Originally posted by yohji@Sep 28 2004, 09:11 PM

Agree ... waste money only, summore if P-Plate kena stolen, waste even more money!

Some pple see P-Plate, the more they want to bully!

haha ya loh...they think p-plate all very scared easily :sweat:

April 2004 - June 2005 : Honda NSR150SP

June 2005 - August 2006 : Honda RVF400 NC35

August 2006 - Present : Yamaha YZF-R1

• Replies 133

again, whats the final word?

i think the idea of getting the bike instructor to pillion the class3 trainee in the circuit and outside along some routes would be good. some theory lessons on the vulnerability of bikes would be neat too.

again, if you are going to bring these cases to parliament it would be best not to ask for too much. our current system is working quite nicely for the people upstairs. asking for a revamp is too much and resistance would be alot of ohms, asking for tweaks would be advisable.

Sep'04 - Nov'05 (1yr, 2mths): NSR150SP (FR2577Z)

Nov'05 - Dec'06 (1yr, 1mths): GSX400R (FJ6410L)

Dec'06 - Sep'08 (1yr, 9mths): CBR929RR (FS3851U)

Sep'08 - Mar'12 (3yr, 5mths): TA200 (FV4581B)

Mar'12 - ???????????????????: GL200R (FBE5662G)

2b den class 3 or class 3 den 2b all the same to me la

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c273/JieLiang3284/20082008_010.jpg

To some they are neither here nor there, Some how we are still some where. One day we will eventually get there - JL 060608.

Hi all.

I thk the easiest and the most likely to succeed change we can push for is to modify the class 3 lessons.

Without thinking too far, I thk driving schools shd:-

1) lenghten the part on "OTHER ROAD USERS" on the theory lessons and empathsize more on 2 wheelers, when I took the driving lessons, only 15 min was devoted to "other rd users" section of the theory, and m/cycles was only part of the "other rd users" section!

2) let the learner drivers have a feel of riding a bike on S'pore rd. Of course, one of the way as the thread starter suggested is to force them to get a 2B, but I thk it is a bit "unfair" and impractical for many, and sucidedal for some! For old and ladies and for ppl who can't even ride a bicycle! Moreover, getting a 2B DOESN'T GARANTEE riding experience b cos u need to ride on the rd to get rd experience.

3) So, I thk the most we can push for is to let the instructor pillion the learner drivers in the cicuit and then more importantly on the rd, let them feel how vulnerable bikers r on the rd, best is that the learner can encounter some close shave otr, then I thk he/she will be a safer driver when he/she get his/her class 3. This part must be completed (rain or shine) before they r allowed to take the TP class 3.

Note : With class 3A (auto transmission car) allowed now, our rd will be a more danagerous place. More newbies driving auto cars! Scared!

To qualify my above statement, I strongly believe auto cars r more dangerous than manual cars because, if u accidentally step the accelerator for brake (this will happen for learner and P-plate drivers, quite often!) in the manual car, nothing will happen, engine will ease, but if u do the same for auto cars, u'll ram into somebody or something!

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

my suggestions as follows. up to u guys to do whatever u deem fit

instead of just m/cycles, can also add in big lorries as part of the other road users category. Tailgating? teach them how does it feel like with a BIG LORRY behind their $100k car's @ss

Havin 2B before 3 is NO USE. why ? coz they need road experience as a real rider. esp during traffic jam situations like Orchard Road and expressways during their peak hour conditions. my idea is to let them do the stimulator with such conditions. dunno how to change gear? nvm got auto gear on the machine too.

scrap the 3A idea (which will be highly unlikely as COEs are a damn lucrative souce of income for the coffers). IMHO, there is no significant difference btwn Manual or Auto. the hardest part of driving is not how to control the car, but interaction with other road users on the road. thus, if u really wanna drive, learning the manual way is the way to go. shouldnt m/cycles get equal treatment too in learning an auto bike. dun talk abt having few auto bike in SG. the idea is on equal treatment, not the amt of bikes

and lastly, i would suggest that ...

if our authorities are so concerned abt responsibility on the road, increase the age limit from 18 to 21 or even 23 if there is a need to.

