[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Guest Azman79

Originally posted by rehdeer@Apr 9 2006, 10:51 AM

Not spraying the whole frame, that would cost a lot! Not ready to invest that much into the Monster yet, after all, I haven't started riding it, not sure I would like it and keep it.

I'm spraying half the tank red, the other half green and a white stripe in the middle -> Italian flag colour!

heh just kidding... I'm spraying it the same colour plus a black stripe. Hope it would turn out well. Anyone know where I can buy the windshield (the one shown in the picture is cracked and I've thrown it away)

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11667/normal_monster05.jpg

Hehe Italian flag only look nice as a flag, not on a Monster. Too bad you threw away your wind shield. If not you can give it to RSP. They can mend the crack, spray it and make it brand-new. You won't even know there was a crack before. I know where you can buy the wind shield. Minerva showroom hehe.

c26492.jpg

• Replies 14.5k

DANIEL!! you here?

Wanna ask you how much you got your frame powder coated for??

Considering either having it painted or powder coated... my frame has a few rust spots on it... Thinking of doing something to it sometime this year...

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

Originally posted by jonathan543@Apr 7 2006, 05:43 PM

he juz fork out $240 juz for the labour fees liao. 4.8hrs at the rate of $50/hr! :giddy: my heart skipped a beat when i saw the fees.... so did they really finish everything within 5hrs? duke uses it's own oem sprockets or those after market ones'll do? the did chain is not x ring chain rite? i got my rk x ring for $110 nia...

is it possible to go to them for ducati specific servicing like changing of timing belts & valve clearance, the rest take to other bikeshops to do koz they're pretty standard components as other bikes.

johnathan,

Just an update for you. I found out that the chain they replaced for me is the DID 520VM. I did a search on the internet and found out that it is a DID 520VM Gold X-Ring chain. $125 excluding workmanship for that chain.

Sols,

Why don't you do up the whole bike (paintjob wise)? Hehe. It sure brings the bike back to life. But then it might not be worth it for a 400cc. I personally love the black tank, red frame colour scheme. The colours contrast very well : )

c26492.jpg

i was thinking of black tank yellow frame... lol..

but my dad likes the yellow... so yeah... might keep it yellow and just do the frame in some colour...

From then to now...

Originally posted by Sols@Apr 9 2006, 02:33 PM

DANIEL!! you here?

Wanna ask you how much you got your frame powder coated for??

Considering either having it painted or powder coated... my frame has a few rust spots on it... Thinking of doing something to it sometime this year...

Sols,

Lump sum of $600 to powdercoat/anodise frame, engine covers, mufflers, etc... Don't know how much to do just the frame. Also, does not include labour to dismantle bike and remove paint. To powdercoat, you need to strip the frame down to bare metal (took a week or so for me to DIY).

You may want to consider having it painted. It easier as the paintshop will strip the paint for you.

Originally posted by yohji@Apr 9 2006, 06:31 PM

johnathan,

Just an update for you. I found out that the chain they replaced for me is the DID 520VM. I did a search on the internet and found out that it is a DID 520VM Gold X-Ring chain. $125 excluding workmanship for that chain.

Sols,

Why don't you do up the whole bike (paintjob wise)? Hehe. It sure brings the bike back to life. But then it might not be worth it for a 400cc. I personally love the black tank, red frame colour scheme. The colours contrast very well : )

cool bro... haha. haiz... one more yr plus to go! even by then dunno can afford one boh....

for colourtone, i still prefer the classic red wit gold frame.... wondering if possible to gold plate the frame & have the mirror like finish? chio! :lovestruck:

]

Originally posted by yohji@Apr 9 2006, 06:31 PM

johnathan,

Sols,

Dear Buddy,

This statement of urs is really sad.....

Sols,

I guess ppl are not taking the monster 400cc seriously.... most of the riders only take is as a form of transit bike......This bike can do wonders ..... just do some homework and you can get ur desired result from this bike...

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

lol... to each is own la... hahaha...

for my dad, 400cc is the biggest he's ever got... and he's liking it... so it most prob will stick with us for sometime...

From then to now...

Originally posted by motocafe@Apr 10 2006, 02:43 AM

Sols,

Lump sum of $600 to powdercoat/anodise frame, engine covers, mufflers, etc... Don't know how much to do just the frame. Also, does not include labour to dismantle bike and remove paint. To powdercoat, you need to strip the frame down to bare metal (took a week or so for me to DIY).

