$2,800 is not bad a pay when you become a registered WSHO. but if you were to compare with your peers (of the same age, same experience) from the consultancy firms, you may be discouraged and disappointed even before you end your 3-year bond.

we love to compare, don't we? some say life is hard, i say compare to what?

but ok lah, you still young (and hopefully handsome), so give yourself 3 years (you should still be young and handsome). if you love keppel, stay. if not, you have enough credential to move on. bear in mind that keppel is a top employer to be desired. they gave away 9 months of bonus last year. they are also moving toward a company with world class safety standard. so that will make your safety career more meaningful.

well said bro. thanks for your valuable advice. will see how..tmr 2nd interview..wish me luck! hv a great day ahead!

- Keep Calm & ADV -

• Replies 2.3k

dat 9 mth bonus is gd but to earn every single cent of is really nt dat easy especially in hse..one wrg move n whole world keep crashing down in keppel... seen it many times..here in keppel

hmm care to share what u exactly mean by 'whole world keep crashing down in keppel'..? if it's not confidential that is..

- Keep Calm & ADV -

$2,800 is not bad a pay when you become a registered WSHO. but if you were to compare with your peers (of the same age, same experience) from the consultancy firms, you may be discouraged and disappointed even before you end your 3-year bond.

we love to compare, don't we? some say life is hard, i say compare to what?

but ok lah, you still young (and hopefully handsome), so give yourself 3 years (you should still be young and handsome). if you love keppel, stay. if not, you have enough credential to move on. bear in mind that keppel is a top employer to be desired. they gave away 9 months of bonus last year. they are also moving toward a company with world class safety standard. so that will make your safety career more meaningful.

well said bro. really appreciate your input. anyway tmr 2nd interview..wish me luck! and hv a great dat ahead!

- Keep Calm & ADV -

Dun wanna rain on ur parade but $2800 for WSHO ???? Tatz peanuts... no offence but market is lot more higher...($5k above)

i understand where you're coming from bro. in fact, i'm aware of all these market prices. i myself am from a consultant and i roughly know how much i'll be getting upon becoming wsho..but currently i'm more concerned in building up my credential, knowledge and experience. as we all know, a solid foundation is essential for a practising safety professional.

if i were in it for the money, i wouldn't even hv bothered considering their offer. i'd rather sacrifice now cos i know ultimately i'll benefit. that aside, fresh wsho may be getting $4500-$5000. multiply by 13(12mths + 1mth bonus) and you will be drawing approx $58,500 annually. this is taking into consideration normal companies offering 13th mth bonus.

on the other hand, $2800 X 21(12mths + 9mths bonus), thats ard $58,800.

at the end of the day, it's how we look at things. like what don corleone from the godfather said, "you win some, you lose some." cheers bro.

- Keep Calm & ADV -

Whao lao eh... Godfather also come out ar? Solid man...

New officer with 5.5k usually contract on short project... unlikely have 13mth

Guest aircraft

3 years is a long time, anything can happen in 3 years. e.g change jobs 2-3 times for huge increments. Anyway, at least its a renowned company, after 3 years will get huge increments ? e.g to at least 4-5 k ?

Whao lao eh... Godfather also come out ar? Solid man...

New officer with 5.5k usually contract on short project... unlikely have 13mth

well it is an epic movie..hahahh..

- Keep Calm & ADV -

3 years is a long time, anything can happen in 3 years. e.g change jobs 2-3 times for huge increments. Anyway, at least its a renowned company, after 3 years will get huge increments ? e.g to at least 4-5 k ?

your status states that you're waiting for reply from MOM..registering as wsho ah bro? if you are, all the best!

- Keep Calm & ADV -

Whao... 3 years can change job 2-3 times... I must be damn stupid to stay in the same company for the past 4 years... Hmmm.... I must go and do up my resume and start sending emails...

Guest aircraft
your status states that you're waiting for reply from MOM..registering as wsho ah bro? if you are, all the best!

Hi Bro,

My WSHO registration approved liao. But no change in my job and pay as my current job scope covers safety also and company do not need a RSO now, I just took it for knowledge

Guest aircraft
Whao... 3 years can change job 2-3 times... I must be damn stupid to stay in the same company for the past 4 years... Hmmm.... I must go and do up my resume and start sending emails...

