2B at BBDC or CDC?

Go to solution Solved by snooptrader,

CDC or BBDC in terms of bikes and lessons?   

16 members have voted

1. 1. CDC or BBDC in terms of bikes and lessons?

• BBDC
    • CDC

39 minutes ago, noobie2k22 said:

Hello All!!! 

Just wanted to share the good news that I’ve finally passed my L3 after so so many tries (>10 times)!!!

I think i was lucky to have a lenient instructor cause my timing was:

1st test - 13s

2nd test - 12s

3rd test - 10s (Before yellow line throttle up and tried not to close throttle)

I adopted and practiced the way every kind soul taught and advised here, it was really helpful 😆 Finally going to L4, hope it’s gonna be smooth sailing and not much retries too 😅

Thanks again!!

well done and keep it up

20 hours ago, shiba2b said:

my back up plan is plastic bags in-between socks and wet boots

1) wear new dry socks

2) wrap foot in plastic bag

3) wear smelly wet boot

https://shopee.sg/product/19754095/5660287477?smtt=0.315654082-1670041665.9

Get something like this.. then the raincoat over.. wun kena water if u wear properly..

2 hours ago, noobie2k22 said:

Hello All!!! 

Just wanted to share the good news that I’ve finally passed my L3 after so so many tries (>10 times)!!!

I think i was lucky to have a lenient instructor cause my timing was:

1st test - 13s

2nd test - 12s

3rd test - 10s (Before yellow line throttle up and tried not to close throttle)

I adopted and practiced the way every kind soul taught and advised here, it was really helpful 😆 Finally going to L4, hope it’s gonna be smooth sailing and not much retries too 😅

Thanks again!!

Congrats!! Slowly practice.. anyway if u cant really get perfect score its ok. Just do well for other station n sacrifice figure 8.. i think its like only 4 points if u cant get below 11sec.. just concentrate will on others.. L4 only have to remember the route then they will let u pass already.. i took 2 tries cos i was lost totally on the 1st try 😂 

RC - Session 4

Had the RC session and mainly focused on the plank and now managed to clear more than 6 seconds finally. I think all all the instructors know why they see me just to practice the plank, though the other sessions are also practiced upon. I had to leave early as I needed to attend an important appointment yesterday and ended the session about 15mins earlier. Practiced u-turn before even learning u-turn as most of the students are actually going to the TP test and I was the odd one out, but the instructor was helpful to teach and learnt that throttle and clutch control is really important.

It was raining really heavily this morning and I thought that there was a possibility of riding in the rain. I took my raincoat but of course I didn't put it on as if you want to know why, read my earlier post.. self pwn then.

So took a drive from east to west and reached BBDC 15 minutes before the start of time. Didn't use the usual way as there was the Standard Chartered run and I pity the runners as I'm sure that they had to run in the rain.

When reaching Bukit Batok area, the skies had cleared up and the weather was fantastic.

Sat in the waiting area and finally, 7.01 was called up and got ready the ID, app.

Was told to show the PDL by the instructor and got it from my phone.

When got out onto the bike area, found the bike I wanted and placed the helmet on top of it.

Was briefed by the instructors, 2 of them on how the test route would be showed to us and to form only in a single file and no longer staggered formation.

Road the bike and proceeded out of the gates and was the first rider. Now, this was the best as it was the chance to open the throttle and enjoy being on the roads.

The first stop was just near the filter lane onto main Bukit Batok road and was told to watch out for cars and then the class proceeded to cover 2 traffic lights and then to turn left where we waited for further briefing.

It was pretty great feeling to be on the road but of course, it's important to be aware of the surroundings and the instructors did the perfect checks of exits, blind spots and indicating and merger lanes.

Next was the u-turn and that was where the class were told how to position, in terms of the first and second bike. It was important, as it creates and angle of attack on the u-turn.

The class did a couple of rounds and in the end, am fortunate to see 8.01.... :) Thanks for reading and will continue to share the journey here.....