You may want to consider having it painted. It easier as the paintshop will strip the paint for you.

yeah... my shop is recommending that i have it painted with 2k paint instead...

i might need to get a left side engine cover... i think mine kanna battery water... gonna see if the simple green will be able to clean it up... might have them engine/clutch covers painted too.. lol...

but 600 is quite decent leh... where did you get it done?

my shop quoted me 800 for the frame alone, excluding labour for dropping the engine and stripping the paint...

From then to now...

Originally posted by antonioshabirto@Apr 10 2006, 10:06 AM

Dear Buddy,

This statement of urs is really sad.....

I guess ppl are not taking the monster 400cc seriously.... most of the riders only take is as a form of transit bike......This bike can do wonders ..... just do some homework and you can get ur desired result from this bike...

Oops! Don't take it the wrong way. I said that because pple here are all aiming for a class2 bikes as their ultimate bike, that is why I said it might not be worth it to invest so much in a 400cc. But if you decide to keep a 400cc Monster for good, then why not? Upgrade the engine! Gold plate the frames! Do something like Daniel! : ) No offence everybody : )

c26492.jpg

Originally posted by Sols@Apr 10 2006, 11:24 AM

but 600 is quite decent leh... where did you get it done?

my shop quoted me 800 for the frame alone, excluding labour for dropping the engine and stripping the paint...

Sols,

Done by M-Technik @ Paya Ubi Ind Park. Eh, I think $600 is a preferential rate for an old friend.

Originally posted by yohji@Apr 10 2006, 07:01 PM

Oops! Don't take it the wrong way. I said that because pple here are all aiming for a class2 bikes as their ultimate bike, that is why I said it might not be worth it to invest so much in a 400cc. But if you decide to keep a 400cc Monster for good, then why not? Upgrade the engine! Gold plate the frames! Do something like Daniel! : ) No offence everybody : )

400cc v-twins are good~!

both monster and sv fuel consumptions for 400cc are way better than any of our bigger brothers.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11337/tri_daytona675.jpg

counting down again to the final class of license..

riding.. freedom.. it comes together..

Originally posted by Il_Mostro@Apr 14 2006, 02:54 PM

Turn up the sound volume and visit this site http://sites.rapidus.net/sebmorin/

Monster exhaust sound clips ! :thumb:

NICE!! Maybe I can install some speakers on my bike, and play back these clips... :confused:

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

bro

i juz changed these wonder its pricey or not

1. chain RK gold 520 RX-ring wif full sprocket sets $170, i tink its cheap.

2. brembo front brakes $105, ex abit :p

3. clutch pump & o-ring seal $275 fuyo

4. rewiring & etc $40.

next would be clutch plate yong said abt $250, throttle cable & horn switch duno how much?

tires i was aimin for pirelli diablo sounds evil! hehehe! but i heard michelin is grippier but low mileage dun wat model da mech told me.....haha!

so sad had to for go my rawang trip cuz hv to cum back to werk....

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

my mech told me now got alot of imported Pilot Powers...

might be ablt to get $330 for 120 160

i'm getting for my mito... 110 150 around 330 also...

From then to now...

Originally posted by Sols@Apr 14 2006, 01:50 PM

hweeli> http://www.singaporebikes.com/classifieds/...hp?siteid=25985 but its red... lol...

it needs a spray anyway...

Thanks Sols, I sms him but no reply! :mad: Maybe sold already :cheeky:

Anyway I got my Monster back today, here it is... picture taken using HP, so quality is lousy. Wait till I free then I take nicer pix.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11667/normal_monster.jpg

http://home2.pacific.net.sg/~hwee_li/avatar/vespa.gif

tachometer is fixed by dunno which previous owner, but it's not working :weep:

yeah it's S2R design, but i thought the black strip is a bit thin. i sprayed my carbon fibre windshield holder the same design, it's very nice! wait till i find the windshield and have it fixed up, it's going to be one cool looking bike :D

For "spirited" riding, get Pilot Powers. Said to be better than Diablo Corsas both grip and mileage wise :thumb:

I'm using Diablo Corsas now, very confidence inspiring.

More pictures:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11667/normal_monster08.jpg

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11667/normal_monster10.jpg

Thanks Vince for giving me those Ducati stickers, really brighten up the Monster!

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11667/normal_monster13.jpg

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11667/normal_monster14.jpg

Windshield not fixed up yet, but that will be how the Monster looks like when fixed :smile:

oh... you only needed the transparent part ah...

you can go try ah boy... he MIGHT have it... if he don have, you can ask him to help you order...

shouldn't be very expensive...

or you could go to those acrylic shops an ask them to make for you...

From then to now...