Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?  

569 members have voted

1. 1. Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?

guys, i dunno if my bike got something wrong anot, but i travelled 280 n i need to pump 15.7+litres le.... very high fuel consumption ma??? my fren can travel 280 but pump only 13-14litres.....

• Replies 2.6k

Originally posted by Wei_De@Jul 18 2004, 03:55 PM

guys, i dunno if my bike got something wrong anot, but i travelled 280 n i need to pump 15.7+litres le.... very high fuel consumption ma??? my fren can travel 280 but pump only 13-14litres.....

i am riding Vtec 2. The fuel consumption also average out to be 280 Km for 15L..

For hump you go at an angle lor... Like go from left to right side or roght to left side... Than confirm wouldnt hit one... Logic behind it is becos you go from side to side the both wheels touches the hump about together mah... so your bike is jus like on the flat ground.... It applys to car also... My lancer i try going up and down very steep "hump" also no problem...

:cheeky:My First Bike - phantom 150 - Dec 1999, CBR 400 RN - 2003, Honda Wave -2003, Super4 Spec II -2004, Fazer 6 S2 - May 2007, SilverWing 400 Euro - Feb 2010, BMW R1200ST - July 2010, R1200GS(LC) - Oct 2017:cool:

Originally posted by SpecII@Jul 18 2004, 04:36 PM

i am riding Vtec 2. The fuel consumption also average out to be 280 Km for 15L..

I ever ride till empty tank and clock onli 288km with my V tec .

Petrol use is V POWER ...R...R....RRRRRR .

Very good power rating petrol but low milage.

Engine warm up very fast .

With shell 98 i can clock more then 320km and pump around 16L.

It really depend on how the rider rides his/her bike.

If you like very fast pick up then of cos you will burn the petrol faster.:bounce:

Just my 2 cent

1. I am riding a FY plate Spec 3. Been having some problems on the fuel consumption part.

2. I have been riding it for 2 months leow. Full tank is 18 litres. When I just bought the consumption was around 18 litres can last 340 km. Now 18 litres can last only up to 270 km! A difference of 90 km!!! My riding was normal, no ramming of engine.

3. Please advise what I should do. I will be sending my bike for checkup. But b4 I go, I need to know what is the situation or else go motor shop kana tok , must change this change that...

Originally posted by blitz@Jul 18 2004, 04:04 AM

i tried going empty and roll to petrol station and managed to squeeze 18.9+ litres into my vtec1 tank (thats the max near to brim).

22+km/Litre on expressways at 90-100km/hr (6th gear)

19+km/Litre on urban riding (mostly on low gears)

all on vtec1

dun really get what u mean...u mean dun need to bother even mine start blink at around 280km-it may still last up to 330km or more...is it what u mean...s4 got reserve tank mah???how to know...

Originally posted by blitz@Jul 18 2004, 04:04 AM

i tried going empty and roll to petrol station and managed to squeeze 18.9+ litres into my vtec1 tank (thats the max near to brim).

22+km/Litre on expressways at 90-100km/hr (6th gear)

19+km/Litre on urban riding (mostly on low gears)

all on vtec1

wah! u more power than mi, i juz came back frm jb after pumping 18.6 on my vtec,guess urs almost empty at tat pt of time

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11496/34175638049782l.jpg
Originally posted by hmm_@Jul 17 2004, 05:54 PM

me going VERY VERY slow liao....using gear 1 half clutch leh...still kanna leh.......haiz.....will spoilt the bike anot?

did u lower down ur fork?

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11496/34175638049782l.jpg
Originally posted by stylomilo@Aug 23 2004, 03:00 AM

15L main + 3L reserve

mileage is abt 20-22km/L

20km/litre is pretty high...

constantly vtec open or occasionaly open?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by hilfiger@Aug 23 2004, 02:28 AM

Wanna check w u what is fuel capacity of spec2 n 3?

And also mileage for full tank for both models without using reserve?

Thanks! :smile:

spec 3 and spec2 almost the same cos...

spec3 open at 6350rpm at 1st to 5th gear....then 6750rpm at 6th gear....

spec 2 open at 6350rpm from 1st to 6th gear....

i think not much different...

it all depends on how's your riding style is... if you like to drag more often... then fuel consumption is of course higher la.... get wat i mean....

cheers....

vroom vroom

Originally posted by hilfiger@Aug 23 2004, 04:15 PM

Do u mean that spec2 n 3 mileage is the same?? or is it spec3 petrol consumption higher?

actually all depends on riding style~

i was giving a rough estimate...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v189/stylomilo/Tail.jpg

YES SiR!

Originally posted by Sev@Aug 23 2004, 04:17 PM

20km/litre is pretty high...

constantly vtec open or occasionaly open?

ehh, 1st 2 gears will usually change at abt 8-9k~

expressways 100km/hr~

my meter usually starts flashing ard 300km~

main tank = 15L

so 300km/15L = 20km/L~

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v189/stylomilo/Tail.jpg

YES SiR!

Originally posted by ckevin77@Aug 23 2004, 05:58 PM

spec 3 and spec2 almost the same cos...

spec3 open at 6350rpm at 1st to 5th gear....then 6750rpm at 6th gear....

spec 2 open at 6350rpm from 1st to 6th gear....

Sorry guys i'm quite new to s4 cos just passed my 2a.

Can someone explain what it means vtec opens at 6350rpm? I mean what is vtec? Open for more power?

my s4 fuel consumption quite high leh...go till around 250km start to bink liao...me riding a vtec 1...anyone vtec 1 riders care to comment?

Life is a scam, what is important now might not be important in the future...

Go for tuning,change oil,plugs and air filter?

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Ur riding habits?

Change every 10k rpm?

Maybe shift at 4000 rpm for every gear?

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

ya me shift gears at 4000rpm ....does it consume more fuel? how abt ur riding habits?

Life is a scam, what is important now might not be important in the future...