Originally posted by Lass@March 10, 2007 11:43 pm

haha not all tracks r like qatar. am sure rossi will pick up more points along e way :cheer:

Rossi will show his true skill in the remainning race to come... :cheer:

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

• Replies 70

Ducati are powerful on straight. its just like a twist of the throttle and it flys. i can see that when it comes to straight, rossi gave up.. haha. no doubt that rossi's cornering are magnificent as he overtook stoner a couple of times but when it came to straight, he knew stoner was coming. and i can feel that stoner might be laughing and smiling in the helmet. yamaha mechs have to work hard, not rossi.

im riding suzuki so GO HOPKINs..

Stoner was stunning today.... but lets see how he performs in the next few races to come.. My money is with Rossi...:bouncefire:

Keep the rubber side down'

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z163/skiddie67/signature-1.jpg

I thot stoner was gonna bin it hehe great race from him, was calm even tho rossi was tailing him, woah yammie beta do something bout the top speed cuz ducati and honda has alot esp ducati.

Feel bad for dovi boy, the honda just doesn't have the oomph to beat the aprilia :sian:

http://www.honda.co.jp/factbook/motorshow/2003/motor/img/05_09.jpg

My Motto : Ride Fast , Brake Harder

Good In Nature But Evil By My Own Free Will

God's Biggest Mistake Is The Creation Of Man / Now It Has Turned Against HIM

The Worst Thing A Human Being Has To Endure Is Not Being Comfortable In His Own Skin

Sex Is Fun When U Minus The Clothes And Divide The Legs, But Not When You Start MULTIPLYING !!!

Wow, Stoner sounds arrogant.

Stoner: we had speed to spare

By Matt Beer Saturday, March 10th 2007, 14:40 GMT

Casey Stoner, Ducati, Losail podiumQatar MotoGP winner Casey Stoner said that his Ducati package was so good that he was able to keep some speed in reserve throughout the race - despite the constant presence of five-time champion Valentino Rossi on his tail.

"We had a great set-up and haven't had to change too much," said Stoner in the post-race press conference.

"It was just a matter of choosing the right tyre for the race and it ended up being the right choice.

"The whole way through the race we were setting a nice consistent pace, not pushing too hard, and always had a little bit left."

Stoner was almost surprised at the ease of his first MotoGP victory. The 21-year-old former LCR Honda rider paid glowing tribute to his new Ducati team.

"I can't really say much else: Ducati's been perfect," he said.

"We've had a couple of little problems over the weekend, but they've all been resolved.

"All the team's working great for me. Bridgestone tyres - to do the fastest lap of the race on the last lap, they've got to be pretty damn good. So I'm very happy with how things are going for me."

Rossi managed to pass Stoner in the slower sections of the track on several occasions, but the young Australian always successfully retaliated on the straights. He denied that having the legendary Rossi behind him all the way made the victory particularly pleasing.

"I was thinking about the pressure from him, but he is no different from any other rider," Stoner told BBC television.

"It doesn't matter who is behind you, if they are capable of going that quick they are capable of getting past you."

Souces from http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/57199

2003 - 2005 - KR150

2005 - 2011 - No ride

2011 - Current - Piaggio Fly

Stoner's Duc was very fast, but it takes a good rider to maximise the power, which is not a given thing unless the rider knows how to use it.

Stoner showed that he can ride it to good effect. Give the bike to Rossi and...everyone can retire liao la... :lol:

Anyway, I think Rossi will bounce back and win the season. Just he hopes he doesn't have 'enemies' again this year which makes watching GP look like WWE...

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg

Well itz every rider's responsibility to max out the best fight point of their machine...in this case the Duke's fantastic power is the key...

And the 9kg rider weight difference is also a great advantage..Rossi might like to shed some weight man

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a381/spy622/siggy-1.jpg

http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/5958/userbar133749dj2.gif

Don't think Stoner is being arrogant... but maybe he should not reveal too much as that will give the competitors info and make them work harder to improve...

Must play some mental games and hide the true power of what you have till it's too late for your opponents!

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Guest Enjoy

Stoner is just totally different from last season! Look at the way he handles the pressure from Rossi, superb.

Really got to watch out the young riders this season. Gonna be a great season for sure.

Guest XBOX80
Originally posted by spy622@March 12, 2007 05:16 am

Well itz every rider's responsibility to max out the best fight point of their machine...in this case the Duke's fantastic power is the key...

And the 9kg rider weight difference is also a great advantage..Rossi might like to shed some weight man

:giddy: wah rossi shed another 9kg,ha think too skinny liao he already so skinny liao.Btw wats rossi's height ah he looks tall leh.when taking photo with other riders,he like v tall leh .....think the rest all shortie ba...... :thumb: rossi will win this season......

Guest deganduss
Originally posted by Enjoy^83@March 12, 2007 02:52 pm

Stoner is just totally different from last season! Look at the way he handles the pressure from Rossi, superb.

