Just came back from lesson 3.. failed. Wah the slope, and especially fig 8 and crank course are hard... And the rain really makes it harder...

Die off a few times on slope...fall at crank course twice, keep engaging neutral. really hard to throttle more at fig 8 if I throttle more at exiting will be wide turning even with rear brake. Any tips?

As for the complaint, just had a talk with the manager and supervisor of the bike. say value my feedback and had talk to the instructor.

• Replies 4.8k

Just came back from lesson 3.. failed. Wah the slope, and especially fig 8 and crank course are hard... And the rain really makes it harder...

Die off a few times on slope...fall at crank course twice, keep engaging neutral. really hard to throttle more at fig 8 if I throttle more at exiting will be wide turning even with rear brake. Any tips?

Figure 8 and crank are killers. Even though i have passed lesson 3, i am not sure if i can complete them at a high success rate. Eye-line is very important. For Figure 8, i feel that it is important to change gear after entering the course to get enough speed, i tend to look 90 degrees at the cones as reference, maintain constant speed and slow down with rear breaks if necessary. I was terrible as crank before, the instructor on my third attempt was good and taught us a method which i felt worked for me. While moving off, do not look at the entrance, aim at the first L-corner, after entering, aim at the second L-corner, while you are at the middle of the course, aim at the exit. I'm going for my first circuit revision this weekends to brush up all the courses. I might do terrible after not doing them for so long, oh well I'll see how it goes.

As for the complaint, just had a talk with the manager and supervisor of the bike. say value my feedback and had talk to the instructor.

Fig 8 - For me, the moment I go in, I maintain my throttle and step on foot brake all the way. Some say to release brake when in the middle though to gain more speed. Coming out is pretty simple. throttle close more and step on foot brake until become really slow can already. You should probably do this about 3 bike length before the white line.

Take note: At the end after the white line, before left turn to come out, if I am not wrong. not supposed to step on brake anymore.

Crank course - before entering should be at gear 2 already, right? how come can go neutral one? haha. You always fall down at which part of the crank course?

Simeone82,

I posted this quite some months back. Hopefully the below would be helpful for your L3:

Hill start: Its all abt timing your increase in throttle with the release of your rear brake. As soon as you rev your engine & achieve biting pt with your clutch ( engine sound changes), release your rear brake and increase your throttle at the same time. Make sure you fully release your clutch when you reach the top of your ramp (left hand gripping handlebars) Will get scolding if you dont! Fully released clutch with fingers outstretched is not counted as fully releasing your clutch.

Fig 8- Its all abt your eyeline. When you enter, you look at the 1st cone at the 1st right hand sector of the 1st loop. As you approach that 1st cone quickly turn your head back left & look at the 2 cones at the mid section of the 8. As you reach the 2nd loop, turn your head right & look at the exit as you steer. As you reach the exit, turn your head left & look at the stop line.

So what ive done is, once I enter I switch off signal & accelerate to the 1st cone (straight line), Turn head & look at the 2 cones mid section & kick 2nd gear at the same time & lean with the bike. Accelerate away to the 2nd loop, turn my head & look at exit, the bike will flick right. maintain the same speed through out. Abt mid 2nd loop turn on signal, as I get closer to exit, step rear brake, look at the stop line & swing the bike left upon exit. Apply both brakes & left foot down and stop. Sometimes I might give a quick stab to the rear brake before flicking or sometimes its just a very quick off-on throttle. Sometimes its constant throttle all the way with no rear brake. Constant throttle is key for good timings.

Needs lots of practice to be consistent. Aim for 8+ to 9+ sec type of timings. Once achieved, it helps a lot for those situations when sometimes you get stuck in N, You will lose 1-2 secs to get bk into gear & then youre able to really chiong away & still make a 10.9 at the end of it. Once confident, you will find you can still open a bit more throttle while leaning in 2nd loop. Ive heard of people doing less than 8sec. F8 is quite an adrenaline rush when you get it right!

