Date : 28-31 May

Rider : Sam (Magna750) & Ninjapura (GSR4)

Total distance : 1880km

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253785_214112378623404_100000739305241_690206_5967421_n.jpg

Itinerary :

28 May (Sat) - Melaka free & easy. Rest at Sam's house in Segamat

29 May (Sun) - Segamat - Bentong - Gua Musang - Lake Kenyir

30 May (Mon) - Lake Kenyir - Gua Musang - Cameron Highlands

31 May (Tues) - Cameron Highlands - Sg Koyan - Raub - Bentong - Segamat - SG

100% trunk road + 200% adventure = 300% pure motorcycling fun...

This is what I would sum up for this trip. Plenty of curvy cornering, rode on less traveled route to Lake Kenyir via Gua Musang-Felda Aring, and a new "unofficial" route from Cameron Highlands to Raub. Sound enticing? Read on... :cheeky:

I was meeting Sam a fellow Malaysian rider on Sat night in Segamat, so the whole day I spent wandering around Melaka town satisfied my craving for Melaka food. Met him at 10.30pm in Segamat... had a nice chat with him over the famous curry mee.

Day 1, 29 May (Sunday)

We decided to set off early at 5am. It was still cold riding in the total dark pitch trunk road with almost zero visibility.

Some parts of the road are quite curvy and with patches of bad roads with gravel... need to really concentrate...

Segamat > Gemas > Bahau > Durian Tipus

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/248650_214116211956354_100000739305241_690248_410885_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/248775_214117038622938_100000739305241_690253_1748369_n.jpg

Reached Bentong at about 8am. It is a nice chill town very near to Karak and Genting Highland. Sam introduced the famous Wanton Mee and it is really yummy! Worth the wait.

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/249480_214118251956150_100000739305241_690263_295988_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/249480_214118248622817_100000739305241_690262_6807446_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/249480_214118255289483_100000739305241_690264_4644234_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/255007_214119555289353_100000739305241_690271_7919057_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/255007_214119558622686_100000739305241_690272_6470945_n.jpg

After breakfast we proceeded towards Gua Musang in Kelantan, and hope to hit it before lunch. Nice twisty along the way and the weather was just nice and breezy for the ride.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/255007_214119565289352_100000739305241_690274_2549284_n.jpg

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/255007_214119568622685_100000739305241_690275_3801671_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/248584_214120328622609_100000739305241_690283_7749092_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/246664_214121201955855_100000739305241_690292_7569117_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/246664_214121205289188_100000739305241_690293_3546862_n.jpg

• Replies 35

Took us about 4 hours to reach Gua Musang. This place gives me the Krabi feel.. limestone all around.

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/246664_214121208622521_100000739305241_690294_3815834_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/252219_214122148622427_100000739305241_690303_3316505_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/252219_214122158622426_100000739305241_690306_6705461_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250345_214123888622253_100000739305241_690325_7572737_n.jpg

Met up with Sam's schoolmate and we went to have famous Nasi Lemak for lunch... arhh makan & makan again lor...

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250345_214123895288919_100000739305241_690327_2001231_n.jpg

From Gua Musang, about 20km you should take note of your right the Felda Aring signage, it will lead you into the East-West Highway to Lake Kenyir. This Felda route has some 20 mins of gravel off-road but luckily there was no rain and no orange mud in sight. We just rode through it as steady as we could and that's it. Safe and sound... still short of the "hell road" I experienced in Thailand... hohoho...

Usually people would choose the Kuala Terranganu route (east coast) to travel to Lake Kenyir . However, our little "off-road" try worth the day as our end destination route is really like the treasure hidden under the gravel rocks!

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250085_214131528621489_100000739305241_690384_1189662_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250876_214130825288226_100000739305241_690382_6976457_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/247762_214082458626396_100000739305241_689975_496600_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/252910_214079481960027_100000739305241_689969_2087_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250345_214123898622252_100000739305241_690328_3139090_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250345_214123901955585_100000739305241_690329_3877455_n.jpg

Imagine the Gerik Highway with zero traffic, and throw in the lake view, chilly weather in the package? That's the East-West Highway to Lake Kenyir has to offer!!! Due to some reason this highway is abandoned and not opened for public use. Nonetheless, this is biker paradise! Much more better than any route I have traveled so far in Malaysia.

You should see this tree at the beginning of this highway which marks the border between Kelantan (Gua Musang) and Terrenganu (Lake Kenyir).

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/252675_214125851955390_100000739305241_690353_7834411_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/252322_214082605293048_100000739305241_689981_7522542_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/252675_214125855288723_100000739305241_690354_604358_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/252675_214125861955389_100000739305241_690356_7890488_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/252675_214125865288722_100000739305241_690357_1854873_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253585_214127021955273_100000739305241_690361_2302689_n.jpg

We checked into the Lake Kenyir Resort (RM250/room) and it has really wonderful pool! We can't wait to jump into it to soothe our tiring body...

