Originally posted by recko@Feb 7 2006, 03:16 PM

I'm a newbie here, just got my GTS200 for abt a mth. Recently found something unusual at the rear wheel. The disc seems to be producing a grinding sound against "something" (I'm not sure how to describe it, it is like a "holder" to the disc. Is that the brake? Hehe... look your own bike and you'll know what I mean). I've tried listening to it when I parked my bike on main-stand and throttle a little to make the rear wheel spin. It's quite clear in a quiet environment.

Wonder if such thing ever happens to the front one. It only happened on recently, not sure why also. Anyone facing the same problem? And what could be the cause of it? :confused:

since yours is a new bike why dun you push back to the shop and ask them to check the rear brake for you?

no active trips since 2006

• Replies 4.1k

Ya, i'll do that, posting the qns here is just to check if anyone is facing the same problem as me. Tks for the advise. :smile:

I don't blame people who doesn't show courtesy, they just didn't get taught on how to do so.

i have tat problem too .. but i THINK it's e front wheel. when i apply brake, e sound is gone. sometimes i hear the sound, sometimes i dont :confused:

hello people...

I hear it too....its the brake pads that "fit" on the disc while working.

I never had such a "problem" - which is not - with other scooters I had before.

Its probably the material they are made of.

The problem would be if it was due to the wheel's center - where the bearings are.

But in that case you could feel the whole system vibrate

Another thing to add, free play on rear brake lever is abt 60mm(max), comparing to the front one is abt 20mm~25mm(max). :sian:

I don't blame people who doesn't show courtesy, they just didn't get taught on how to do so.

I've checked with the mechanic from the bike shop I bought my bike from, he says it's perfectly normal. Reason is because of the material of the brake pads, not a problem at all. I think besides this so called "problem" I had, this bike is perfectly fine. I getting very used to riding it already, very very satisfied with it!!! :cheer:

Originally posted by wolverlne@Feb 6 2006, 09:55 AM

the rear is unstable sometimes when turning. going over uneven ground like those roads that you can see lines of unevenness .. front/rear is unstable.

I guess if there's nothing wrong with your bike, quite likely it's that you are not used to its weight, so when it comes to cornering, even if it's a slight bend, you might experience some problems. I used to ride a cub which is abt 60kg lighter than my GTS. I experienced the same thing during the initial stage when I got my GTS, after which I got more control over it and apparently, it doesn't happens to me anymore even with a pillion. All the best to ya... :goodluck:

Originally posted by dezzypoon@Feb 11 2006, 04:55 AM

Yo yo, just got a deal at 4.8kOTR for a 4mth old GTS200. worth it or not?:confused:

for that price yes i find it worth it...

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC

Originally posted by Yzf_R1@Feb 11 2006, 06:19 AM

for that price yes i find it worth it...

I agree, go for it man! :thumb:

thx mates!!! :bounce:

will be going to confirm my bike today. hope to catch up n learn more from you lao jiao guys! GTX200 rocks!!!!!:cheer:

anybody got the services specs for GTS?

If you are going easy, you are going downhill.

wah, the bike very shiok man, stable n super comfy.

Power also not too bad. My gf also likes it. :lovestruck: :cheer:

Looking for accessories, anybody knows where to find them? :smile:

I'm looking for it also... :smile:

Well.. Basically the ppl here seldom come out anymore.. And only if some questions are being posted then they will reply.. Welcome to the club man.. :mad:

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC

Originally posted by Yzf_R1@Feb 20 2006, 04:08 AM

Well.. Basically the ppl here seldom come out anymore.. And only if some questions are being posted then they will reply.. Welcome to the club man.. :mad:

Haha, I'm also wondering why is it so quite here. Anyway, I would think that if there are problems or lack of knowledge with the vehicle, that's when ppl will start to post everywhere.

I've been riding it for a month plus, finished running in within 2weeks, right now getting ready for my 2000km servicing, so far so good, other than those doubts which I had previously, this babe is perfectly alright. :cheer:

:smile: good on ya recko. I just got mine too. The bike is smooth and stable, just nice for me i guess. I'm still waiting for the bike shop to get me the 42L box, have been waiting for more than a wk already. I'm just wondering, will the bike ooks funny with a 48L box? Is a 36L box enuff? Cos the bike shop only got this 2 now lor....:confused:

also, looking to get a backrest. Anyone knows where to get it?:confused: :confused: :help:

Yzf_R1: howz your bike doing? U did got the bike for quite awhile liao:cheeky:

Mine is a 46L Kappa box, looks juz nice cuz the bike is big. I think 48L should be fine as well, my previous bike which was a cub kia uses a 48L and it looks fine to me too (maybe not for the public :sweat: ). The backrest can get from L.A.B., he's selling ard $30 - $35 includes installation. It's a GIVI one, it comes with a bag, I recycled it and use it to store both mine and my wife's raincoat... :cheeky:

Originally posted by dezzypoon@Feb 21 2006, 10:13 AM

Is a 36L box enuff?

Provided you do not have that many stuffs to put in, one helmet just nice. For me, under the seat I got one helmet, a bag of raincoats which I've mentioned earlier, bike cover, a 500ml waterbottle, some tools and rags, streetdirectory+insurance+logcard in a small pouch and my wife's windbreaker. Then inside the 46L box only contains my helmet, so while riding, it's empty...:smile:

You are welcome. Go at the right time to avoid the crowd. :smile:

went to wonderful motor juz now..ask botak to check my suspension coz find my ride rather bumpy even though is tighten to the fullest le...after some checking...he say my kantong gone case liao...but he can try to repair...i was like huh? kantong can repair de meh? he say he can try...not doubting his abilities..but he say if wana change a new set gotta order n wait..it will cost me abt 200 bucks..any 1 here encounter the same prob? botak din charge me anything for the checking...any change suspension for joyride b4?

some bring joy wherever they go; others, whenever they go

today, saw a silver GTS200 FBA11** parked besides me 2 Adelphi basement carpark! Noticed that his speed meter at max when bike is off!!! How come ah? Spoil already izzit? :smile:

Is it possible to put a backrest and fix a box at the same time? Can box open or not?:confused:

Originally posted by numark83@Feb 21 2006, 03:45 PM

went to wonderful motor juz now..ask botak to check my suspension coz find my ride rather bumpy even though is tighten to the fullest le...after some checking...he say my kantong gone case liao...but he can try to repair...i was like huh? kantong can repair de meh? he say he can try...not doubting his abilities..but he say if wana change a new set gotta order n wait..it will cost me abt 200 bucks..any 1 here encounter the same prob? botak din charge me anything for the checking...any change suspension for joyride b4?

sorry mate, can't help u there. Just got my 1st bike. :cheeky: :goodluck:

ur bike is GTS200 or joyride????