Crank - Aim towards the right kerb at the entrance, accelerate & move towards a bit left of centre of the course. Change 2nd gear after you cross the line, quick stab of the rear brake & swing right. Let the momentum of the bike carry you out. Tap rear brake if needed to swing left. Remember to keep an eye on traffic coming from your right.

Practice practice practice! All the best!

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Thanks for all the tips. Went in warm up still ok but after a few rounds and especially raining, even those in revision fall down... Really no guts to bank in... Just as some say when riding many times will kick to neutral instead 2nd.. Then at times kick can 2nd...I think I need at least 6lessons to pass this crank and fig 8

For Fig 8 alot of people fall because they use the front brakes. Front brakes during a Bank are a confirmed bad idea. Never use the front brake. Keep those fingers off that lever.

Use the rear brakes if you think its a little too fast. And never release the throttle during a bank. Enter the curve with the lower speed and you should speed up when exiting into the second part of the curve.

Remember this : Slow speed = bike drops. Higher speed = Bike straightens up.

When you enter the Fig 8. Fix your throttle and use the rear brakes to control the speed. Even if you need to brake through the whole circuit, it is ok... brake pads are pretty cheap... and you don't need to pay for it now :p

Same for crank. Kick the gear up with confidence. At times it may be the bike is a little faulty... don't use it the next time... Remember these bikes have been abused big time everyday... so its not in the best condition...

Have fun!!

The lesson 3 I was practically using handlebar to steer my direction instead of bank in...

Really too scared to bank in when I see the road wet.. if rain on my tp, think sure get immediate failure for either too slow or fall down...

Instructor had said to push handlebar down but well.. will try again tomorrow and see how...

The lesson 3 I was practically using handlebar to steer my direction instead of bank in...

Really too scared to bank in when I see the road wet.. if rain on my tp, think sure get immediate failure for either too slow or fall down...

Instructor had said to push handlebar down but well.. will try again tomorrow and see how...

No worries. speed quite slow. wont affect one. just go in normally can already.

any tips for prac 5? im supposed to do circuit revisions until steady then book prac 5 right? roughly how many times u guys revise before taking prac 5?

just cleared plank, pylon slalom and e-brake just now hehe...

the bike goes to neutral because you are not fast enough from gear 1. you need to accelerate fast in gear 1 and shift to gear 2 before you reach the first bend (right hand turn) of the crank. same with f8. you need to accelerate fast to get enough speed before shifting to gear 2 just before entering the figure 8 entrance.

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

another thing to remember is look where you want to go not down at your front wheel. when you enter you should be looking left and once you pass the middle of the figure 8 you should be looking right.

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

Forget about timings for the moment & spend some time cultivating your eyeline & turning your head in the dirn that you want to go. Do it at a steady comfortable pace until you get used to it as well as get used to riding in a leaned position. The bike will lean naturally when you head snap & steer. The bike goes to where your eyes are looking & it knows how to corner better than we think.

Once everything feels natural & habitual, gradually increase speed. Get comfortable with that speed & add some more etc. Until you find your limit. A nice smooth comfortable F8 is abt a late 9 to early 10 secs.

Dont worry abt the wet. Its psychological. Like you, I also had my fears & concerns abt the wet. But after an instructor dismissed them, I tried it at a bit slower pace & found that things were still ok. Early to mid 10secs in the wet is very doable. You only need to do it once to overcome the psychological block. It rained heavily just before 1 of my L5 attempts.... no demerits for F8.

You can do it!

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

any tips for prac 5? im supposed to do circuit revisions until steady then book prac 5 right? roughly how many times u guys revise before taking prac 5?

just cleared plank, pylon slalom and e-brake just now hehe...

You can book any amount of revs that you want until you feel ready for L5. The better learners took fewer, the slower more jialat ones like me took more lol - but I was having issues with the plank at that time.