• Like 2

1 hour ago, snooptrader said:

RC - Session 4

Had the RC session and mainly focused on the plank and now managed to clear more than 6 seconds finally. I think all all the instructors know why they see me just to practice the plank, though the other sessions are also practiced upon. I had to leave early as I needed to attend an important appointment yesterday and ended the session about 15mins earlier. Practiced u-turn before even learning u-turn as most of the students are actually going to the TP test and I was the odd one out, but the instructor was helpful to teach and learnt that throttle and clutch control is really important.

It was raining really heavily this morning and I thought that there was a possibility of riding in the rain. I took my raincoat but of course I didn't put it on as if you want to know why, read my earlier post.. self pwn then.

So took a drive from east to west and reached BBDC 15 minutes before the start of time. Didn't use the usual way as there was the Standard Chartered run and I pity the runners as I'm sure that they had to run in the rain.

When reaching Bukit Batok area, the skies had cleared up and the weather was fantastic.

Sat in the waiting area and finally, 7.01 was called up and got ready the ID, app.

Was told to show the PDL by the instructor and got it from my phone.

When got out onto the bike area, found the bike I wanted and placed the helmet on top of it.

Was briefed by the instructors, 2 of them on how the test route would be showed to us and to form only in a single file and no longer staggered formation.

Road the bike and proceeded out of the gates and was the first rider. Now, this was the best as it was the chance to open the throttle and enjoy being on the roads.

The first stop was just near the filter lane onto main Bukit Batok road and was told to watch out for cars and then the class proceeded to cover 2 traffic lights and then to turn left where we waited for further briefing.

It was pretty great feeling to be on the road but of course, it's important to be aware of the surroundings and the instructors did the perfect checks of exits, blind spots and indicating and merger lanes.

Next was the u-turn and that was where the class were told how to position, in terms of the first and second bike. It was important, as it creates and angle of attack on the u-turn.

The class did a couple of rounds and in the end, am fortunate to see 8.01.... :) Thanks for reading and will continue to share the journey here.....

congrats on being qualified to book 8.01 

now u can roughly estimate when your actual TP test date will be as you can book it after you clear 8.01.  https://info.bbdc.sg/test-date-information/

currently next available TP slot is 13th Jan* so if your 8/01 is one week from now, then agar agar your TP date should be one week later from 13/1.

*13th Jan is a Friday. Just a few months ago, the 2B tests at BBDC were only conducted on Monday and Tuesday mornings. They must have changed the schedule. I wonder if it's a permanent change or a temporary one to accommodate the CNY holidays. Hopefully they simply added more slots for 2B test.

• Like 1

On 12/2/2022 at 4:17 PM, shiba2b said:

my back up plan is plastic bags in-between socks and wet boots

1) wear new dry socks

2) wrap foot in plastic bag

3) wear smelly wet boot

haha.... yeah.. I brought a new pair cuz I already planned for it.. haha..

The hiking shoes in Malaysia is cheaper then SG.. about SGD$8x? Claim weathered proof.. + high cut.. Singapore quite hard to find my size.. 47.. 😂

On 12/2/2022 at 8:05 PM, apogeeXX said:

U know ....

Behind every wind shield, there's always a piece of cloth.

Waterproof but got wet

Wet already, cannot dry, cos it's waterproof 🤣😂

Indeed.. hahahaha.. every windshield there's a cloth for the older generation.. some more if you can see it, mine is DIY netting.. haha.. black tape across everywhere.. 

agreed.. waterproof.. water cannot even come out.. shag max...

On 12/2/2022 at 10:14 PM, Siphon said:

You prob need a shoe with higher cut? I have a mid cut type of hiking boots that's water proof so its like the perfect riding shoe once you put on the rain coat and pants. Its actually nicer to ride in the rain than the super hot sun... cooler and more thrilling somewhat... just make sure you aren't going beyond your comfortable speed i guess? hehe... And a good set of tires that is rated well for rain always helps. 

omg... i tried plastic bags before... i personally think it can be dangerous if it isn't worn properly. Especially if you are riding chain bikes. Personally i won't recommend plastic bags... those rain boots aren't too ex. Shopee is selling those silicon pull over shoes too. I'm thinking of trying those out sometimes. 

hahaa... reminds me of those days where we do river crossing during bmt and all the boots are like water buckets... 

already high cut.. haha..

