How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?  

648 members have voted

1. 1. How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?

just wondering when some of us own a car, how much do you earn a month acually ?

best if you could state car model and avg $ spent on the car each month.

• Replies 870

Originally posted by irvin@Nov 20 2004, 12:20 AM

i tink bt 2k-2.5k if u r single and 2.5-3.5k if u have a family to support a normal 1.6l car...

you referring to USD ?

Originally posted by n00b@Nov 19 2004, 01:13 PM

i once calculated tat an average 1.6 saloon car tat covers 100km per day needs abt 1.3K per mth incl carpark,erp n stuff....

True... It's not buying the car that hurts, it's keeping it running! :giddy:

Well, I project that when I buy my first car, I should be earning at least $3k a month as a single.

Originally posted by rhema83@Nov 20 2004, 10:54 AM

True... It's not buying the car that hurts, it's keeping it running! :giddy:

Well, I project that when I buy my first car, I should be earning at least $3k a month as a single.

yah lor...imagine u earn 2.5k/mth and spending more den half of ur pay on ur car...u onli left wif 1.2k to spend...if got family worse sia....need pay for hse pay for kids and everything...1 person wrk sure cmi...unless u r earning like 5k/mth :confused:

When i had my first car 6 years ago, i was earning about almost $4k average per mth.

if you take anything more than a 5 yr loan then your instalment better not be more than 25% of your nett salary or else you are a slave.

I very kiasu, only take 3 year loan....

Originally posted by arjen@Nov 19 2004, 11:48 PM

just wondering when some of us own a car, how much do you earn a month acually ?

best if you could state car model and avg $ spent on the car each month.

Don't think the amount you earn can be used as an accurate gauge for owning a car. The car price varies, from a few k to a few hundred k. Furthermore each driver's financial commitments and lifestyles are different.

I would say a single who earns S$3k and above should be able to support a new Japanese 1.5/1.6 comfortably.

http://www.honda.co.jp/CB1300SF/gallery/page13/4025958-2/image/4025958-2-m.jpg
Originally posted by Throttle@Nov 20 2004, 12:19 PM

When i had my first car 6 years ago, i was earning about almost $4k average per mth.

if you take anything more than a 5 yr loan then your instalment better not be more than 25% of your nett salary or else you are a slave.

thats because you are rich?Not all can afford that...

Originally posted by Throttle@Nov 20 2004, 12:19 PM

3yr loan sia...if i can escape wif juz a 7yr and not a 10yr wld b gd enuff liaoz :cheeky:

Average spending for a 1.6 litre car is abt $900 to $1200 per month, excluding installments, which will depend on how much and how long your loan is.

People ask me, "Why ride bike?" I ask them back :"Why drive car?"

u loaded mah. but good sound financial advice though/

Originally posted by Keynes@Nov 22 2004, 07:49 AM

Average spending for a 1.6 litre car is abt $900 to $1200 per month, excluding installments, which will depend on how much and how long your loan is.

1.2k not enuff to include loan meh??

i calculated is 1.3k wif loan leh...or did i rem wrongly :cheeky:

I think you got it wrong, what I'm saying here is that if you are earning not so much then dont think of car first . becos if you whack money when you got not enuff, you become a slave.

I rode a bike since 19 until i got my first job in 98 before getting a car in 99. I saved up a lot and bot the car full cash. it was a good feeling....

I calculated and made sure that my finances were well covered. what if I lose my job , what if sh*t happens? have to be prepared. Why be a slave?

I see some young people who have cars but loan so much and got no freedom in the end.

what is a car? a car is simply freedom. but if it ties you down more than giving you freedom then...think twice please.

Guest TachiTJRS

Just for your infor guys. I owned 3 cars so far in Singapore. My last was a 1999 Honda Civic SiR EG9. I will give you a breakdown on how I 'suffered' to keep the baby I loved.

Monthly Salary: $2200

Car price (used): $55000 when 5 years old

Downpayment: $5000

Monthly installments plus interest at 2.8%: $900+

Number of years loan: 53months

Running Cost:

Fuel: I travelled an average of 3000km per month. My car tops $65 of 98 unleaded per tank and covers about 500km per tank which works out to

$390 -$400 per month +/-

General Maintainence of Oil, filter etc at every 10000km. = $200 divided by 3 months I would have to put aside: about $70

Road Tax: $948 for a year. If you divide it by 12 months = $79

Insurance: I paid $2000 a year for a 4 door Civic VTEC. I am 26 years old and not married. Divide it by 12 months =$167

ERP, Parking, coupons etc per month: $70

So, gentlemen every month I spent a total of $900+$400+$70+$79+$167+$70

=$1686

That leaves me with $514 to pay for my handphone, eating, occasional pleasure like movies, shopping and buying stuff for my girlfriend, ciggies etc.

