Originally posted by styrx@April 10, 2007 03:13 pm

Thanks guys for all the advice, am sure that when I back the tyres will most likely be flat already, my place to the petrol kiosk is at least 5km away man any suggestion on the tyres part? Or should I just ask my bike shop whether can they look after for me while i am gone?

u can buy those foot pumps. it can oso pump up ur tyre air pressure. ask bike shop to look after for u? i dun think its wise to do so... cos u may not know wat they will do to ur bike...

• Replies 128

Guest quizesilver
Originally posted by skateboy@May 05, 2007 11:04 am

u can buy those foot pumps. it can oso pump up ur tyre air pressure. ask bike shop to look after for u? i dun think its wise to do so... cos u may not know wat they will do to ur bike...

u got to trust your fav bike shop...

else who is going to make it good when it is down/spolit??

btw to styrx, hopefully...

yup get a foot pump.

the pump shld get u round enuff to ride to pump it up.

but sometimes oso cannot trust them too much... lets say ur fav bike shop is one of those at alexander village?? i dun think u would entrust ur bike to them lor...

Originally posted by skateboy@May 05, 2007 11:02 am

its ok... i tired 2 wks plus not starting n when needed, it still starts.

then will the battery become weak or wat?

women are always the best goalkeeper

by right, ur batt shd b able to support the whole system when its not ON. n that will oso mean ur batt, rectifier n magnoto coil is doing their job. n oso, ur bike do not have components that uses batt power when its off.

if cannot start, push start lor... if not, can use another bike, tab the battery n start...

Hi guys, today after riding from woodland to TPY, parked for few hrs to meet friends....then when want to ride back, I cranked it one time but didn't start it successfully, then suddently t milage and fuel display gone, but the netural light still on, and I but can't crank the bike liao.....I see the the head light still on, but quit dim, is the battery died?? How come happen so sudden leh, never had this problem before, always start easily.:cry: Need to use the bike urgently next week, can anyone suggest is the batt really dead or is due to some other things? If change the batt, where can buy? don't want to push the bike to shop, tooo heavy so have to DIY......thanks guys :bouncefire:

buy a new batt to replace. cos the batt might b too weak to crank start ur bike... then after that, check wat is the prob... is it batt weak, ractifier faulty or magneto coil...

bro... mayb ur fuse is burn or wad.. coz i kanna once b4 also.. the fuse is link to the battery.. so cant even charge the battery also..cant start at all... even the horn also no sound..but i not sure whether ur is same prob as mine.. go bike shop check check better

Thanks...but my light seems got light leh but bit weak, press starter no response...anyway, where got sell new batt, LAB or any bike shop? can't afford to push to bike shop leh, too heavy for me...:mad:

Have you try to "jump(push) start" your bike afterall your netural indication is still on? I don't think its fuse problem but rather a 'bad' starter switch but likely wiring problem liao! No harm checking the fuses first as there are about 4 fuse in use and each has its own function. There is a label on the fuse close cap that indicated which fuse is for what. The last time I had my fuel gauage and speedometer not working and starting problem jsut about the same like yours was caused by such..the wire looks okay out side but internally, some strand of wires were broken(multistrand inside each core). The problem can be a radom one.

Then again my bike is a PB1...not sure how old your bike is but the twisting of handle bar does caused broken wire at the main core which runs under the tank from socket connection from the headlamd.

Do let us know the actual problem.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Ah..Hotdog81...missed that post http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....howtopic=163752

Same here too once that my bike just came dead with no reason when I turn the ignition key on and at time its okay..till, it can just run dead when I turn the hanle. troubleshoot the wiring and found that it was a "kill switch wire" that was partially damage. Cut theportion off and rejoined (soldered) with an electrical wire. If memory serve me well, the wire is black body with light grey dabbing from the main hardness. This one is link to the main supply when ignition is on. Very dangerous to ride without it being rectified as the engine would just run dead.

