How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?  

648 members have voted

1. 1. How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?

yeah what is follow your bliss, Faris?

care to explain, i also want to follow my Bliss plenty plenty.

• Replies 870

of course u are able to support it bro. go for it!

hi guys, if i only earn around 1k-1.6k, and get a 2nd hand car, like a honda civic esi 4m, able to support?

Support?

support the car or support yourself?

good luck, you need it.

of course u are able to support it bro. go for it!

plse lah newbie, you drive Bentley of course no problem lah.

Dont get people into trouble leh.

$1.6k cant even pay for half year road tax of your car.

i mean like when i get the car. the petrol, road tax, etc.. will able to support '?

If you buy full cash for the car maybe still can.

Buy since you only earn less than $2k, you will have to sacrifice other things just to support a car. what for? dont be silly lah.

already so many silly young people out there.

anyway:-

Petrol estimate $250 up per month

Road tax estimate $1200 per yr

PArking can be $200 to $400 depending on where you work and wherer you go

Insurance is $1k++

General maintenance estimate $500 per year for old car.

after you fully pay your car, you still need about $600 easily per month

oh man, really huh? cos i thought 2nd hand car should cost less for me. lets say i put all the prices below per month.

petrol - 250

road tax - 100

parking - 100

insurance - 80

maintenance - 40

monthly payment for car - 200 ??

so total around = $770

am i correct, i not sure, agga agga only..... $1360(after cpf) - $770 = $590 (for me to spend freely) :D

oh man, really huh? cos i thought 2nd hand car should cost less for me. lets say i put all the prices below per month.

petrol - 250

road tax - 100

parking - 100

insurance - 80

maintenance - 40

so total around = $770

am i correct, i not sure, agga agga only..... $1360(after cpf) - $770 = $590 (for me to spend freely) :D

sure, and be holding a piece of metal which depreciates faster than you can earn money. if anything happen, you are F*U*C*K*E*D in a bowl of debt

I think the car is owning you, not you owning the car.

plse lah, dude. hao hao zhuo ren. at this stage dont think about owning a car. That's the advice i can honestly give you.

Plse excuse my language and tone, but i just want to warn you truthfully of the **** you are getting yourself into if you buy a car now.

sure, and be holding a piece of metal which depreciates faster than you can earn money. if anything happen, you are F*U*C*K*E*D in a bowl of debt

I think the car is owning you, not you owning the car.

plse lah, dude. hao hao zhuo ren. at this stage dont think about owning a car. That's the advice i can honestly give you.

Plse excuse my language and tone, but i just want to warn you truthfully of the **** you are getting yourself into if you buy a car now.

Reality does bites :thumb:

Did you know?

Donkeys, unlike horses, can vocalize both on the inhale and exhale of their breath. This helps create that comical "Heeeee-Haaaaw" effect.

petrol - 250

road tax - 100

parking - 100

insurance - 80

maintenance - 40

so total around = $770

If you are getting a 2nd car that cost only $200 per month.

I think you will be getting quite an old car.

Then, in this case, anytime the car can give you problem.

Gear Box, Air-con, etc...

As cars' wear and tear starts to appear after 3 years of usage,

be prepared to spend a bomb to maintain it.

Some more monthly only left $590? U think it's enough for you to spend?

That's down to about $20 a day.

Nowadays, if you eat work outside, you will need to spend about $10 for meals per day, at least.

Then that's left you with $290 per month the most. What about spending for outings? Movies? Savings? Insurance?

Then in the end, you will just go work and go home everyday. Weekends stay at home and polish you car.

Personally, I feel that if you own a car, you better be earning a comfortable salary for you to enjoy the car to bring you around and have fun.

petrol - 250

road tax - 100

parking - 100

insurance - 80

maintenance - 40

so total around = $770

Oh my gosh!! what is happening the younger generation?? Are you just flirting with the idea or are you serious??

Dear Bro, what if you are

1)fined by TP??

2)ERP?

3)shopping centre park fees,

4)parking coupon?