Really got to watch out the young riders this season. Gonna be a great season for sure.

He rode well last race the help of the Ducati speed but from

now on I don't think he can hold the points lead for long :goodluck:

my guess for year podium finisher

Stoner

Rossi

Pedrosa

Melandri

Hayden

Barros

Capirossi

ducati power... :thumb:

i'm still supporting rossi.. qatar's track have long straights with not much corners.. thus rather hard for rossi to win as he's still the corner king.. :smile:

trust me.. if there's no major crashes or bike breakdown for rossi.. he will get back his championship title this year...

Commemorating the rides in my life:-

1999-2003 DT200WR(FN87XXZ), '99KTM200EGS(FR1XXG), XR200 (FF35xxC), '00KTM200EXC(FT15XXS)

2004-2005 GSXR400RN(FK24xxA)

2005-2007 '99GSXR750X(FR30XXK)

2005-2009 '03YZF-R6(FW57XXR)

2007-2010 '07CBR600RR(FBB72XXU)

Guest Enjoy
Originally posted by deganduss@March 12, 2007 09:10 pm

He rode well last race the help of the Ducati speed but from

now on I don't think he can hold the points lead for long :goodluck:

my guess for year podium finisher

Stoner

Rossi

Pedrosa

Melandri

Hayden

Barros

Capirossi

Yeah, ducati's power is definately unquestionable. Already well known long ago for the speed (especially top speed).

My point is if this situation happened last season, stoner would probably bin it after pushing too hard with that kind of pressure. We are talking about pressure from Rossi, and we all know that's wat he's gd at. Even experience rider like Gibernau struggles.

Dont forget john hopkins in the podium finishers. High possibility that he will get his first podium this season.

This is the race season we need. Competitions!

Although Rossi's bike cant make it on the straight..... he will always be the champion.......

Rossi....Jia you......

A pebble in the water makes a ripple effect , every action in this world will bear a consequence

Originally posted by Enjoy^83@March 13, 2007 07:29 am

My point is if this situation happened last season, stoner would probably bin it after pushing too hard with that kind of pressure. We are talking about pressure from Rossi, and we all know that's wat he's gd at. Even experience rider like Gibernau struggles.

I concur!

Stoner has matured in his riding, not like last year flying all over the place coz he was still riding it like a 250.

Reminds me of Rossi, during his debut on NSR500 fly all over the place oso coz he was too aggressive. Subsequent years when he matures and ride more smoothly, no one can touch him.

But it's still early days to tell whether we have a next Rossi...

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e250/cbr17/kiss.jpg
Originally posted by Sankar73+March 10, 2007 11:44 pm-->
QUOTE (Sankar73 @ March 10, 2007 11:44 pm)
IMO ... Hayden is no match for the GP bred riders(riders who came through the ranks) ... although he is a very good rider... last year's win is more like luck was on his side ... i doubt he can maintain that this year....

anyway... I thought they had installed a rocket engine in Stoner's Ducati ... it just kept pulling in the straight.... the tire would also make a difference... the Bridgestone tires seem to performare great in very hot climates but the tires could struggle in cooler climates... so I think once the race goes to Europe Rossi will become more competitive...[/b]

Hayden seems to be a rider with a slower learning curve.....look at the days when he just came in to MotoGP, it takes him 2 yrs to win a race, and it had to be his homeground which no doubt was a main advantage for his win.

Colin Edward and John Hopkins with no 250 MotoGP exp are doing pretty fine, much better than Hayden. Yes, I feel that Hayden falls short to keep the title this yr. As much as I like him, facts are facts.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Originally posted by bobo_rider@March 10, 2007 11:46 pm

Rossi will show his true skill in the remainning race to come... :cheer:

In fact Rossi did show his incredible skills already....looking at the graphics, Rossi brakes lesser, later and charge into the turns faster than Stoner already. Knowing Stoner's advantage on the straights, Rossi did not give up until the last 2 laps to settle for a 2nd. Pressuring Stoner to have a possibility to crack, and eventually weighing the importance of championship points to settle for 2nd already show Rossi's mental skill. Rossi believes in consistency rather than risking a crash for a win.

Was waiting to see if Rossi would gain "power up" from mid race onwards actually, hee....to see if Stoner could stand the "mental race" or if Rossi gains an advantage from lesser fuel weight.

Originally posted by bluelabel@March 11, 2007 03:44 am

anyway de outstanding one today for me was alex de agelis for de 250cc race...

Outstanding for me was Thailand racer Wilairot who came in 14th in the 250cc.

His debut last yr in Motegi wildcard entry was a 10th position.

Guest deganduss
Originally posted by NoLogicOne@March 14, 2007 01:09 pm

Outstanding for me was Thailand racer Wilairot who came in 14th in the 250cc.

His debut last yr in Motegi wildcard entry was a 10th position.

Next Motogp track short straight & advantage will b Rossi / Pedrosa