First Greetings Everyone!

Well, the day that I have been waiting for is around the corner... And I seriously can't wait to go out at 3.30am on my own 2 wheels, eat roti-prata or kui zhap!!

I am halfway through my class 2B license and am currently wondering what bike I should get. Given my height, some of my buddies say that I'll look better on bigger bike. (personally I am eyeing the sports class..)

However, I am still studying poly and my income can only be so much.. So....

Can anyone please give an opinion? Be it first hand or second hand, the bike I can aim for between 2k - 4k? (cost a bit more also can..)

Thank a lot! :)

. Keep Up The Throttle . Now & Ever .

• Replies 32

seriously, dun give in to peer pressure.. ur fren may ride SP, WR and look nice, but tats just the icing.. if u can not afford it, get a cheap bike.. remember a bike is a advantage, not a liability till u have to look for job just to maintain it.. ter are super tall people riding VESPA and wave..

Haha, yea point there.

I've just entered into the world of bikes and my experience is small, do help me get my footing.

From what I know, Honda Repsols, NSRs are within the the 2B license range. I heard that they are good starter bikes too. Are there any other good starter bikes outside the category of scooters?

phantom?daylim roadwin(super4 lookalike),daylim daystar,suzuki gn125, yamaha ybr 125/150 honda cbr 150,so many dude.

Trading Xbox 360 games. PM for any titles available for exchange.

I suggest u ride a 4 stroker bike for your first bike. Low maintainence, cheap and very ecomonical.

ya..there r mani factors to consider..

speed,look,fuel consumptn,maintainence,handling,stability etc..

under claz2B category..

in terms of pick up n top speed..

2t sportbikes such as sp,kips,rs125 certainly win over 4t bikes

needless to say..

bt then..they hv higher fc..& requires 2t oil..

so there r pros n cons..

u muz nOe wat u wan in ur ride..is lyk ur wife..

one gOOd example is speed factor..

initialy will say nOt a speed freak..juz for transpOrt nia..

later then realised nOt suitable cOz nt fast..

so take note of tiz factor wen gettin a 4t bikes..

..Trials and Tribulations are Tests to shape ones path in Life..

..nobody plan to fail but many failed to plan..

..make e right mOve & u're made for Life..

Ya, you are right. Currently in my head i am thinking "just for transport". But really, wonder what factor I will settle on eventually.

Right now I am still damn lost, dunno even where to start. Kinnda jia lad.... Likewise, got read up somewhere in this forum "When choosing your bike, mai kanjeong!"

Gonna read up more of the forum ba....

Ya, you are right. Currently in my head i am thinking "just for transport". But really, wonder what factor I will settle on eventually.

Right now I am still damn lost, dunno even where to start. Kinnda jia lad.... Likewise, got read up somewhere in this forum "When choosing your bike, mai kanjeong!"

Originally posted by solisity@February 03, 2007 07:29 pm

dun rush.. focus on ur practicals first. :goodluck:

maybe i tink u shd get TA200? or Bajaj Pulsar?

Originally posted by solisity@February 03, 2007 07:29 pm

ya..b4 u get ur bike..do read up their thread to understand ur future bike better..it helps alot in ur decision making..

i learn alot frOm tiz forum too..

for example..tiz thread which is extremely useful.. Free parking

..Trials and Tribulations are Tests to shape ones path in Life..

..nobody plan to fail but many failed to plan..

..make e right mOve & u're made for Life..

Free parking!

Haha steady, that sure is one of the good advantages of owning two wheels instead of four!

Recently been looking at phantoms, pretty cost efficient, comfortable, etc. But that thing about rust is true for some cases. (I've seen some of my friend's phantoms)

On an overall, I'm starting to get a feel for cruisers. Phantom seem like a pretty nice choice but how do I maintain so I dont get that rust? (oil, greese?)

Apart from phantoms, what other cruiser types are reccommended for class 2b's? I've seen plenty of sweet looking cruisers on the Honda webby... but all 700cc++!

xi bei xian.. see so nice but cannot get... like tt show "Singapore Dreaming"....

(Pray i strike 4D..)

there are plenty to Cruisers in the 2B class ....

Honda

- Phantom TA150/ TA200

- Shadow 125

- Rebel

Daelim

- Daystar

- Magma

Yamaha

- Dragster 125 (i'm not sure if singapore have)

i think still got more ...

but seriously if u gonna change after 1 year of p-plate ..

do take in the resale value of the bike when making the choice ...

de-rusting can be done and the chrome can be maintain in good condition if the owner take care of the bike ... :smile:

THE ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY

Ivy you make my day.

Phantoms are super but when I saw the Honda Shadow 125....