Definite comfortable speed? 😂 actually quite hard to find a comfortable speed.. at times.. 110 at times 120 at times 130.. rainy sometimes doesn't feel good to ride too fast.. haix.. of cuz.. I always say dun save on tires.. Mine is T32 or S22, can't recall.. LOL..

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

8 hours ago, adesmond2 said:

haha.... yeah.. I brought a new pair cuz I already planned for it.. haha..

The hiking shoes in Malaysia is cheaper then SG.. about SGD$8x? Claim weathered proof.. + high cut.. Singapore quite hard to find my size.. 47.. 😂

47? 😵

mine 45/46 already quite hard to find. 

the rain cover booties i ordered.. max size is 45. Confirm cannot clear your shoes 

i was riding with a pair of WP hiking boots from Decathlon. Cheap and good. Also abt SGD80 and quite durable material for the shifter. I took their largest size. Fit me just nice. The low cut version is abt $70. 

if u go thailand or Indo, confirm cannot find your size in the local shops. Gotta go shops that cater to ang moh . 

p.s. i know where u can find that size in SG - SAF emart 😁

Edited by shiba2b
  • Haha 1

12 hours ago, shiba2b said:

47? 😵

mine 45/46 already quite hard to find. 

the rain cover booties i ordered.. max size is 45. Confirm cannot clear your shoes 

i was riding with a pair of WP hiking boots from Decathlon. Cheap and good. Also abt SGD80 and quite durable material for the shifter. I took their largest size. Fit me just nice. The low cut version is abt $70. 

if u go thailand or Indo, confirm cannot find your size in the local shops. Gotta go shops that cater to ang moh . 

p.s. i know where u can find that size in SG - SAF emart 😁

yeah la.. 

46 was my pre-covid size.. covid gain a few KGs.. hahahahah... then leg now become 47.. so bo bian.. just went for my last ICT.. also went to e-mart to buy a new pair of boots(not available online some more..).. =.='''

cuz I admin.. got crabs and stars walking around in Office.. Madam say better go and buy.. don't letter kanna during last ICT also sian...

yeah la.. Travelling to Indonesia/Thailand = 100% dun have my size unless Europe.. 😂

Taiwan - still maybe

Malaysia - sports shops (They will put clearance sale for big size like ours 😂)

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

RC - session 5

Yesterday; it rained early in the morning and had RC, not during the usual time but just after lunch time.

The head was just getting better after a long night, a friend had a little too much and I had some of "processed dinner" (not mine) on my T-shirt by the end of the Saturday morning and Grab bills that are fairly astronomical, but to be fair, in desperate situations of just getting an individual home... can say it was worth it. The next day, don't even ask about overnight parking. That's a story to share with some here in person.. :D

The main thing was the head again, didn't have that much to warrant an outright stab in the head sort of feeling, but had only 5 hours sleep. Decided to bite the bullet and hey, get on the bike. So, made my way to BBDC....

By the time I reached BBDC, the skies will nice and cloudy but you could still tell there were U.V rays around.
Got into the waiting area and managed and wore the bib and waited for the RC to start.

While at the start line, managed to meet another student who was taking 8.01 (in the end she did fine I think)
It's nice to recognize fellow students in our journey to acquire this skill...

This time, the group had an individual like myself, just cleared 5.01 and he went for RC :) . So the instructor went through the course step by step which was a good thing as he explained the angles that students have to take while changing lanes to the way how we should check for blind spots again.

Practiced the slopes for quite a bit and manged to find out what some minor mistakes made when going downslope.

Then later went through the S-course and crank course... not much to report besides the bike, had some issue from shifting from first to second gear.

Next was the plank and the slalom, which went fairly uneventful until one of the attempts at the slalom, went a little too fast and clipped the cone. So, decided to pace oneself as it's important to get through the course. - that came in important later.

At the final e-brake section, it seemed to be "okay" and then decided to keep trying the plank and slalom after practicing the S-course and crank course a couple of times.

By the end of the session, was really tired and decided to take a nap at 4pm to 5pm.. despite that, by the end of the evening, managed to sleep earlier than usual.

Lesson 8.01

Got up early in the morning and saw that the clouds were building... and the saw that the clouds were at the west side. 😶 ... hoped that it was just a cloud build-up and then just thought to make my way to the west and see how it goes.

