Originally posted by yao_24@Feb 7 2005, 07:29 PM

no la..my SV650S metre until 240..but i manage to try until 210km/h@9500rpm nia..

thats abit slow for a 650cc...

Its better to have lived and lost than to never live at all. Live it, the way you want it.

• Replies 5.2k

Originally posted by Yeoman@Feb 7 2005, 09:36 PM

Initially I was quite worried about my carbs problem when the mechanic told me about it. I was given the same reply saying that the market don't have any suitable carbs available for replacement. For that moment, I really thought of giving up the bike but nevertheless, I still tried my best to source for all the available tech sites relating to SV and finally found out that the so called carb problem is actually caused by a vacuum operated fuel pump which is used to supply fuel from fuel tank to the carbueretor. When the bike is left parked for a long period of time, it causes the diaphragm to harden and the fuel filter in both the fuel pump and carbueretor to get clogged. This explaines clearly why my bike cant stay in idling when I went to collect back my bike from the workshop after leaving it there for almost a month for major engine repair work. Most mechanics are aware of the complexity involved in doing a carbueretor wash down as well as cleaning the fuel pump and replacing the filters. In order to save all the troublesome work and make out the best profit, most mech would recommend you to change a pair of new carbs to solve the problem. After riding the bike for quite while, the "carbs problem" on my SV has vanished into thin air. What is left behind is just a nice V engine tone which never fail to draw the attention of bypassers. I hereby hope all my fellow SV riders a Happy CNY and a safe ride in the new lunar year of the rooster. GONG XI FA CAI... :cheer:

my vtwin sound is pretty quiet leh ...

Happy New Year too all fellow SV riders :cheer:

Postman Eating Inc*

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a208/murano04sfs/38y29ty14.gif

http://4gifs.com/gallery/d/155006-1/Mascot_scares_girl.gif

Squid defination: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=squid

Originally posted by Metalfyre@Feb 8 2005, 11:31 AM

my vtwin sound is pretty quiet leh ...

Happy New Year too all fellow SV riders :cheer:

I supposed that the previous owners of my bike did something to the exhaust... :sweat: Fortunately still can pass inspection... :cheeky:

Originally posted by Yeoman@Feb 8 2005, 11:37 AM

I supposed that the previous owners of my bike did something to the exhaust... :sweat: Fortunately still can pass inspection... :cheeky:

Think the previous owner drill some holes on the inner exhaust.....a save $$$ way to improve performance...:thumb:

http://www.bmw-motorrad.com/com/en/bike/enduro/r1200gsa/media/overview_my_2012/340x230_r1200gsa_5.jpg

Adventures complete your life......

Originally posted by Runner TYPE R@Feb 8 2005, 12:19 PM

Think the previous owner drill some holes on the inner exhaust.....a save $$$ way to improve performance...:thumb:

No wonder there is welding done on my bike's muffler... and the exhaust tune seems kind of loud and noticeable... majiam like it is hollow inside... Perhaps after CNY, I will send my bike in for some exhaust wrap work.... those dents on it make the bike looks ugly...

Originally posted by stardust@Feb 8 2005, 02:10 PM

sorry may I ask, what is the tire pressure for front and back again?

hmm.. wat shld i sae... for ur cornerin skills...

front 360 back 420..

hiak hiak...keke.. :cheeky:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

In PSI, 34/38 front/rear should suffice. But I always pump max, 36/42 for best mileage, then lower it to 32/36 when I wanna have some fun :D

Originally posted by ayuluv@Feb 8 2005, 02:15 PM

hmm.. wat shld i sae... for ur cornerin skills...

front 360 back 420..

hiak hiak...keke.. :cheeky:

360 psi? kph ? :giddy:

try putting 34 psi front 38 psi back

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Feb 8 2005, 02:35 PM

360 psi? kph ? :giddy:

try putting 34 psi front 38 psi back

oops....type sala.... haha.. she corner queen mah...

36 42 is juz enuff 4 her.... haha

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Hi Stardust,

The tire pressure for the front and rear tires are 33psi and 36psi respectively. Convert to kpa is 225Kpa front and 250Kpa rear. Hope this helps. :smile:

best is 33 front and 36 rear.adjust according to ur ride style and conditon(track,tour,street,wet?)

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by ayuluv@Feb 8 2005, 03:05 PM

oops....type sala.... haha.. she corner queen mah...

36 42 is juz enuff 4 her.... haha

pressure too high! for corner siao, pressure must b low!

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Feb 8 2005, 05:37 PM

pressure too high! for corner siao, pressure must b low!

eh.. too heavy mah...haha..

btw... 34 38 is the best.. w/o pillion...

The factory recommend 200kpa front and 225kpa(w/o pillion) or 250kpa(w/pillion).

If u r "corner siao", then depends;

Soft compound tire like Bridgestone 014 = 185kpa front, 210kpa rear(w/o pillion)

Semi compound tire like Bridgestone 020 = 210kpa front, 225kpa rear(w/o)

Harder compound tire like Dunlop 208 = 200kpa front, 220kpa rear (w/o)

Hope these help.

http://www.bmw-motorrad.com/com/en/bike/enduro/r1200gsa/media/overview_my_2012/340x230_r1200gsa_5.jpg

Originally posted by Runner TYPE R@Feb 8 2005, 11:00 PM

Soft compound tire like Bridgestone 014 = 185kpa front, 210kpa rear(w/o pillion)

Semi compound tire like Bridgestone 020 = 210kpa front, 225kpa rear(w/o)

Harder compound tire like Dunlop 208 = 200kpa front, 220kpa rear (w/o)

i believe BT020 has harder compound than dunlop208

correct me if im wrong :confused:

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Feb 10 2005, 05:43 AM

i believe BT020 has harder compound than dunlop208

correct me if im wrong :confused:

BT020 is consider semi compound, hard on the centre tread and soft on the both side....is a good tire designed for touring and occasional sport handling...

Originally posted by Runner TYPE R@Feb 10 2005, 10:21 AM

BT020 is consider semi compound, hard on the centre tread and soft on the both side....is a good tire designed for touring and occasional sport handling...

I thought it was lousy when I used it

poor heat distribution..

Postman Eating Inc*

BT014s :thumb:

Fast warmup, great feel, endless grip in the dry. Gotta watch the tyre pressures though, I pump it up to the max to prevent them from squaring off too fast.

Originally posted by Runner TYPE R@Feb 10 2005, 10:21 AM

hmm ok i din really check it out on e web

from my frens review, its sux big time

not sticky at all, drift when doing bends (after 20km of travelling)

some of my frens using it on super4, ultra durable tires, can last more than 2 years

hahaha for those who wan high mileage

Originally posted by nE0@Feb 10 2005, 02:54 PM

BT014s :thumb:

Fast warmup, great feel, endless grip in the dry. Gotta watch the tyre pressures though, I pump it up to the max to prevent them from squaring off too fast.

using those now :thumb:

yep pump to the max as well...

Postman Eating Inc*

BT020 indeed is a very good touring tire and long mileage lasting one, so dun expect too much on its sporting performance...

I m using BT014 also, but I look after the tire pressure very carefully. I need sticky tires then long mileage useability. BT014 is a soft compound tire designed purely for sport/race, over inflate may seems to save some tread but it may also shorten the "softness" of the tire compound and became harden prematurely.

Well, in short, there are really not much choices to choose from...nothing available for sport handling, long lasting/touring fit and all time sticky to road surface...

Originally posted by Runner TYPE R@Feb 10 2005, 03:48 PM

Well, in short, there are really not much choices to choose from...nothing available for sport handling, long lasting/touring fit and all time sticky to road surface...

z6 is the tires that u need.i have them on my bike now.they are the best tires so far

在绝望中坚强

i have tried bt020 and 014.if u want better milage stick to 020.but surprising 014 is also a set of very good quality tires

在绝望中坚强