sunroof for cars?

krazyfist

• Replies 36

If the car factory doesn't have any sunroof then U can't install it. Normally the cost would be over $1.5K & above to install.

For modification best U check out one-motoring webbie for more info.

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/719/my1sthondamatchez0.jpg

Yes it can be. SO far as what I know it must be LTA Approved as well. I heard there is a company doing it with LTA approval but it does not come cheap.

Most impt of all it's not advisable to do so.

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg

Confirm 100% must be LTA approved as it weakens the structure of the car. Cost is about $3000 as far as i can remember. guaranteed for 10 years by the company. but i just cant remember the name or location of teh company.

Markinto, you will have problems during inspection if your log card doesnt indicate SR and you got a sunroof. confirm to fail inspection.

If you like sunroof (like me) you should get it factory fitted.

I paid $5000 for mine to be factory fitted and waited 4 months for delivery. Continental cars sunroof is different and more complicated.

It doesnt open outwards, it opens and hides within a section in the carroof.

Factory fitting fully guaranteed and also LTA approve, no problem at all.

Money well spent.

Originally posted by markinto spyworld@January 12, 2007 11:24 am

Dude..Its RM1800 Ringgit Ya..Spore Bout $850....Around There...

still money sia...hahaa.. btw, which part of jb u go to? im scared kena cheat....

mitsubishi van

KR proton

fiat panorama

wave R special edition

RXZ

125Z

TZM

Originally posted by markinto spyworld@January 12, 2007 11:22 am

Check This..Yup True..

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...ml#MainPar_0015

I Haven Go For Inspection...And It Will Void Car Body Warranty Too...But Since I Loves The Sunroof So Much, I Just Gamble...Still Got 2 Yrs To Go For The Next Inspection..

hey thanx for the link u gave..dammit..everything cannot be done...

mitsubishi van

KR proton

fiat panorama

wave R special edition

RXZ

125Z

TZM

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/sun6.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image028.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image019.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/14-1.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/9-1.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/1-1.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/3-1.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image022.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image035.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image039.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image044.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image099.jpg

Originally posted by Throttle@January 11, 2007 11:03 pm

Confirm 100% must be LTA approved as it weakens the structure of the car. Cost is about $3000 as far as i can remember. guaranteed for 10 years by the company. but i just cant remember the name or location of teh company.

Markinto, you will have problems during inspection if your log card doesnt indicate SR and you got a sunroof. confirm to fail inspection.

Just Call Up Lta And Talked To James.(Lta Vehicle Engineer). He Said That The Sunroof Glass MUST HAVE These 'E' Logo like This...Got Nothing To Do With Vehicle Log Card..Im Saved Now I Guess....:lovestruck:

Will Go Inspection Soon..Will Update..

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Serialnumber.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Serialnumber2.jpg

Originally posted by markinto spyworld@January 12, 2007 07:07 pm

Just Call Up Lta And Talked To James.(Lta Vehicle Engineer). He Said That The Sunroof Glass MUST HAVE These 'E' Logo like This...Got Nothing To Do With Vehicle Log Card..Im Saved Now I Guess....:lovestruck:

The log card shows that the car comes without a sunroof.

If they are strict and eagle eyed, they will question why the car has a sunroof if the logcard doesnt show SR.

The moment that happens, you will be required to get an LTA approval as it is considered a modification not pertaining to factory specs.

Hopefully the passing criteria is as simple as having a stamp of quality on the sunroof. Otherwise bgi headache. Or gotta spend extra money to get mechs to send it for inspection for you.

good of your to share the pics

Originally posted by markinto spyworld@January 12, 2007 04:00 pm

Permas Jaya...Shop Name 'Brothers'..Lots Od Spore Cars Too Dude! Can Get To Know Each Other..Ha!!..If You Like, Go Ahead..You Got The Power To Decide..

permas jaya? mmm...izzit near angsana? or somemore further up? mmm, kinda scared to go further up after hearing all the robbery news...:cry:

mitsubishi van

KR proton

fiat panorama

wave R special edition

RXZ

125Z

TZM

Originally posted by markinto spyworld@January 12, 2007 04:33 pm

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/sun6.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image028.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image019.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/14-1.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/9-1.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/1-1.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/3-1.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image022.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image035.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image039.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image044.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h35/markinto/Image099.jpg

wei..damn cool sia..and how long they took to do it?

mitsubishi van

KR proton

fiat panorama

wave R special edition

RXZ

125Z

TZM

Actually, I've never seen the need for a sunroof in Singapore. It worries the owners about leakages, noise etc..... Plus a sunroof does 'weaken' the structure of the car.... And the rubber seals.... don't talk about the sunroof... even the door rubbers can lose its 'water-proofness' because of our heat......

In cooler climates (and especially cars without air-conditioning), the sun roof plays quite an important part, but in Singapore, most of us have the air-conditioning on most of the time..... so really, not a necessary accessory....

But I do agree with Throttle..... if you want it, get it factory fitted......but then again, for some cars, the sunroof option can cost up to $7k (or more)....... so the price of RM1.8k is really attractive......

For those with sunroof, how often do you use your sunroof and do you use it with the air-conditioning on???

In my opinion, it is a pointness option unless you are into the 'aesthetics' of the car....

http://http//content2.i-am-bored.com/images/instantninja_456876.jpg

Originally posted by markinto spyworld@January 12, 2007 07:07 pm

So whats the result? As far as I am concerned, insurance company have the right of refusal to cover you if the sunroof is not part of the car. The main prob is not whether inspection you kena or not. I did mine 12 years ago and went for LTA inspection. The log card will be modified to indicate model and make (sunroof).

That is needed.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_jsDmFPg_Qm8/TKHV3JmJX_I/AAAAAAAABQc/l3AA9IAbbtI/s1600/Scan_01_Biker%2520Mice%2520from%2520Mars_8x10_RGB_BG_TX%2520copy.gif

Contrary to what you think Greg, a Moonroof/Sunroof is a really fun option to have. In fact a Cariolet is very suitable for Singapore.

Driving one in the cool evenings is very nice.

When I was driving a Cabrio, I opened my top almost every evening driving home from work.

As for my Moonroof, i probably use it around 30% of the time.

As long as it is not too hot and I dont get stuck in traffic, I am very very likely to turn off the aircon, down the windows and the sunroof.

Although it's a small opening, it changes the ambience within the car very significantly.

You can also have the aircon on while the sunroof is open.

Cool air doesnt rise so your cabin will still feel cool.

Even for a Cabrio, you can do the same.

Down the soft top/hard top but keep all windows up, the aircon can still keep you cool.

I would agree that soft top down under the hot afternoon sun is a bit crazy unlike you are at the beach.

A sunroof/moonroof certainly makes a car look much better and sportier too.

Finally, it allows me to smoke my cigar in the car if really necessary.That's why I specifically ordered my car with a Moonroof and waited 4 months for special delivery and paid additional $5k.

In fact, I told the Sales Exec, "no sunroof/moonroof, i wont buy"

heh hehh heh

(For the records, I've not had any problems regarding leakages, noise etc ...with both my sunroof/moonroof cars)