No real tips as such. But the biggest thing is confidence. With confidence, you will overcome the natural tendency to feel nervous. No confidence = nervousness takes over, indecision, tendency to rush or go too cautiously, wobbly moments, forgetting checks etc etc. Lacking confidence is the biggest killer in nearly any test, assessment or endeavour in life.

So how to hv confidence for L5, L8 & test?? Ans-good performances during revisions. So do take revisions seriously & make the most out of them.

Edited by jbdoggy

1. General riding must be good. Minimum wobbling, no wide/narrow turn, blind spot, etc.

2. minimum mistakes in stations.

Fulfill the above 2 points n u prob should do fine.

FIAKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

I'm really demoralised. Forgot to bring helmet. Cabbed home and back. $27

Thought no pocket don't inch out at traffic light. Inched out not enough tyre on

pedestrian. And people forming up wrongly leaving me no space to cover up their mistakes.

YMCA Practical 6. :"(

FIAKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

I'm really demoralised. Forgot to bring helmet. Cabbed home and back. $27

Thought no pocket don't inch out at traffic light. Inched out not enough tyre on

pedestrian. And people forming up wrongly leaving me no space to cover up their mistakes.

YMCA Practical 6. :"(

CDC no helmet arh?

Although i have not gotten my 2b, and yet to clear lesson 5 internal circuit test, going to sgbikemart and looking at all the bikes make me drool!!! Damn

Haha. better to starting looking 1 month before TP.

Although i have not gotten my 2b, and yet to clear lesson 5 internal circuit test, going to sgbikemart and looking at all the bikes make me drool!!! Damn

lol when I am in orientation I already started looking at this bikemart. totally nuts about the brands until now know about aprilia rs125, Kawasaki ninja lah

Ya man RS125, i use to walk over to the Aprilia showroom behind CDC after lessons to get motivation. Looking at the shiny new RS125 and RS4 125 is a real turn on!!

Yah after every lesson I sure go there too...nice helmets, jackets and shiny looking bike..

Passed my test today! Jus wanna say a very huge thank you to my main saviours here for their tips & encouragement eversince i started my lessons namely: @rijac, @darkredmica, @JrCherish & @AhXian90. Sorry for making you put up with all my kpkb. I guess my next kpkb session wld be abt the bumpy course nxt yr lol!

To those of you who are going to take test in the near future, pay attention to the forming up part & be firm abt it (pairs or single file, when & where) during your road revisions. Based on sharings by others before me it seems the tester takes his time in calling each testee out & they all would be going solo throughout circuit, only bumping into each other somewhere near breadtalk. But during my test, we were all called out fairly quickly - just like L8. We all had to queue up at the various stations & we eventually would meet at the cdc main gate for the road part in twos or threes depending on how heavy traffic is outside.

If youre unfortunate enough to have someone in front of you whos totally clueless abt formation & keeps stopping ctr of the lane where you know you should be in pairs, just posn yourself in the 3rd bike posn. Dont squeeze in next to him/her.

All the best & good luck to you all!

Passed my test today! Jus wanna say a very huge thank you to my main saviours here for their tips & encouragement eversince i started my lessons namely: @rijac, @darkredmica, @JrCherish & @AhXian90. Sorry for making you put up with all my kpkb. I guess my next kpkb session wld be abt the bumpy course nxt yr lol!

To those of you who are going to take test in the near future, pay attention to the forming up part & be firm abt it (pairs or single file, when & where) during your road revisions. Based on sharings by others before me it seems the tester takes his time in calling each testee out & they all would be going solo throughout circuit, only bumping into each other somewhere near breadtalk. But during my test, we were all called out fairly quickly - just like L8. We all had to queue up at the various stations & we eventually would meet at the cdc main gate for the road part in twos or threes depending on how heavy traffic is outside.

If youre unfortunate enough to have someone in front of you whos totally clueless abt formation & keeps stopping ctr of the lane where you know you should be in pairs, just posn yourself in the 3rd bike posn. Dont squeeze in next to him/her.

All the best & good luck to you all!

Nice bro. Congrats! Ride safe~