Another such such problem I had too was the fuel gauge and speedometer intermittently working), it was an orange wire with red dabbing mark that was broken at the main core harness.

Anyway..just in case ayone need to know where one can have a main harness replace with a new one due to old age and used wear and tear, HLK at AMK ave 10 can do it for about $350.00. One idiot shop wanted to do it for me at $850.00....damn! Anyway, I'm an electronic engineer b4 and I guess tracing the problem was not a big deal except that its time comsumming. Happy to save that $350.00 anyway :sweat:

there this guy same prob... but his prob is bery simple the battery screw did not tighten enough

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t28/Sonicgear85/54.jpg http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff205/evoaiwa/qw.jpg

Krr 150 Fx 25**Z >>> Oct 2004 -Aug 2006 <<<

Wave 125S Fx 86**Y >>> Aug 2006- ? <<<

Super 4 Spec 2 Fv 71**D >>>Jan 2007- July 2007<<<

Xr 4 Fq 28*S >>>July 2008- May 2008<<<

KTM 4 Fu17**L >>> May2008 - ? <<<

always do the simple checks 1st... then follow by the hard ones...

Why do u have to push ur bike when u can call for towing service?? Bring the bike to ur trusted mech will be better right? Rather than guessing which part is faulty..

Cheers..

"..there this guy same prob... but his prob is bery simple the battery screw did not tighten enough "...Sonicgear is right...heee..x3! Happened to me once..that's, the positive terminal was loose after a mechanic work session when it was not tight enough and came loose overtime.

Guys, bike had been fixed with replacement of a new battery. Bought one from LAB ($45) and DIY, instead of call for towing and do in shop for a higher price(Total could be around $90), very easy just need a screw driver to settle it. Just one thing to share, when we turn on the ignition key the 2 needles will turn one round right, but month ago before this happen my needles will turn one round again when i press the starter to start engine, maybe this can be a indication that the battery is going to bye bye....anyway, going to install a volt meter later to mornitor the battery easily, thanks all for info......:cheer:

meet a fren then off engine nvr turn off head lights ..

then after parking found out cannot electric start ..

luckily cannot push start..

now is batt weak..or rectifier spolit??..

if batt recharge can use again...

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif
meet a fren then off engine nvr turn off head lights ..

then after parking found out cannot electric start ..

luckily cannot push start..

now is batt weak..or rectifier spolit??..

if batt recharge can use again...

You know you might have a fried rectifier by looking at the connectors and also any burning rubber smell...

If the batt is weak, the tachcometer needles will swing from the extreme left to extreme right twice. Dim headlight is also a sign of weak batt.

Gadgets like volt meter, multimeter or any electronic measuring instruments are sure to be useful here.

How long has this batt lasted with you? If batt lasted for 2 years or more, it has served its due..

You know you might have a fried rectifier by looking at the connectors and also any burning rubber smell...

If the batt is weak, the tachcometer needles will swing from the extreme left to extreme right twice. Dim headlight is also a sign of weak batt.

Gadgets like volt meter, multimeter or any electronic measuring instruments are sure to be useful here.

How long has this batt lasted with you? If batt lasted for 2 years or more, it has served its due..

ex-owner wrote date as sept '05 so think abt 2 years lor...hehe..

ya..changed a new one liao....

vtec 2 ..rectifier quite hard to reach..think hve to go bike shop kanna carrot liao.=(

mine did swing ...when on engine..but did not notice whether twice anot...

voltmeter show 12mV...

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

Bike: vtec 1 FT plate

Problem: been having spats of "batt goes flat" for no apparent reasons even after push starts it cant idle and will still go off... after few push starts then was able to function normally...

why?

1)batt cant hold charge?

2)rectifier not charging?

3)magnectic coil prob? (praying not)

any other possibilites?

thx ppl!!!

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2504/3947126520_f7541d4daf.jpg