Just want to check with u all guys if i turn my brake lever dial to the maximum tightness,which means ur lever will be very away from ur handlebar, a slight press on the brake will feel the sensitivity. Then when travel at 1st or 2 st gearthen u dont throttle anymore

do u encounter sound coming out, dont know is it engine brake sound or what sound?

Or if turn the brake dial loosen a bit, will the same sound keep cominmg again, confused man..

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg
  • Replies 311

as above..

after bike warm up..

when brake using front brake..

u can hear a unfamiliar sound from it..

n sometimes the brake like jerking ur whole bike..

on n off......

valuable advice appreciated :sweat:

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif
Originally posted by Ah_Pek@Dec 10 2006, 05:59 PM

as above..

after bike warm up..

when brake using front brake..

u can hear a unfamiliar sound from it..

n sometimes the brake like jerking ur whole bike..

on n off......

valuable advice appreciated :sweat:

I think your disc plate is uneven.

Dec'03 - Honda NSR 150SP - FT****B

Dec'04 - Honda PGM 250SP - FN****G

May'05 - SYM Joyride 200 - FZ****E

Feb'06 - Super Four Ver.S - FQ***R (bike stolen)

Apr'08 - Wave S 125 - FW****X

???????? - What's next??? - ??****?

hihi. if the sound is coming from the fornt of ur bike, there can be a few problems.

1) ur brake disc is "warped". Meaning it is bent or uneven. This could be a result of a crash. solution is depends on how badly warped it is. If slight, u can get it jacked back by mechanic. But i personally recommend changing a new one as it will never be as good as new and will affect your braking

2) Your wheel barrings are worn out. Inside your wheel, there are ball berrings that when damaged will affect your steering and will cause sounds. Try going up to the top of a slope, then roll down the slope with your engine off. Dun use your brakes. If you still hear sounds, then its def not your breaks.

3) It could be your steering cone. IF damage or tighten too tight, it will make a "thud" sound every time you use your front breaks or engine break.. To see if it is really cone bearing and not your front disc brakes, travel to gear 30 km/hr in gear 1, then close engine suddenly. This will engage a very stong engine break. Since you are not using your disc brakes, it means that its cone bearing.

Hope this info help you. But pls do go to a trustable mechanic to get it checked out. : )

Originally posted by BLUE KISS@Dec 10 2006, 09:51 PM

hihi. if the sound is coming from the fornt of ur bike, there can be a few problems.

1) ur brake disc is "warped". Meaning it is bent or uneven. This could be a result of a crash. solution is depends on how badly warped it is. If slight, u can get it jacked back by mechanic. But i personally recommend changing a new one as it will never be as good as new and will affect your braking

2) Your wheel barrings are worn out. Inside your wheel, there are ball berrings that when damaged will affect your steering and will cause sounds. Try going up to the top of a slope, then roll down the slope with your engine off. Dun use your brakes. If you still hear sounds, then its def not your breaks.

3) It could be your steering cone. IF damage or tighten too tight, it will make a "thud" sound every time you use your front breaks or engine break.. To see if it is really cone bearing and not your front disc brakes, travel to gear 30 km/hr in gear 1, then close engine suddenly. This will engage a very stong engine break. Since you are not using your disc brakes, it means that its cone bearing.

Hope this info help you. But pls do go to a trustable mechanic to get it checked out. : )

tAnGoA~~!!

i think one of my disc brake is uneven.. most of the time i brake.. there is a sound coming from the front.. firstly i tot is the brake pads going to finish.. and when to change.. the problem still there..

roughly how much will it cost to get it straight back?

or how much for a new wan?

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a125/bearsvaluebaby/fireworks718ROXCfmFBsffgif.gif

2005 - SSDC - Class 2B

2006 - BBDC - Class 2A

2008 - CDC - Class 2

well said.....

Jul' 01 - Jun '02: Honda 185 XL

Jun' 02 - Mar '03: Yahama 200

May '06 - Oct '07 : Honda CB400 Version 'S'

bro, u can follow bluekiss bro's advise and troubleshoot one at a time ....meaning to say do a single rectification at a time and if it stops the problem , u dun have to do the rest ....................

that will help u save abit ..always starts from the most basic down to the most complicated...........in ur case, might really be the wheel bearing .....

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]

Guest imported_Ah_Ben

i use to have this problem too....

Mine was just jerking brakes... but without the sound urs produce...

I tot was as blue kiss said but end up, i just service the calipers and they are back working fine...

the rubber seal inside the calipers are worn hence the pistons are unable to "push" the rotor constantly. causing the jerking effect.

The effect like ABS. c",) On/off braking. Just need to service the calipers. Very rare your rotors are bent unless crashed.

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

a similar thread started a mth ago. hmm..

experienced this and fixed it.

it's my steering cone. changed one with labour at 70 bucks. now wun brake uneven liao.

|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^| ||

|...BEER TRUCK..........| ||'|";, ___.

|_..._..._______===|=||_|__|..., ] -

"(@)'(@)"""''"**|(@)(@)*****''(@

Guest imported_Ah_Ben

jerking brakes main cause is "braking by a jerk"

I had da same problem but manage to Solved it by changing my front wheel barring..for just $28 (Japan model type koyo)

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs160.snc1/5969_132325762781_632277781_3118071_4563982_n.jpg

changed my steering cone..

change brakepads..

change brake pump kit..

now no jerking..

however still got the veri unusual sound whenever i press front brake.=)

dun know y...

brake line oso bleed liao still like that

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif
Originally posted by duckit@Dec 13 2006, 02:15 AM

$28 for the whole of front wheel bearing ?

Front bearing need how maany arh ? 1 or need 2 ? 1 for both left and rright side ...

Thanks .

Changed the both front left and right which means 2...for $28..(Japan type) @ Unique Motosports

Normal ahboy one cheaper but wun last...those local or thailand made..

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs160.snc1/5969_132325762781_632277781_3118071_4563982_n.jpg
Originally posted by mike^dirt@Dec 13 2006, 07:07 PM

Changed the both front left and right which means 2...for $28..(Japan type) @ Unique Motosports

Normal ahboy one cheaper but wun last...those local or thailand made..

Alright , Thanks lots ...

= )

::

Hey guys recently , when i ride in the night , quiet time , i neutral and let the bike roll , i realise my disc brake but dont know its rear or front will have the "zince zince zince" sound.

So what are the possible things that's spoilt. I check my brake pad , still have . Bearings ? Steering cone or anything else that will result in this "zince ....zince ......zince " sound ?

Please give some comment and some feedback . How to check if its rear or front .

Steering cone ?

Wheel bearings ?

Brake pads ?

Or what could it be ?

Thanks lots.

Originally posted by RobbenArjen@January 07, 2007 09:31 pm

ask a fren to help u to tilt the bike untill the rear wheel has lifted off the ground..

using ur hand and shake the rear tyre left n right.. if it is loose or shaky.

its ur wheel bearing

I also suspect its the bearing... Coz i also encounter in the past.. chnage it lo.. i chnaged mine for $20 - $30 nia... very cheap.. 1 yr liao.. still serving mi already..

now is the braking make mi tulan.. gt the eeeeeee sound.. hate to brake at traffic light when the other riders look at mi majaim wat.. hahaha

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a49/king_ziege/Biker%20gers/board_headerEdited.jpg
Originally posted by Ah James@January 07, 2007 10:20 pm

I also suspect its the bearing... Coz i also encounter in the past.. chnage it lo.. i chnaged mine for $20 - $30 nia... very cheap.. 1 yr liao.. still serving mi already..

now is the braking make mi tulan.. gt the eeeeeee sound.. hate to brake at traffic light when the other riders look at mi majaim wat.. hahaha

try using pressure air at the brake calipers.. maybe to dust causing the Eeee sound..

Originally posted by FZ06@January 07, 2007 10:12 pm

it may b the sound of ur chain instead bro...

the "zinc zinc zinc " sound its like the tyre finish makin 1 rotating , i didnt press brake or anything , i juz let it roll , its like once every complete rotation sort of thing , guess i will try the bearing first.

Chain i oil regularly veri smooth