• Replies 16.2k

wahhh you guys going for another kelong lunch trip im sooo sadd i m still waiting for my tp test which is on the 10th june dang want to go yet still dont have a class 2 dang anyways have a good time guys oh yeah who is holding on to my vara t shirt ehehehe i will pick it up when i pass my class2 and can ride the bike anyways the bike is already at my parking lot the bike is sweeeetttt only thing i cant ride it my dad is having all the fun ok then hope ya guys have a good time at the kelong trip

oh yeah do you guys mind answering some questions of mine

1. How much is a top box im looking something like hepco (gobi) or maybe even viper since a friend of mine said and where can i go seee ehheheh

2. HOw much will it cost me to rewire the whole of my bike cause the bike already 10 years old so may need to rewire for safety puposes

3. and is there any way to reduce the consumption of my vara cause feel that it may be a bit over consuming on the fuel side

Thanks in advance for inviting me to follow on your trips sorry that i can for the mean time due to the fact that i have not yet gotten my class 2 but will join once i do eheheh ok then cherrios still_knight

RIDERS FOR LIFE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi bros!

Need to do tire change later today, Any tires to recommand?

I'm using Mezzeler now, bike shop offers me Michelin Anakee for 300 per set. Is it good? Please advise!!

I'm using it now. Dry excellent, wet go a bit slow k :)

Which shop?

Seems I was talking sh1te last night, or to the wrong person :slapforehead:

Check email this morning and got a reply back from Skidmarx in the UK "We do make a headlight protector for the 03onwards model XL1000V. " yipee.

Good news it's around S$ 60 only. I believe it's an acrylic type and have asked him for a photo or two.

Any Bro's up for one of these?

I can make it a bulk order and we can save a bit on delivery.:D

Bro, I'm interested but can i view the pic also....mine is an 03 like urs.... :angel: update me... 98201214 Eddie aka Don

VARA Seafood Makan

Date: 8th June 2008 (Sunday)

Time: 12.00pm

Meet up Place: GP Petronas ( 2nd link )

1.Yancurly8

2.Atwin

3.Vara, me & myself

4. 323protege

5. Nu7cracker

6. zazin(tbc)

7. kaychan

8. chrislayer(will be slightly late; from office)

9. freerangestormer (neil)

10. candyass

11. DonDidie (TBC)

Yo bro,

Got the tires fixed 300 tire was manufactured on the 48th week of 2007, should be safe on that. Although tires still very new, can already feel that it handles good.

Then its a jolly good deal bro, where did you get it fixed anyways bro???

There is no pain greater than not being able to ride a motorcycle....

There is no joy more worth mention when riding one,,,,,,,

Zac

Another insomniac night for me......Tot washing the bikes and car could help...PUI.

Well guys, since i couldnt sleep all night, i was werking on the budget for the Koh Samui ride this July. Excuse my ignorance but is it ok if the more experienced tourers here werked up a more decent budget, It may take some time,( i took abt 20 minutes) but from my calculations, A total estimate came to SGD $1626.30 for the total duration of the trip.

I dun think that i was lavish for the budget. This was inclusive of a couple of massages and a couple of nights at the club with just a lil money for a lil drinking and some money set aside for just a lil bit of sightseeing. I also took into consideration petrol (for the days we will be riding), hotels, makan, beers, koh pangan, more massages and RnR in KL and down to even cigarettes. I am sorry but i am a pretty thorough person when it comes to budgeting (occupational hazard) and arrived at the amount.

I always also set aside like a couple of hundreds for the what ifs. In this case, setting aside 250 would bring the budget to a staggering $1876.30 (Inclusive of the $250 standby amount)

I will need to compare notes with someone who has probably been there before or has a clearer picture of whats happening.

Honestly with my overheads, i dun think i will be able to spend 1800 on a holiday for a week. There are alot more impt things to be done with that money. Eg. COE due jan 09, road tax renewals in july for the vara and the car, insurance renewals in july for the vara, full servicing for the vara due long ago. Then again i coud be a lil suaku. I will need the advice. and if i am spot on, then gentlemen, excuse me but as much as i wanna go. Dun think i will be able to.

TO ALL>>>>>> My name is ZAC, not ZACH, not ZACK. Please erase Zach and Zack from your memory and register Zac, the insomniac.

Zac

Zac

hi guys...was wondering wen will the nxt batch of vara1000 coming in coz i really interested in getting one. Anyone have any idea??

Live Free.....:thumb:

KRR 150 (2001 - 2003)

Honda S4 VTec (2003 - 2005)

Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird (2005 - 2008)

Suzuki Katana 125 (2006 - ????)

BMW R1200GS '07 (2008 - ????)

Hi all, any comments????????

Dear ZAC, the Insomniac...... wah? u really work it out is it???? Get Atwin to or the rest of the non ECA ppl give an alternative budget not including the ECA...and CCA stuff. I dun think it will work out till that amount... but on the other side our topping of fuel will no matter what add on to our expenses.. :slapforehead:

hi guys...was wondering wen will the nxt batch of vara1000 coming in coz i really interested in getting one. Anyone have any idea??

