Any pro here DIY before? Battery flat, not charging!! but push start can start...

what could be the problem?

what do i need to change?

is it easy to change?

and how much does it cost?

2005-2006: RXZ

2007: Y125Z & RVF400

2008: RVF400 & African Twin

2009: African Twin, GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2010: GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2011: GSX1300RK2

2012-2013: GSX1300RK2, Proton Savvy(A)

2014: Proton Savvy(A), Super 4(S1)

Present: Super 4(S1)

• Replies 41

high possibility ur rectifier is faulty. happen to me before. rectifier is an electronic device, to charge batt when engine is running.

battery new... but rectifier easy to change ma?

rectifier just beside the tank =p... i go LAB buy, he bring me S4 rectifier, slot in version... for rvf, its bigger piece with no slot

if rectifier burn liao, then u cant even push start loh!!!

Ride safe, or else urs will be the one I'm looking at, at work!!!! :cool:

http://www.visualsunlimited.com/images/watermarked/992/99279.jpg

You should check the current/voltage at the various connectors of the battery, rectifier and coil when the bike is off and when it is started.

This way you'll be able to tell which is the faulty part rather than making wild guesses.

hmm....

tell me describe what im facing now...

1) Old battery, electric start not working ... Thus push start can start the engine. Then when the engine is off, my headlight light dim.

2) New battery, electric start working to start the engine... headlight light is bright with engine off. But after sometimes... same problem come again like no. (1)

3) Now i trying to change my rectifier as my battery got not enough voltage. And when using a volt meter to test the charging when engine is on , its like not working.

Originally posted by YuaN_@May 05, 2007 06:35 pm

hmm....

tell me describe what im facing now...

1) Old battery, electric start not working ... Thus push start can start the engine. Then when the engine is off, my headlight light dim.

2) New battery, electric start working to start the engine... headlight light is bright with engine off. But after sometimes... same problem come again like no. (1)

3) Now i trying to change my rectifier as my battery got not enough voltage. And when using a volt meter to test the charging when engine is on , its like not working.

from what u described, i think your old batt is not spoilt..

If you tested with a voltmeter, and the reading is not going up when you turn the throttle, means the batt is not charging. It might be the regulator or it might be the stator (magnetic coil). It's easier to see if it's your regulator as as you said, it's just beside the fuel tank. If even after changing the regulator you still have the problem, then you've got to change your stator.

Do a check la sometimes it just a loose connection somewhere btwn the regulator / stator / battrey.

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?

new update: i just DIY my rectifier, not this problem =( saded... dont know wat is the problem sia... i bring to shop, i think they also dont know....

Tested:

1) I am able to push start by engaging gear 2 to run the engine!

2) Battery no problem

3) Rectifier also no problem

If my engine able to start, it shouldnt be coil problem because coil produce temp voltage to keep engine running....

Problem faced:

1) Electric start, not working...probably not enough volt on battery as tested its below 11V.

2) On my headlight, not enough power... will get dimmer and dimmer till no light.

Whats next? anyone encounter before? help me sort it out, and it will be useful to u in future if have this problem

Originally posted by YuaN_@May 05, 2007 11:55 pm

new update: i just DIY my rectifier, not this problem =( saded... dont know wat is the problem sia... i bring to shop, i think they also dont know....

Tested:

1) I am able to push start by engaging gear 2 to run the engine!

2) Battery no problem

3) Rectifier also no problem

If my engine able to start, it shouldnt be coil problem because coil produce temp voltage to keep engine running....

Problem faced:

1) Electric start, not working...probably not enough volt on battery as tested its below 11V.

2) On my headlight, not enough power... will get dimmer and dimmer till no light.

Whats next? anyone encounter before? help me sort it out, and it will be useful to u in future if have this problem

Follow the instructions here. You should be able to pinpoint the problem.

http://www.offwidth.co.uk/bike/general/ele...ult_finding.pdf

By the way, a "half-gone-case" coil can still start the bike, but will not provide enough juice to charge the battery.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

check the stator lor... since u already checked the regulator and thats not it, it has to be the stator.. stator is the one that would hold the charge and 'give' the charge to the batt.. if the stator can't hold the charge, then batt would not be charged..

It's your damn bike, wash it yourself! You rinse your own mouth after you eat, don't you?

Originally posted by shiraz@May 06, 2007 03:38 am

check the stator lor... since u already checked the regulator and thats not it, it has to be the stator.. stator is the one that would hold the charge and 'give' the charge to the batt.. if the stator can't hold the charge, then batt would not be charged..

stator is the coil? hmm.... but when i on the engine, i checked the battery volt and the voltage it moving.... + - + - voltage....

Originally posted by YuaN_@May 06, 2007 08:26 am

stator is the coil? hmm.... but when i on the engine, i checked the battery volt and the voltage it moving.... + - + - voltage....

the voltage when the engine started at 3000rpm should read 12.5-13V.

anything lower means no charging...

Originally posted by kaozie@May 06, 2007 01:02 pm

the voltage when the engine started at 3000rpm should read 12.5-13V.

anything lower means no charging...

so what this mean? my coil or rectifier... then for rectifier, i changed to new one, still same thing happened.

ur coil is spoilt i think. Go to a bike shop and get it replace. The coil should cost u 350 or less.

u said can start your bike rite?..

after you start(push) then check if your head light it working? horn working? then throtle to around 4k and check your headlight bright? or does it get better it should get better.. if your horn works and headlight gets brighter then your rectifier is working.

to charge batt which bike engine is running to got to keep it at a rpm or around above 4k or maybe more depending on the bike..

go to a shop check.. some mechanic you trust. who won't eat your money.. since u already have a rectifier and batt. the most you pay abit for labour.

Will I be ALIVE tomorrow,

____I don\'t know______

Originally posted by YuaN_@May 06, 2007 03:47 pm

so what this mean? my coil or rectifier... then for rectifier, i changed to new one, still same thing happened.

have you check the charging? chances of coil faulty is lower. usually its the rectifier that is faulty.

Originally posted by kaozie@May 06, 2007 09:53 pm

have you check the charging? chances of coil faulty is lower. usually its the rectifier that is faulty.

checked the charging.. go + - + - voltage at 10-11V

Originally posted by YuaN_@May 06, 2007 08:26 am

hmmm ok so when u connect the voltmeter to the batt, start the bike and throttle, the voltage goes up ah? The voltmeter should move something like the RPM meter u know, u throttle, it go up, u release the throttle, it'll go down to abt 12.8V. Is that happening?

If it is, then your batt is charging.. is that your bike in the signature? cbr or rvf 400 (not sure) ... follow your regulator wiring.. there should be a connection somewhere, see if it's loose..