[Trip Report] 12 days North Thailand on Magna 250, 4 Feb to 15 Feb 2011

This is my 12 days solo journey to North Thailand riding my Magna250.

I’d like to thanks:

- MC & Veron for lending me GPS

- Paul for the cigg socket charger

- Information from Paul & Daniel

This trip is dedicated to Elvin & Sam.

Special thanks to Sam for calling me when I couldn’t find any wifi or internet café at Ayutthaya & Chumphon. :thumb:

The link to my photos -

http://cold68.multiply.com/

What are the things I have/need

1. My steel-horse of course, Magna250.

2. My guide – map

3. My Navigator – GPS

save me the hassle of being 'routed' to Bangkok, managed to get out of Ayutthaya :)

4. My companion by day – MP3

5. My companion by night – SPY wine cooler

6. My best friend forever, BFF …………

http://cold68.multiply.com/photos/album/19#photo=1

:cool::cool::cool:

Last but not least….. THE RIDER – that’s me, kekekekee, to complete the mission.

12 DAYS SOLO RIDE TO NORTH THAILAND – 4 Feb ~ 15 Feb 2011

Traveled On Motorbike (TOM)

My route

http://cold68.multiply.com/photos/album/19#photo=17

Day 1 – Singapore to Hatyai

I left Singapore @ 3am. Into Singapore custom going to Malaysia,

I’ve forget to bring my cash card and proceeded to the office to make payment with the smallest note I’ve is $5.

As the counter officer does not have any change, she let me go FOC. (Probably she top-up herself)

I was feeling good riding as I’m the only person riding in at the moment, without any hassle or waiting. :)

The weather was good after a week of non-stop raining, cooling all the way until the last part from Semanggol to Bt Kayu Hitam which was freaking hot….

I met Steve, a kaki at Semanggol while talking to a rider (kudos!) also from Singapore riding Pulsar on a P-plate going to Penang.

The Sadao custom was packed and it took Steve & me around 2 hours to have our passport stamped and bike imported.

As I rode into Hatyai, I called Paul who was already there to help to book a hotel room as it was almost full.

Booked into BP Grand hotel for 1600B (festive season) & the most expensive hotel I stayed thru my whole trip. :(

Have steamboat dinner with Paul & Justin, then we chilled at DEEP POINT.

The guys proceeded to Balihai while I went back to my hotel to rest and prepared for tomorrow journey….

Copy of P1000347(1).jpg

P1000821(1).jpg

P1000820(1).jpg

P1000815(1).jpg

P1000105(1).jpg

money(1).jpg

Edited by tom cool
  • Replies 7

Day 2 Hatyai - Hua Hin

I left early in the morning 7am (Sg time], The weather was cool.

I like to leave early in the morning, so that I've ample time to explore the town and can decide where I want to go.

Rode thru Chumphon, Surat. Reached Hua Hin around 6pm.

When I came into Hua Hin, a 2-way lanes. The cars opposite sometimes would cut into the lanes while overtaking feew cars at a time. So need to be focus and when they do that, I'll ride on the road shoulder.

Witness an accident between an Ang Mo lady motorcyclist and local car driver. Help is there with the lady's leg bleeding. Can't help much either, so I proceed to Hua Hin town.Check with the hotel 1600B, only lefft Deluxe room and above. I proceed and booked into Subhamitra hotel which cost 980B. Aircon room.

Inside the room, aircon not working with only fan. #$%$#&*#

Felt Hua Hin expense is on the high side, probably due to many tourists expecially the Ang Mos like to come here.

Hua Hin was crowded with travellers, many shops and night activities. I had my dinner at Burger King & watching the crowds. Been here before, so not much of sightseeing and went back to my hotel to rest for the night.

Day 3 - Hua Hin to TAK

From Hua to TAK, I spent 1 to 2 hours to navigate to ensure I do not entered Bangkok. It'd be hard for me to get out of Bangkok as my sense of direction is poor.

There were few confusing signs I encountered and I've to ask the local for direction which they're willing to guide me though with some language difficulty. :)

I stopped at Suphan buri for lunch when I see the KFC sign. hahahahaa.

Before reaching TAK 5km, I was caught unaware of the gravel road.

Booked into a resort hotel, words in Thai, only for 350B. That's value for money.