Hasnt really been brought in for a while now, In fact i never saw any 07 models ard. It will be best to check it out with Boon Siew bro. And keep us updated too. Hahahh.

Good choice of a bike. EFI 07 model. Damn Nice.

Zac

Zac

Dear ZAC, the Insomniac...... wah? u really work it out is it???? Get Atwin to or the rest of the non ECA ppl give an alternative budget not including the ECA...and CCA stuff. I dun think it will work out till that amount... but on the other side our topping of fuel will no matter what add on to our expenses.. :slapforehead:

Hi bro, i have included in like 3 massages costing like 15-20 bucks each without ECA. Thats all bro. I really werked it out. Mahal siak.

Zac

Zac

Hasnt really been brought in for a while now, In fact i never saw any 07 models ard. It will be best to check it out with Boon Siew bro. And keep us updated too. Hahahh.

Good choice of a bike. EFI 07 model. Damn Nice.

Zac

hi Zac thanks for the reply. Consulted wif Boon Siew actually but theres only 1 last standing vara but its 06 i guess silver colour...

Quite sien oredi waiting for the monster...intend to grab the '07 model maroon or red colour if i'm not wrong but its like a waiting game rite now. All bike shops i've went to said tt may there'll b a batch coming in and bike pro told me tt booking can only be done 2day but unfortunately 2day oso cannot book coz the bike price is still not listed yet....any ideas?

Live Free.....:thumb:

KRR 150 (2001 - 2003)

Honda S4 VTec (2003 - 2005)

Honda CBR1100XX Blackbird (2005 - 2008)

Suzuki Katana 125 (2006 - ????)

BMW R1200GS '07 (2008 - ????)

zac -maybe u like to breakdown ur total cost here so tat those tat have been there n back might suggest otherwise :) just tot tats all:)

"Opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one. It doesn't mean its wrong or right."

zac -maybe u like to breakdown ur total cost here so tat those tat have been there n back might suggest otherwise :) just tot tats all:)

oops duplicate post :(

"Opinions are like assholes. Everyone has one. It doesn't mean its wrong or right."

Zac, I think for that amount u quote, I can hv the same holidays for 2 weeks already, maybe Chief Atwin can elaborate cause during the last trip to golden triangle, I didn't even spend that much.

Anyway, just my view and I like to add, the thai baht now is 23 for a sing and beers and cigg is almost tax free. Fuel is the only that costs more but u be riding like 700km +/- only, pump b4 u enter sadao. Leave almost empty b4 u leave sadao too. Hotels for July shld be low-season, high season for Jan to Jun only.

Keep my finger crossed, Very soon they will up the fuel from RM1.92 to RM@#*!%^......

Are u driving the sunroof cerato? Cool, very nice & big interior for a 1.6L car.

Its not how much have u done it, its have u did it?http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p290/Tonyzx11/P1000395.jpg

VARA Seafood Makan

Date: 8th June 2008 (Sunday)

Time: 12.00pm

Meet up Place: GP Petronas ( 2nd link )

1.Yancurly8

2.Atwin

3.Vara, me & myself

4. 323protege

5. Nu7cracker

6. zazin(tbc)

7. kaychan

8. chrislayer(will be slightly late; from office)

9. freerangestormer (neil)

10. candyass

11. stantheman(most likely confirm)

If you guys are going to my dads kelong, GOOD news theres been abit of upgrading now got air-con cum KTV room hehe:cheeky: Can cool down before we move off again..

**only 1 img allowed in signature***

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2630/32/27/667979715/n667979715_1625216_481751.jpg

Have to bear in mind also that we will be riding about all in all 1100 km in Thailand. Petrol it self will be a killer if you guys mentioned that petrol costs as much as in Singapore. It comes as a shocker, then again, i may be wrong. I am greener than a novice when it comes to touring. Will discuss further tomoro night at LC foodcourt.

Zac

Zac

hi Zac thanks for the reply. Consulted wif Boon Siew actually but theres only 1 last standing vara but its 06 i guess silver colour...

Quite sien oredi waiting for the monster...intend to grab the '07 model maroon or red colour if i'm not wrong but its like a waiting game rite now. All bike shops i've went to said tt may there'll b a batch coming in and bike pro told me tt booking can only be done 2day but unfortunately 2day oso cannot book coz the bike price is still not listed yet....any ideas?

Yeah, i guess boon siew wants to release that EFI sitting there for the longest time in their showroom. I wouldnt know how to go about getting 07 EFI. Maybe a parallel importer can help?

VARA, anyone can help with the 07' EFI?

Zac

Zac

Zac, I think for that amount u quote, I can hv the same holidays for 2 weeks already, maybe Chief Atwin can elaborate cause during the last trip to golden triangle, I didn't even spend that much.

Anyway, just my view and I like to add, the thai baht now is 23 for a sing and beers and cigg is almost tax free. Fuel is the only that costs more but u be riding like 700km +/- only, pump b4 u enter sadao. Leave almost empty b4 u leave sadao too. Hotels for July shld be low-season, high season for Jan to Jun only.

