So you are in Finance / Accouting in the Shipping industry....

Well... i am in a small recruitment business. Doing search and contingent recruitment for private banking and wealth management.

wonderful!

any useful tips for getting a foot into the banking field?

if relevant experience essential?

im considering a major switch shortly.....

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

• Replies 99.2k

• pichudot

• innards

• maxxmadness

• bigman_185

No sh1t... Lehman just bit the dust. Sub-prime has claimed its first kill. Now waiting for cascade effect on the other banks.

I think everyone who bought unit trusts and funds are about to lose another 10% minimum of their value.... :faint:

actually it is not the first bank to be hit... there are 11 banks before lehman, that closed due to the sub-prime BS...:giddy: :giddy:

The wearproofing seal strip can be changed, usually it's worn out with age.

However what i did is get those weatherproof strips(for car's door edges) and stick it over the old strip.

So good so far. :thumb:

Sounds good to me. I will have it replaced this sat. Friend is heading to M-Tech to get his side panniers. Might as well get it changed there.

Thanks again Garry

I might be Left Handed, But I'm Always RIGHT

DIY list

1. Volt Meter

2. Air Box Mod

3. Electric Horn

4. Dual Head Light

5. Removing of Mid Pipe's Cat

As usual.........Extra Squirt :cheeky: :angel:

not incurred losses.. it is 11 banks that closed shop leh...

extra squirt is because DeusExMachina said that lehman is the first one to close shop... so i dun think it is extra squirt lor...

wonderful!

any useful tips for getting a foot into the banking field?

if relevant experience essential?

im considering a major switch shortly.....

relevant experience is always essential with these investment banks.

Unless you want to step down and restart everything from square one... otherwise it will be hard.

Restarting will be difficult for anyone and working from the bottom up.

"Deep within us all, lies a secret garden where we retreat to at the end of the day, to ease our wearied mind and bodies…â€

http://i288.photobucket.com/albums/ll198/fir_chan/Places/DSC02859-1.jpg

Anyone got spare brake and clutch lever for FZ6 04 model to sell? I'm also selling my stock windshield as i've changed to touring one.

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

relevant experience is always essential with these investment banks.

Unless you want to step down and restart everything from square one... otherwise it will be hard.

Restarting will be difficult for anyone and working from the bottom up.

yea, thats what I heard.

But dude, how far bottom are we talking about?

I am not put off by hard work :p

With effort and a bit of luck, I'll get there, eventually. whahahah

They go their own way.

yea, thats what I heard.

But dude, how far bottom are we talking about?

I am not put off by hard work :p

With effort and a bit of luck, I'll get there, eventually. whahahah

What is your background? I'll like to see if there is any possiblities/opportunities for you at the moment and if there is any roles looking in the general direction of your expectations.

In commerce, you can also earn heaps..

Drop me a pm and i'll get you my work email so you can send your CV.

"Deep within us all, lies a secret garden where we retreat to at the end of the day, to ease our wearied mind and bodies…â€

What is your background? I'll like to see if there is any possiblities/opportunities for you at the moment and if there is any roles looking in the general direction of your expectations.

In commerce, you can also earn heaps..

Drop me a pm and i'll get you my work email so you can send your CV.

Financial Accounting background.

Will drop you a PM later on today, tks dude.

They go their own way.

its crazy market now... now i also scare my rice bowl is gone... i am in Merrill by the way.. anyway saw the chapter 11 document that lehman bros file.. top creditor is citibank.. 100+billion due to debt securities.. haha.. citi group is pretty quiet these days.. hahah... Fed only negotiating JPM and Goldman to bail AIG... not citi.. every financial institution are in woes now...

CRISIS REFINE LIFE. IN THEM YOU DISCOVER WHAT YOU ARE!

its crazy market now... now i also scare my rice bowl is gone... i am in Merrill by the way.. anyway saw the chapter 11 document that lehman bros file.. top creditor is citibank.. 100+billion due to debt securities.. haha.. citi group is pretty quiet these days.. hahah... Fed only negotiating JPM and Goldman to bail AIG... not citi.. every financial institution are in woes now...

You are in Merrill?? Which dept are you in? Harbourfront or Marina Bayfront?

BoA operations in Singapore is not very big so i reckon your "rice bowl" will be safe for the moment.

I know your guys are cutting a lot of people from the business and many only have 5 working days to clear out.

Its really sad.... that this is happening.

yeah man.. i am at HFC back room ops... well for now BOA says they want to keep Merrill intact but who knows.. Lewis is well know for slash headcounts.. have to mentally prepare for the worst.. Murphy's Law... who knows, maybe tomorrow go work kanna release? lol.. they are already releasing some small amount in marina liao...

bad timing.

and here i am talking about finance positions.

maybe time to hold the horses for another 6-12mths.

They go their own way.

Dude i seriously suggest you hold whatever job you can.. i quote what Bloomberg says "Beggars not choosers". it meant the employees from bear sterns havent found job yet, now Lehman Bros, Merrill probably AIG and WaMu employees... haha.. it is really crazy market now...

yeah man.. i am at HFC back room ops... well for now BOA says they want to keep Merrill intact but who knows.. Lewis is well know for slash headcounts.. have to mentally prepare for the worst.. Murphy's Law... who knows, maybe tomorrow go work kanna release? lol.. they are already releasing some small amount in marina liao...

Let me know if you need any help. I'll do what i can. Let's hope the job market within banking will not be too bad.....

Let's see what roles are out there....