Wa.... Cheeeeeoooooo Ar!

I read up a bit on it but mostly is other country one. Any opinion about Honda Shadow 125? And how much a first or second hand one cost? Price agar-agar can lo.... thanks

Originally posted by SmokeMachineKid@February 07, 2007 01:15 pm

if you cant decide for yourself, dont F*****g ride. Damn idiot. Die better

That was rude kid.:nono:

thx beb,

Anyway, heres what I found with regards to the Honda Shadow 250cc

Found that it may take getting used to for begininers when turning at a low speed. (Its about 140kg if I remember correctly.)

Overall its quite an econimical bike, nice purr, read its quite tour capable.

This information is based in london thogh.. dunno S'pore.

It costs about 2900 pounds. So I suppose First Hand in S'pore is about 9k++

Hopefully second hand is 3-5k, if not i really can go die already... heh

If anyone wants more information about this, I can post what I researched (hope it's helpful) in my next post.

Originally posted by Beb@February 07, 2007 05:39 pm

That was rude kid.:nono:

I realised this SmokeMachineKid has been posting vulgar and abusive messages around the forum... Can someone stop him?

Anyway, back to the topic. I suggest solsity get a proper streetbike model like Yamaha YBR, Honda CG Titan or CBX Strada, Bajaj Pulsar and similar bikes. Bikes with petrol tank for thigh gripping can give you better practice for riding.

Try to get a 4 stroke bike like what other has mentioned also, cheaper maintenance and petrol consumption. :)

Anyway, heres what I found with regards to the Honda Shadow 250cc

oops. It's supposed to be VT 125 Shadow 2000. Can't do 200cc+ yet.

Thanks for the advice tourer84 & all,

Yamaha YBR, Honda CG Titan or CBX Strada, Bajaj Pulsa, etc... can give me better practice for riding. (I practiced on Honda CG 125s at Y.C.K SSDC. Nice control)

However, I think I'm hooked in BAD by the Honda Shadow Series. Man, the VT 1100s, 750s, 600s, even Magna! Wooo, I think I've found I want!

I suppose they are not easy to handle for starters. So I'll most prob practice on my "wife-to-be" at 3am around my block or something when I get her....

Anyway I'm putting up this website for the sake of it. Covers a good amount of bikes and specifications if u are looking for one. The search engine is a little funny tho. http://www.motorbikes.be/en/brands.aspx

Guess all that is left to do now is to read up the other forums about engine oils and maintainance methods to take good care of my ride.

eh chill la dude. no need so fierce.

anyway solisity, maybe you should decide what kinda bike you want first. Easier to narrow your choices. Sports bike, road bike, cruisers, scramblers, scooters. I think these are the main categories. From there then u can see budget also.

w y x m m

Originally posted by solisity@February 07, 2007 10:22 pm

oops. It's supposed to be VT 125 Shadow 2000. Can't do 200cc+ yet.

Thanks for the advice tourer84 & all,

Yamaha YBR, Honda CG Titan or CBX Strada, Bajaj Pulsa, etc... can give me better practice for riding. (I practiced on Honda CG 125s at Y.C.K SSDC. Nice control)

However, I think I'm hooked in BAD by the Honda Shadow Series. Man, the VT 1100s, 750s, 600s, even Magna! Wooo, I think I've found I want!

I suppose they are not easy to handle for starters. So I'll most prob practice on my "wife-to-be" at 3am around my block or something when I get her....

Anyway I'm putting up this website for the sake of it. Covers a good amount of bikes and specifications if u are looking for one. The search engine is a little funny tho. http://www.motorbikes.be/en/brands.aspx

Guess all that is left to do now is to read up the other forums about engine oils and maintainance methods to take good care of my ride.

for everything ...

skip the Honda CBX Strada bah ... :sweat:

not much left... and not many to start with ...

and have abit of probs with parts ... :sweat:

THE ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY

Originally posted by solisity@February 07, 2007 10:58 pm

Cruiser Bro!

And that's the Honda VT 125 Shadow 2000 :D

Hopefully can find a second hand one....

Hahaha..well welcome to the world of cruisers dude. We'll be waiting for you at cruiser forum once you get your bike. Good luck on your hunt :)

w y x m m

Wat so bad abt strada?haha,.,.i been riding tis for so many yrs liao..so far so good le..hehe,.,.

Yo bro.. if u liked honda shadow 125.. i'll think u'll love e suzuki intruder 125 .. it's basicaly e same size.. same weight as e shadow.. same v-engine.. albeit a more sporty n stylist in my opinion.. below's a pic of mine

post-2-1170900667.jpg