Had the routine coffee and then decided to leave early in case the clouds opened up and a traffic jam occurs as East and West is quite a distance. Left an hour earlier and on the way, the skies had to open up and it began to rain heavily by time I was along Adam Road.

Reached BBDC and it was raining cats and dogs. Donned the raincoat at the carpark and wore the raincoat.
Walked to BBDC and reached the holding area. Could not wait inside as now, masks are required and I didn't bring one. Wore the bib and then waited outside and observed the rain and students walking by.

When lesson started, was told to select a bike and then wait for the instructor. There were 12 students and we were split into 2 groups.

Next, the instructor briefed the students that the lesson was essentially an assessment. The assessment would start and then the instructors would bring the students to the road and continue with the assessment. At the end of the lesson, the instructor would inform the students if they made it or otherwise.
The group was told to form up and practice plank, pylon and e-brake. After which, the students were to form up at the start line and the assessment was to begin. We were told to watch out for signals from the instructors who were the assessors. This was especially for the S-course, plank and the e-brake. 

The students were lined up according to their number tags and then we were told to move off.

Despite the rain, managed to get through the stages. Have to admit that it could be a little nervous.

Going out to the road, the students needed to know the route (no kidding there) and also to be able to adapt to the road conditions. Unfortunately, there was an incident between a car and bike at the junction and traffic was moving towards the left of the road, i.e where all the students were. It was really a good experience though the rain didn't make it fun and while riding at speeds the rain whipped the face.

Had to go through all the route until the U-turn and made the turn (think will practice more on that in the circuit).

Once the whole course was cleared, each student were attached to an instructor who escorted the student for general road riding conditions; that was really enjoyable. The funny thing was initially, I thought there was no instructor for yours truly and thought that I would have to stay in the circuit.

After the orientation, we returned the bikes and then waited for the results...

... the instructors told the students their mistakes and it was something to ponder and reflect about...
.. 8.01 was by far, the most mentally exhausting and something to really reflect on..

... in the end, was very fortunate to barely clear (eighteen for the curious)  for the final judgement. :) Am appreciative to have the opportunity to go for it.. Thanks for reading...

• Like 2

12 hours ago, snooptrader said:

RC - session 5

Yesterday; it rained early in the morning and had RC, not during the usual time but just after lunch time.

The head was just getting better after a long night, a friend had a little too much and I had some of "processed dinner" (not mine) on my T-shirt by the end of the Saturday morning and Grab bills that are fairly astronomical, but to be fair, in desperate situations of just getting an individual home... can say it was worth it. The next day, don't even ask about overnight parking. That's a story to share with some here in person.. :D

The main thing was the head again, didn't have that much to warrant an outright stab in the head sort of feeling, but had only 5 hours sleep. Decided to bite the bullet and hey, get on the bike. So, made my way to BBDC....

By the time I reached BBDC, the skies will nice and cloudy but you could still tell there were U.V rays around.
Got into the waiting area and managed and wore the bib and waited for the RC to start.

While at the start line, managed to meet another student who was taking 8.01 (in the end she did fine I think)
It's nice to recognize fellow students in our journey to acquire this skill...

This time, the group had an individual like myself, just cleared 5.01 and he went for RC :) . So the instructor went through the course step by step which was a good thing as he explained the angles that students have to take while changing lanes to the way how we should check for blind spots again.

Practiced the slopes for quite a bit and manged to find out what some minor mistakes made when going downslope.

Then later went through the S-course and crank course... not much to report besides the bike, had some issue from shifting from first to second gear.

Next was the plank and the slalom, which went fairly uneventful until one of the attempts at the slalom, went a little too fast and clipped the cone. So, decided to pace oneself as it's important to get through the course. - that came in important later.

At the final e-brake section, it seemed to be "okay" and then decided to keep trying the plank and slalom after practicing the S-course and crank course a couple of times.

By the end of the session, was really tired and decided to take a nap at 4pm to 5pm.. despite that, by the end of the evening, managed to sleep earlier than usual.