It was a quiet town and not much things in TAK. Next destination.....Mae Hong Son.

P/S: Problem with photo attachment

P1000074a_resize.JPG

P1000081_resize.jpg

P1000094_resize_resize.JPG

P1000114_resize_resize.JPG

P1000120_resize_resize.JPG

P1000128_resize_resize.JPG

Edited by tom cool

Day 4 - TAK to MHS

Before riding to MHS, I taped my top box to prevent it from opening as I was told the road from Mae Sot to Mae Hong Son would go thru some nasty potholes where one is unable to avoid.

I started to ride to Mae Sot early in the morning with an empth stomach. Out of TAK & I turned to the Thai-Myanmar friendship bridge towards Mae Sot.

Beginning of the road, I've already encountered those minor potholes and sandy road that I rode with caution to avoid skidding.

As I went further into Mae Sot up to the mountain, I felt cold & weak which impaired the handling of my bike. I stopped by the side of the road and have some red wine which I bought along. It made me feel much better.

Learning point is one should not started the ride with an empty stomach. The road condition was good and I love the ride.

Reaching the intersection of Mae Sot & MHS, I've my petrol refilled and my breakfast - iced coffee and brownie to fill up my energy level.

Continue my ride into Mae Sariang, the atmosphere, the road was inviting, love the ride even more and I came upon the refugee huts. It was remoted to town and along the stretch of road there were road block here and there to check on immigrant. I've no problem going thru.

Happily as I rode for 100km, I came across the nasty road condition - potholes here & there. No cow dungs though...it was bad enough that my Magna keep shaking for some distance, in term of tens or hundred km. #@$#%$%. :sian:

I also came across the gravel & sandy road, this isn't as bad as the potholes.

Refilled my petrol (I'd refilled every 150km cos my tank is small, 11litres), notice some kup kia have those jelly-can filled with petrol, likely their bikes were unable to cover the long distance.

Reached Mae Sariang, a beautiful town and had my lunch of pork & GLUTINOUS rice o_O.

From here I proceed to MHS. It has many nice curves, upslope, downslope, steep, hairpin curves...and then I came upon the potholes again #$%#$%$.

Finally potholes over and I enjoyed the ride. Never in my mind would I believe I'd encountered those potholes again:cry:

One'll never know when the potholes will start & end, just like life that has its ups & downs. It came to a point that I almost gave up riding thru the potholes - I rode at a slow speed of 40 - 60kmh :sian:

I reached MHS & booked into Panaroma hotel, 500B and found my windshield support broke from the vibration of my bike going thru the numerous potholes. -_-"

I did some shopping at the pasar malam. In the middle of shopping, there was blackout for a good half an hour.

Day 5 - MHS - PAI

I woke up late the next day as my next destination, PAI which was only 160km and I intended to stay there. Recee for the commerce chamber building to get the certification and stickers. :)

It was cold in the morning, less than 10 DegC.

The road was much the same as MHS, with many curves here and there but not so much of potholes :)

I reached PAI in the afternoon & booked in to Brook View resort 600B. I love the room, cosy and not too big. I parked my bike infront of my room.

Explored the town and visited WATS & temples.

When I came back, the resort staff passed me 2 candles and told me there was blackout -_-". But at least the service was good that they gave me 2 candles once I reached the hotel.

So I had a romantic night by myself in the room.....haiz

Next destination----Chiang Mai

Edited by tom cool

Day 6 - PAI to Chiang Mai

I left early in the morning 8am from PAI to Chiang Mai. The weather was freezing cold, probably below 10degC.

I couldn't take the cold and have to change my fingerless gloves to full gloves.

The road condition along the mountain was good and nice to ride with lots of curves. At one point, saw a herd of cows and as I stopped to take photos, the cows also stopped. They U-turn after sensing I've stopped quite sometime (to take out my camera). It amused me, the cows were much afraid of human.

I rode past Huai Nam Dang National Park and made a U-turn to visit. Paid 60B, foreigner is 200B but the ticket staff charged me 60B. 200B most probably is for those Ang Mos travelled in bus-load as I've seen them inside the park.

Took some scenic view and as I rode further in, I sensed I was not in the right direction as the road was gravel road that is slightly wider than narrow plank. Made a u-turn upslope and stopped in the middle to tke photos.

