speaking of which, bike COEs have been going up the past couple of months man! sian...

buy 2nd hand, no need to worry about COE, unless it's expiring soon

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

• Replies 39.2k

• Wildcat

• jhawk2820

• bobo_rider

• fleaz

there are very few second hand bikes on sale for the one i want... and even when there are, it doesn't always make sense to get second hand cos the resale value is pretty high.

true, i guess for the bikes i want to get, very difficult to find on second hand market

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

there are very few second hand bikes on sale for the one i want... and even when there are, it doesn't always make sense to get second hand cos the resale value is pretty high.

The trick is to never be in a hurry to buy. Bide your time and a deal will show up over time, with the right machine at the right price.

When it comes, deal fast instead of haggling over a few hundred dollars - or else someone else who knows when a deal is good will get it before you. He who hesitates is lost.

He who hesitates is lost!

Agree with contrarian, especially about dealing fast. Spend some time to get to know the market, so that you will know straight away whether a deal is good or not. Remember to consider things like road tax and COE.

I took about 2 weeks to find my bike. I concluded the deal right at the viewing and didn't even bother to bargain because I knew the deal was good. Even the seller was surprised. Before that, I saw a few other bikes but decided to pass because I was sure a better one would come along. Take your time.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/176/382836949_9f10369d74.jpg

is the coe now 1000+?

do you guys click the 'read more' from the main page of the coe bidding section?

i dunno where to excatly locate it...

anyone?

Class 3 - 15 Sep 08 (10th attempt)

Class 2B - 2 April 09 (9th attempt)

Class 2A - 29 June 10 (11th attempt)

Class 2 - 25 August 11 (0 attempt)

1. May 09 - Rinoa Heartilly (KRR150)
  2. Feb 12 - Ariel (RVF 400)
  3. Apr 12 - Miyako (RVF 400)
  4. Dec 12 - Wave 125
  5. Aug 15 - Beth (MT 07)

Spend some time to get to know the market, so that you will know straight away whether a deal is good or not.

yeap, know the basic spec n maintenance also.

i spent 2 months to confirm buying a bike

Thanks guys!

Instead of "it's always someone else's fault", you can control your own behaviour. Choice of lane, positioning, relative speed, vehicle to follow, making yourself visible etc. has a big impact on your interaction with other road users. A lot of this has to do with experience and anticipation.

True! Well, the most specific advice I could give my bf was to stay out of blindspots as much as possible, and to watch his following distance. I can't nag him much about anything else, because

It's going to take a while before he learns everything he needs to learn to stay safe. Even then, it's never going to be enough.

I agree with u.

I would also like to add that, we riders still have to be extra careful, even though we are riding safely, changing lanes gradually with signal and proper look-out. Keeping a safe following distance, forming up on the correct lane in order to turn to the correct lane, there will always be a reckless driver or another rider to cause inconvenience or near accident to us.

This is where experience comes in to know how to anticipate to these dangers.

Think I've crossed over from 'extra careful' into 'kiasi' after the reckless acts witnessed. Lol! Makes lesson 6's content easier to understand.

Hope my bf learns these lessons fast before something serious happens.

oh cool ! thanks dude !

and and 1 more question..

what does all the bidding things works?

isit like once every month? and who bids?

its like so hard to understand :cheeky:

4. Dec 12 - Wave 125
  5. Aug 15 - Beth (MT 07)

is the coe now 1000+?

do you guys click the 'read more' from the main page of the coe bidding section?

i dunno where to excatly locate it...

anyone?

U buying new bike or renewing your COE?

if buying new bike why not let the shop take care of it? hassle free...

If u renew they will take an average of past month.(PQP is the moving average of the COE prices in the last 3 months).. .to calculate the PQP

for Apr 2009 is $879...based on past month averages....

Edited by lv3338

From Honda's Phantom to ..................

Clearing each stage at SSDC and BBDC for bike license was fun !!!

oh cool ! thanks dude !

and and 1 more question..

what does all the bidding things works?

isit like once every month? and who bids?

its like so hard to understand :cheeky:

That I got no idea, hahaha. My task is to only monitor the COE prices till it drops around 600 plus region so I can renew my dying FS plate runner. A little far fetched but meh whatever, still have a year more till my COE dies.

U buying new bike or renewing your COE?

if buying new bike why not let the shop take care of it? hassle free...

If u renew they will take an average of past month.(PQP is the moving average of the COE prices in the last 3 months).. .to calculate the PQP

for Apr 2009 is $879...based on past month averages....

eh.. no for both... i just wana know the market price.

and 879 ? where ? how come i see is 1043 or something?

someone guide me out of this lol :cheeky:

4. Dec 12 - Wave 125
  5. Aug 15 - Beth (MT 07)

eh.. no for both... i just wana know the market price.

and 879 ? where ? how come i see is 1043 or something?

someone guide me out of this lol :cheeky:

if u buy new bike...the coe would be 1053

if u renew coe...ti's a average of past 3 month coe. =PQP=$879

go the following u will find the PQP...

https://vrl.lta.gov.sg/lta/vrl/action/pubfunc?ID=EnquirePQPRates

so basically.... we look at QP column for new bike and for renew coe.. we have to do calculation ourself?

then... who can bid?

4. Dec 12 - Wave 125
  5. Aug 15 - Beth (MT 07)

so basically.... we look at QP column for new bike and for renew coe.. we have to do calculation ourself?

then... who can bid?

renew...dun need to bid...

go to LTA..tell them u wanna renew...they will calculate the PQP... which is the average of 3 mth

ok thanks bro !

4. Dec 12 - Wave 125
  5. Aug 15 - Beth (MT 07)

ok thanks bro !

but of course..u can pick and choose those 3 month...which are lower lah....then go renew....

so u pay less lor...

huh? choose ? blurr @@

4. Dec 12 - Wave 125
  5. Aug 15 - Beth (MT 07)

Does anybody know which shops do refinancing of bikes?

I found a pretty good deal and wanna get the bike first, but the seller is (understandably) only accepting full cash so I'll need to get my own financing...

Any recommendations?

Does anybody know which shops do refinancing of bikes?

I found a pretty good deal and wanna get the bike first, but the seller is (understandably) only accepting full cash so I'll need to get my own financing...

Any recommendations?

u can try everbright.

bike production also got do. but not for 2B bike i think. :sian:

u can find their contact at the advertisers board section! :)

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii208/danielsin2/800_3108.jpg

rode past ssdc earlier, guess its dinner time cos only see a few ppl walking in/out

u can try everbright.

bike production also got do. but not for 2B bike i think. :sian:

u can find their contact at the advertisers board section! :)

thanks! i'll give everbright a call tomorrow... i wrote bike production off already. went there a month ago or so, their service level was non-existent! if they're like that even before i buy, can't imagine how bad the after-sales service will be.