[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Neo, Eh.... no no , I hasn't ride one before. Just love Dukes.

Riding a WR 200 now, planning to upgrade to a monster, perharps a class 2 one.

Got to bear with me, I'm new here....

video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-594683847743189197

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y192/brendanchin/Yee.jpg

• Replies 14.5k

Harlow Mars! Welcome to the board!

I loved Ducatis too, even before I bought my first bike. I almost bought a Planet because it looked like a Monster!

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 23 2005, 01:56 AM

Just a little survey, what sprocket combos are you M400 guys using?

I'm refering to 5 speed monsters. I'm using 14/39, so 5th gear is much closer to the 6th gear of most bikes out there instead of straining at just 110km/h.

Hi Neo

a lower rear sprocket would improve the top end and vice versa?front is increase then improve top right?

A larger rear sprocket or smaller front sprocket will raise overall gearing, meaning better acceleration all round. This will also mean top speed is lower, and you need to change gears sooner.

hello there y the last time i write is not posted, anyway i would like to ask u guys about ducati monster 400. how is the bike performance? is it a problem bike? is there a newer version using fuel injection, i heard that it is using carburetor. maintenance all how ah? if any body wants to sell pls keep the thought till june...hehe. i hope i can pass my 2a by june.

On a brink of sanity! :angry:

when are you gonna take your 2A? i'm gonna take mine in may at BBDC... haha...

anyway...

its not a problematic bike lah... if it is, i have 2 problematic bikes... hahaha... i look at the posts, and see way way way more SP/KRR/Super4 having problems than my beloved mito and monster... haha...

the newer versions do not come in EFI or Carb... new technology... it uses hydrogen fuel cell... haha.. kidding... there is no more new one... the smallest monster in production now is the M600...

maintenance is 3litres of engine oil and 2 spark plugs... (3 x $20 + 2 x $5/$12) depending on what type of plugs you use...

timing belt needs adjustment every 10k or so... (donno how much)

timing belt needs replacement every 20k or so... ($65 i think)

but hor... since Dec 1 nothing has been done to the belts... and the bike is running as smooth as when we first got it...

"Common problem with all Monsters is that they are all simply begging for some Termis! " - neo hahaha...

good bike for Singapore roads... sound is superb, looks superb, feels superb... haha...

not to mention its a DUCATI... haha...

good luck in taking your 2A...

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

4-5k can get good monster if your luck is good... mine was 4.5k, FR plate...

termis is termis lor... wahahahahaha... now my turn... haha...

termis is the aftermarket pipes... that are illegal... but apparently, almost every ducati has one... well.. mostly the supersports...

sounds excellent... hahaha...

From then to now...

oh... hey... i fitted the intake headers back, but i have a problem with the collars... you know the part that the intake headers meet the engine exhaust port?

there's the big black coloured thing right, then inside got 2 collars...

i remember when i took em out, the collars were fitted into the black colour thing, so i put it back that way, but when i saw the monster parts catalouge, their is like the other way around... the collars go into the exhaust port, and the shoulder sits on the black coloured thing...

i think the catalouge is right know... that means the collars are pushing the headers into the exhaust gasket thats in the exhaust port... if i put it in the way i took em out, the thing just prevents the headers from falling out, so i think there will be leakage where the headers meet the port...

NEO!!! which way correct?

1. Collars in the black thing (Prevents headers from fallig out)

2. Collars sandwiched by ehaust gasket and the black thing (Pushes headers into exhaust gasket and prevents them from falling out)

i think excel did it wrong leh... haha... and hor... the thing was so bloody rusted that i can't take out the sleeve that seperates the header of the rear cylinder from the rest of the thing leh...

From then to now...

who knows... we might take 2A together... haha...

From then to now...

nE0, when u comin back ah?

My baby got no fren to go kopi with...sianz.

:cry: when u come back...then i install the termi..hee

then same same liao...just hope dun kanna tp...

I have no idea what you are talking about. Missing gasket? Washer position? Or spacer placement?

Either way, as long as the exhaust doesn't leak it should be fine.

Anyway, I'll be back on Friday night, maybe early saturday morning. The Ducatis here are great! I've seen so far, several Supersport 900SS, 748, 996, monsters etc. Also saw some Buells, never seen em on the roads before! :thumb:

Anyone here had any prob with TP n ROV personel with their aftermarket pipes? i am kind of worry so one of my remus have custom made silencer in them......the other 1 flew off =.="

Originally posted by lea@Mar 28 2005, 12:04 AM

nE0, when u comin back ah?

My baby got no fren to go kopi with...sianz.

:cry: when u come back...then i install the termi..hee

then same same liao...just hope dun kanna tp...

can kopi with me mah... hehe... :cheeky:

From then to now...

Originally posted by nE0@Mar 28 2005, 02:50 PM

I have no idea what you are talking about. Missing gasket? Washer position? Or spacer placement?

Either way, as long as the exhaust doesn't leak it should be fine.

ok... nevermind lah... i think the catalouge should be correct...

if i install it the catalouge way, the intake headers are firmly fitted... if i install it the way i took it out, the headers can shake...

From then to now...

Originally posted by Mars@Mar 28 2005, 03:30 PM

Anyone here had any prob with TP n ROV personel with their aftermarket pipes? i am kind of worry so one of my remus have custom made silencer in them......the other 1 flew off =.="

actually hor, lets say if i get a pair of termis, and i go to VICOM to do my inspection and IF i pass, if TP stop me can i say that i passed inspection with them on?

anyone know why termis are illegal? not VERY loud mah... just loud... i think if my mito open valve that time is louder leh... when i went for inspection, the guy only open throttle to about 4-5k rpm only... so should be able to pass what...

someone try leh... bring your slip ons to VICOM... then do inspection... then make friends with the guy and ask if can try with the termis, see if will pass the sound and emmission test or not... :cheeky:

From then to now...

I am not sure abt that. But last time b4 they allow some of the after market pipes, any modifications of even tampered pipes r not allow regardless of the emission or sound. But now they give cert to those approved pipes......so i am thinking those not approved de got get into any trouble with uncle sam or not...hope not

ducs rarely gets stopped anyway mah...

TP stop you liao, say its standard lor... not alot of them will know one... haha... as long as its not TOO loud...

my mito expansion chamber (stomach) also not stock one... its off the older Mark 1 and Mark 2 mito... so its louder.. and got a ping ping ping sound to it... TP stop me they see liao also donno... went for inspection the guy stared at the pipe, looked suspicious but never say anything... still let me pass...

From then to now...