Disaster struck after taking the photos. As I was about to move-off, my bike has no power and the engine dies off the moment I released my clutch. Restarted my bike few times till the battery flat and I couldn't get my bike moving. It stuck halfway upslope, can't go up & can't go down, so I decided to park my bike and walked about 300m upslope to seek for help.

Lucky saw the local lady and seek help from her. She sensed I was tired & exhausted, kind if in a dire strait moment, she offered me a drink... I was touched by the small gesture.

A garbage truck passed by & the lady told them what happened to my bike. 3 of the men went to my bike and helped to reverse my bike to 'push start' downslope. I rode for 2km before I could find a spot for me to U-turn, riding scrambler style on a cruiser.

1st gear, full throttle all the way up with my leg as a pivot to turn the bike. Finally managed to get my bike out of the nasty situation. Thanks the lady & 3 men with 500B as a small token of appreciation.

Explored a while before I move-out of Huai Nam Dang and to Chiang Mai.

Chiang Mai was freaking hot in the afternoon, 30+degC. Got a slight fever, vomit and diarrhoea. Fever probably due to the temperature changed from cold (PAI) all the way to Chiang Mai getting hot.

Did not explore much in Chiang Mai as I as not feeling well. Took panadol and rested.

Tomorrow see how I feel before deciding where to go - Chiang Rai, Mae Sai or Bangkok to go back.......

Edited by tom cool

Day 7 - Chiang Mai to Golden Triangle

I was feeling better after a good night rest, else I either stayed one more night in Chiang Mai or rode back home. Doesn't feel good feeling sick in a foreign land.

Chiang Mai was cold in the morning and I was shivering leaving Chiang Mai going towards Chiang Rai taking the route 107 Mae Teang to Fang, then cut thru the less travelled road route 109.

I love route 109, not many vehicles and it was like I own the road.

Reached Chiang Rai & stopped for lunch - char siew rice. Not bad but the gravy was too much making it too sweet for me.

Chiang Rai town was kind of same as Chiang Mai and I decided to proceed to Mae Sai. Mae Sai is border of Myanmar.

I rode into the custom, thinking it was another town. The custom officer told me to park my bike & stamp my passport. While parking, I saw the sign 'Union of Myanmar' & told the officer that I'm not going to Myanamr. He laughed it off and told me kindly to U-turn...hahahaaaaa

I went to the 2nd Thai-Myanmar friendship bridge which is not far, took photo and I proceeded to Golden Triangle.

15km before Golden Triangle, the road was dusty. It'll be bad if it rains cause making the road muddy & slippery.

I stayed in Baan Thai resort, 800B. Big & spacious. I liked it though is 800B which come with free breakfast.

The receptionist service was good. Told me only 1 guest here beside me as the hotel was new when I asked her how many people stayed here.

Explored Golden Triangle and took the motorised sampan, 400B across LAOS for sightseeing & shopping. Bought a 'LAOS' T-shirt. Entering LAOS need to pay 20B.

Many children beggars, I did not give because once you gave a child, the others would flocked around.

Day 8 - Golden Triangle to Phrae

I rode to Teong, NAN to Chiang Kham thru route 1148. Route 1148 is as challenging as MHS. Reached NAN for lunch, a residence selling home cooked food. Very nice, better than all those days which I took Phad Thai, fried rice...

Since it was still early, I proceed to Phrae. Reached Phrae almost night time. Went to have my dinner and had my first massage for the trip to soothe my aching body.

Phrae is a small town, not much night activities very quiet....

Edited by tom cool

Day 9 - Phrae to Ayutthaya

Leave Phrae to Ayutthaya thru Uttharadit, Nakhon Sawan, UThai Thani, Ang Thong.

Rode past Nakhon Sawan & recee abit since it looked like a big town. Was kind of lost and find the traffic congested.

Saw an old chinese temple and took a photo of it. An old taxi driver approached me and had some conversation. Told him I'm going to Ayutthaya. He gave me the direction but somehow I felt he wasn't sincered. Rode a few metres asked a group of young men & I was right. Had to u-turn back...

The road to Ayutthaya was all the way straight highway, like NSHW but it doesn't bored me. Probably my time time riding so far.

