• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

Originally posted by RollinMao@Mar 28 2006, 11:52 PM

i really dunno sp can cause knocking in piston... lol....

all SPs have it. standard knockings at 5-5.5k rpm. some at 4-5.5k depending on your tuning. many diff theories about this knocking, but i believe it's only a matter of fuel injection. it knocks because it doesn't have enough fuel to combust to get that RPM. another theory is because of the air intake, less air = more knocking, or the other way round. i remembered i got mine knocking reduced by re-tuning. the guy told me he allowed more air in, the acceleration will be smooth, but the power in the high end won't be there.

"When I feel sad, i stop being sad and be AWESOME. True Story."

NSR 150 SP - FT *479 G - Dec 2005/Jan 2007

RVF 400 - FP *078 P - Feb 2007/??

Originally posted by Junyi@Mar 26 2006, 04:37 PM

And u already love him on the first sight right...

junyi crap la u

u still riding SP ah

UNHAPPY with shell?

Take your money elsewhere then. I did.

Originally posted by lonelysoul87@Mar 28 2006, 09:13 AM

:cry: sad la... my chain juz broke on the expressway... was riding like 110... any ideas y? its like changed only at most 2mths ago.. so fast break le... bought from LAB.. wad's the price range for DID chains? those heavy duty de... kinda new so my questions might sound stupid.. still got lots to learn from fellow bros n sisz... :cry:

I think becos u nv lube ur chain well baz...

Originally posted by bgoy@Mar 29 2006, 04:41 AM

junyi crap la u

u still riding SP ah

No lah.. quit riding lo.. u leh? R1 liao arh?

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2006/04/17/bikepics-566090-150.jpg

ThEse aRe mOi haMmiEs tHey aRe cUte duN theY..

-----------------------------------------------------------------

2005 -> NSR150SP - FU3335H

2005 -> GSXR400P - FORGOT LO

2006 -> CBR400RRR - FP5868A

2006 -> VXR RUNNER - FBA9929H

2006 -> SUPER 4 SPEC III - FW56Y

------------------------------------------------------------------

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

in the first place, why it knocks? why the petrol fires off at a different timing? i remembered i read abt it in turbo charging system knocking can be due to the compressed air being pumped into the cylinder and low octane petrol are not recommanded as their boiling point is lower.

Road is a place to practise safety.

Track is a place to practise skills.

Originally posted by honda_repsol98@Mar 29 2006, 01:51 AM

helo every1

finally bac home =)

i was wonderin when u all do ur bike tuning or buyin spare parts n fixin on to it or etc why nt any of u go agent? i had reali bad experiences wit some shops outside

Kind to share your experience? If U're on a budget U might wana consider those motodiam at JB.

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/719/my1sthondamatchez0.jpg
Originally posted by RollinMao@Mar 29 2006, 07:17 AM

in the first place, why it knocks? why the petrol fires off at a different timing? i remembered i read abt it in turbo charging system knocking can be due to the compressed air being pumped into the cylinder and low octane petrol are not recommanded as their boiling point is lower.

I mentioned in my previous post that knocking is caused by either too lean or too low octane fuel, usually a combination of both.

Octane simply means e ability of e unburnt petrol to resist spontaneous combustion.

It takes time for e spark to travel from ur spark plug. When ur piston is moving upwards, if u r using petrol of lower octane than recommended, e unburnt petrol at a distance further away from the spark plug may pre detonate due to the heat. They will b no controlled combustion, hence e pressure waves created by e various detonation will cause ur engine to resonate. In this way, e pressure waves will also cancel out each other n e resulting wave pushing the piston back downwards is a much weaker one, hence u feel as though u do not have that much power.

At higher RPMs, knocking will not b so obvious since e piston is moving at a much higher speed.

all SPs have it. standard knockings at 5-5.5k rpm. some at 4-5.5k depending on your tuning. many diff theories about this knocking, but i believe it's only a matter of fuel injection. it knocks because it doesn't have enough fuel to combust to get that RPM. another theory is because of the air intake, less air = more knocking, or the other way round. i remembered i got mine knocking reduced by re-tuning. the guy told me he allowed more air in, the acceleration will be smooth, but the power in the high end won't be there.

I think u guys r mistaken abt knocking in ur engine caused by lower octane petrol/leaning out n e flat spot just before e valve open. This is just my opinion cos i m not e one riding ur bike. Friendly discussion.

For knocking there's only one theory.

For flat spot there r a few n running leaner at 1/2 throttle is a way to reduce it. So far i have nv come across anybody or any books that claim to be able to totally remove e flatspot.

Since most of u tune to run leaner, i believe e cause of ur "knocking" is e flat spot b4 ur valve opens.

Its qte hard to experience knocking in SP since none of u will use octane 92 petrol. Extreme cases of leaning out will only happen if u r continuously running for a extended period of time at rpm too near to the redline. This will not happen on Singapore roads.