Lesson 8.01

Got up early in the morning and saw that the clouds were building... and the saw that the clouds were at the west side. 😶 ... hoped that it was just a cloud build-up and then just thought to make my way to the west and see how it goes.

Had the routine coffee and then decided to leave early in case the clouds opened up and a traffic jam occurs as East and West is quite a distance. Left an hour earlier and on the way, the skies had to open up and it began to rain heavily by time I was along Adam Road.

Reached BBDC and it was raining cats and dogs. Donned the raincoat at the carpark and wore the raincoat.
Walked to BBDC and reached the holding area. Could not wait inside as now, masks are required and I didn't bring one. Wore the bib and then waited outside and observed the rain and students walking by.

When lesson started, was told to select a bike and then wait for the instructor. There were 12 students and we were split into 2 groups.

Next, the instructor briefed the students that the lesson was essentially an assessment. The assessment would start and then the instructors would bring the students to the road and continue with the assessment. At the end of the lesson, the instructor would inform the students if they made it or otherwise.
The group was told to form up and practice plank, pylon and e-brake. After which, the students were to form up at the start line and the assessment was to begin. We were told to watch out for signals from the instructors who were the assessors. This was especially for the S-course, plank and the e-brake. 

The students were lined up according to their number tags and then we were told to move off.

Despite the rain, managed to get through the stages. Have to admit that it could be a little nervous.

Going out to the road, the students needed to know the route (no kidding there) and also to be able to adapt to the road conditions. Unfortunately, there was an incident between a car and bike at the junction and traffic was moving towards the left of the road, i.e where all the students were. It was really a good experience though the rain didn't make it fun and while riding at speeds the rain whipped the face.

Had to go through all the route until the U-turn and made the turn (think will practice more on that in the circuit).

Once the whole course was cleared, each student were attached to an instructor who escorted the student for general road riding conditions; that was really enjoyable. The funny thing was initially, I thought there was no instructor for yours truly and thought that I would have to stay in the circuit.

After the orientation, we returned the bikes and then waited for the results...

... the instructors told the students their mistakes and it was something to ponder and reflect about...
.. 8.01 was by far, the most mentally exhausting and something to really reflect on..

... in the end, was very fortunate to barely clear (eighteen for the curious)  for the final judgement. :) Am appreciative to have the opportunity to go for it.. Thanks for reading...

Congratulations! All your RC sessions paid off 👍

Clearing 8.01 means that the group of instructors are collectively confident that you can pass TP test. No mean feat especially in the rain. 

i guess it's good that you had prior experience in riding with your rain gear through all weather types 😄

Do enjoy the next few weeks of RC/RV as you wait for the actual test. Good luck!

• Like 1

11 hours ago, shiba2b said:

Congratulations! All your RC sessions paid off 👍

Clearing 8.01 means that the group of instructors are collectively confident that you can pass TP test. No mean feat especially in the rain. 

i guess it's good that you had prior experience in riding with your rain gear through all weather types 😄

Do enjoy the next few weeks of RC/RV as you wait for the actual test. Good luck!

Thank you very much for your kind words..... I'll just keep working on the RCs and see if I can secure RVs and just keep practicing....

:D yes, rode in the sun in rain gear.... I bet people had a good laugh... I did wash the raincoat after that session as you can imagine how that went on the inside... LOL

Will keep practicing and keep on trying! Appreciate your support!

• Like 1

On 12/12/2022 at 9:10 PM, snooptrader said:

Thank you very much for your kind words..... I'll just keep working on the RCs and see if I can secure RVs and just keep practicing....

:D yes, rode in the sun in rain gear.... I bet people had a good laugh... I did wash the raincoat after that session as you can imagine how that went on the inside... LOL

Will keep practicing and keep on trying! Appreciate your support!

we will be here mentally for you.. 😆

recently raining + ponding until ankle-knee level at certain location.. be careful on the road with such weather.. 

• Like 1

On 12/11/2022 at 8:47 PM, snooptrader said:

CONGRATS!!!!! wah it took mi 3 times to pass lesson 8 n by the time i got back my result i burst out crying on the spot sia.. i tot i failed again cos i drop my right leg.. so have u booked for your TP? when is it gonna be? wah i feel so excited for u.. last year today i did my orientation at SSDC and suddenly all the memories come back sia.. haha.. 