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/253585_214127028621939_100000739305241_690363_5786910_n.jpg

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/253585_214127031955272_100000739305241_690364_1606059_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253585_214127025288606_100000739305241_690362_7657774_n.jpg

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253185_214128898621752_100000739305241_690371_3761340_n.jpg

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253185_214128901955085_100000739305241_690372_5167661_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253185_214128905288418_100000739305241_690373_1092428_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253185_214128908621751_100000739305241_690374_3407282_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/253185_214128911955084_100000739305241_690375_5836522_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250876_214130811954894_100000739305241_690378_7717928_n.jpg

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250876_214130815288227_100000739305241_690379_133423_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250876_214130821954893_100000739305241_690381_2223555_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/248044_214131535288155_100000739305241_690386_5394577_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/248044_214131541954821_100000739305241_690388_3638625_n.jpg

Rode to nearest town (30km) Kuala Berang for some petrol, food and beer. Down our night away in beering... we already have plan for the Lake Cruise the next day ^^

"envy" !! dunno my tw can tahan so far not..

speed and be home 5 mins early or 7 days late.

Great job Ninjapura!

Simple & clear yet interesting write up!

I like it ^^

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r53/solomonsan/magnasmall.jpg

ready to rumble...

visit malaysiamagnariders.blogspot.com

The ride report to be continued? Can't wait for the 2nd part ^^

ready to rumble...

Day 2, 30 May (Monday)

We have planned for the lake cruise this morning. However, it was not confirmed until last minute because it needs 3 to go. Nonetheless, we have to wait for another half hour till 10.30am till the passengers fill up the whole boat. No need to complain... this is business.

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/254246_214318688602773_100000739305241_691748_4669489_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/254246_214318678602774_100000739305241_691745_278376_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/254246_214318681936107_100000739305241_691746_2798135_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/254246_214318685269440_100000739305241_691747_8257491_n.jpg

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/254246_214318691936106_100000739305241_691749_3656568_n.jpg

The Lake Cruise cost RM50 and it took about 2 hours. Brought us to herbal garden and Saok Waterfall... didn't bring any clothing, gonna watched those malay folks enjoying themselves for half hour.

And I am so surprised to find out that this Lake Kenyir is actually the largest man-make lake in Malaysia... by blocking the water from flowing out of the valley for the purpose of building a hydroelectric dam.

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/249692_214320651935910_100000739305241_691772_400680_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/249692_214320658602576_100000739305241_691773_6133533_n.jpg

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/249692_214320661935909_100000739305241_691774_3980969_n.jpg

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/249692_214320665269242_100000739305241_691775_7796953_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/249260_214321938602448_100000739305241_691786_830277_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/249260_214321941935781_100000739305241_691787_6598017_n.jpg

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/249260_214321945269114_100000739305241_691788_8377616_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/249260_214321948602447_100000739305241_691789_6863708_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/255074_214323338602308_100000739305241_691790_2130641_n.jpg

Departed to Cameron Highlands after the lake cruise... we took the same Felda Aring route to Gua Musang.

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/255074_214323348602307_100000739305241_691793_6099924_n.jpg

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/255074_214323351935640_100000739305241_691794_2324904_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253177_214325445268764_100000739305241_691802_21545_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253177_214325448602097_100000739305241_691803_5557936_n.jpg

We took the Gua Musang route to Cameron Highlands. In our opinion, it is a more scenic route than the usual Simpang Pulai and Tapah route and the traffic is much lesser too. The corner is of those wide sweeping relaxing ride.

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253177_214325451935430_100000739305241_691804_6798100_n.jpg

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253177_214325455268763_100000739305241_691805_4136016_n.jpg

Reached our guesthouse "Twin Pines" at 5.30pm... checked in and had a cold shower. The room is cheap at RM35 only.

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/248913_214326668601975_100000739305241_691815_3120611_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/250930_214082825293026_100000739305241_689984_1484978_n.jpg

The rest of our night... was spent on beers and hot hot steamboat... wahahaha...

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/248913_214326671935308_100000739305241_691816_2972448_n.jpg

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/248913_214326678601974_100000739305241_691818_2212898_n.jpg

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/252033_214327725268536_100000739305241_691826_5053947_n.jpg

Hi.

I can't find the way from SG Koyan to Cameron Highlands.

Care to share some details of this route?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Hi.

I can't find the way from SG Koyan to Cameron Highlands.

Care to share some details of this route?

hi bro,

From Raub, follow the signboard towards Cheroh. Continue on Road C5 , u will reach Felda Sg Koyan in about 55 mins (49.6km).

When u reach Felda Sg Koyan, u will see a Mobil (not Esso as mentioned, sorry) Petrol Station on your right. after that, u will see a junction, follow the sign board, turn left to Pos Betau. Then all the way u will reach Ringlet - Tanah Rata (Cameron Highlands).