Anyone try vforce or boyseen reed cages before? Was told by stingrhea that there will b a big improvement to e response at flat spot. Thinking of installing one for my mito but want to see e reviews by fellow riders first.

It cost like 280 for e vforce 3, much cheaper for e boyseen though but still abit way out of budget.

Why four strokes when all you need is two?

Originally posted by honda_repsol98@Mar 29 2006, 01:51 AM

helo every1

finally bac home =)

i was wonderin when u all do ur bike tuning or buyin spare parts n fixin on to it or etc why nt any of u go agent? i had reali bad experiences wit some shops outside

Agent usually wont entertain u unless u buy e bike from them. Heard this from my PK friend.

Yup JB is good, somemore cheap.

Need to spray my SP in JB. Anyone tried before? Price for how many colours? AGL have?

RavenSP sold ur bike? My friend looking for one. So far urs look like e best deal. Reloan u find for him or he find himself? Where do u stay if he want to test? U still kept e receipts of whatever major things u have done? Maybe we can talk abt it this sat at e outing.

im finding alot of theories coming out from nowhere. haha. maybe its time for me to retire... a few more posts and i'll upgrade to become a burong tua.

geko, u wrote quite alot of crap eh... hehe

petrol is given a octane number (RON) that represents the percentage of fully branched C8H18 molecules. petrol with octane number 95 represents that there are 95% of fully branched petrol molecules. 98 = 98% of fully branched petrol. the remaining are straight chained, or not so fully branched.

fully branched molecules burn better than straight chained molecules, becos in the molecular sense, they present more surface area for combustion than straight chained molecules. hence, it engine works smoother on petrol with higher RON numbers.

it has nothing to do with resistance of spontaneous combustion, and much less with anything to do with sparks!!! the spark from the spark plug fires at less than a millionth of a second. remember, in the engine chamber, there are only gas. the fuel has been vaporised for it to burn.

the engine works like this:

1. carb sends a mixture of air and petrol vapour into the inlet valve

2. the piston moves up into the compression chamber

3. the spark plug fires, mixture detonates

4. resulting force pushes the piston down

5. downward movement of piston opens the outlet valve

6. waste gasses are expelled from the outlet valve

7. piston moves up and the cycle continues.

for knocking, there can be several reasons, but is a combination or a single of the following reasons:

-not enough fuel

-not enough air

-incomplete combustion

at 5000rpm, the carb is flooded. insufficient fuel, most likely. tuning to reduce the fuel flow by running the engine lean can solve this problem, improve FC, and provide more power. lean engines basically burn all the fuel more completely, maximising the energy potential of each drop of fuel.

seriously, i learnt all of these in my organic chemistry classes. Geko, u get ur knowledge from where one? or u just anyhow wack only :confused:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg

sory regarding the frenster thingy.. the email to add me is

hahha so many time people ask me.. n i actually wrote it down at the hread and also at the frenster acct.. haha.. anyway.. please email me ur pics n sbf nick so i can post it up.. :D

931153_10151259704352614_844334838_n.jpg

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

Originally posted by flykite+Mar 29 2006, 11:53 AM-->
QUOTE (flykite @ Mar 29 2006, 11:53 AM)
petrol is given a octane number (RON) that represents the percentage of fully branched C8H18 molecules. petrol with octane number 95 represents that there are 95% of fully branched petrol molecules. 98 = 98% of fully branched petrol. the remaining are straight chained, or not so fully branched.

fully branched molecules burn better than straight chained molecules, becos in the molecular sense, they present more surface area for combustion than straight chained molecules. hence, it engine works smoother on petrol with higher RON numbers.

the engine works like this:

1. carb sends a mixture of air and petrol vapour into the inlet valve

2. the piston moves up into the compression chamber

3. the spark plug fires, mixture detonates

4. resulting force pushes the piston down

5. downward movement of piston opens the outlet valve

6. waste gasses are expelled from the outlet valve

7. piston moves up and the cycle continues. [/b]

Sam you are right on both how a engine works n how a higher octane will help in smoother operations.

However please check e definitation of octane first.

So why does a higher octane leads to a smoother operation?

It is because there is a controlled combustion of all e petrol inside ur cylinder. There is no pre detonation of e rest of e fuel which is not yet reached by e spark. In this way only one near perfect pressure wave is given out driving e piston down for another cycle.

Doing a simple search on e net will yield u many similar results.

You can try Howstuffworks too.

For ur convinence, at http://www.petrolgauge.com/docs/faq.htm, read under "Why do we need octane ratings?".

Its a more detailed website which i found from a older thread in SBF.

Its a rather long paragraph hence i do not wish to quote n clutter the net but from it u will be able to understand what does it mean by octane ratings

Originally posted by flykite+-->
QUOTE (flykite)
it has nothing to do with resistance of spontaneous combustion, and much less with anything to do with sparks!!![/b]

So u see it has everything to do with e spark from ur spark plug. However i m not saying that e sparks from e spark plug is e cause of e knocking. Please read back carefully.

