Hi guys!

I had some experience in firing a Revolver when I was serving my NS with the Police Force! During Range Practice, we were taught to hold our Revolver like this when firing : *pls refer to "Gun upright" image file*, with the Butt of the gun facing the ground.

However, I noticed that Police Officers using Pistols tend to hold their guns sideways, with the Butt of the gun facing sideways rather than towards the ground. : *Pls refer to "Pistol held sideways" image file*

Is the sideways gripping method of the Pistol really the proper way to hold the Pistol? Or is it only Hollywood's method of making their Cops look more cool when firing a gun?

Any Police Officers or persons who are experienced in guns care to clarify this?

Thanks! :)

gun upright.jpg

600px-Pistol_held_sideways.jpg

• Replies 28

There are literally thousands of pistol gripping tutorials on youtube.

Enjoy.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

rule of thumb: your head tilt together with your weapon.

if your head is straight(normal standing position), there's no way you can take aim with a tilted weapon.

maybe the 2nd pic was using CAR (center axis relock) system.

then again, it's still a young system so doubtful anyone will practice it commercially.

maybe the 2nd pic was using CAR (center axis relock) system.

then again, it's still a young system so doubtful anyone will practice it commercially.

whether commercially or not, it is not practical.

take a look at some of the IPSC competition on youtube and observe how they handle their firearms. they are among the most seasoned shooters around, and dare say they are fast and accurate, and most importantly, safe. :)

I look at it, there is just a little bit of psychological issue regards to holding the gun. And I am not sure which country police officer you were refering to, that aim a weapon that way. You mean in the movies police officer or real officers and real pistol shooters?

As far as I can remember. Certain real police officers are trained to shoot from the hip with pistols, and the weapon is upright or as upright and natural for the hands to hold it as possible.

In the movie, it looks cool because a pistol held that way is not aimed. It gives a threatening vibe that it might shoot anyone with no discrimination and not just hit a intended target cos the weapon can swing from left to right.

I only know that semi automatics like HK MP5 is actually best aimed sideways for shooting, because the weapon tends to jump up. It jumps/swings right when firing in burst, so its best for 'sweeping' for your targets.

whether commercially or not, it is not practical.

take a look at some of the IPSC competition on youtube and observe how they handle their firearms. they are among the most seasoned shooters around, and dare say they are fast and accurate, and most importantly, safe. :)

Defintely, the weaver stance is tried and tested all over the world. from an accuracy standpoint, it wins.

Thats why you see alot of shooting competitors utilise the weaver stance.

If i am not wrong, the CAR system is meant for close range firefights. fast target lock, fast shots put out. accuracy not the main priority for that.

Edited by CSV

Defintely, the weaver stance is tried and tested all over the world. from an accuracy standpoint, it wins.

Thats why you see alot of shooting competitors utilise the weaver stance.

If i am not wrong, the CAR system is meant for close range firefights. fast target lock, fast shots put out. accuracy not the main priority for that.

at close range, a season shooter can draw and fire his/her weapon within 2 secs..

but if the situation really calls for that, it must be quite precarious already.. :sian:

haha, yeah. pretty close shaves.

but its a system, like a bike helmet, have to try it and see if it suits the shooter.

i like to keep an open mind and see how different stances suit different situation.

but i agree la, CAR is quite unsafe, can shoot yourself in the arm if not used to it.

Oh okay. See which way is the most comfortable ah.

Edited by crazydj

because the weapon tends to jump up. It jumps/swings right when firing in burst, so its best for 'sweeping' for your targets.

I was told to hold the pistol sideway when I shoot a Glock18 in full auto mode, for the same reason as you stated.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg
I was told to hold the pistol sideway when I shoot a Glock18 in full auto mode, for the same reason as you stated.

For sweeping fire. Not for police work apparently. Its not politically/ethically correct for law enforcement officers to shoot more then burst of 3 one trigger.

Besides a Glock can throw out a max of what....17 9mms or 18 with one chambered (at most? I am not sure, last time only played with 17 or was it 16? 9mm magazines.)....so sweeping firing is kinda you planning to kill all 17/18 persons within that range before you get yourself turned into a honeycomb by returning fire.

G18 has a 33 rounds extended mag :angel:

In full auto mode, I only managed to put 2~3 rounds on an IPSC target, the rest all shoot into the sky.

http://www.3sigma.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/Glock.jpg

In full auto mode, I only managed to put 2~3 rounds on an IPSC target, the rest all shoot into the sky.

WOW! Extended mag nowadays........but it looks kinda odd leh. A handgun should be hand gun mah. Like that looks like you are better off with a HKMP5 or even a M16, where your aiming is improved because of the sightings.

And the loading......it totally ruin my manicures! Not to mention pinched finger pads occasionally!

IPSC arh.....you only need a double tab in one target....you sweep for what?

Sweep for fun :cool:

That was quite a number of years ago, nowadays no one bother to make machine pistol anymore. Remember the M93R and the HK VP70? :angel:

more than 2 shots no count le.. :p

WOW! Extended mag nowadays........but it looks kinda odd leh. A handgun should be hand gun mah. Like that looks like you are better off with a HKMP5 or even a M16, where your aiming is improved because of the sightings.

And the loading......it totally ruin my manicures! Not to mention pinched finger pads occasionally!

IPSC arh.....you only need a double tab in one target....you sweep for what?

That's a machine pistol my dear...

Sweep for fun :cool:

That was quite a number of years ago, nowadays no one bother to make machine pistol anymore. Remember the M93R and the HK VP70? :angel:

PDWs are the way to the future...

Edited by crazydj

PDWs are the way to the future...

Uncle old already, still living in the era when firearms were made of steel and wood :thirsty:

I remember those days of full metal pistols. CZ..... ..but the butts are always made for male hands, so I always have problem with the butt being too big for me. Can never grip all around unless using both hands.

There also where I learnt about how ang moh men likes asian females.....because we have small hands....makes their weapon looks/feel bigger. Those were the days sia....where I had the most fun.

Now so old oreadi........too. More letharg

You youngsters, dont understand wan lah.

Too much toys and you missed out of the fun on actually focusing and hitting your targets with so much accuracy. We dont waste bullets.

CZ75 lover here! I used to shoot a CZ75 variant made by Tanfoglio. The receiver/frame allows your hand to sit very high and near to the center line of the barrel, less muzzle climb.

CZ75 grip consider very slim already, the fattest grip I ever held was Hk P7M13, almost the size of a cigarette box before squeezing the cocking lever :thirsty: