Harley Riders gather

1. Jump start using another bike/car

2. Remove the battery

3. Bring it to any shop and ask them to give it a 30 min charge. It will either be free if not maybe cost you $10?

agreed.

I bought a batt charger for that purpose.

nonetheless, one better know how to push start.

you never know where you will be stranded at.

consider it a life skill, just like swimming and cycling etc...

Still not solved, following a fellow forumer this wednesday to Rosli's to get it checked. Still there.... sheng.. sheng.. sheng.. bloody annoying...

i think i know what you mean le... something which is everyday to me... the air sucking sound behind the air cleaner...

Hey bruddersssss... i've solved the mystery .. No more Sucking sound or Shhhhhhhh sound...:bounce:

what is the mystery?

Yeah. I'll like to know too. After a group of people have taken a look at my rotors, it was concluded that my front rotors are still in servicable condition. I think my new brake pads are just too new and thick, and just needs some running/braking in.

Anyways, would like to know how you solve your problem, Knightrider. Thanks.

Harley Davidson is not just a bike, it's a lifestyle......

not that difficult lah, I've done it on 300kg bike before.

Just push up a gradual slope with a fairly ok distance.

Depending on how much you pay me, I'll show you using an E-glide

the tougher part is finding that slope.

========================================

I've push started lighter bikes by running along and hopping on.

I'll pay you $10 to watch you push. Ha ha.... better than asking the tow company which will cost $30 onwards. Point to note, if you push the bike and hop on, there is a chance that bike may lean the other way and topple, especially for bigger and heavier bikes. Safer to get your neighbours to help out to push whilst you are sitting on the bike. You will have better control over it with both feet on the ground.

$10? at least you buy me a nice cuban cigar, i will consider.

Of course I know the risk of pushing and hopping on.

but on a smaller bike, it's quite possible. And of course if there are people whom you can ask for help, even better lah.

I only advocate one point here, as a biker, learn how to push start your bike.

if you do a running push-start, you don't need to hop on rightaway, just make sure you release the clutch to bump-start the engine and then pull it in real quick before the bike takes off away without you. it's just that a harley's a lot more cumbersome!

btw: too bad my bikes are EFI... don't bother trying this on an EFI bike - get a jump-start from a car or another battery.

Thats true. dont have to hop on.

each technique got it's own risk.

But why dont bother trying on EFI?

Works the same way, whether EFI or Carb.

Unless HD is that unique from other bikes?

then I dont know, I'm a HD noob

dunno whether if the EFI can work without the engine running.

The problem with even trying to push start an efi bike is getting enough voltage in the charging system to turn on the fuel pump. You won't get any fuel in the combustion chamber without adequate pressure to the fuel injectors IIRC.

From another forum while searching for this answer

$10? at least you buy me a nice cuban cigar, i will consider.

Of course I know the risk of pushing and hopping on.

but on a smaller bike, it's quite possible. And of course if there are people whom you can ask for help, even better lah.

I only advocate one point here, as a biker, learn how to push start your bike.

Ha ha..... so now everybody knows. Who want to push start bikes, look for throttle. But must get ready a big box of Havanna cigars. Ha ha.... Ya, agreed, aim is to know how to push start, you never know when you'll need to.... smaller bikes will be easier as earlier mentioned.

Nice meeting up with you guys last night too. Am now picturing the slop Hagar was mentioning....... 150km/h..... ;)

dunno whether if the EFI can work without the engine running.

From another forum while searching for this answer

Ah, i see where ting is coming from.....slip my mind since we're assuming two different situations here.

I'm assuming a common situation where the batt still has a bit of power left but simply not enough to ignite the engine. This has happened to me quite a few times. sometimes becos i left the bike untouched for long periods. sometimes beocs the battery has reached a point when it needs replacement.

In such a situation the battery is not fully 100% flat out.

Push starting EFI is no problem becos injection management does not require huge power to work. As long as you turn the key and the oil lights and indicators still light up, it's ok.

But in a situation where the battery in totally flat out which (to me) is much less common, EFI probably will not be able to push start since there is totally no power whatsoever left to even work the injection management system.

Has anyone here have the experience of a totally flat out battery before? plse share so we can all learn.

Cannot start take bus lor. Heee.

Nice yakking with u guys last night. Pity we didn't make it down to the shop. Something cropped up. Thanks for the comics lun. :)

you're welcomed, hope you enjoy the battle between shoryu and hado...

btw, do you happen to have a younger brother or a cousin who used to ride Aprilia but now in Aussie?

Ah no. My bro dun ride. My parents dunno I ride either. hur hur

How do you manage to be evasive?

i got my license and bike without me parents knowledge too but they found

out after my 1st brush on the tarmac.....within the 1st year....

- push a Harley up a slope ?

- have you ever pushed a Harley before ?

Yes.

Yes.

Note: gradual slope as mentioned, not steep slope.

Might want to sell the following as i paiseh to disturb neighbors with 6 mth old baby:-

Rarely used Harley Sportster Mufflers by Radii

Slash down design.

Will Fit 04-08 XLs

Perfect fit using factory brackets.

Removable Baffles.

Classic Harley sound.

Check this out .....only $220 nett (cash and carry)

If installation required add additional $80.

Please dont bother to bargain or give low ball prices

Kindly PM . Many thanks.

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/9772/radiizd4.jpg

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/radiizd4.jpg/1/w400.png