• Replies 77

Guest LandLord

send it to workshop do is the best

dun think will cost u much

u require a big spanner to remove the big nut juz below the handle bar...

can't remember whether u needa lift up the handlebar anot...

then u need another spanner to tighten the steering cone ...

becareful not to scratch the oil tank in the process.. best to remove it..

nah pass it over to the bike shop to do it lah!!

Access to the photos Vypower collection,

Visit...

Here

Everytime u pump V-Power,

Remember MarVyPower!!!

Originally posted by Legan@Feb 17 2004, 09:46 PM

Wish to learn to do it myself ma.... :smile:

Can help me by being more specific?

thank you

hmm..if u just wanna learn..why not just give some tuition fees to some reputable bike shops to do it..and learn from the process...:goodluck:

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Guest GaCkTo

yo guys, wat is a steering cone? will it affect the stableness of the bike while riding? pls enlight. thanks

steering cone is some bearing thingamajig in your triple tree. If you ride and when the front tire crosses the hump, it makes some knocking sounds.. then it might be the steering cone...

it costs about 150+ for my bike... the best is to check with your mechanic...

but the changing is quite painful tho.. cos a lot of hard knocking... :)

s4 steering cone think cost ard $80.

If you move the handle bar from full left to fully right...

and the handle experience a 'stop' somewhere in the middle... meaning need to change steering cone liao.

Best Regards,

PROJECTBIG1

Originally posted by sg_r1@Apr 9 2004, 01:31 PM

steering cone is some bearing thingamajig in your triple tree. If you ride and when the front tire crosses the hump, it makes some knocking sounds.. then it might be the steering cone...

it costs about 150+ for my bike... the best is to check with your mechanic...

but the changing is quite painful tho.. cos a lot of hard knocking... :)

$150!?!?! :giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

wheres my siggy?!?!

Originally posted by stanboy@Apr 9 2004, 04:15 PM

$150!?!?! :giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

For R1 lah.... u know how big class 2 bike cones are or not ?

Super big lah !

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-3088.gif
Originally posted by armani717@Apr 10 2004, 04:48 AM

Super big lah !

seriously?

hmm.... st11 steering cone also ard $80 leh... :cheeky:

Best Regards,

PROJECTBIG1

Originally posted by armani717@Apr 10 2004, 04:48 AM

Super big lah !

orr....i tot a s4 mah... :cheeky:

wheres my siggy?!?!

would like to ask ard what is the major problem i face if i dun change my steering cone if it is spoilt liao..beside handlebar feel a bit shaky and unstable handle at high speed..

will cause my handlebar to lock bo..heehhe? any last of all ..any good place to recomend to change the steering cone.

--==anything more than a handful is waste==--

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/89/36/3386398/2918831032400l.jpg

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Jun 9 2004, 10:03 AM

southern? ard $70 or try jb.... :goodluck:

thanks for yr prompt reply..

jb??? actually some of their workmanship are not bad ..compare to sg..

but i would like to know any major problem first..b4 go fix..hehehe

one of the bikeshop quote me ard $150 for changing it for me. sigh...overpriced..

Originally posted by seven7sin@Jun 9 2004, 10:02 AM

would like to ask ard what is the major problem i face if i dun change my steering cone if it is spoilt liao..beside handlebar feel a bit shaky and unstable handle at high speed..

will cause my handlebar to lock bo..heehhe? any last of all ..any good place to recomend to change the steering cone.

when you wanna change? mine also abit lose liao..

we DIY ourselves la :thumb:

will feel tat e bar actually will have a 'tac' feeling when turing towards centre(straight).

-result: wobble, unstable coners.

u can go shop & get them to 'tighten' e cone, after tat feeling will be like bar is difficult to turn ard. have to kup more instead of turing bar when turning. reason: steering cone is like a wheel beaing. circle shape with small balls balls in it. e ball spoil result in a damaged steering cone.

u tighten it, meaning it's NO longer in a circle shape. will have a feeling like puting a damper & adjusting to its full tightest.

but it's a 'temp' solution.

i did mine at Bt. Merah Untiy SGD$90.00 original S4 steering cone.

=D

Originally posted by Aldebaran+Jun 9 2004, 03:20 PM-->
QUOTE (Aldebaran @ Jun 9 2004, 03:20 PM)
$150!!??? they think yr name called robert meh? think u can go ah gua lane n try lor......if they dun haf for s4 u can buy from fjt then ask them help u fix :smile:[/b]

tat shop always overcharge ppl one lar..i used to it..i onli ask for fun..but one thing for sure..they really provide excellent service

Originally posted by LollyPoP@

will feel tat e bar actually will have a 'tac' feeling when turing towards centre(straight).

-result: wobble, unstable coners.

u can go shop & get them to 'tighten' e cone, after tat feeling will be like bar is difficult to turn ard. have to kup more instead of turing bar when turning. reason: steering cone is like a wheel beaing. circle shape with small balls balls in it. e ball spoil result in a damaged steering cone.

u tighten it, meaning it's NO longer in a circle shape. will have a feeling like puting a damper & adjusting to its full tightest.

but it's a 'temp' solution.

i did mine at Bt. Merah Untiy SGD$90.00 original S4 steering cone.

=D

thanks for yr info..

Originally posted by Rikk@Jun 15 2004, 11:30 AM

anyway i tighten mine liao

not as good as changing new one but hey, its free :D

hur tighten..how u do it hur? hehehee

anyway if the bearing spoilt how to tighten..also no use mar..