See if this sound still persists beyond 1000km lor. If it does, then i suggest writing in to Yamaha Motor to get solution? Cos i frankly dun think HL mechanics can solve the problem for u....

Sent from my LG-P875 using Tapatalk

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

• Replies 752

See if this sound still persists beyond 1000km lor. If it does, then i suggest writing in to Yamaha Motor to get solution? Cos i frankly dun think HL mechanics can solve the problem for u....

yeah, will see after 2nd service..if still annoyed, will write in to them ~

Sent from my GT-I9305 using Tapatalk

Keep calm and keep on riding ~

ride it like you stole it; after running in, and you'll forget about the tock sound and back splash. hahhaha

what's the back splash that you are referring to???

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

ride it like you stole it; after running in, and you'll forget about the tock sound and back splash. hahhaha

what's the back splash that you are referring to???

when the road is wet, ur backs gonna get real wet..ahah. believe its because of the short tail and big rear tires. the mud guard is like as if its not there..lol

i see, how about sourcing for something like a "Rear mudguard extender" ; it might help in reduce

or a deflector at the side of the rear cowling side.

kifakw

i see, how about sourcing for something like a "Rear mudguard extender" ; it might help in reduce

or a deflector at the side of the rear cowling side.

yeah, if after installing the box still not solve, will install those :)

I've got rear mudguard installed :). Those cheap one, bought from lab.

I bought it for my previous bike but eventually didn't use it.

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/11/4y4a7yda.jpg

your box will be very dirty instead! hahaha.

kifakw

I've got rear mudguard installed :). Those cheap one, bought from lab.

I bought it for my previous bike but eventually didn't use it.

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/11/4y4a7yda.jpg

Fm the photo your bike very dirty leh... esp the mid exhaust area.. time to give it a good wash.

http://thumbnails110.imagebam.com/29809/9a690b298083318.jpg

19xx - SUZUKI GTO110, HONDA MBX125, SUZUKI RG250, KAWASAKI EN400, KAWASAKI NINJA400, YAMAHA RD350 (YPVS)

2012-14 - R1

2014-16 - S1000R

2014-PRESENT - EXC525 (2005)

2016-PRESENT - TMAX530 (2016)

WISHLIST - XDIAVEL S

Wah .. he did your bike first? I send my request much earlier than you.

It looks good.

I chose a different design, I'll post it once done.

Wah .. he did your bike first? I send my request much earlier than you.

It looks good.

I chose a different design, I'll post it once done.

sorry bro, didnt know about that. Im sure hes very bz with lots of req that he might miss-out ur req initially.

btw, check this out, the sound is simply..sweeeet ~

Edited by Fariel

awesome sound! backfire comes as standard!

sounds very much like a inline 4 but much much bassier rather than screaming pitch kind.

kifakw

always loved 3 cylinders! and mt09 is sure damn sexy! for price 18.5k seems cheap too!

btw this bike suitable for touring?

Honda NSR150SP: 2012-2015

Honda RVF NC35: 2015

Triumph Daytona 675: 2015-present

SYM GTS 200: 2016-present

Conquered Places: Chiang Mai, MHS, Pai, Doi Inthanon, Bangkok, Hatyai, Danok, Genting, KL, Port Dickson, Seremban, Malacca, Kluang, Mersing, Desaru

Any bike can go touring. Is whether comfortable vs wind blasting....

I've been a lurker in this particular forum, and have been researching and reading abt the MT09 for quite some time.

There comes a point in time when you had enough of sportsbikes or touring super-long dist, and just hope for a bike that somewhat does it all, pretty well. Was thinking of the Street Triple when this Jap triple suddenly appear, and have been considering long and hard about it. Im on the fence due to the 2 significant issues that all the bike reviews have mentioned: The abrupt throttle resp and the willowy shocks and forks. Conventional wisdom says to wait for a some time till they come up with an improved solution / model. But the butt is itchy to get on with it by purchasing the Penske shock from Stoltec Moto.

Anyway just a rant boys. Keep the reviews coming and i might just get off the fence and join the triple wagon.

"INSERT WITTY COMMENT HERE"

A lot of people have mentionwd the same concern. It can be mitigated with money. But you won't get the same engine on speed triple.

And the engine is awesome :D

A lot of people have mentionwd the same concern. It can be mitigated with money. But you won't get the same engine on speed triple.

And the engine is awesome :D

the torque is just simply...awesomeee

I will be collecting mine maybe tomorrow or Monday. Understand 4 units in Race Blu colour just in, 2 units at HL Cycle, 1 at my bike shop and another no idea which bike shop got it. Bike shop gave me the option of taking the Race Blu or wait till Feb for the Deep Armour(purple) which I want and the likelihood of a price increase by Hong Leong. After a long thought I took the Race Blu color, there is also 3 people whom had booked queuing behind me.

welcome to the family bro!

hope there'll be a meet-up session for the MTs soon :)

I've been a lurker in this particular forum, and have been researching and reading abt the MT09 for quite some time.

There comes a point in time when you had enough of sportsbikes or touring super-long dist, and just hope for a bike that somewhat does it all, pretty well. Was thinking of the Street Triple when this Jap triple suddenly appear, and have been considering long and hard about it. Im on the fence due to the 2 significant issues that all the bike reviews have mentioned: The abrupt throttle resp and the willowy shocks and forks. Conventional wisdom says to wait for a some time till they come up with an improved solution / model. But the butt is itchy to get on with it by purchasing the Penske shock from Stoltec Moto.

Anyway just a rant boys. Keep the reviews coming and i might just get off the fence and join the triple wagon.

Likewise, I've been keeping an eye on things. Seems like the suspension is a problem, mainly for the European/American market segment cuz Yammie used a 160lbs (72kg thereabouts) rider. Looks like the stock spring rates may be too low for em. The Penske double clicker from Stoltec ain't that bad, costwise.

As for the abrupt throttle response, I guess, Bazzaz/PC/Fuel controllers will sort them out. Or if you don't mind not riding for a long time, can send the ECU to reflash in the states.

I believe the snatchiness is a result of tighter emissions control, so the manufacturers program the injectors to shut off when throttle is closed and only reopen when throttle is back on (at least for Suzuki). Been looking on R6/R1 forums overseas. Apparently there's a way to enter diagnostic mode from the speedo and set the fuel lean/rich for diff throttle positions. Maybe there's a way to work out the snatchiness off a closed throttle.

Keep tuned to them overseas forums.

Am looking to be an MT-09 rider come Feb ;)

http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac46/Tachnicolour/Completed%20works/combination_2.jpg

Convert your backlight COLOURs at : <CMO> Speedo Backlight colour CONVERSION by Tachnicolour

Thanks guys.

Anyway Muge~, you're right about the engine. The shocks can be sort out via the aftermarket route, but engine....... And yes I reckon the MT-09's torque will have a stronger effect on our necks than the Street Triple. No replacement for displacement they say. I say amen to that.

But a likelihood of a price increase by Hong Leong?!? Daymm.

"INSERT WITTY COMMENT HERE"

Got one display in Hong Leong showroom. Black with blue rims. Price at $18,250 with $1800 COE. Top up if COE abv $1.8k. Next shipment end Feb

@muge & Fariel can you guys please confirm.

The tool kit only come with a 12mm/14mm spanner, extender and shock preload adjuster and nothing else? How stingy can Yamaha get?

Anyway bikeshop swop the Penske shock on my MT-09 but still cannot collect, haven't register yet. Can collect only next Monday.