How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?  

648 members have voted

1. 1. How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?

haiz , i earn enuff to get a car , but no matter wat , still cant drive car . :cry:

• Replies 870

what is enuff??

I still not enuff leh, I want an SL280 or an old Porsche 911..

aiya..easy la.. OPC la..cheapp.. haa anyway my first car income $1200+ but tell u..damn jialet..no money spend one..

no choice la..who ask me like car so much..my interest u know..

i just got a Mazda2 and my current pay 2100 like that.. jus my advice la..

See where you interest lie on lor..if what u wan and like is car..then go for your interest lor.. hee

http://www.geocities.com/jacksonlovefelicia/2004002.jpg

Young men, please control yourselves! You won't want to live in heavy debt. It's a patch of quicksand that will swallow your finances and your freedom!

Anyway, Throttle, it's good to hear that you are enjoying the fruits of your labour! I don't think I will be getting my first car in Singapore (I will share one with my friends while studying in the States) until I am married. I probably will settle my HDB mortgage, start an emergency fund and save up enough for my first kid before I consider buying a car for anything other than absolute necessity. I am going to stick to my bike and go public when the weather doesn't allow me to ride. I hope I can convince my wife when I show her the numbers. (I better marry someone understanding and not materialistic!)

In a previous post I wrote $3000 personal income as the bottom line. That is actually a tad too low. I am probably looking at $5000.

good for you Rhema.

my monthly income can go between $2000 to $XXXXX depending on the market.

so i try to save what i can as well.

life is tough in singapore and the moment you slack, you're behind.....

wish i was back holidaying and smoking my cigars in Cuba.

Originally posted by Throttle@Nov 24 2004, 12:13 AM

eh.....I was driving the bMW 318i coupe before changing to this Volvo.....

u sound very boastfull.....u may b rich here on earth.but when u die,u have nothing.so pray hard to god tat he will spare u frm the scalding hot flames in hell.

you sound very sore.

and yes, i pray....thanks for the advice

Currently, I'm driving a Toyota Picnic for $870 a month. The price of the car is lesser than my annual income. I wouldn't spend much on a car at this moment.

For this month alone, I will have to spend around $4K on my car.

Insurance = $2,400

Road tax 6 mths = $700+

Instalment = $870

Petrol, parking, ERP = $400

Just for you guys to consider all this if you're buying one!

u sound very boastfull

Agree with you, Throttle! He sound very sore.

Originally posted by KISS@Jan 26 2005, 08:12 AM

For this month alone, I will have to spend around $4K on my car.

Insurance = $2,400

Road tax 6 mths = $700+

Instalment = $870

Petrol, parking, ERP = $400

Just for you guys to consider all this if you're buying one!

Agree with you, Throttle! He sound very sore.

oh gosh.......tat will be the same situation that i might b in for if i sign for the toyota wish 2 weeks ago.............thank god i wasnt impulsive........but for a 1.8litre mpv with good fuel consumption at possibly 74k or lesser........its very hard to repeat situation

i just calculate on 2400insurance+1300road tax every year and i faint then......now then realise i still forgot other expenses in the same month...

Originally posted by adzz400@Jan 19 2005, 08:00 PM

u sound very boastfull.....u may b rich here on earth.but when u die,u have nothing.so pray hard to god tat he will spare u frm the scalding hot flames in hell.

like this is boastful meh?

he just stated the cars he had/is having, that's all.

BMW and Volvo are nice expensive cars, yes, but definitely affordable if u work hard and smart like him.

this is wat is boastful: "BMW? Volvo? Give me a minute....i have to count how many i have...."

kekekeke :cheeky:

poot.

Toyota Wish insurance should be cheaper. The value of the car is lesser. If you have NCD, would be better.

I lost my NCD coz of accident with my previous Renault. Its my fault then.

Originally posted by KISS@Jan 26 2005, 12:16 PM

Toyota Wish insurance should be cheaper. The value of the car is lesser. If you have NCD, would be better.

