I just bought a old ZZR600 2 mth back. just wondering if there are any other ZZR riders around. Seems that im the only one riding this lovely bike. its not love at first sight, but its a hell of a joy to ride. Anyone out there who also used to own one wld like to share stories about this bike?

the Kawasaki will never let the rider down, only the rider will let the Kawasaki down! :thumb:

• Replies 14

top speed i tried ard 230km very smoothe engine.fuel consumtion if whack is 15km per liter crusing 160km and above. in sgp road it is 20 to 22 km per liter.engine wise one of the smoothest 600 for the price. it sure is better than super 4 and all that. but suspension of this bike is a bit on the soft side. two up riding will scrape center stand when conering. to improve it you should change to olin or similar.if you find high speed woble check your steering cone bearings and front and rear wheel bearings.Put good tyres on it it will make a difference on your riding pleasure.One thing this bike is very quiet on the highway. The exhaust is on the quiet side. As for parts I would recomend that you go KL and buy much cheaper. Down side is hard to get parts in singapore and expensive. Front Brakes not so good but if you get use to it, its ok. you need to use a lot of finger strength unlike the newer models where you just use 2 fingers tap.

I'm riding the 11. Its a real nice bike! Wat I can say is... the kawa agent needs to be more efficient in maintaining the kawa mkt...

So far, my bike is well serviced and has no prob getting non-OEM/Brand new parts. I believe travelling to KL may be more exp? U can search ebau and some other european and US site for spares. Thay hv quite a great deal of it.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10715/obliquityresize.jpg

IBA member #25267

I find that the boys in KL can do a better job tuning and solving problems with the 11 or the 6 than the boys in SGP.THey don't charge as much as the boys in sgp. I always go to motorcyclesales center at PJ section 16. They really know what to do with kawas. A friend of mine got a D1 sent to a mechanic in kaki bukit they say piston leaking la so on and so forth. So i told him sent to KL and he send and his bike now run like thunder man. Happens to be carb problem thats all. I use to ride a 6 and I always go there and service my bike at the same time spend holiday there la.

I just bought a old ZZR600 2 mth back. just wondering if there are any other ZZR riders around. Seems that im the only one riding this lovely bike. its not love at first sight, but its a hell of a joy to ride. Anyone out there who also used to own one wld like to share stories about this bike?

How much u bought e bike? Is it COE renewed? From bikeshop?:smile:

* LiFe Is In FaCt ThE WaY We FeEl MoMeNt By MoMeNt.....So LiVe In ThE MoMeNt.....OnE At A TiMe....AfTeR WhIcH....RIP.... *

Originally posted by roger@February 09, 2007 10:27 am

I'm riding the 11. Its a real nice bike! Wat I can say is... the kawa agent needs to be more efficient in maintaining the kawa mkt...

So far, my bike is well serviced and has no prob getting non-OEM/Brand new parts. I believe travelling to KL may be more exp? U can search ebau and some other european and US site for spares. Thay hv quite a great deal of it.

yup. somehow our local kawa agent not as aggresive as boon siew or hong leong. Went through a lot of hassle to get parts when i still riding zx 4.

and now they didnt even bring in the er-6f, or the 650r as they called it in the states, even though that bike is among kawa's top seller in europe and in the states.

Hey ther ZZR600. Yeah you mention exactly the same things im experiencing with my bike. The front brakes is kinda weak, have to really squeeze hard to brake as compared to my friends newer bike like R6. I've change the brake cable but the improvement is small. Some friend told me its my brake disc thats gone. And yup the bike does wobble quite a bit at high speed bends of 130km and above, just enough to give me the chills to slow down and ride safely . Anyway do you have any problems with the gearbox or clutch plate?

My gear change is not so good, a few times the gears dint engage properly. I heard its a common problem with the ZZR.

And YES, i alway scrape the hump at the carpark on the way to school in the morning if im carrying some babe along. Its irritating!

Well, Ive hit about 230km/h with the bike. Dont have the balls to go any faster. But my buddy has gone 245km/h on it on the way to GP esso or so he claims.

Yeah its a quiet bike. Fantastic for touring. But somehow my wrist kinda ache if im riding for longer than 30 mins.

post-3-1171215580.jpg

the Kawasaki will never let the rider down, only the rider will let the Kawasaki down! :thumb:

Pardon me for going off topic but...

Is that SIM carpark?

http://www.buffalo-asia.com/index_img/asia/buffalo_logo.gif

http://www.yamaha-motor-europe.com/Images/2008-YZF-R6-static-07_prv_tcm26-207736.jpg

HI

zzr 600E or zx6e frankly speaking is the best all round middle weight money can buy. It is not too sporty as the current super sport 600. Yet it produces a remarkable power that is good enough for day to day ride and back road scratching at weekend so long u sort out the old front and rear springs.

Also watch out for the leak at the water host, some bike need to replace the retifier. Change the brake line and brake pads and fix a pair of high grade sport tyes and U would have a very confortable, fast and stable bike to ride.

I owned one some yrs ago. I still regret that I sold it for hornet 900.

yes that is my old bike FL 14xx right?.you have to go service the rear suspension and the front brake master pump in order to have more positive feel RM500 tops.The singapore mechanic don't know how to do the brakes.I sent it in once, still the same. I was suppose to do that in KL but this guy wanted to buy it from me so i didnt do it.Go to Motorcyclesales center at PJ section 16. He knows this bike.some more you pay in ringgit. the bike is old so if parts need to change you should change it to so that the bike can be tip top. As far as engine wise is concern, its good. the woble effect is due to the rear suspension. No gas already because the seal already leak now its only depending on spring. As far as throttle is concern you may want to change the throttle cable for lighter feel. This bike don't eat engine oil at all so its good. Anyway Im looking to buy my friend's ZX6R.Hope he sells it to me.The next thing it needs is new chain and sprokets for tYR ZZR600.

Originally posted by ZZR600@February 09, 2007 04:33 pm

I find that the boys in KL can do a better job tuning and solving problems with the 11 or the 6 than the boys in SGP.THey don't charge as much as the boys in sgp. I always go to motorcyclesales center at PJ section 16. They really know what to do with kawas. A friend of mine got a D1 sent to a mechanic in kaki bukit they say piston leaking la so on and so forth. So i told him sent to KL and he send and his bike now run like thunder man. Happens to be carb problem thats all. I use to ride a 6 and I always go there and service my bike at the same time spend holiday there la.

Oh really?? Not too sure abt KL area, and I dun really fancy the idea of riding all the way up for servicing. :smile:

I do agree that there are not many capable mech in Sg. Once, I have a coolent leaking from one of the pipe. Apparently, the piece that link from the radiator to the thermostate holder got too worn out and gave way, somewhere along Alexander Rd. I went to the nearby workshop in Alexander Village, the mech saw my bike and shook his head. He say this bike headache, very difficult and takes very long to fix. I knew he can't do anything, so I called up my mech in Ubi, where I got the bike from also, and he told me to pay him a visit ASAP. It was a sat aftn, and I rode there with half tank of coolent, still leaking, and he got it fixed for me in 2 hrs.

There are still capable mechs, juz that they are hard to come by. The one at Ubi is pretty gd with that bike. He has a regular pool of ZX11/6 servicing. I have no prob leaving it there, the only thing I can whine abt is the awaiting of parts. So far, my bike has been running well. The brakes are serviced, no signs of jam (which is a common prob) and my rear susp is still strong. Nice! I wld say...

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10715/obliquityresize.jpg

IBA member #25267

ZZR1100 and ZZR600 only meh? I've seen ZX7, ZX9 there, and he's the first guy in Singapore to service my 15 minutes old ZZR1400. :D

Wah!!! how many ppl do we have here from SIM? how did all you recognise the carpark? =) maybe we all can meet up for kopi soon.

post-3-1171703702.jpg

I've got a 93 ZX6E, unfortunately (well not really! :) ) I also have a K7 GSXR600 so my ZX6 is laid up right now, was thinking about doing something like a streetfighter conversion or maybe a sneaky Turbo! but, I'll never get around to it. so if anyones looking for one, mine's for sale.

Hayabusa 6pot front Brakes - excellent!

braided lines

uprated shocks front and rear

new paint (a couple of years old now)

spare lower fairing (unpainted)

good tyres

new rectifier

2nd gear is toast, slips out, but I have a contact for a replacement ($300)

haynes manual

anyway let me know if anyone's interested.

I did have a guy want to buy it from an auction on Yahoo, but he was from KL and too much hassle to de-register/export/scrap etc

post-3-1173104571.jpg

It doesn't matter what the question is, the answer is more power!