Keep my finger crossed, Very soon they will up the fuel from RM1.92 to RM@#*!%^......

Are u driving the sunroof cerato? Cool, very nice & big interior for a 1.6L car.

Hi Tony, like i mentioned lah, i will have to compare notes. I may be a lil suaku. hehe, but yeah, a shock it was for me. I will prolly bring the list down for ATwin to run thru and comment about.

I am driving the Sunroof Cerato bro, and yeah, space was definitely a consideration when buying. Although it consumes a fair bit more than most 1.6L cars, i wanted the comfort cos i drive a lot and spend a lot of time on the road. And its even good for a short power nap in the afternoons when i have a few hours to kill. To me, it really value for the dollar lah. Good car.

Zac

Zac

Cost estimation in Samui

This is my last trip record with Tony in GT 2006.....Phillip will have more detail for that as he is our treasurer during the trip.

11.07.2008 (fri) - Move off from GP @ 2330hrs

12.07.2008 (sat) - Arrive @ Hatyai for visiting friends & R&R@ 1130hrs

13.07.2008 (sun) - Move off from Hatyai 0730hrs to Koh Samui (arrive @ 1400hrs)

14.07.2008 (mon) - Koh Samui R&R - Reggae pub

15.07.2008 (tue) - Move off Koh Samui @ 0900hrs to Hatyai. (arrive @ 1400hrs)

16.07.2008 (wed) - Hatyai R&R

17.07.2008 (thurs) - Move off @ 0700hrs to KL. (arrive KL @ 1200hrs)

18.07.2008 (fri) - Move off KL @ 1200hrs for Singapore. (reach singapore @ 1800hrs)

Note: i will estimate the cost at a high side

Petrol Cost

GP -- Thai Border (RM 1.92/Litres)

4 Petrol Stop in NSHW (Coffee break after exit 214)

- Ayer keroh Petronas (est 210km) ======== RM 36.50

- Exit 214 MacDonald Rest Petronas (est 135km) ===== RM 21.00

- Sg Perak Petronas (est 216km) ================== RM 28.00

- Near Mal/Tha Border (est 240km). ================ RM 37.00

Total Set aside RM 150 x 2 = RM 300 - 350 (Go & Return)

Hatyai ---- Samui (est 35 - 40 Baht/litres )

(est 380km)

1st Petrol Stop (est stop over at 220km) = est use up 15 litres= 600 Baht

2nd Petrol Stop near Donsak Pier = est use up 10 litres= 400 Baht

Total Set aside Baht 1000 x 2 = 2000- 2500 Baht (Go & Return)

Might be cheaper, on the way back might pump once only.

AT KL Stay (17 July)

Hotel Stay in KL (Settle thru credit card)

Expenses/ R&R = RM150-200

At Hatyai Stay (12 July, 15 & 16 July)

Base on Hatyai Grand Central = 890 Baht x 3 Day stay = 2670 Baht

(Note: Twin Sharing will half the cost of hotel stay)

At Samui Stay (13 & 14 July)

Budget GuestHouse Stay (600 - 800 Baht) = 800 Baht x 2 Day = 1600 Baht

(Note: Twin Sharing will half the cost of hotel stay)

Ferry to Samui (est 150 - 200 Baht ) = 2x 200 = 400 Baht (Go & Return)

Bike Rental (est 250 - 400 Baht) plus petrol = 400 + 100 Baht = 500 Baht

Expenses/ R&R = $150 - $200 sin = 4700 Baht

http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert.cgi

Ok...So let me do the estimated sum up for this trip

In Rinngit === RM 550

Petrol RM 350

R&R/Expenses RM 200

Hotel Stay in KL (Settle thru credit card) est. Sin 50-58 (we try Ancasa Hotel)

In Baht ==== 12,370 Baht = est sin $526 & sin $435 with twin sharing room

http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert.cgi

Petrol = 2500 baht

Hotel Stay = 2670 + 1600 = 4270 baht (Note: Twin Sharing will half the cost of hotel stay)

Bike Rental = 500 Baht

Ferry = 400 baht

R&R/Expenses = $150 - $200 sin = 4700 Baht

Note:

I'm planning at slightly high side, cost will be cheaper on that day due to hotel stay. Pls let me know if i have left out anything....

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

varadero8212>> i reduce half ur cost ....i think still within ur budget.

Still_knight>> Yup...ur polo still with me. Gd luck for your test date.

stantheman>> wow...now equip with KTV room....must reserve for us.

Ice T>> Thks for showing interest in this bike....do come down and join us for kopi & view our vara on display. Definitely eye catching, especially with a batch of varadero guys........

JoeMac>> MIA liao....very quite.

Tony>> is next sunday....if free join us for the makan & adventure ride

323Protege>> ask ur friend Simon along too... i msg him, no reponse from him.

chrislayer>> if u interested for the coolant change, let me know. We can go down together. Anyone interested to service up ur coolant.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=140386

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia