Looking for CBR 918/919 Riders

Blade900

Originally posted by CBR289@Oct 4 2005, 09:39 AM

The rr6 need to wait till dec den juz can place booking and bike will arrive on late January..:sweat:

so now for 2 months u can faster go find accessories eg ARROW full system hang in ur hse ceiling 1st .... :cheeky:

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

• Replies 8.1k

Originally posted by RicKTM@Oct 4 2005, 12:18 PM

ride ong's 954 to SG lar...

knn eh he bought that thing for 60k cash... he sure damn scared if i said were to meet u.. scared u rape his bike. o_O

anyway guys, i fixed the sigma digital meter to my bike liau. accuracy is the same reading as a 954 digital meter. 0% error... :thumb:

Originally posted by CBR289@Oct 4 2005, 04:41 PM

I prefer two brother.....still miss my dear CBR9..:weep:

2 brothers now is also known as Erion Racing Co. liau. remember few years back they got come out with a 929 Erion Racing Edition... :thumb:

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Oct 4 2005, 12:29 PM

knn eh he bought that thing for 60k cash... he sure damn scared if i said were to meet u.. scared u rape his bike. o_O

wahahaha rape bike

See more of me @ azari.multiply.com

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs216.snc3/22373_296411496598_707411598_3943863_2038617_n.jpg

Hi, I am considering getting a 96 CBR 900 & renew 10years COE next year.

Are there any problems with regard to this bike.

Any specific area that I should take note when hunting around for one?

many thanks.

1997 TZR 125 - 1998 FZ 150 - 1999 GSXR 400K - 1999 RX 100 - 2000 LC 125 - 2001 TZR 125 - 2002 CB 400 Ver S - 2006 CBR 929 - 2006 GETZ 1.4 - 2009 STEED 400 - 2016 ???

Riders ride to work. Drivers work to drive.

1. check the previous owner got do the top over haul or not (old bike liao, need to do a top overhaul to get back its power again, about $500 for top overhaul),

2. check the clutch housing got 'tick tick' sound when startup (common problem, cost about $300+- for clutch housing),

3. check any dent on frame and swingarm (sportbike, mostly accident before, if got dent can scrap liao),

4. check steering cone bearing and whell bearing (wear and tear, about $100+),

5. tyre and chain ( wear and tear, tyre about $300+, chain $150+)

6. rectifier and battery, if easily start at cold, means battery and rec still ok ( about $200 to replace both)

that's about all, honda bike, no other big problem, very reliable...

price range for 96 blade from $4k to $5k depends on accessories and condition.

can't compare with new 600 class sportbike, but still can give you 260km/h at stock condition, with k&N and a high flow exhaust, 280km/h is not a problem...

best fuel consumption of its class, 16 ~20km per litre for normal or hard riding, can't go wrong.... :thumb:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by Baal@Oct 5 2005, 02:32 PM

Hi, I am considering getting a 96 CBR 900 & renew 10years COE next year.

Are there any problems with regard to this bike.

Any specific area that I should take note when hunting around for one?

many thanks.

this model of CBR900 ranging from year 94-99 got very little problems. engine so far never heard of any problems among our group, except for those normal wear n tear parts. as long as the engine fires up properly then should not be a problem.

so far the most problems i've seen with the CBR900 is the rear suspension problem. everybody complains that the rear is too soft, even when it is adjusted to the maximum. but can be easily fixed by either changing a rear Ohlins, or a race tech gold valving for the cheaper way. :thumb:

Originally posted by Sev@Oct 5 2005, 03:05 PM

1. check the previous owner got do the top over haul or not (old bike liao, need to do a top overhaul to get back its power again, about $500 for top overhaul),

2. check the clutch housing got 'tick tick' sound when startup (common problem, cost about $300+- for clutch housing),

3. check any dent on frame and swingarm (sportbike, mostly accident before, if got dent can scrap liao),

4. check steering cone bearing and whell bearing (wear and tear, about $100+),

5. tyre and chain ( wear and tear, tyre about $300+, chain $150+)

6. rectifier and battery, if easily start at cold, means battery and rec still ok ( about $200 to replace both)

that's about all, honda bike, no other big problem, very reliable...

price range for 96 blade from $4k to $5k depends on accessories and condition.

can't compare with new 600 class sportbike, but still can give you 260km/h at stock condition, with k&N and a high flow exhaust, 280km/h is not a problem...

best fuel consumption of its class, 16 ~20km per litre for normal or hard riding, can't go wrong.... :thumb:

hehe i wanna add in some info to urs...

2. every class 2 bike's clutch housing/basket sure got noise. it wont damage the engine/performance whatsoever, just the sound is disturbing. u'll find it even on the CBR1000... mine of cos got sound, but it goes off after the engine is warmed up.

6. to check rectifier/battery working properly, check it with a voltmeter. the most accurate way. reading should be in the range of 12.4v - 15.5v max. over than that or less than that, u may have a wiring/rectifier/battery/coil problem.

of course the handling cannot compare with a new 600cc Y2k n above, but the torque beats the 600's. its easier to ride cos need less gear changes.

oh ya, and this model desperately needs a 17 inch rim. handles a tad better n u have more tyre choices.

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Oct 5 2005, 03:15 PM

hehe i wanna add in some info to urs...

2. every class 2 bike's clutch housing/basket sure got noise. it wont damage the engine/performance whatsoever, just the sound is disturbing. u'll find it even on the CBR1000... mine of cos got sound, but it goes off after the engine is warmed up.

6. to check rectifier/battery working properly, check it with a voltmeter. the most accurate way. reading should be in the range of 12.4v - 15.5v max. over than that or less than that, u may have a wiring/rectifier/battery/coil problem.

of course the handling cannot compare with a new 600cc Y2k n above, but the torque beats the 600's. its easier to ride cos need less gear changes.

oh ya, and this model desperately needs a 17 inch rim. handles a tad better n u have more tyre choices.

2. wah, 1000rr also got this problem ar, damn honda, never fix up the problem after so many years....

wah, after getting louis's rim now telling people get 17" front rim liao wor...

me in progress to get 17" rim from Elan (?), your fren?

how's the handling after you fix the 17" rim? how muh you pay for the sigma speedo, need to get that one too if i got the rim.... the speedo error alot or just slightly?

Originally posted by Sev@Oct 5 2005, 07:22 PM

2. wah, 1000rr also got this problem ar, damn honda, never fix up the problem after so many years....

well dun worry about new bikes having this problem. though it feels abit noisy, but the honda models are considered very refined compared to other makes. even after u change the clutch basket, the sound will come back in just a short period- this is due to the amount of torque it has to handle. (the smaller the CC of the bike, the less noise it will produce)

so not to worry about that, as long as the clutch plates are not worn out

Originally posted by Sev@Oct 5 2005, 07:22 PM

wah, after getting louis's rim now telling people get 17" front rim liao wor...

me in progress to get 17" rim from Elan (?), your fren?

how's the handling after you fix the 17" rim? how muh you pay for the sigma speedo, need to get that one too if i got the rim.... the speedo error alot or just slightly?

hehe yeah, have to share the good info with u guys' mah !

i would say the 17" rim gives better traction when in hard corners. with the 16" when u go low in corners u feel that the front is getting abit twitchy n reluctant to go lower anymore- but when u reach home n see the front tyre, there is still about 0.8cm of unused thread. its harder to reach the max lean limit.

but with the 17" rim u feel that the bike can lean lower n easier. u can literally use some arm strength to push the bike lower. gives u more confidence to do so!

but the pros of the 17" rim is dat its abit more heavier than the 16" (unless u get something like jimmy's bike- forged aluminium rim). In town its more pleasurable to use the 16" to switch lanes fast. but just go for the 17" of Elan's, u wont regret it when u see the choices of tyres that u can choose :thumb:

the Sigma speedo Elan bought it for me for $38 bux. (ELan also wanna sell of his speedo after getting the rim). Hey but Sev, ur bike does not need a digital speedo cos ur meter gear is at the front sprocket- not at the rims. so u save some money cos it wont disturb ur meter at all lah :p

for me the speedo is working well. reading is the same as the CBR954 digital speedo. :bouncefire:

Thank you friends for the valuable advice. I foresee the cost of making the bike

a "new oldbike" as follows. kindly add in if I left out anything.

1) $5k for Bike

2) Spray paint $500

3) New COE $700

4) $700 for new suspension

5) Set aside another $500 to do up the wear & tear parts.

Total = $7400+. ( Put the price at $8000 very safe?)

Btw, how much will 3rd party fire/theft cost for 29yrs old for this bike?

1997 TZR 125 - 1998 FZ 150 - 1999 GSXR 400K - 1999 RX 100 - 2000 LC 125 - 2001 TZR 125 - 2002 CB 400 Ver S - 2006 CBR 929 - 2006 GETZ 1.4 - 2009 STEED 400 - 2016 ???

Btw....how much does a 17 inch front rim for the blade cost?

ALso for BT020, is there 16 inch size?

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Oct 5 2005, 09:09 PM

hehe yeah, have to share the good info with u guys' mah !

i would say the 17" rim gives better traction when in hard corners. with the 16" when u go low in corners u feel that the front is getting abit twitchy n reluctant to go lower anymore- but when u reach home n see the front tyre, there is still about 0.8cm of unused thread. its harder to reach the max lean limit.

but with the 17" rim u feel that the bike can lean lower n easier. u can literally use some arm strength to push the bike lower. gives u more confidence to do so!

but the pros of the 17" rim is dat its abit more heavier than the 16" (unless u get something like jimmy's bike- forged aluminium rim). In town its more pleasurable to use the 16" to switch lanes fast. but just go for the 17" of Elan's, u wont regret it when u see the choices of tyres that u can choose :thumb:

the Sigma speedo Elan bought it for me for $38 bux. (ELan also wanna sell of his speedo after getting the rim). Hey but Sev, ur bike does not need a digital speedo cos ur meter gear is at the front sprocket- not at the rims. so u save some money cos it wont disturb ur meter at all lah :p

for me the speedo is working well. reading is the same as the CBR954 digital speedo. :bouncefire:

haha, good, then i can save soem kopi money... :sweat: :sweat:

Baal,

no need so much, some bike come with good paint work, mine was still in good original paint work when i first got it, but i crash at PG track so gotta respray... if the bike has lousy paint work, you can nego with the owner to lower the price... :smile:

new suspension of ohlin cost $1500... need not to change new suspnsion, just get it service at bikelab for about $200+, you get a as good as new rear shock. :thumb:

insurance for TPFT is about $600, so you need about $6000 to $6500 for your bike...

suspension, paint work, wear and tear parts can do up slowly one by one, so you need not to upfront too much at once. :thumb:

new 17" front rim cost from $500 (newCBR600 F3 rim), or up to few thousand aftermarket rim (aluminium, magnesium, carbon fibre...), or you can find 2nd hand rim at lower price... :smile:

for bridgestone, 16 front rim only have BT056 and BT014. 056 is OEM rubber for our blade, 014 is good for track, but wear out pretty fast...

Originally posted by Sev@Oct 5 2005, 09:46 PM

new suspension of ohlin cost $1500... need not to change new suspnsion, just get it service at bikelab for about $200+, you get a as good as new rear shock. :thumb:

new 17" front rim cost from $500 (newCBR600 F3 rim), or up to few thousand aftermarket rim (aluminium, magnesium, carbon fibre...), or you can find 2nd hand rim at lower price... :smile:

for bridgestone, 16 front rim only have BT056 and BT014. 056 is OEM rubber for our blade, 014 is good for track, but wear out pretty fast...

yup putting in race tech gold valve in the rear shock is a much cheaper way to improve the suspension...

actually the main reason why i changed to a 17" rim was cos i hated bridgestone so much. previously used BT56,BT010 for the fronts and BT020,BT57 for the rear. they suck to the core. even the 014 on Ong's 919 that time was far from good. generally when using a bridgestone tyre, u can only use up 50% of the thread- the balance u gotta throw away cos of uneven wear/cupping.

after i finish my current Sportec M-1's, i'll be switching to Dunlop 208GP's. cheap n stick like glue... :lovestruck:

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Oct 5 2005, 10:02 PM

yup putting in race tech gold valve in the rear shock is a much cheaper way to improve the suspension...

actually the main reason why i changed to a 17" rim was cos i hated bridgestone so much. previously used BT56,BT010 for the fronts and BT020,BT57 for the rear. they suck to the core. even the 014 on Ong's 919 that time was far from good. generally when using a bridgestone tyre, u can only use up 50% of the thread- the balance u gotta throw away cos of uneven wear/cupping.

after i finish my current Sportec M-1's, i'll be switching to Dunlop 208GP's. cheap n stick like glue... :lovestruck:

dunlop 208GP :thumb: :thumb: the thread very good lookign also...

So Sev this saturday free ??

Might be plan to meet up leh...

Start from Afternoon saturday 1pm...

Our vip Undertaker aka grasseater wif Jimmy akak daring Uncle arrive to GP ...

N sambut by mi

Later come to Singapore using Car Not bike...

1st will visit Eversucess looking Miss Tan flower (while she meet Joo den she willo smile like flower) :angel:

Later dun noe do wat????