SBF Silverwings Cafe 2008 - JDM/Euro 400/600

• Replies 6.4k

Having the machine is one thing, problem is our scooters' wheels are usually of a smaller diameter, so some shops may not have the right type of adaptor to be able to fit the wheel to the machine.

most shop got no prob balancing our scooter front tire. only the rear prob.

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

Too bad in S'pore, Gold Standard no sizes for SW.

Last reply HKL Ah bee told me was that they have the gold standard for SW. Maybe you wanna check with him again.

One more brand to recomend is Metzeler "feelfree". But this I can't confirm whether SG shop do bring in for our size. In the Metzeler website, there is our sizes and specs for our tires.

Anyone can check out this :? "Slowly Rider" can help check?

Yeah...

Can request?

Btw, guys..

i noticed that the reviews on the Michelin Pilot Sports tyres are not done on any SW 400. Pls do correct me if i'm wrong.

We shall post the review on this tyres after the Rainy Dec season.

Someone just told me that due to the weight of the SW 400, Michelin tyres should be OK on wet surface.. :)

Well, we shall see!

After all, its been proven by a fellow SW-inger in Penang last week (wet weather). :thumb:

As Bro Helmetbox said: in wet condition - which tyres not slippery?

i'm trying to say more or less no matter how good is your tires more or less will be slippery de..

on wet floor you wear good shoes also will fall down already..

so best is still ride carefully on wet condition

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

i'm trying to say more or less no matter how good is your tires more or less will be slippery de..

Agreed, bro! :)

Can i check if going at 100km/hr to 110km/hr is ok for running in? :confused:

I'm going on a one day trip to Desaru this Sunday.

But my total milage is only at 500km currently.

Have you done the first oil change?

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

The problem with most riders no matter what tyre they are using is they fail to understand that the higher speed rating of the tyre also requires more HEAT in the tyre for it to work correctly. That is if you were to use the best Sport tyre you would need to get it to be HOT for it to perform.

When you are riding on wet roads the tyre COOLS and the compound therefore hardens giving you less grip !

HOW to get it to reach operating temp when it's wet ? Ride Faster to generate heat or lower tyre pressure to allow heat to build up ! RIGHT ?

No!!!! Brothers WRONG ! as both the aforesaid could be dangerous when done improperly or by the inexperienced. So just follow advise and ride very carefully in the wet - dont accelerate suddenly and especially when on the white / yellow painted areas of our roads. After all our road builders and maintainers dont invest in 'Skid resistance' paints as they are costly and wear fast.

If in Doubt then DONT RIDE IN THE WET !

The problem with most riders no matter what tyre they are using is they fail to understand that the higher speed rating of the tyre also requires more HEAT in the tyre for it to work correctly. That is if you were to use the best Sport tyre you would need to get it to be HOT for it to perform.

When you are riding on wet roads the tyre COOLS and the compound therefore hardens giving you less grip !

HOW to get it to reach operating temp when it's wet ? Ride Faster to generate heat or lower tyre pressure to allow heat to build up ! RIGHT ?

No!!!! Brothers WRONG ! as both the aforesaid could be dangerous when done improperly or by the inexperienced. So just follow advise and ride very carefully in the wet - dont accelerate suddenly and especially when on the white / yellow painted areas of our roads. After all our road builders and maintainers dont invest in 'Skid resistance' paints as they are costly and wear fast.

If in Doubt then DONT RIDE IN THE WET !

Hi Brother Kris Rider,

Thanks for giving a much more clearer picture.

Appreciate your sharing! :thumb:

Have you done the first oil change?

Hi Bro,

Just did my first EO/filter change this morning at my dealer,

The cap and the spring was retrieved out along with the 'old' engine oil.

Actually, i was a bit surprised that these two items dropped out. Pls pardon my ignorance.. Haha..

The technician was a very patient Indian chap, who explained the procedure to me clearly.

He shared that some mechanices failed to check if the EO filter shield is still stuck in the opening b4 slotting in the new filter. That would be disastrous if the shield was to be suck into the EO compartment.. :cry:

He also shared that the not many mechanices wipe and blow away the EO left on the bottom opening after screwing back the caps . This would result in the leftover oil being sprayed onto our rear tyres when we ride.. Dangerous sia. :giddy:

Don't know how true (the mechanic part) is that ... cos never service at other shops b4 ma..

Bros, your mechanic wipe away the oil b4 u ride away??

Actually the proper way is to wait for oil to finish dripping, then wipe, then put back the oil drain plug.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Yeah...

Can request?

Btw, guys..

i noticed that the reviews on the Michelin Pilot Sports tyres are not done on any SW 400. Pls do correct me if i'm wrong.

We shall post the review on this tyres after the Rainy Dec season.

Someone just told me that due to the weight of the SW 400, Michelin tyres should be OK on wet surface.. :)

Well, we shall see!

After all, its been proven by a fellow SW-inger in Penang last week (wet weather). :thumb:

As Bro Helmetbox said: in wet condition - which tyres not slippery?

My Comments on the Penang Trip by Fellow SWinger - Remember he had to ride long and hard to get there ! by which time the tyres would have been hot & the outer hard layer worn off. Therefore when he was riding on the Penang BACK roads the tyre was already up to operating temperature. By the BACK roads i guess he meant after the bridge turn left, after airport & Industrial area up to a village called BALIK PULAU and from there all the coastal road to BATU FERINGHI and back to GEORGETOWN.

