• Replies 24

Originally posted by SzETo_023@Dec 12 2004, 04:29 PM

Hi guys... do u all knw hw to make the rime crome??? mine is black in colour... previous owner spray 1...

use AutosolY polish lor.. :goodluck:

Originally posted by SzETo_023@Dec 12 2004, 03:29 PM

Hi guys... do u all knw hw to make the rime crome??? mine is black in colour... previous owner spray 1...

Items require:

1) A bottle of paint remover

2) 2 normal paint brushes( 1 for applying remover and the other to remove paint that has been dissolve by the remover.)

3) 1 piece of nice steel wool ( those use for dish washing and remember to buy those very fine type, as u don't 1 any scratches on ur rims)

4)1 tube of autosol ( to polish up the rims for the shine)

5)Paint touch up pen (optional )

All above should be less than $15.

Steps involve:

1) Remove ur rims and tires if possible (easier to do :thumb:) as the remover is very corrosive to rubber and ur skins

2) Use the masking tape to seal up any area that ur don't 1 to remove paint.( Make sure all the edge of the tape is tighty paste down.)

3) Apply the remover with a brush on require area ( be careful on the edge of the masking tape as the remover may sip in which u may end up having uneven line but all this can be repair by touch up paint pen)

Wait for couples of mins, when u see that the paint are all bubble up, use the other brush to remove those bubble area. ( MY ADVICE TO U IS DIVIDE THE RIM INTO A FEW SECTION TO APPLY THE REMOVER, COMPLETE 1 SECTION OF THE PAINT REMOVER FOLLOW BY THE OTHER)

4) After u remove the paint on the entire rim, use the steel wool to scrub all the expose area to remove those bits and piece of paint but don't press too hard, if not :sian:.

5) Wash up the rim with detergent solution and dry it (in the mean time remove all the masking tape)

6) It's polish time with the autosol (POLISH no need to teach la) :sweat:

7) Paint Touch up (optional)

Puke :sweat: finish typing :cheer:

Above DIY may take a few hours or half day :goodluck:

http://www.racing905.com/905_Stoppie_Banner.gif

SUZUKI OWN THE RACETRACK

The fastest four letter in the planet is GSXR

heard of the 'chrome water' for LAB?? not recommended but hey, its cheap. another alternative is to find those shops tat specialised in chroming, steel plating etc etc, doesn't comes cheap though.

Guest AndrewChang

Stare at it really hard for 1 day....:mad:

• 3 years later...

i knoe this is a very long thread alreayd.. :cheeky: but i really feel like making my 125z rims to chrome... currently its white, dropping some paint and actualy inside i believe is red cos i can see it.. do i have to remove the tyres and apply the paint remover ? or just remove the whole wheel and do it with rim + tyres on?

and chrome really hard to maintain ?

Yamaha 125z July 2008 - June 2012

Honda Wave 125r Sept 2012 - Nov 2015

Yamaha RXZ 135 Nov 2015 - present :thumb:

you dont have to remove the tyres or rim to do it.

but it'll be a whole lot easier if you could.

chrome parts take alot of patience and pride.

if you're the type of person who loves cleaning and wiping your bike

then its for you.

because it'll take a few weeks and the chrome areas get dull.

thats when you have to do the process again (touch up).

but if you get it professionally done,

chances are the shine will last longer as long as you take care of it.

eg. autosol polish or any metal polisher.

hope this helps.

ROCKSTAR OF THE DAY

http://i398.photobucket.com/albums/pp68/lekiah/104_0511.jpg

http://www.danasoft.com/sig/shilohsays.jpg

Guest stages

u wanna make chromed yr rim bro??? contact me...!! Me too.!! maybe we can make it together :)

i'm wondering candy toned spokes rim can it be chromed??
If the spokes are anodized you will have a very hard time removin the colour using paint remover..:cheeky:

Guest stages

u pass yr 2B on 10th attempt ??? u serious?

i'm wondering candy toned spokes rim can it be chromed??

to make it easier for u

simply change the spokes to chrome spokes

spokes for a single rim cost smth like RM$30+

not too sure for SG though

sg seng kwang do chroming.... how much not sure but for s4 rims is 240 dollars both front n back.

http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/8771/offroadtm7.jpg

My Motard make wonders:thumb:

to make it easier for u

simply change the spokes to chrome spokes

spokes for a single rim cost smth like RM$30+

not too sure for SG though

the spoke cost RM30+

but tuning it cost lots more.

FYI guys. if u guys want ur chrome like 'si bei' shinny.

go to HARLEY.D. shop located at queenstown. buy e polish for $25. its a damn small bottle. but it make ur chrome parts. like need to wear sun-glasses to c ur bike. and it long lasting. if got dirt. juz wash away wit water. the chrome still shine as hell.

i'll be your competition..

go to HARLEY.D. shop located at queenstown. buy e polish for $25. its a damn small bottle. but it make ur chrome parts. like need to wear sun-glasses to c ur bike. and it long lasting. if got dirt. juz wash away wit water. the chrome still shine as hell.

hell very shiny meh? :slapforehead:

jkjk

http://i260.photobucket.com/albums/ii21/dazewei/1-2-1.jpg

Got pic? NPNT..:cheeky:

hell very shiny meh? :slapforehead:

jkjk

I was thinkin the same..:cheeky:

LOL!! u got nothing else better to say uh bro ? LOL!! :slapforehead:

Haha . . no la just teasing u . . hmm i also wanna make but i super lazy . . :D

http://i260.photobucket.com/albums/ii21/dazewei/1-2-1.jpg
heard of the 'chrome water' for LAB?? not recommended but hey, its cheap. another alternative is to find those shops tat specialised in chroming, steel plating etc etc, doesn't comes cheap though.

chrome water how does it work? i i remove the pain with thinner after that i polish with brasso " i felt brasso better "

Class2B>TP on 22 May -Passed

Class 3>TP on 11 March -Passed

Class 2A>? start by 2009 may 22

Class 4>? start by 2009

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=92543&d=1235736836

I enjoy DIY:cheeky: always can reached 98475561/kwanheng"Jason"

chrome water how does it work? i i remove the pain with thinner after that i polish with brasso " i felt brasso better "

U'll take ages to keep the paint off ur rim.

usea tin of paint remover, brush, cloth.

apply the paint remover sparingly to the place u want it to chrome and wipe it off with a dam cloth.

after all done and clean, polish with autosol. so far it does the best job compared to other brands includes brasso.

did for my friend lsat week and discovered his rim has dent and putty was discovered.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

U'll take ages to keep the paint off ur rim.

usea tin of paint remover, brush, cloth.

apply the paint remover sparingly to the place u want it to chrome and wipe it off with a dam cloth.

after all done and clean, polish with autosol. so far it does the best job compared to other brands includes brasso.

did for my friend lsat week and discovered his rim has dent and putty was discovered.

i rub untill my eyes almost drop out:weep: :weep:

Class2B>TP on 22 May -Passed

Class 3>TP on 11 March -Passed

Class 2A>? start by 2009 may 22

Class 4>? start by 2009

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=92543&d=1235736836

I enjoy DIY:cheeky: always can reached 98475561/kwanheng"Jason"