I suggest u to stop and ask for direction if you not certain about the way, people there are helpful ^^

pls refer to the map below:

http://img850.imageshack.us/img850/5940/koyan.jpg

from your blog, knew that u plan to ride to Cameron Highlands on 6 Aug (Sat) via Simpang Pulai. Perhaps u can consider a more relaxing route: SG- Segamat- Bahau- Simpang Pertang- Karak- Bentong- Raub -Sungai Koyan- Cameron highlands. Personally i prefer this route compared to the Simpang Pulai one (via north-south highway) because i prefer to ride on old trunk (kampung) road.

enjoy ur trip :)

Edited by vitaminz

ready to rumble...

Day 3, 31 May (Tuesday)

How could we go to Cameron Highlands without going to the teahouse? This time Sam brought me to another teahouse at Tanah Rata which is less commercialised and less crowded than the Brinchang one. Very nice atmosphere there for some "inspiration"... ^^

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/251445_214803915220917_100000739305241_695494_7762449_n.jpg

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/251445_214803918554250_100000739305241_695495_197549_n.jpg

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/251445_214803921887583_100000739305241_695496_4485448_n.jpg

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/255085_214804955220813_100000739305241_695533_2950808_n.jpg

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/255085_214804958554146_100000739305241_695534_5143930_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/255085_214804961887479_100000739305241_695535_6770215_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/255085_214804965220812_100000739305241_695536_6652584_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/255085_214804968554145_100000739305241_695537_130598_n.jpg

We traveled from Cameron Highlands to Raub using the new scenic 4th route. This is the 4th route beside the Simpang Pulai, Tapah, and Gua Musang. Heard from Sam this route has yet to be opened for use officially and not many people know about it. However, it is of great convenience for folks coming from KL/Bentong as they do not have to travel all the way to Ipoh. And it is super beautiful as well...

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/249685_214805768554065_100000739305241_695538_4223591_n.jpg

If from Cameron Highlands:

If you coming from Cameron Highlands, you should go to Ringlet, and then on your left look out for a sign point to the junction "Kuala Lipis" and it will lead you to Sg Koyan, from there you can just follow the route to Raub and Bentong.

If from Singapore:

From Raub, follow the signboard towards Cheroh. Continue on Road C5 , u will reach Felda Sg Koyan in about 55 mins (49.6km).

When u reach Felda Sg Koyan, u will see a Esso Petrol Station on your right. after that, u will see a junction, follow the sign board, turn left to Pos Betau. Then all the way u will reach Ringlet - Tanah Rata (Cameron Highlands).

http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/254210_214806995220609_100000739305241_695541_4857154_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/254210_214806998553942_100000739305241_695542_4062690_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/254210_214807001887275_100000739305241_695543_1395951_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/254210_214807005220608_100000739305241_695544_5833345_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253955_214807491887226_100000739305241_695548_3148312_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/253955_214807495220559_100000739305241_695549_6125804_n.jpg

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253955_214807498553892_100000739305241_695550_7736065_n.jpg

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/253955_214807501887225_100000739305241_695551_839655_n.jpg

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250930_214082828626359_100000739305241_689985_2175134_n.jpg

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/250930_214082831959692_100000739305241_689986_4840593_n.jpg

http://a4.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/247880_214810095220299_100000739305241_695556_6492478_n.jpg

Enjoyed this trip very much and especially grateful to have this nice and humble Magna rider Sam as my riding partner. As a Malaysian biker himself, he really bringing new and refreshing idea as to where the route to ride. This trip would be impossible without him... and don't be mistaken... he is one fast and furious easy-rider I ever met... Salute !!!

For those who have yet to ride these new routes... try it and you shall never regret!

Hope to ride with you again... Sam.

Edited by ninjapura

Hi Sam/Ninjapura,thank you for sharing.

I'm planning the same route for next trip in july.

Nice writeup and trip report! It has been my dream to ride the infamous route 8.. More so now with the new route to CH!

I am planning to travel the route between Jul 13 till Jul 16. Anyone who might be interested to join in? Looking forward for a riding partner. Will be riding from SG with my CB750 so it will be a steady ride.

Have not firmed up the stops but I can see I have more than enough info from this thread. Thanks to everyone!

Edited by STealth
hi bro,

When u reach Felda Sg Koyan, u will see a Esso Petrol Station on your right. after that, u will see a junction, follow the sign board, turn left to Pos Betau. Then all the way u will reach Ringlet - Tanah Rata (Cameron Highlands).

I suggest u to stop and ask for direction if you not certain about the way, people there are helpful ^^

Really thanks for the detailed tips.

Happy riding!!

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Hi Ninja,

From Bentong, I estimated it will be an additional 2 hours as compared to the ECH regular route.. haha.. depending how you ride and stop along the way. However, if you have the time this is one hell of a ride! I am confirmed on the trip coming mid Jul for my route 8 exploration.. still looking for ride kakis! ;-)

Stealth

Hi bro...

din go by NSHW to Lake Kenyir before... so cant ans you

can ask

i scared robbery cause many stories on trengganu boys like to steal .... how ur experinece with the boys there ?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Thank you very much for your kindness consideration. By God's Grace.

Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail; Save trees

www.heritagebaptist.org

www.worldvision.org

www.cfcindia.com

http://www.e-sword.net/downloads.html free God's Word