I lost my NCD coz of accident with my previous Renault. Its my fault then.

bo leh........2454 is the minimum i heard from the dealer.......

from ntuc...i call them direct before going to dealer and they quote same and when i ask wat if its a parallel import car .........they say about 200 more.....then make it 2650 worst case scenario........

for a 28 year old, no ncd, no accident claims, 5 years since get license, 7 seater........

think its becos of 7 seater that y high...

havent check with aig yet for wish....for altis is 1700, for vios is 1500

its omv is only 21-26k.....add on taxes blah blah blah......maybe 50k+

its a real value for money car comparing to altis 66k, civic 73k

just pay a few thousand more than altis n u get japan made quality for a top seller model in japan as well.....n flexible seating n storage arrangement.....spacious plus as fuel efficient as altis above 12-14

Buy car? think twice.

Used to own a car but sold away.

1) My job dun require a car.

2) Travelling distance from SLE/CTE to my workplace increase by 25min if compare with my bike.

3) Have to pay addtional parking fee of $120 every month.(excluding HDB)

4) Petrol money increase at least 3 times.

5) ERP charges.

6) Nowadays JAM like hell cause so many ppls buy CAR.

7) Parking for car...PARK where oso need to pay.!!!

hehehe.. just my option dun flame me.

Save the money for other other good usage i.e traveling/shopping.

Now enjoying life without the heavy insurance.rd tax etc.

When i need a car, just go rent or car sharing.

Will have a car if i got babies maybe...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v217/viffer/2.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v217/viffer/1.jpg

I agree with you, Viffer. It is very expensive to own car in Singapore. I spend around $20,000 per year on my car. First thing, you got to ask yourself. Do I need the car? Or do I just want a car?

If owning a car will bring more income for you or will save money for you, then you should own one. But not if the car adds up to your expenses. I've known people in serious financial trouble becoz of cars. It's not worth it.

Singapore has an efficient public transport system.

I agree with you, Viffer. It is very expensive to own car in Singapore. I spend around $20,000 per year on my car. First thing, you got to ask yourself. Do I need the car? Or do I just want a car?

If owning a car will bring more income for you or will save money for you, then you should own one. But not if the car adds up to your expenses. I've known people in serious financial trouble becoz of cars. It's not worth it.

Singapore has an efficient public transport system.

Ya. Well. if they can jolly well afford it even if they don't need a car.

Please go buy one! just don't get into financial trouble. You never know wat will happen manz, i.e job wise etc...

Life is short, got to enjoy every sec wor but will planning tot.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v217/viffer/2.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v217/viffer/1.jpg
Originally posted by TachiTJRS@Nov 22 2004, 01:49 PM

Just for your infor guys. I owned 3 cars so far in Singapore. My last was a 1999 Honda Civic SiR EG9. I will give you a breakdown on how I 'suffered' to keep the baby I loved.

Monthly Salary: $2200

Car price (used): $55000 when 5 years old

Downpayment: $5000

Monthly installments plus interest at 2.8%: $900+

Number of years loan: 53months

Running Cost:

Fuel: I travelled an average of 3000km per month. My car tops $65 of 98 unleaded per tank and covers about 500km per tank which works out to

$390 -$400 per month +/-

General Maintainence of Oil, filter etc at every 10000km. = $200 divided by 3 months I would have to put aside: about $70

Road Tax: $948 for a year. If you divide it by 12 months = $79

Insurance: I paid $2000 a year for a 4 door Civic VTEC. I am 26 years old and not married. Divide it by 12 months =$167

ERP, Parking, coupons etc per month: $70

So, gentlemen every month I spent a total of $900+$400+$70+$79+$167+$70

=$1686

That leaves me with $514 to pay for my handphone, eating, occasional pleasure like movies, shopping and buying stuff for my girlfriend, ciggies etc.

As you can see, the car ownership already cost me more that 1/2 of my salary. I did part time work on weekends to get a couple hundred bucks but that meant working my ass off 7 days a week.

As a result, I had less time for myself, even less time for my girlfriend, not enough time to enjoy my car (track days etc), ate cheaply everytime, no money to buy tune up parts, was sh*t tired all week.

So I sold it and got a bike.

Now I pay $200 a month for installments, $250 for fuel, $140 for road tax, $350 for insurance, parking is most of the time free! So I spend only $500 per month plus maintenance because I do my own service at home.