Haha, you are not stupid, just tat everyone works differently. Anything can happen and does happen, I just want to highlight the restriction of a bond.

i understand where you're coming from bro. in fact, i'm aware of all these market prices. i myself am from a consultant and i roughly know how much i'll be getting upon becoming wsho..but currently i'm more concerned in building up my credential, knowledge and experience. as we all know, a solid foundation is essential for a practising safety professional.

if i were in it for the money, i wouldn't even hv bothered considering their offer. i'd rather sacrifice now cos i know ultimately i'll benefit. that aside, fresh wsho may be getting $4500-$5000. multiply by 13(12mths + 1mth bonus) and you will be drawing approx $58,500 annually. this is taking into consideration normal companies offering 13th mth bonus.

on the other hand, $2800 X 21(12mths + 9mths bonus), thats ard $58,800.

at the end of the day, it's how we look at things. like what don corleone from the godfather said, "you win some, you lose some." cheers bro.

u got it wrg by comparing it 9 mth bonus rate....dun expect it to be like this throughout ur 3yrs stint if u joined keppel...heck , they might even go lower, much much lower den u tink...so it best to stick to basic pay...and U are not a RSO when joining straight...not like immediately drawing dat kind of pay a AHSEO...cheers..

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

3yr bond means u need to pay liquidated damage chargers if he broke his bond.so no chance to jump ship unless paying.....and trust me, in this 3 yrs...no huge increment from this renowned compny till can hit 4 to 5 k....even as a RSO

u got it wrg by comparing it 9 mth bonus rate....dun expect it to be like this throughout ur 3yrs stint if u joined keppel...heck , they might even go lower, much much lower den u tink...so it best to stick to basic pay...and U are not a RSO when joining straight...not like immediately drawing dat kind of pay a AHSEO...cheers..

am aware of that bro. thanks again for the reminder. i was referring to the salary range of $2800 upon becoming RSO. and for a AHSEO will obviously be much lower..

anyway u jumping ship anytime soon? bond finish already mah..hahah..

- Keep Calm & ADV -

me ? just opening up ma options....u b goin thru the same process more or less like i did... its a gd learning platform...

Hi all bros, Where can i get the vest that ssangyong / samsung construction are wearing? Those type that have lot of pocket on the vest. If is supplier any contact to share? Thanks for your help.

Guest aircraft
i got an friend who is in local contractor drawing 8K/mth as a WSHO cum ECO.

Construction's pay not bad, about that range, but I dont know local company also give tat kind of pay.

i got an friend who is in local contractor drawing 8K/mth as a WSHO cum ECO.

Oh ya ya... have... that one I know... His name is Mr. Pao... pao mountain, pao sea, pao kan, pao baby delivery... LOL kidding lah...

I'll always reflect from time to time as to whether I justified what I was paid... Sometime I even separate my wages by 1k for attending meeting 3 times a week, 1k for generating weekly report, 1k for etc... LOL It make me feel better and useful... and if you got the same feeling when u see someone got paid for 12k and start wondering what is he doing day in day out... cannot compare lah... same human but different fate, same umbrella but different handle... LOL

Hi all bros, Where can i get the vest that ssangyong / samsung construction are wearing? Those type that have lot of pocket on the vest. If is supplier any contact to share? Thanks for your help.

I used to see a red haired monkey on my site using what u mention... quite stylo milo... but I think he bought it in the states...

care to share how the vest looks like bro?

- Keep Calm & ADV -

Guest aircraft
Oh ya ya... have... that one I know... His name is Mr. Pao... pao mountain, pao sea, pao kan, pao baby delivery... LOL kidding lah...

I'll always reflect from time to time as to whether I justified what I was paid... Sometime I even separate my wages by 1k for attending meeting 3 times a week, 1k for generating weekly report, 1k for etc... LOL It make me feel better and useful... and if you got the same feeling when u see someone got paid for 12k and start wondering what is he doing day in day out... cannot compare lah... same human but different fate, same umbrella but different handle... LOL

Must take into account the working days and hours also, and the nature of work. Sanding under the hot sun and rain everyday is different from working in office + site work.

true to that. at the end of the day, it's not how much u earn. it's more of how HARD u hv to work to earn such amount.

can't compare 5-day work week, 8-5 inside office earning $2000. with 6-days work week, under sun, plus whack OT then get $2300.

in terms of monetary, the latter earns more. but that poor chap gotta slug it out. just an example though...

- Keep Calm & ADV -

Haizzz... Actually I'm kinda like Mr. Pao also... all rounder...

But 1 thing I make it clear. I will not spend my time standing on a same spot staring blankly at a group of workers working... I'll talk to them abit check doc, tools, ask them any problem and then I move on...

Don't find it comfortable when someone standing watching the work crew but does nothing and end of the day he proudly says that safety is about full time supervision... Hack! ur company should employ a $800 worker send him for courses and give him a blue helmet... at least he don't smoke and really can stand there the whole day... where were you? in the smoke pit?

Full time supervision = field supervisors...

I'm a safety professional and I'm busy...