I was saying that even before e spark from ur spark plug has reached e rest of e petrol, they have already pre detonate due to e compression from e pressure in e cylinder. This pre detonation of e petrol produces many different pressure waves and hence knocking.

Originally posted by flykite

the spark from the spark plug fires at less than a millionth of a second

And it does not fire at leass than a millionth of a second. If it does, your rpm should be at millionsX60sec=60million rpm?

Sorry i understand you r just trying to give a picture.

An additional pt is that as everthing in e cylinder just happens in e blink of an eye e timing of e spark actually plays a very impt role. If not why do we have aftermarket ignition cables?

Originally posted by flykite

remember, in the engine chamber, there are only gas. the fuel has been vaporised for it to burn

Sorry wrong again the fuel is not vaporisied but atomisied once inside the carb. Thats y u got e atomizer jet in ur carb. Vaporised means its in gaseous state. Atomized means its is in a very very fine state of mist.

knnbccb... :eek: u really got alot of time ah... taxpayers money gone to waste

haha.. i hereby declare that i shall retire from active service in this forum becos im no more riding 2-strokes!!

u write so much, i really can't be bothered to reply u here... next time come out then we talk about la! haha :smile:

a friendly banter!!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg
Originally posted by gekokujyou+Mar 29 2006, 10:17 AM-->
QUOTE (gekokujyou @ Mar 29 2006, 10:17 AM)
RavenSP sold ur bike? My friend looking for one. So far urs look like e best deal. Reloan u find for him or he find himself? Where do u stay if he want to test? U still kept e receipts of whatever major things u have done? Maybe we can talk abt it this sat at e outing. [/b]

he has to find himself.. unless he wants to COI from me lor.. if he doenst mind.. cause he saves on interest, misc fees, insurance until july..

i never kept receipts and usually i go jb to do stuff. i dare to say the engine is in great condition now. but the brakes are so.. stock! no offence to those using stock brakes but.. i kinda think they really suck. uhhh... if ur friend wants to get my bike, the only thing he needs to change is a 110/70 rear tire and maybe some steel braided brakehose. fairing of course got scratches la, but not those jialat ones.

oh yeah, my sp has been parked under a tree and covered with a bike cover outside my house for most of the month. i think the only times i rode it was when i met sam/remus/eugene for dinner at simpang bedok.. and today when i rode it to school LOL!

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

oi rinken yest nite u at tamp shell payu ah ? i next to u nvr see meh lol

2006 - 2007 Nsr SP 150 FS 3484 X

2007 - 2008 Gilera VXR 200 '07 FBB 8342 B

2008 - Present Cbr 400 Fireblade FN 5300 G

Selling my bike, any friends jus pass 2B can intro to them. Some not so nice dmg here n there (all minor)... :cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....howtopic=114188

28th Jan 05 - 16th April 06 Honda NSR SP150 (Pro-arm)

1st Apr 06 - Nov 06 Honda CB400SFYJ HyperVTEC, 17th Oct 06 - ???? Honda TA200 Phantom, Nov 06 - Apr 07 Honda Wave-R, Apr 07 - ???? Subaru Impreza AWD

<u>Official Road Trips</u>

7th-8th May 05 - Malacca (460km round)

2nd April 06 - Mersing (240km round)

6th-10th July 06 - P.Pinang ; Hatyai, Thailand (1900km round)

Hi wanna ask ... what da different between NSR RR and SP other than the swingarm thingy. are there others ? Like performance etc etc ?

07/2006 - Passed 2B, FBA5X4XP Kawasaki KIPS (7/06-8/08)

FBA2X6XS Suzuki Smash 110 (3/11-???)

07/2008 - Passed 2A, FZ4X0XU Honda CB400 VTEC 3 (8/08-???)

12/2010 - Passed 2,

RIDE SAFETY !!!!:thumb:

do a search buddy.. :)

931153_10151259704352614_844334838_n.jpg

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.

power... :thumb: to gekokujyou... lol... i oni understand knocking when i started to read more abt turbo chargers... pre denotation of petrol due to the highly compressed air being pumped into cylinder... den knocking occurs...

Originally posted by flykite@Mar 29 2006, 06:00 PM

it's the third day and i'm beginning to miss my SP :cry:

flykite once U get ur new ride can lend me ride a few round? :smile:

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/719/my1sthondamatchez0.jpg

hey guys, sorry to ask question again... how much is RPM cable? jus now ride half way den see my rpm at 0, not moving anymore... how tat u guys will ans my question... thanx...

http://img362.imageshack.us/img362/9302/mybike4di.jpg
Originally posted by j4ph4o@Mar 29 2006, 07:47 PM

hey guys, sorry to ask question again... how much is RPM cable? jus now ride half way den see my rpm at 0, not moving anymore... how tat u guys will ans my question... thanx...

i think i got mine last time at 14 or 16 dollars and i fixed it myself. :smile: