[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Guest nE0

After I changed my clutch plates, my gearshifts became much quieter and lighter. Clutch plate set for Monster M400 (MY1998) costs $180.

• Replies 14.5k

Guest nE0

Btw, anyone here riding a Duc with the 1000DS engine? I'd like to know more about this engine. :D

Omg i am amazed by the sheer size of the varadero 125(i think its a 125). Saw 1 at night n parked infront of it. Tot of walking over n observe this " KTM adventure 900) n it turn out to be a Vara. Judging from the engine size n brakes, i really think its a 125. With it size, it really make my bike look like a 125...or even 80cc....:mad: :cry:

Originally posted by nE0@May 2 2005, 06:12 PM

After I changed my clutch plates, my gearshifts became much quieter and lighter. Clutch plate set for Monster M400 (MY1998) costs $180.

wah.. so cheap arh? kron changed his Mito clutch plates for $190 leh... :giddy:

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

Guest nE0

Well, whatever it is, the gears shift very nicely now. I changed the springs too, so clutch bite and feel is better.

Anyways, my bike just covered about 1000km over the Mayday holiday weekend, with a pillion. 2/3 trunk roads 1/3 highway, no problems at all, except the darned potholes and bullshit. Its so versetile, I think I might wanna get a bigger monster next time. :D

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10129/normal_DSCN6074~0.JPG

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10129/normal_DSCN6296~0.JPG

Goto my gallery for more :thumb:

Hi!

I'm looking for 2nd hand Monster 400, preferably yellow. buying somewhere around this mth or june ... anyone selling , pls pm me and quote price. thanks

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y177/indralove/Track/Edited123.jpg

May the Gravity be with you

Retirement of the Wheelie Jedi

Originally posted by nE0@May 3 2005, 12:25 AM

Well, whatever it is, the gears shift very nicely now. I changed the springs too, so clutch bite and feel is better.

Anyways, my bike just covered about 1000km over the Mayday holiday weekend, with a pillion. 2/3 trunk roads 1/3 highway, no problems at all, except the darned potholes and bullshit. Its so versetile, I think I might wanna get a bigger monster next time. :D

hello bros... can u guys help me...

been kinda interested to get a monster as ma 2a is coming soon, love the bike, the looks, the SOUND. haha

but then hor, heard that the bike maintiance very heavy arr?? cuz still studying, scare wait cannot afford half way. i heard got to cange timing belt la, retune engine, clear valves...

another thingy is cuz wen i get ma 2a, i sure wan go malaysia, is ducati able to handle? i meant as in long distance hows the handling like and power? sadded lei cuz i heard monster400's got no power??

cuz saw u been to places le bro

thanks seniors

Patience is vital

speed is nothing, LIFE is soMeThiNg!

Originally posted by nE0@May 3 2005, 12:25 AM

onz ah.. i oso wanna try a big monsty later stage.. the m1000s hopefully....

hee.. mine not powerful enuff thou... :cheeky:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

yours not powerful enough?!?! kns...

mine then not enough power lah... haha...

From then to now...

Guest nE0
Originally posted by vesparoy@May 4 2005, 09:09 PM

hello bros... can u guys help me...

been kinda interested to get a monster as ma 2a is coming soon, love the bike, the looks, the SOUND. haha

but then hor, heard that the bike maintiance very heavy arr?? cuz still studying, scare wait cannot afford half way. i heard got to cange timing belt la, retune engine, clear valves...

another thingy is cuz wen i get ma 2a, i sure wan go malaysia, is ducati able to handle? i meant as in long distance hows the handling like and power? sadded lei cuz i heard monster400's got no power??

cuz saw u been to places le bro

thanks seniors

My Monster has definately been places. And as long as you don't push it too hard on the highways, stick to 110-120 all the way, the Monster will bring you anywhere. Once the twisties start, it will keep up with the fastest of them with no problems.

The power is not as good as other 2A 400cc liquid cooled Inline4s out there, but its certainly sufficient for local roads. When pushed hard in the twisties though, its a very good ride, and can go surprisingly fast round twisties with relative ease due to its confidence inspiring handling.

Originally posted by nE0@May 5 2005, 01:19 AM

My Monster has definately been places. And as long as you don't push it too hard on the highways, stick to 110-120 all the way, the Monster will bring you anywhere. Once the twisties start, it will keep up with the fastest of them with no problems.

The power is not as good as other 2A 400cc liquid cooled Inline4s out there, but its certainly sufficient for local roads. When pushed hard in the twisties though, its a very good ride, and can go surprisingly fast round twisties with relative ease due to its confidence inspiring handling.

lol okie thanks bro.

arr... 110-120?? thats the max, or is that a recommendation bro? lol :thumb:

so the other time wen u went malaysia, express way time very hard to keep up??

i would love to get a black monster, then change the rims to red... do u know how much does the rims cost?

bro, so far, your monster any major problems? are the maintaince really that expensive as like wad everyone claims?

thanks bros:sweat:

Patience is vital

speed is nothing, LIFE is soMeThiNg!

Guest simone
Originally posted by Mars@May 2 2005, 08:59 PM

Omg i am amazed by the sheer size of the varadero 125(i think its a 125). Saw 1 at night n parked infront of it. Tot of walking over n observe this " KTM adventure 900) n it turn out to be a Vara. Judging from the engine size n brakes, i really think its a 125. With it size, it really make my bike look like a 125...or even 80cc....:mad: :cry:

we'll be going down again on the 7th to ktm and yes we look the look and sound of the monsters :D

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....c=39201&st=4500

wa.. saw a ang moh lady just now on a yellow monster riding in the heavy rain wearing a sleeveless top n no raincoat.. winner.. :giddy:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/1c026f0e.jpg

- vivi

Originally posted by vesparoy@May 5 2005, 09:28 AM

lol okie thanks bro.

i would love to get a black monster, then change the rims to red... do u know how much does the rims cost?

bro, so far, your monster any major problems? are the maintaince really that expensive as like wad everyone claims?

110-120 is cruising speed... max is maybe 160? 180? 200? maybe higher?

From then to now...

Originally posted by Sols@May 5 2005, 06:35 PM

eh.. ard 180km/h is beri gd le... air cool leh.. dun expect too much...

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Guest nE0
Originally posted by vesparoy@May 5 2005, 09:28 AM

lol okie thanks bro.

I think you're getting the wrong idea.

110-120 is the comfortable cruising speed. Any higher, the windblast will make you feel very stressed and tired. This speed depends on individual, but for me, 120 is the most I can take for long trips.

I don't know how much the rims costs, but I know it costs about $80 to respray your rims bright red. And EVERYONE claims Ducati's maintainence is very expensive, without providing a breakdown. :sian: Go back and see how many times I've posted my maintenance cost breakdown.

Originally posted by Sols@May 5 2005, 06:35 PM

165 is the speed on my 400, it just wont go anymore. Even a 2 teeth lesser rear sprocket cant bring it higher. But mine was stock except the air filter. Btw, i tried twice dragging 1st gear to a max of 90km/h( dropping 2 teeth at rear). But i didnt do this to every gear to try to obtain top speed......could it be abit higher? shrug

Ya ... me too, 160 km/h, then I got scared and eased off the throttle. took the bike to mersing and back in a day, averaged from 90 to 140 or so, bout 9 hours riding time, no problems.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Curious to know whether the monster here enjoy fully( group III or IV), semi or mineral engine oils? N Ron 92, 95, 98 or V-power.

My preference: Fully synthetic n Ron 95. 92 didnt ping for me but its kinda feel wierd or not as good. :?

Guest nE0
Originally posted by Mars@May 5 2005, 09:41 PM

165 is the speed on my 400, it just wont go anymore. Even a 2 teeth lesser rear sprocket cant bring it higher. But mine was stock except the air filter. Btw, i tried twice dragging 1st gear to a max of 90km/h( dropping 2 teeth at rear). But i didnt do this to every gear to try to obtain top speed......could it be abit higher? shrug

90 on 1st gear!! :giddy:

I'm using 14/38, so 1st gear is pretty darn tall. But at most I drag until 50 only, I hear the engine scream I heart pain liao, shift to 2nd.

Btw, my bike did 170 on NSH before, touched 180 on certain downhill stretches. But it was on 14/43 sprockets. Now on 14/38, it doesn't like to go past 140 even though there are plenty of revs left. Too tall gearing I guess, but 110 is very comfy for the engine and rider :thumb:

Originally posted by ayuluv@May 5 2005, 07:34 PM

eh.. ard 180km/h is beri gd le... air cool leh.. dun expect too much...

i think my little bike can go faster than that leh... lol...

but monster never try before lah... comfortable cruising speed usually hold at 110-120...

little bike same comfy cruising range... but if pull to 140-150, the bike is very smooth... and its only at like 9-10k rpm... redline is close to 12... lol... but these kinda speeds, i think i feel more stressed out than the bike... hahaha...

From then to now...

Guest nE0
Originally posted by Sols@May 6 2005, 12:32 AM

i think my little bike can go faster than that leh... lol...

but monster never try before lah... comfortable cruising speed usually hold at 110-120...

little bike same comfy cruising range... but if pull to 140-150, the bike is very smooth... and its only at like 9-10k rpm... redline is close to 12... lol... but these kinda speeds, i think i feel more stressed out than the bike... hahaha...

I've never tried a Mito, but...

1) 120 indicated on my M400 = 130 on most class2A bikes, 150 on a Kips.

2) A mito can go to "200" on the meter. It has a smaller frontal area, has an aerodynamic fairing, and the rider can tuck in tight for an even small frontal area. Aerodynamics play a big part in top speed.

The Mito, a 125cc liquid cooled single cylinder engine, unrestricted, properly tuned, outputs about 30+hp. If you max it out, you can reach close to 300km/h, like 125cc class motoGP bikes.

The Monster on the other hand, has aerodynamics of a brick. "Tucking" in, or rather on the bike does little to help due to the tall seat, tall tank and wide handlebars. The engine is a 400cc air cooled V-twin, outputing less power than a 250cc Hornet (about 40hp). All in all contributing to a pathetic top speed. :D

Originally posted by nE0@May 6 2005, 12:39 AM

I've never tried a Mito, but...

1) 120 indicated on my M400 = 130 on most class2A bikes, 150 on a Kips.

2) A mito can go to "200" on the meter. It has a smaller frontal area, has an aerodynamic fairing, and the rider can tuck in tight for an even small frontal area. Aerodynamics play a big part in top speed.

The Mito, a 125cc liquid cooled single cylinder engine, unrestricted, properly tuned, outputs about 30+hp. If you max it out, you can reach close to 300km/h, like 125cc class motoGP bikes.

The Monster on the other hand, has aerodynamics of a brick. "Tucking" in, or rather on the bike does little to help due to the tall seat, tall tank and wide handlebars. The engine is a 400cc air cooled V-twin, outputing less power than a 250cc Hornet (about 40hp). All in all contributing to a pathetic top speed. :D

lol... my mito clocks same speed as the monster... so i guess should be right.. haha...

i really wonder how the heck do those stupid tiny motorgp 125cc get up to 300km/h man... hahaha... hmm... maybe i try dropping my sprockets to 14x38 and try my top then come back and report... hahaha...

From then to now...

Guest nE0

Well, i've heard of Mitos going 220 before. :thumb:

i know one stupid mito that cruises on 3rd gear at 160.... :giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

From then to now...