Originally posted by josean@Jan 31 2005, 04:41 AM

and lastly, i would suggest that ...

if our authorities are so concerned abt responsibility on the road, increase the age limit from 18 to 21 or even 23 if there is a need to.

Maybe what helps is a Civics and Moral education test on top of the Basic and Final theory. haha.. Cos some old ppl also have bad manners.

http://www.cexut.com/wp-content/uploads/yoshimura-suzuki-b-king-exhaust.jpg

2000-2002- Yamaha TZR 125, 2002-2002- Vespa PX150 , 2002-2004- Honda Steed 400, 2004-2006- Harley Davidson Sportster 1200S, 2006-2008- Hyundai Tucson, 2008-2010- Honda Super 4 VTEC 3, 2010-2011- Ford Focus 1.4, 2012-2013 Yamaha Fazer FZ6S

im talking abt irresponsible road behavior by our young and fresh motocyclist who have a higher chance of getting into serious accidents due to their immature actions who are not responsible on the road.

not bad manners of old ppl on the road.

and by the way, dun u think its more reasonable to have class 3 license before 2b ? rather than to have it the other way.

by doing so, a new driver/rider will know the limitations being in a car.

I support the idea of the bike instructor pillioning the class 3 trainee onto the road to show them the importance of looking out for bikers and how vulnerable we are.

Great suggestion! :thumb:

I'm willing to bet that if this gets out, the class 3 drivers will insist that class 2B riders be allowed to ride bike only after they pass a class 3....

And last time I checked, they outnumber us...

Logic aside, you cannot do this and expect car drivers not to retaliate...

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Iron Butt Association#23842

Originally posted by scooterer@Mar 27 2005, 01:57 PM

I'm willing to bet that if this gets out, the class 3 drivers will insist that class 2B riders be allowed to ride bike only after they pass a class 3....

And last time I checked, they outnumber us...

Logic aside, you cannot do this and expect car drivers not to retaliate...

i got both but neber drive b4

nov 99 - mar 06 nsr150sp

Implementing the class 2B before class 3 does help in the initial part. As time goes by you are soon to pick up bad driving or riding habit.

Ride With Passion

if motorcycle licence are divided by the engine displacement, why not cars?

why are car licence divided by the weight instead?

Originally posted by Tyrian@Jul 21 2005, 04:23 PM

do u think ppl in large cars will give as much problem as ppl on large bikes if there is no 3 different class for bikes?

i love dividends.

Originally posted by Tyrian@Jul 21 2005, 04:23 PM

can we pls hope that govt hv cl2 ride all bikes or even at least 2b and 2a up to a higher CC, and not try to bring about the class system for cars. u like to take tp test izzit? or you just love going for driving lessons.

i love dividends.

Originally posted by onefour02@Jul 21 2005, 06:05 PM

can we pls hope that govt hv cl2 ride all bikes or even at least 2b and 2a up to a higher CC, and not try to bring about the class system for cars. u like to take tp test izzit? or you just love going for driving lessons.

well i guess there is always a reason for govt to do this...if u ride n drive u will noe...

controling a bike is totally diff from a car...if u cant handle a small cc bike dun expect that u handle a 1000 cc bike with ease...car diff..u sit dwn control vehicle..u wont feel the weight of the vehicle...turning a 1000cc bike feel the same as turning a car mei!!???? no rite...

it is juz a measure to prevent more road accident lor...

imagine these, a bike license that allow u to drive all capacity of bike..some ppl will juz go buy fast n nice bike lor...by the time u buy n realise u cannot handle...too late money pay liao...wat u will do? some will lan lan continue riding lor...then accident...:giddy:

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/8321/29cd.jpg

dun make sense lor...everyone shall noe u dun need to ride a bike first to learn to drive...

it juz abt being more aware of safety...

if u drive or ride a bike, just dun have the attitude of

1. The taxi driver who knock the rider n kana jail.

2. The rider who stare at the driver n kana knock.

both are in the wrong....