Then again the road surfaces in most Malaysian Secondary roads are more Abrasive than ours here and tyres tend to grip better.

Primary roads are the new main expressways / highways which tend to be boringly straight.

Actually the proper way is to wait for oil to finish dripping, then wipe, then put back the oil drain plug.

Oh yes, he did that. He waited for the oil to drip out.

The wiping part was done only after all the screwing/tightening of caps. :cheeky:

My Comments on the Penang Trip by Fellow SWinger - Remember he had to ride long and hard to get there ! by which time the tyres would have been hot & the outer hard layer worn off. Therefore when he was riding on the Penang BACK roads the tyre was already up to operating temperature. By the BACK roads i guess he meant after the bridge turn left, after airport & Industrial area up to a village called BALIK PULAU and from there all the coastal road to BATU FERINGHI and back to GEORGETOWN.

Then again the road surfaces in most Malaysian Secondary roads are more Abrasive than ours here and tyres tend to grip better.

Primary roads are the new main expressways / highways which tend to be boringly straight.

I love the way you explain the technicalities etc..

Cool :thumb:

Last reply HKL Ah bee told me was that they have the gold standard for SW. Maybe you wanna check with him again.

Huh? I was told S'pore Mich did not bring in Gold Standard sizes for SW...don tell me tyres also have PI? :cool:

Oh yes, he did that. He waited for the oil to drip out.

The wiping part was done only after all the screwing/tightening of caps. :cheeky:

Got wat u mean... tat time i done my oil change at Loois they also did the same thing.

most shop got no prob balancing our scooter front tire. only the rear prob.

Yes...

In order to use the balancing machine, the rim size must be at least 13" or izzit 14" i cannot remember the exact.

Thus, likely scenario is that only our front wheel can be balanced. :(

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a380/VoxArcana/Forum%20Signatures/ManUtdChampions.png

2002 - 2004 HonDa SP

2004 - 2006 HoNdA S4 VtEc 1

2006 - 2007 YaMahA MaJesTy 250 MK2

2007 Current HoNDa SliVerWinG 400

Huh? I was told S'pore Mich did not bring in Gold Standard sizes for SW...don tell me tyres also have PI? :cool:

This is so far the best tyre I have used from my days riding X9.

Even at speed 60 to 70km/h at a very heavy downpour, no fish tail and skidding incidence.

For my current bridgestone hoops, it makes me my heart stop even at slow speed. Have to ride very defensively or force to stop at some location for a drink.

I wonder if we can sent in request for them to bring these wonderful tyres to SG :confused:

July 2004 to Nov 2006 X9 amalfi

Dec 2006 to Jan 2010 Honda SilverWing 400

Feb 2010 to Nov 2015 Honda Fit

Dec 2015 to Oct 2017 Toyota ISIS

Feb 2017 to May 2017 Honda ST1300

Jun 2017 onwards Honda Silverwing 400

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/6333/image00076ka5.jpg

Checked from TheM(DeaLer):giddy:

They said R do not Bring thIS "feElfree" TyRe:cry:

One more brand to recomend is Metzeler "feelfree". But this I can't confirm whether SG shop do bring in for our size. In the Metzeler website, there is our sizes and specs for our tires.

Anyone can check out this :? "Slowly Rider" can help check?

Hi Bro,

Just did my first EO/filter change this morning at my dealer,

The cap and the spring was retrieved out along with the 'old' engine oil.

Actually, i was a bit surprised that these two items dropped out. Pls pardon my ignorance.. Haha..

The technician was a very patient Indian chap, who explained the procedure to me clearly.

He shared that some mechanices failed to check if the EO filter shield is still stuck in the opening b4 slotting in the new filter. That would be disastrous if the shield was to be suck into the EO compartment.. :cry:

He also shared that the not many mechanices wipe and blow away the EO left on the bottom opening after screwing back the caps . This would result in the leftover oil being sprayed onto our rear tyres when we ride.. Dangerous sia. :giddy:

Don't know how true (the mechanic part) is that ... cos never service at other shops b4 ma..

Bros, your mechanic wipe away the oil b4 u ride away??

??

what cap and spring??

confused!!

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

What is this oil filter shield? What does it look like?

??

what cap and spring??

confused!!

For first time EO change for our SW400, a spring and a cap like item will be flushed out along with the used EO...

Pls LOOK out for it.

Actually, i don't know why these 2 items would drop out.

The mechanic told me that SW400 first EO change must ensure that this two items drop out..

He told me when unscrewing the caps, dun know what he talking until i saw the items poping out..

Must be the warranty thingy?

Any bros got any idea??? :confused: :confused: :confused:

What is this oil filter shield? What does it look like?

This shield is attached to your EO filter.

Its a round thingy black in colour which goes together with your filter at the opening.... Suppose to act as a protector or stuff like that..

Sometimes if unfixed incorrectly, will drop out..

Just stand beside the mechanic and look out for it.. :thumb:

Alamak, i forget to take some photos of the shield and the 'spring and cap' to share..:faint: :faint: :faint: