bid for it themselves?

Are they (dealers) competing among themselves to get COE, in time for 2007 new bikes? Or is it that the COE bikes that are expiring soon (late FN-FP plates) are all the 400ccs, which are still widely popular in S'pore and hence not de-registered, reducing the overall COE quota for bikes?

i think can ownself bid 1.

every month got ppl try their luck go bid $1.

i love dividends.