Reached Ayutthaya and stayed in Promsook Place hotel 600B. Receptionist gave me the wifi password that doesn't work and they don't even bother to solve it...

worst is there is one pc for rent but the hotel staff using it. told them i'll back 2 hrs later @ 9pm & they said ok. when the time i came down, another staff using it. they told me non-chalant that still not available, talk about service -_-"

So day9 no communication to my friends thru fb...

Day 10 - Ayutthaya to Chumphon

I rode to the ancient WATS historical park. There were quite a no. of ancient WATs. Some has dilapidaed while others still in good condition.

I love the WAT BOROKA BUDDHA RAM where there is a buddha in this WAT, the only one I found. The place feel very calm & zen.

After visiting the WATs, I left for Chumphon. It was frustrated at first that I'd to go round and round trying to avoid Bangkok. Finally with the help of GPS, I managed to ride on the right track.

I felt very good riding on this day, very warmth cos I met 2 season S'pore hindi riders, riding a Varadero 1000 with stickers all over his windshield and boxes & A yellow Goldwing - had only 2 mins chat with them at a petrol kiosk in Kui Buri but is enough to warm my heart. It's a good feeling to know local people in a foreign land, at least I don't feel being 'the lonely one' hahahaa

Few km away, saw another rider, Kennthe from Kruse riding Fazer 1000 along the way.

I saw him stopped along Pranchuan Khiri Khan, so I decided to stop and have some chat wwith him since this stretch of road the cross wind was heavy.

He was on a 5-day solo trip to Bangkok and going back to Hatyai. Told him I'll stopover at Chumphon because my bike will take logner time to reach Hatyai and it'd be night by the time. We bid each other goodbye and went our separate way.

Chumphon town was 'modern'. It has Makro aka Ikea, Tesco & Carrefour. I still couldn't find any Wifi or internet cafe here. 2 days without communication -_-"

I felt uneasy without communication - at least to let my family know my location.

I was very happy that my friend, Sam called me to find how am I when I did not post. Told him my situation & asked him to post on my behlaf of where I was & I'm doing fine. Felt a sense of relief and truly appreciated what Sam has done :)

Guess life is very much difference during the 80's where a computer is considered rich & solid stuff...i can't even afford the cheapest pc then.

Day 11 - Chumphon to Hatyai

Today had an early breakfast, FOC from the hotel. Oh yes, I love this hotel 400B aircon, is like a landed property where I can parked my bike just in front of my room but too bad no water point, else I can wash my bike. heheheheee

Rode all the way to Hatyai, nothing much.....while riding towards Surat Thani, saw the sign going to Krabi, Phangnga, Phuket, was thinking should I detoured...

hmmm, next time bah.

Along the way, it drizzled, the first sight of rain I encountered during my ride in Thailand.

It was 5pm or 6pm when I reached Hatyai, my bike engine temperature lighted up, probably due to the congested traffic (later back in Sg, found my coolant pump faulty, got it replaced) & I managed to find the nearest hotel - New World Hotel 550B. So so only, old hotel with a mouldy smell...

Walked around Hatyai, is very commericialise. It's Valentine Day but not really that happening or romantic night. Went to surf Internet @ Lee Garden shopping mall. Expensive 50B/hr. Bought myself some snack & SPY wine cooler back to my hotel for the night...........

Day 12 - Hatyai & back home

Left Hatyai at 10am and planning to stay in Cameron Highlands as not to tired myself out.

Cleared custom smoothly as it was a Tuesday. Stopped at Semanggol for KFC lunch :)

Took my time riding, near to Cameroon Highlands at 3pm and I saw the sky doesn't looked good...dark clouds over the area. Decided not to stop at Cameron Highlands, doesn't like to ride in the rain uphill or downhill.

At KLIA, heavy downpour with lightning & thunder. I stopped at the shelter with some local riders. Feel it'll rain thru the night and I decided to rode home slowly. Visibility was only about 50m.

Lucky around Dengkil, I've passed the raining clouds, else I'll be stuck underneath the overhead bridge till the cows come home...guess I made a correct decision.

Reached 1st link and it was already dark at night, 11pm. Washed my bike, had my dinner cum supper Wanton mee before I headed back Singapore. Totally shagged but not out :)

The link to my video I've made...

http://cold68.multiply.com/video/item/47/12_Days_Solo_North_Thailand

Tom Cool

Edited by tom cool