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

21 hours ago, adesmond2 said:

we will be here mentally for you.. 😆

recently raining + ponding until ankle-knee level at certain location.. be careful on the road with such weather.. 

Yes, even now it's been raining so heavily.... and I'm not riding today, but yes, this is more of a concern in terms of rain hitting the face...

15 hours ago, Nakuru said:

CONGRATS!!!!! wah it took mi 3 times to pass lesson 8 n by the time i got back my result i burst out crying on the spot sia.. i tot i failed again cos i drop my right leg.. so have u booked for your TP? when is it gonna be? wah i feel so excited for u.. last year today i did my orientation at SSDC and suddenly all the memories come back sia.. haha.. 

Thank you so much :) , this is merely the start to the test. Yes, the test is set for later part of next month. Thanks so much and honestly, I am more nervous than excited... :D
Just going to practice and try my best.

8 hours ago, apogeeXX said:

When u pass TP, can ride to market ...

https://www.instagram.com/reel/ClCmXxuBqcc/?igshid=MTg0ZDhmNDA=

Hahhah, I would for breakfast though, I won't do it in shorts... and with her legs, she shouldn't that's really distracting before I go for work... I mean the Ducati! :D

• Like 1

2 hours ago, snooptrader said:

Yes, even now it's been raining so heavily.... and I'm not riding today, but yes, this is more of a concern in terms of rain hitting the face...

your helmet doesn't have a visor?

wear swimming googles or diving mask 😆

on a serious note, need clear vision to watch for obstacles on road and at pedestrian crossings 

• Haha 1

13 hours ago, apogeeXX said:

When u pass TP, can ride to market ...

https://www.instagram.com/reel/ClCmXxuBqcc/?igshid=MTg0ZDhmNDA=

LOLOL... Singapore wun see such ladies on the road.. + some drivers cmi.. nowadays drivers are getting nicer (I feel) but some are getting worse..  😂

4 hours ago, snooptrader said:

Thank you so much :) , this is merely the start to the test. Yes, the test is set for later part of next month. Thanks so much and honestly, I am more nervous than excited... :D
Just going to practice and try my best.

Hahhah, I would for breakfast though, I won't do it in shorts... and with her legs, she shouldn't that's really distracting before I go for work... I mean the Ducati! :D

Aiyo.. why rain will hit face? 😂

excited should be the correct term.. haha.. I'm still finding time to go for my CL2.. decided should take all one shot.. then my training gear can sell on carousel.. hahahahaha... if keep.. next time need to wear already spoilt.. 

LOLOL.. I'm already in shorts 90% of the time on the road.. but no skinny & slim.. just uncle legs.. hahahaha

2 hours ago, shiba2b said:

your helmet doesn't have a visor?

wear swimming googles or diving mask 😆

on a serious note, need clear vision to watch for obstacles on road and at pedestrian crossings 

yeah.. definitely need clear vision to see the road.. I notice a wheel cover fall off on the road.. imagine a bike didn't notice.. confirm fall one.. but I can't stop safely to remove it.. haix..

• Like 1

My last few photos of my previous bike.. maybe need to compile a over the years photo for my fumisaki... 

• Like 1

1 hour ago, adesmond2 said:

yeah.. definitely need clear vision to see the road.. I notice a wheel cover fall off on the road.. imagine a bike didn't notice.. confirm fall one.. but I can't stop safely to remove it.. haix..

weirdest thing i've seen on the road is a moving pothole. Seen it twice liao. First time was very surprising. i was more prepared the second time.

early morning on NSHW. Saw a round black patch in my lane so i moved to the right to avoid the patch or pothole. 

black round patch moved to the same side 😲 so i swerved the other way.

turns out it was a tortoise. 

2nd time was a few years later but exactly the same. 

i've also seen a big lorry tyre lying on lane 1 of NSHW in heavy rain, just after the crest of a hill. Fortunately i had changed to lane 2 due to the rain and poor visibility. Would have been impossible to spot if i was on lane 1. 