5)worst case, someone crash on to yr car w/o you knowing? Yes, it did happen to me, and the bumper is hanging, cost me $300.

yr 590 is not even enou for yrself,

1)handphone bills?

2)clothes?

3) cigarette?

4) internet bills

5) makan at food court also cost at least $10 for 2 meals, not even enou for 2 KFC meals. sigh

6) movies?

By that time, you may own a car, but will be a plain dull black and white life. no weekend, No girls (sadest part), no fun, no life. Yr car will be in the carpark, only time is going to work and going home. You get the idea?

A car is percieve as a luxury item, if you can largely afford it, a depreciation item if you cant.

alternatively, work harder for yr dreamz...

Oh my gosh!! what is happening the younger generation?? Are you just flirting with the idea or are you serious??

Dear Bro, what if you are

1)fined by TP?? Won't get fine cos the TP my fren

2)ERP? Car never fix ERP, Cross gantry use credit card swipe !

3)shopping centre park fees, Park at the lobby - your car = taxi ?4)parking coupon? I fold coupons, never tear - re-use ! hahaha5)worst case, someone crash on to yr car w/o you knowing? Yes, it did happen to me, and the bumper is hanging, cost me $300. - Dun worry, i got sliders on ..hahahha

yr 590 is not even enou for yrself,

1)handphone bills? - still using the 10 cent public phone

2)clothes? wear bikini - 2 piece cheap and very cooling

3) cigarette? i dun smoke...oral only wahhahaa

4) internet bills - i hack people account so free.

5) makan at food court also cost at least $10 for 2 meals, not even enou for 2 KFC meals. sigh - fasting 365 days a year6) movies? i watch thriple X.........

By that time, you may own a car, but will be a plain dull black and white life. no weekend, No girls (sadest part), no fun, no life. Yr car will be in the carpark, only time is going to work and going home. You get the idea?

A car is percieve as a luxury item, if you can largely afford it, a depreciation item if you cant.

alternatively, work harder for yr dreamz...

a lot of cars got repossessed and are being auctioned off by the finance companies lately. some as new as a few months old.

Is this becoming a common situation here as inflationary pressures mount and youngsters who cannot afford still want to maintain a car?

a lot of cars got repossessed and are being auctioned off by the finance companies lately. some as new as a few months old.

Is this becoming a common situation here as inflationary pressures mount and youngsters who cannot afford still want to maintain a car?

serves them right!

i love dividends.

in ST today

"rental firms 'leasing' cars from cash-strapped owners"

'leased' car missing - now owner faces bankruptcy

i love dividends.

petrol - 250

road tax - 100

parking - 100

insurance - 80

maintenance - 40

so total around = $770

i like your maths... that kind of pay can afford A FORM OF TRANSPORT is good enough(other than bicycles).

dare to buy, i would say brave, but like chinese always say, brave and stupid one line difference...

in the process of getting 2B...

Dreambike: HONDA NSR150SP

in ST today

"rental firms 'leasing' cars from cash-strapped owners"

'leased' car missing - now owner faces bankruptcy

Firstly he rented out his car illegally, now it is lost.

All that just to be able to tell his friends, " I own (owe) a car"

not worth it at all.

i can understand their decision if this is the ride. let me know if you see one being auctioned off. i'll probably do the same. :sweat:

http://img2.netcarshow.com/Alfa_Romeo-8c_Competizione_2007_1024x768_wallpaper_03.jpg

Meh Meh, are you saying that you own a Corvette and that you may auction it if you see another being auctioned?

dont understand , sorry

Meh Meh, are you saying that you own a Corvette and that you may auction it if you see another being auctioned?

dont understand , sorry

oops... seems like the link content changed.

http://www.wallpaperez.info/wallpaper/car/Alfa-Romeo-wallpaper-946.jpg

what i meant was sometimes the heart rules over the head. for example i may also choose to live beyond my means to own an alfa 8c competizione. if someone somehow got this lovely ride in sg and cannot live up to it and hence got the car repossessed, i would be glad to take it for cheaps (say price of a type r) :cheeky: