• Replies 2.7k

Just thinking if motorbike can use those big bottle 5 litres engine oil for cars???

Cos they are cheaper and some even got the same model use for bike...

Originally posted by swanchee@Sep 8 2004, 01:35 PM

Just went down to check, the 10-11 bucks/bottle Royal Purple are actually motorcar oil lay. Those use for motorcycle are Royal Purple Max-Cycle which are sold for 16.50 per bottle :sian:

Motorcar oil (normally can tahan up to 8k rpm max) can use for wet clutch high rpm (16k rpm) motorcycle engine meh :confused:

I got a reply from the Royal purple guys. They say that it can be used on motorcycles. Hold on i go get the reply..

The Royal Purple SAE Motor Oils are API/ ILSAC certified; they have not been subjected to JASO test sequences. However, I am confident they would greatly exceed MA/ MB specifications. I can account personally for their wet-clutch compatibility as I have used these oils in my last three Honda street bikes ('95 CB750 Night Hawk, '98 VF750C Magna, and '00 VTR1000 Super Hawk) prior to the release of the Max Cycle line of engine oils (11/03). As well, we have literally thousands of customers using/ have used the SAE engine oils in wet-clutch applications. The SAE engine oils are a suitable alternative to the Max Cycle line of engine oils in all motorcycle applications.

Jared Martin

Retail Products Division

281-354-7788 ext. 240 voice

281-354-7335 fax

http://www.royalpurple.com

-----Original Message-----

Sent: Thursday, March 11, 2004 9:03 AM

To: [email protected]

Subject: Hi Does your Royal Purple Motor Oil hav JASO MA certification?

Hi just like to enquire if your Royal Purple Motor Oil have the JASO MA certification to support my motorcycle wet clutch??? I'll be waiting for your answer. Thank You. In Singapore I can't find Max cycle product range so I would like to try the Royal Purple Motor Oil. I am now riding a 4-stroke Honda Wave motorcycle.

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Sep 8 2004, 08:10 PM

I got a reply from the Royal purple guys. They say that it can be used on motorcycles. Hold on i go get the reply..

Thanks dude, official reply will give me ease of mind buying the cheap motoroil. :smile:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-122.jpg

Yeah support royal purple, cheapest fully syn and unique oil colour.

CAn last a long time.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by hachi@Sep 10 2004, 01:33 PM

Yeah support royal purple, cheapest fully syn and unique oil colour.

CAn last a long time.

Erm.... actually I tot the colour is unique also... until I use Fuchs Pro4 Plus.... it's Purple as well.......

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Hahhaha I have seem black colour engine oil. IS new oil not old one.

But which fully syn can beat RP price?

And not to mention performance?

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by hachi@Sep 10 2004, 01:53 PM

Hahhaha I have seem black colour engine oil. IS new oil not old one.

But which fully syn can beat RP price?

And not to mention performance?

True, true.........If I'm on a budget and riding a bigger capacity bike I'll definitely consider using back the RP oil.....

Black colour new oil.......? no thanks! :sweat:

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by hachi@Sep 6 2004, 01:14 PM

Tanjong pagar plaza blk 2 selling per $11 bottle

Use for my Ver S very smooth,every 6 months then change oil.

can any1 provide more info on shop. Shop name or location. Thanks.

13Jun05 - 21Jul06 Joyride 172cc. Mileage=31050

21Jul06..... TA200. Mileage=3200

MSN = [email protected]

dat time i get a info from a mech dat if u dun travel high speed(130km/h & above),dun need to use full syn,need onli semi...even new bike....

is this true????:confused:

anybody tried TOTAL fully syn from carrfour only 4.70 leh... its the same company that bring u elf lubricants.

If i not wrong, TOTAL is not fully syn. Its semi syn. Gd & Cheap...

Heard from most of e bike shop said that

new bike is better 2 use fully syn(5-40/50,10-40/50)

older bike use semi syn(10-40/50,15-40/50)

10yrs bike semi syn or normal syn(15-40/50,20/50)

Correct me if wrong...

Originally posted by HondaSF@Sep 10 2004, 08:40 PM

If i not wrong, TOTAL is not fully syn. Its semi syn. Gd & Cheap...

Heard from most of e bike shop said that

new bike is better 2 use fully syn(5-40/50,10-40/50)

older bike use semi syn(10-40/50,15-40/50)

10yrs bike semi syn or normal syn(15-40/50,20/50)

Correct me if wrong...

Taken from the Royal Purple Website.

I think this question is VERY COMMON.

What viscosity do you recommend for motorcycles?

Follow the manufacturer's recommendations regarding viscosity. Most manufacturers recommend a 10W40 for 4-cycle, liquid-cooled motorcycles. Air / oil cooled motorcycles typically specify a 20W50. Check your owner's manual for verification or contact Royal Purple's Automotive Technical Department at 888-382-6300.

So conclusion is

Air or Oil cooled engines require 20W50 or anything that ends with 50 behind for protection of the engine when it is hot.

Liquid cooled or engines with coolant are recomended 10W40 or above....

Hope that helps ......

Originally posted by pegasus@Sep 11 2004, 04:57 AM

Erm wat the 20w50 or 10-40/50 thing huh?how to noe which is gd?

That is the Viscosity of the oil..... whether good or bad depends on the requirements of your bike.

http://www.vtr.org/maintain/oil-overview.html

Originally posted by Cool79@Sep 11 2004, 08:51 AM

RP got sell 10-40??

Got. Taken from the website again. Here it is.

Royal Purple® Motor Oil is recommended for use in all four-cycle gasoline engines and both two-cycle and four-cycle diesel applications including cars, trucks, motor homes / RVs, boats, commercial fleet and stationary industrial diesel engines.

Royal Purple® Motor Oil is a tough, long life, high performance oil that delivers superior protection and enhanced performance to gasoline and diesel engines. It gains its performance advantages from a blend of synthetic oils plus Royal Purple's proprietary, synthetic Synerlec® additive technology.

Synerlec® additive technology greatly reduces engine wear, including ring, cylinder and bearing wear. It is extremely tenacious, adheres to engine surfaces and remains after shutdown, which provides protection upon initial startup.

Multi-Grade Oils: 5W20, 5W30, 10W30, 10W40, 15W40, 20W50

Originally posted by Cool79@Sep 11 2004, 09:07 AM

4 the RP is it full syn???? it never state it's fully syn

can email the sale person from RP to check it out???

Taken from the website again.

Is Royal Purple® synthetic motor oil?

Yes. Royal Purple® Motor oils are composed of a proprietary formulation of synthetic base oils and synthetic additives containing iso-paraffinic diluents.

http://www.synerlec.com/techa/faqsa.html#mo7

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Sep 13 2004, 07:56 PM

Taken from the website again.

Is Royal Purple® synthetic motor oil?

Yes. Royal Purple® Motor oils are composed of a proprietary formulation of synthetic base oils and synthetic additives containing iso-paraffinic diluents.

http://www.synerlec.com/techa/faqsa.html#mo7

so in short is semi syn or fully syn????

heehee

my english not veri gd

Originally posted by sb_rider@Sep 18 2004, 04:07 PM

any1 noe where the shop sell royal purple at Tanjong Pagar? level 1 or 2 or.. ? went down last week but cannot find the shop. blur blur. :confused:

K la Pity u. Poor u. Hehehhe. Come I give the full address.

Tai Hee Electric Trading Co.

Blk 2 Tanjong Pagar Plaza

#02-20 Singapore 082002

Tel: 6223 2610

Opening Hours : 11AM till 9PM. Monday till Saturday

CLOSE on SUNDAY!

Hope Dat Helps many of the riders here!

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Sep 21 2004, 12:13 AM

K la Pity u. Poor u. Hehehhe. Come I give the full address.

Tai Hee Electric Trading Co.

Blk 2 Tanjong Pagar Plaza

#02-20 Singapore 082002

Tel: 6223 2610

Opening Hours : 11AM till 9PM. Monday till Saturday

CLOSE on SUNDAY!

Hope Dat Helps many of the riders here!

Thanks. :smile:

No wonder cannot find. Electrical store sell engine oil. haha :cheeky:

13Jun05 - 21Jul06 Joyride 172cc. Mileage=31050

21Jul06..... TA200. Mileage=3200

MSN = [email protected]