The downside is I got no aircon, no radio, no roof, no place to put anything, can only carry 1 passenger but the upside is I am twice as fast, three times smaller and have four times more money to save and use.

And thats why I am on this forum.

Bro...

U haven't mention unforeseen circumstances and wear and tear... Brake Pads, Timing/fan alternator belts, Tyres, drive shafts, bearings, suspensions, bla bla bla bla bla.. A simple timing/fan/alternator belt change might cause up to $500bucks or even more for conti cars.

So yr $1600+ got to increase incase such changes needs to be done... :giddy:

Basically u need to put aside at least $2k for a decent 1.6L saloon car monthly. Cars like bikes need repairs for wear and tear too. when that happens where to get the $$ unless u got put aside monthly for them. A major wear and tear can amount up to thousands!!

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg
Originally posted by k.yutaka@Dec 13 2004, 11:33 PM

i'm getting a02 mazda 323 (waitinh for loan approval) but share wif my friend i earn onli 1300 now intend to get part time job and rent out the car to reduce my instalment :cry:

Good luck to u my fren.

it's sucide... :sweat:

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg
Originally posted by adzz400@Jan 19 2005, 08:00 PM

Rich is how hard he earn to deserve wat he gets. Nothing wrong with tat.

Realise that he is 28plus when he got his BMW?? Pple work hard and deserve to get wat they wan.

wanna be like him?? Work hard then.... :smile:

rich? i dont dare open my mouth. i still long long way to go, man.....

oh, i was 30 when i got that old BMW coupe.

yes, you are right i work hard and my brain cells die very quickly from all that thinking..heh heh...

this year, will try to earn more money, buy more cigars and save for retirement (if it ever comes).

Originally posted by STi@Feb 12 2005, 07:23 PM

Rich is how hard he earn to deserve wat he gets. Nothing wrong with tat.

Realise that he is 28plus when he got his BMW?? Pple work hard and deserve to get wat they wan.

wanna be like him?? Work hard then.... :smile:

working hard alone dosent mean u can strike it big

u can slog all ur life but yet achieve nothing

it takes a stroke of luck too or if ur lucky someone big to bring u in and groom u

unless u r a like my friend' family, basically they dun need to work cos their late grandad left them 12 coffeshops rented out for 10k to 20k per mth, so basically they do nothing at home n 100k to 200k jus roll in every month

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg
Originally posted by ah_tee@Feb 13 2005, 12:20 PM

working hard alone dosent mean u can strike it big

u can slog all ur life but yet achieve nothing

it takes a stroke of luck too or if ur lucky someone big to bring u in and groom u

unless u r a like my friend' family, basically they dun need to work cos their late grandad left them 12 coffeshops rented out for 10k to 20k per mth, so basically they do nothing at home n 100k to 200k jus roll in every month

Do u know y only a small fraction of people make it up there? or even just a 5 digit figure a mth?? Because most pple dare not to think big or out of the box and therefore so call resign to fate/luck bla bla bla.

But there are pple to dare to dream and work hard and smart towards their dreams and goals. even thou like u say no luck but they will still at least reach half or 3/4 of their goals. :smile:

:smile: COntinue running the RAT RACE then :smile:

absolutely true, hard work is not enough, you need to take the risk when it faces you.

even if my grand dad were to leave me 10 - 12 coffeeshops i would still revamp half of them (or sel them) and start up other businesses instead of just doing nothing and collecting rent.

one fine day coffeeshops will run out of business, then how?

the saying goes, if you want the cubs, you gotta to go into the cave.

Originally posted by Throttle@Feb 13 2005, 08:14 PM

absolutely true, hard work is not enough, you need to take the risk when it faces you.

even if my grand dad were to leave me 10 - 12 coffeeshops i would still revamp half of them (or sel them) and start up other businesses instead of just doing nothing and collecting rent.

one fine day coffeeshops will run out of business, then how?

the saying goes, if you want the cubs, you gotta to go into the cave.

I've seen and still witnessing young people buying car and eating maggies. My pay abt 2.5k even that ive drop the plan to own a car, evern atter married still need to consider.

life in singapore.. tough..

think abt AUst... 40K for BMW?