As you can see, the car ownership already cost me more that 1/2 of my salary. I did part time work on weekends to get a couple hundred bucks but that meant working my ass off 7 days a week.

As a result, I had less time for myself, even less time for my girlfriend, not enough time to enjoy my car (track days etc), ate cheaply everytime, no money to buy tune up parts, was sh*t tired all week.

So I sold it and got a bike.

Now I pay $200 a month for installments, $250 for fuel, $140 for road tax, $350 for insurance, parking is most of the time free! So I spend only $500 per month plus maintenance because I do my own service at home.

The downside is I got no aircon, no radio, no roof, no place to put anything, can only carry 1 passenger but the upside is I am twice as fast, three times smaller and have four times more money to save and use.

And thats why I am on this forum.

The maintenance of a car is much more than most think but take me for example.

On a per year basis:-

Paper Depreciation of car $10,000

Road tax $2,200

Insurance $1,400

Carpark Home = Free

Carpark Office $2400

Carpark elsewhere $520

Petrol $3000

ERP = $400

Total per year = $19,920

Gone down the drain becos of owning a car.

For a Jap car perhaps $13,000 per year down the drain........

And I havent included maintenance or servicing yet.

Do your sums right first before signing on the dotted line.

if you take too much loan , you will suffer when you sell the car.

the dealer will be smiling big big

Guest TachiTJRS
Originally posted by Throttle@Nov 22 2004, 01:54 PM

The maintenance of a car is much more than most think but take me for example.

On a per year basis:-

Paper Depreciation of car $10,000

Road tax $2,200

Insurance $1,400

Carpark Home = Free

Carpark Office $2400

Carpark elsewhere $520

Petrol $3000

ERP = $400

Total per year = $19,920

Gone down the drain becos of owning a car.

For a Jap car perhaps $13,000 per year down the drain........

And I havent included maintenance or servicing yet.

Do your sums right first before signing on the dotted line.

Ah yes I forgot to include that my car depreciated $6300 a year, and when I sold it, I had to top up $5000 to the finance company. Eventually it was scrapped. What car you have Throttle.

Now, I am driving the new Volvo S40 2.4i

actually only the engine is big the car is sporty and quite compact....cheers

throttle : insightful response. bikes rock! if raining cats and dogs just take cab lah. still cheaper in the long run. cars are 4 loaded ppl.

but cab will never be the same as your own car, and also never as convenient.

Guest TachiTJRS

In fact do you guys notice that whenever you need a cab, there is hardly one in sight. Especially when you are in a hurry. And when you don't need one, there are abundance of them running around. In any case, if I didn't have a bike or car, I would still take the BMW (Bus, MRT, Walk) geddit...

Besides, I don't trust any cab driver's driving.

Originally posted by TachiTJRS@Nov 22 2004, 01:49 PM

Just for your infor guys. I owned 3 cars so far in Singapore. My last was a 1999 Honda Civic SiR EG9. I will give you a breakdown on how I 'suffered' to keep the baby I loved.

Monthly Salary: $2200

Car price (used): $55000 when 5 years old

Downpayment: $5000

Monthly installments plus interest at 2.8%: $900+

Number of years loan: 53months

Running Cost:

Fuel: I travelled an average of 3000km per month. My car tops $65 of 98 unleaded per tank and covers about 500km per tank which works out to

$390 -$400 per month +/-

General Maintainence of Oil, filter etc at every 10000km. = $200 divided by 3 months I would have to put aside: about $70

Road Tax: $948 for a year. If you divide it by 12 months = $79

Insurance: I paid $2000 a year for a 4 door Civic VTEC. I am 26 years old and not married. Divide it by 12 months =$167

ERP, Parking, coupons etc per month: $70

So, gentlemen every month I spent a total of $900+$400+$70+$79+$167+$70

=$1686

That leaves me with $514 to pay for my handphone, eating, occasional pleasure like movies, shopping and buying stuff for my girlfriend, ciggies etc.

As you can see, the car ownership already cost me more that 1/2 of my salary. I did part time work on weekends to get a couple hundred bucks but that meant working my ass off 7 days a week.

As a result, I had less time for myself, even less time for my girlfriend, not enough time to enjoy my car (track days etc), ate cheaply everytime, no money to buy tune up parts, was sh*t tired all week.

So I sold it and got a bike.

Now I pay $200 a month for installments, $250 for fuel, $140 for road tax, $350 for insurance, parking is most of the time free! So I spend only $500 per month plus maintenance because I do my own service at home.

The downside is I got no aircon, no radio, no roof, no place to put anything, can only carry 1 passenger but the upside is I am twice as fast, three times smaller and have four times more money to save and use.

And thats why I am on this forum.

great inputs.

i am drop the idea now..