• Like 2

RC Session 6
Woke up fairly early in the morning after having a good family dinner on Saturday and felt a little whoozy but the main thing of concern was the rain. It had been raining everyday and the dark clouds were building in the west.
Had 2 cups of coffee and decided to go for training with an empty stomach as it was late in the morning.

Left the house a little early so that could take a slow drive and managed to reach BBDC around 25 minutes before the start of the lesson. Took along my own raincoat and no, didn't wear it in anticipation.

Sat down in the holding area and just waited until RC was called and then was told to select a bike. Selected a bike and then was told the group was told to gather at the start point before going for a round of warm up (my favorite time tbh) before going to the plank, pylon and e-brake (I know this sounds repetitive from the other posts that I made, but hey, this is training). So went for a round and managed to do the following. However, as mundane as it may sound. For the Pylon, the instructor was really good in pointing out how one could actually do it more smoothly (I admire the instructors who spot when I'm jerking the throttle - sometimes you'd think a rider can "get away" with it because they can't see the hands) and hence, better timing without being too rushed. That means, more smooth.

Also, the plank, went off only once and the rest, managed to get more than seven plus seconds. Honestly, the plank is now my favourite and because of the help of the instructors, this has become one of my favourite course.

On the e-brake, preparing for the clutch in is a common mistake and for this session, used too much of the rear brakes. Was told by the instructor that was skidding - can be an immediate failure, so that was an eye-opener and is why RCs are something, that while enjoyable, is a wealth of knowledge.

Was also reminded on checking on junction, left and right, then blind-spot, if first rider moving off from the traffic junction.

For the S-course, uneventful but  the crackcourse, stalled in it due to engine choke (according to instructor but he's being kind), I didn't change the gear well, from first to N - should have kicked it harder to gear 2. By the end of he session, was thankful that the skies did not open up and was pretty hungry by the end of the lesson.

RC Sesson 7 (yes on the same day)
After having a shower from the morning / afternoon lesson, had lunch and then a quick shower. In this instance; was based in the west, so please don't get the wrong impression that I drove back east.
Took a quick nap and then made it to BBDC 15 minutes before the next RC lesson.

Found the usual bike that I like and managed to secure it with helmet and raincoat. The skies were looking as if they would open. First started with the e-brake and did a couple of practice rounds.

Next was the right-turn and slope, then to the S course and crank course. The day was pretty good but... it started to pour! The good thing was that there weren't as many cars as the morning session and the instructor explained on pointers like checking the blind spot and again, the e-brake... think have to try to get better at that... in terms of stopping nicely. Think developing a naggy habit of using rear brake too much. Rest of the course was alright and on the plank; managed seven plus seconds. 

End of the session, the rain stopped but I was soaked through.... took of the wet gear, got into the ride, wound down all the windows to air (you can imagine how the smell might have been; sorry to gross you out) and got back to the western base to have a shower. Overall a good day of training and every RC is appreciated.

Something that one might not typically think about but the instructors really spend time in the sun with the students and also, they teach us, while, it's not fun to hear our mistakes, I think the pointers that they gave helped a lot. If you read back on the threads... their instructions really helped this journey that I am currently taking...

Thanks for reading and it's been a long riding day... despite only being in the circuit. :)

• Like 1

28 minutes ago, snooptrader said:

RC Session 6
Woke up fairly early in the morning after having a good family dinner on Saturday and felt a little whoozy but the main thing of concern was the rain. It had been raining everyday and the dark clouds were building in the west.
Had 2 cups of coffee and decided to go for training with an empty stomach as it was late in the morning.

Left the house a little early so that could take a slow drive and managed to reach BBDC around 25 minutes before the start of the lesson. Took along my own raincoat and no, didn't wear it in anticipation.

Sat down in the holding area and just waited until RC was called and then was told to select a bike. Selected a bike and then was told the group was told to gather at the start point before going for a round of warm up (my favorite time tbh) before going to the plank, pylon and e-brake (I know this sounds repetitive from the other posts that I made, but hey, this is training). So went for a round and managed to do the following. However, as mundane as it may sound. For the Pylon, the instructor was really good in pointing out how one could actually do it more smoothly (I admire the instructors who spot when I'm jerking the throttle - sometimes you'd think a rider can "get away" with it because they can't see the hands) and hence, better timing without being too rushed. That means, more smooth.

Also, the plank, went off only once and the rest, managed to get more than seven plus seconds. Honestly, the plank is now my favourite and because of the help of the instructors, this has become one of my favourite course.

On the e-brake, preparing for the clutch in is a common mistake and for this session, used too much of the rear brakes. Was told by the instructor that was skidding - can be an immediate failure, so that was an eye-opener and is why RCs are something, that while enjoyable, is a wealth of knowledge.

Was also reminded on checking on junction, left and right, then blind-spot, if first rider moving off from the traffic junction.

For the S-course, uneventful but  the crackcourse, stalled in it due to engine choke (according to instructor but he's being kind), I didn't change the gear well, from first to N - should have kicked it harder to gear 2. By the end of he session, was thankful that the skies did not open up and was pretty hungry by the end of the lesson.

RC Sesson 7 (yes on the same day)
After having a shower from the morning / afternoon lesson, had lunch and then a quick shower. In this instance; was based in the west, so please don't get the wrong impression that I drove back east.
Took a quick nap and then made it to BBDC 15 minutes before the next RC lesson.

Found the usual bike that I like and managed to secure it with helmet and raincoat. The skies were looking as if they would open. First started with the e-brake and did a couple of practice rounds.

Next was the right-turn and slope, then to the S course and crank course. The day was pretty good but... it started to pour! The good thing was that there weren't as many cars as the morning session and the instructor explained on pointers like checking the blind spot and again, the e-brake... think have to try to get better at that... in terms of stopping nicely. Think developing a naggy habit of using rear brake too much. Rest of the course was alright and on the plank; managed seven plus seconds. 

End of the session, the rain stopped but I was soaked through.... took of the wet gear, got into the ride, wound down all the windows to air (you can imagine how the smell might have been; sorry to gross you out) and got back to the western base to have a shower. Overall a good day of training and every RC is appreciated.

Something that one might not typically think about but the instructors really spend time in the sun with the students and also, they teach us, while, it's not fun to hear our mistakes, I think the pointers that they gave helped a lot. If you read back on the threads... their instructions really helped this journey that I am currently taking...

Thanks for reading and it's been a long riding day... despite only being in the circuit. :)

wow 2 x RC on the same day

did your hands ache? my left hand aches when in circuit, i think from holding the clutch lever almost all the time. 

yes the instructors are there rain or shine. One of them told me that it's the biker's life - just gotta accept the weather. imagine those that start the day with a wet training session and then have to carry on with subsequent sessions when the sky clears up. i hope they get a good allowance for shoes and gloves. 

One time i saw my RC instructor going to teach class 3 immediately after our 2B RC . He said some of them are scheduled for both vehicles. I kinda pity his class 3 student being in the same car 😅

• Like 1

1 hour ago, shiba2b said:

wow 2 x RC on the same day

did your hands ache? my left hand aches when in circuit, i think from holding the clutch lever almost all the time. 

yes the instructors are there rain or shine. One of them told me that it's the biker's life - just gotta accept the weather. imagine those that start the day with a wet training session and then have to carry on with subsequent sessions when the sky clears up. i hope they get a good allowance for shoes and gloves. 

One time i saw my RC instructor going to teach class 3 immediately after our 2B RC . He said some of them are scheduled for both vehicles. I kinda pity his class 3 student being in the same car 😅

There is a blister between my the index finger and the thumb on the palm but it doesn't bother me. I'm happy to be on the bike riding.

Yes, I admire them that they are there rain or shine. We students just take it for granted that they will be there to teach us but it's something that we should appreciate. They try to teach us even when it's really uncomfortable (who we kidding to say "fun" riding in the rain) - the smell of my wet socks on the way back in the car... don't even imagine...

And it's really tough being constantly in the elements and teaching people like yours truly... not an easy profession... :D

Won't have lessons next week and will miss being on the bike as it's Christmas period.... Will commence the following week, but RCs are lesser now. Don't seem to have much slots..

my road trip.. and some other videos in my profile.. 😛 

• Like 1

who else is at CDC again huh? 😂

I just enrolled my CL2 and will be visiting the centre next week for my orientation.. hahahaha.. 😛 

• Like 2