i am looking for an auto gear bike. Anyone can tell me which is the CHEAPEST one in the markert? Badly looking for one. My phantom dying on me... Thanks...

• Replies 4.1k

Originally posted by jerms@Sep 28 2004, 05:27 PM

i am looking for an auto gear bike. Anyone can tell me which is the CHEAPEST one in the markert? Badly looking for one. My phantom dying on me... Thanks...

Which brand u have in mind?

13Jun05 - 21Jul06 Joyride 172cc. Mileage=31050

21Jul06..... TA200. Mileage=3200

MSN = [email protected]

me went to the SYM service centre at eunos ave 3 liao today...The EFI looks good sia...Anyway, test ride the joyride 172 cc..Wah comfortable ! First time I ride auto bike ...really very different from gear bike...starting to like auto bikes...

The service centre so far not in operations yet..I saw the boss and a sales engineer named Glenn. Nice guy I would say..Friendly and helpful. Think if you go question abt the bike can call him and find out.

He recommended me to a few appointed retail shops by sym but so far the price seemed abit steep...So me also dilemma now ...originally wanted to buy from Ban hon but then he told me something...then me now in the middle ...don know what to do..hahaha...

Anyway will ask around somemore to confirm before buying the bike.

Leave the politics aside...think the bike really worth to buy if the price don shoot up to 6k plus..if not will face competition from x8 considering just a $1000++ difference only....

Thats all at the moment..

I oso saw the efi version(black), but at Bukit merah and the Motord show. The rider seat got 3 adjustable position. the windshield slightly higher than joyride. better protection. :smile:

u make me curious wat they tell u leh. :cheeky:

MSN = [email protected]

Hi Guys...

bought my joyride liao...getting it this wed ! Haha..manage to sell off my Sp at a higher price too ! Look forward to meeting you all for a gathering !

Originally posted by inovator@Oct 3 2004, 11:17 PM

Hi Guys...

bought my joyride liao...getting it this wed ! Haha..manage to sell off my Sp at a higher price too ! Look forward to meeting you all for a gathering !

Welcome to the scooter world. :cheer:

:btw: Which version of the Joyride you bought. :confused:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by inovator@Oct 3 2004, 11:17 PM

Hi Guys...

welcome welcome :smile:

So you brought from Ban hon?

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

Originally posted by Scarab@Oct 3 2004, 11:24 PM

Welcome to the scooter world. :cheer:

:btw: Which version of the Joyride you bought. :confused:

Bought the joyride 172cc....Actually wanted to buy the new EFI version but then LTA have not clear the bike yet and then its also much more expensive....

Originally posted by inovator@Oct 3 2004, 11:34 PM

Bought the joyride 172cc....Actually wanted to buy the new EFI version but then LTA have not clear the bike yet and then its also much more expensive....

As long as you comfortable with the scooter, it's fine. :smile:

I sure gentoro will be glad to have another joyride here. :cheeky:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by kennyseaw@Oct 3 2004, 11:33 PM

welcome welcome :smile:

So you brought from Ban hon?

no....bought it at Mah motors...they gave me a better price for my SP then got IU included in the joyride...So bought it from them cos did some calculations and found it to be cheaper overall to buy from them...Really want to thank you for the advice you have given me for the past 2 weeks since I was scouting around for an affordable scooter....Btw, where can I get a good alarm...tried to get MAH to give it to me but they wont budge....hehe

Bro, When you park with main stand. Your alarm will always goes off. No point getting an alarm unless your area very dangerous. Btw, read you manual, you get to know some particular tip[ about the bike on moving off on slope or settng your timer and alarm. WELCOME! :cheeky:

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

Originally posted by gentoro@Oct 4 2004, 08:54 AM

Bro, When you park with main stand. Your alarm will always goes off. No point getting an alarm unless your area very dangerous. Btw, read you manual, you get to know some particular tip[ about the bike on moving off on slope or settng your timer and alarm. WELCOME! :cheeky:

Hi gentoro !

I din know the joyride comes with alarm ?? btw, I am a third year student at NUS...Saw the earlier threads that you work around here ..so maybe we can meet up after I get my bike then you can give me some pointers ! Thanks !

Hi Guys...

got my joyride today..so far so good...then my manual is in english then I intend to scan the whole manual for all who needs it...let me know if you need it..should be done by this weekend. Sb_rider I send a copy to you k cos the one you send me is in chinese think read in english may get rid of some ambiguity...

Originally posted by inovator@Oct 6 2004, 09:18 PM

Hi Guys...

got my joyride today..so far so good...then my manual is in english then I intend to scan the whole manual for all who needs it...let me know if you need it..should be done by this weekend. Sb_rider I send a copy to you k cos the one you send me is in chinese think read in english may get rid of some ambiguity...

ok. thanks in advance. remember to do your service at 300km. change engine oil and transmision oil.

MSN = [email protected]

Here is the address of

Sym Service Centre

BLK 1039, Eunos Avenue 3,

#01-114.

Tel : 67461898, Fax : 67461891

Today newspaper ads.

Sym Joyride 200 EFI selling at $6999.

Low downpayment and interest 3.5%.

think 6999 only machine cost....I kind of ask around before buying the 172cc...the EFI actuall cost around 7.3-7.6k....so actually quite expensive....I thought...but quite nice especially the black color one !

Originally posted by inovator@Oct 9 2004, 11:38 PM

think 6999 only machine cost....I kind of ask around before buying the 172cc...the EFI actuall cost around 7.3-7.6k....so actually quite expensive....I thought...but quite nice especially the black color one !

Think so ba. Saw the pic on the paper that it had a backrest for pillion too.

Originally posted by chua_chee_keong@Oct 9 2004, 11:43 PM

Think so ba. Saw the pic on the paper that it had a backrest for pillion too.

Price too ex. for such a small scooter, efi may cost more problem too :sian:

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

Originally posted by kennyseaw@Oct 10 2004, 08:40 AM

Price too ex. for such a small scooter, efi may cost more problem too :sian:

You mean the fuel injection part :confused:

Originally posted by chua_chee_keong@Oct 10 2004, 12:54 PM

You mean the fuel injection part :confused:

some other reason too, but must try then know lor :smile:

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

Originally posted by inovator@Oct 9 2004, 11:38 PM

Hi, hv rcv your manual. The manual is similiar with mine with some more updated info in it. like type of engine oil & transmission oil to use etc. mine dont hv. haha. Thanks. :smile:

MSN = [email protected]

Originally posted by sb_rider@Oct 11 2004, 04:53 PM

Hi, hv rcv your manual. The manual is similiar with mine with some more updated info in it. like type of engine oil & transmission oil to use etc. mine dont hv. haha. Thanks. :smile:

Yap better right...but then I go to change my transmission and engine oil today at tai hin liao...The engine oil they change castrol r4 for me...think its SAE 10-50...then the transmission oil I don even know what they change for me...Cost $24 then service ok.

Btw, do you load the bike with alot of things? Cos I think my high petrol consumption got to do with my load...Currently, I bring 2 helmets, 2 raincoats and my bag weigh around 3-4kg...so total should be loading the bike with 15kg +- weight...

i dont ting they hv the type of transmission oil 4 this bike. cos most of the bike shop i went oso dont carry this grade of oil. it's more common 4 cars. i still hv some transmision oil left if u 1 2 change.

going home liao, see ya.

MSN = [email protected]