Driving centre n private instructor never teach u these...

but there are lots of idiots doing these...n dangerous stuff....

one day kana accident n die, the driver may dash the red light...but did u slow dwn n check junction before u cross??? if no...kana knock n die :giddy: ...lan lan lor...go hell or heaven file complain letter lor...

just practice a bit more patience, we are always at the loosing end...:weep:

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/8321/29cd.jpg

i fully support this idea.

But. please give our dear driving centres' bikes a break cos not all can tahan 'BIGGER' size people.

I know some who are rather 'BIG' and of course, they have to go for a car.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v601/juvenawu/13112006106.jpg

Dun be an idiot. You live your life and I live mine.

Guest czh2002sg
Originally posted by Ken@May 23, 2004 02:36 pm

I concluded that the best way to prevent more riders from from being knock down and to prevent more car drivers to knock down the 2 wheels is to pass a law that who ever want to take Class 3 license, is to take Class 2B first.

Upon completion, they will be eligible to take Class 3 without waiting for a year.

From the feedback i get so far, all road users who had ride before driving, is a more complete road user as they can understand the different characteristics of the different types of other road users better.

Thus, they are able to drive and ride with more cautious and less accidents prone.

By targeting a specific group of road users or carry out strict laws to prevent road users from doing wrongs is of no use, as we can see that despite of seeing the chart of road accident from declining, it shoots up.

We all know that with more and more road users, more and more accidents is happening in recent years. To make sure that everyone will be able to play their part well as a good road user, they must be equip with the correct knowledge and the understanding of the road.

Once a person get a license, he or she is equip with the neccessary knowledge, but understanding of the road?

Why the need to understand the road?

To understand the characteristics of the various road users.

Because, you r not the only person using the road, and not the only type of vehicle.

Thus, it is neccessary to equip the road user with the understanding of the road.

As sg roads is mainly consisting of motorbikes and cars, it is for the best interest to most road users to be equip with the understanding of the character of this 2 type of road user.

And why Class 3 before Class 2B?

As Class 3(Car) is more safer, it is of logical thinking that the road user must first took up Class 2B.

If one took up Class 3 first and without the understanding of the Class 2B, it is highly possible to knock into a Class 2B. which is the current problems now.

But if one took up Class 2B first, those Class 3 will be able to keep a lookout for them as they had already considered upgraded with a more in depth level of understanding of the Class 2B.

you make big sweeping statements without substantiating your arguments.

SAFPU trains their newbie-with-no-bike-license-MPs with the 750s...

i dont see why that can't be done. if u want a single class for bikes then newbies should start with the biggest cc so they can handle all bikes. instead of learning on a cg125 n wanting to be able to ride 400s.

lol,like tt alot of ladies will need to learn riding,they learn cl3 because they tiink its safer frm bikes....

http://www.parrotparrot.com/stopcruelty/cruelty1.gif

Arguable enough. Most of the reckless drivers (eg. taxi drivers???) have riding license as well...yet, they are still reckless and inconsiderate towards other road users (not necessarily riders)... so I don't think getting a bike license prior to driving license helps a lot... just my point of view...

Peace...:smile:

Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit

i believe not just drivers are reckless. i've seen lots of reckless riders before. as a rider, you should know you are at a disadvantage weaving through cars, and staying beside them is as good as asking for death..

i saw delivery riders riding VERY recklessly, to the extent if i see them being knocked down, i will help the driver be witness. suicidal. theres a reason why riders are kept in the last lane..

learn from other's mistakes.

you cant live long enough to make all those mistakes yourself..