Hi everyone, i once take out my fuel tank and accidentally damaged a very small part of the paintwork :weep: ...i am afraid that rust will eat into the metal....do anyone has any suggestion to recover it??

--==anything more than a handful is waste==--

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/89/36/3386398/2918831032400l.jpg

• Replies 178

I also thinking of this problem..

Shetland:Throw this cigarette butt into your exhaust pipe how?

Marvy:dun worry lah...we all guai kia, no needa scared TP lah...so next outing muz exceed 30 bikes liao hor!!

Hi everyone, i once take out my fuel tank and accidentally damaged a very small part of the paintwork :weep: ...i am afraid that rust will eat into the metal....do anyone has any suggestion to recover it??

Cheapo way: Buy a tin of lacquer and apply a few layers yourself

Expensive way: Go for a re-spray :giddy:

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Guest Activ@ir

buy some paint that matches yr paintwork and DIY lor....

Guest revolio103
buy some paint that matches yr paintwork and DIY lor....

my tank recently kana stones while ride to work by those idiotic 10 wheeler, :cry: :cry: tried using paint to cover it leh but cannot too obvious liao, different colour :cry: :cry: . it just a 1mm dot.

any advice from the experts??? :cry: :cry:

Guest revolio103
yo,why not put sticker over it?cheap and simple.

tried loh but very ugly..... :cry:

the dot just after the HONDA :cry:

Guest revolio103

Nope I didn't. But a friend of mine DIY on his own bike. The whole bike.

:shades:

Serious ah.......Gee can ask help from him anot???

me scare dunno hoe to do later turn disastrous :sweat:

Serious ah.......Gee can ask help from him anot???

me scare dunno hoe to do later turn disastrous :sweat:

I dunno........ He's still quite busy with his bike........... He putting back all the electrical wiring......... Spark plug not firing.

BTW if it's just a small scratch, dun use paint. use compound rub.......... easier. DUn hav to actually redo the whole paint work.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

wat is a compound rub??

i have similar probs too!! i wonder if the paintwork shops do minor repair for chipped paintworks??

mine kena on tank too! still sourcing for info too...let me know if u find any solution, in the meantime, my DIY touch up spray painting should hold for awhile. :cry:

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

i have similar probs too!! i wonder if the paintwork shops do minor repair for chipped paintworks??

mine kena on tank too! still sourcing for info too...let me know if u find any solution, in the meantime, my DIY touch up spray painting should hold for awhile. :cry:

Did the spray pain affect ur bike paint? Cos from wat I know the normal spray cannot mix with auto paint. It'll spoil the whole paint job.....

Compound rub is a form of paint. U just need to rub over the scratches to cover it. It works by filling the lost paint. U can check out with hardware shops........

Take note I personally never try on dents....... Only scratches.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

Did the spray pain affect ur bike paint? Cos from wat I know the normal spray cannot mix with auto paint. It'll spoil the whole paint job.....

Compound rub is a form of paint. U just need to rub over the scratches to cover it. It works by filling the lost paint. U can check out with hardware shops........

Take note I personally never try on dents....... Only scratches.

Yea....But this is not scratches man.. :weep: , its chipped paint. piece of paint chipping off exposing the baRE metal underneath!

sighh...too late lor..i oredy spray painted it with that nippon sprat can. iz better than leavin the metal to rust while i await a more permanent solution.....definitely need professional help!

Guest revolio103

I dunno........ He's still quite busy with his bike........... He putting back all the electrical wiring......... Spark plug not firing.

BTW if it's just a small scratch, dun use paint. use compound rub.......... easier. DUn hav to actually redo the whole paint work.

Bro.......Can ask him c whether when he free :weep: me keep waxing it to prevent it from rust still got many many spot kana from stones......... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

plssssssssss........thanks you very much bro :pity:

Guest revolio103

Bro Cheh San.....shall we do it togather when this expert agreed to help us.....me feel so sad eah time i c that chip....... :cry:

Bro.......Can ask him c whether when he free :weep: me keep waxing it to prevent it from rust still got many many spot kana from stones......... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

plssssssssss........thanks you very much bro :pity:

I can try asking him but dunno how long u can wait. BTW if to spray the whole tank the process will take abt a week depending on the weather. I still waiting for him to settle my helmet. Got badly grazed the other time.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

I can try asking him but dunno how long u can wait. BTW if to spray the whole tank the process will take abt a week depending on the weather. I still waiting for him to settle my helmet. Got badly grazed the other time.

mine is not sprayin whole tank...just two 10 cents coin size chip ( now covered up in my ugly paint touch-up)

will that take whole week too?? coz i just wan touch up of the spots.,..not respray whole thing.

yr fren is a bike mech ah? do we go to his shop or home? sorry i very blur one.

Bro Cheh San.....shall we do it togather when this expert agreed to help us.....me feel so sad eah time i c that chip....... :cry:

sure!! but lez say this expert got no open slots for us? what u plan to do? bring to paintshop??

mine is not sprayin whole tank...just two 10 cents coin size chip ( now covered up in my ugly paint touch-up)

will that take whole week too?? coz i just wan touch up of the spots.,..not respray whole thing.

yr fren is a bike mech ah? do we go to his shop or home? sorry i very blur one.

2 ten cents coin chip is big........... If let's say for cars, u gotta spray the whole part for the colour to be even......... Or else u shouldn't even waste the time and effort to spray paint.......

My friend did it to his bike cos he customised it and he have yet to finish his bike probably take another one or 2 weeks. I asked him liao, he's putting the bike back into one piece. Don't have the time for other stuff and he does not wish to do any spray paint anytime soon cos he got enough on his hands.

He doesn't have a workshop. He borrowed the gf's place temporarily.........

Sorry.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

2 ten cents coin chip is big........... If let's say for cars, u gotta spray the whole part for the colour to be even......... Or else u shouldn't even waste the time and effort to spray paint.......

My friend did it to his bike cos he customised it and he have yet to finish his bike probably take another one or 2 weeks. I asked him liao, he's putting the bike back into one piece. Don't have the time for other stuff and he does not wish to do any spray paint anytime soon cos he got enough on his hands.

He doesn't have a workshop. He borrowed the gf's place temporarily.........

Sorry.

eeks!!! :giddy: Revolio!! hear that?? we are on our own now!! :sweat:

Guest revolio103

Yhanks Bro....... :bounce:

me not spraying the whole tank. just a dot onli :sweat:

pls update, thanks very much :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

happen to be browsing and i came across this for repairing paint chips, worth taking a look. however the name of the product is pathetic, LANGKA. :lol:

http://page.auctions.shopping.yahoo.com/sg...69?aucview=0x23

http://i9.ac.yahoo.com/users/0/7/4/2/houseofinnovations-img185x165-1003195982langka.gif.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.