Type of petrol you pump for phantom  

462 members have voted

1. 1. Type of petrol you pump for phantom

• Shell 92
    • Shell 95
    • Shell 98
    • Shell V Power
    • ESSO
    • SPC
    • Gold with Techron 98
    • Silver with Techron 95
    • Dont pump in Singapore at all or sometimes only, prefer to pump in malaysia

u sld try 95, i used to pump only 98 too, now use 95 ler... 98 u feel more pwr, 95 u feel smoother...

Is 92 or 95 enough? I always pump 98 only leh!

at the end of the day it's only a phantom, not a r1 or r6 ..haha 95 would be the best choice for me..no need for 98 or v-power..lesser power, not exactly smoother on the road but definitley on the wallet :angel:

22/10/2009--20/01/2010 TA-150

20/01/2010--28/08/2010 KSR-110

28/08/2010--??? NSR *wink* *wink*

• Replies 639

at the end of the day it's only a phantom, not a r1 or r6 ..haha 95 would be the best choice for me..no need for 98 or v-power..lesser power, not exactly smoother on the road but definitley on the wallet :angel:

yup.. use the minimum petrol can le... dun need so good petrol. afterall a 2B bike only.. Petronas primx best la.. cheap and good.

Honestly felt no noticeable difference between 95 and 92. Gotta say that I did feel happier with the added cash savings with 92 though! :D

Class 2B

FW TA200

Safety above all

Honestly felt no noticeable difference between 95 and 92. Gotta say that I did feel happier with the added cash savings with 92 though! :D

i from 95 pump vpower... a little change only.. But no point la.. how fast can i go in singapore anyway..

so petronas primx the best... cheap and good =D

i from 95 pump vpower... a little change only.. But no point la.. how fast can i go in singapore anyway..

so petronas primx the best... cheap and good =D

yup, n cost wise too. for a period of time i was in love with vpower... any day i dun pump vpower instantly my gf will ask me, why bike so noisy, u pump 95 right... haha... so i totally changed all e way vpower... but hor, pocket did burn a small hole... much more ex then 95 when used for long... :)

u sld try 95, i used to pump only 98 too, now use 95 ler... 98 u feel more pwr, 95 u feel smoother...

Thanks bro, will give 95 a try. Cheers!

Don't do it to others what you don't want others to do to you! God bless! :cheers:

Pump regularly at the caltex station opposite to JB City Square on sunday.

It was always so packed when the old malaysia custom was opened, but now...

Anyway, petrol price there:

techtron 95 at RM 1.80/l = S$0.75/l

techtron 97 at RM 2.00/l = S$0.83/l

Hi everyone, can someone take a picture of the max level to pump in the petrol? Cos that day I pump petrol I dun know wat is the max level le... and do you all pump setting on the bike? or put on side stand?(Dun know got different or not) Pardon the newbie here.

pump when bike is upright. then can pump to the max... in singapore dun need do that la.. everywhere also got petrol station..

for me i will squeeze as many petrol as possible..

Hi everyone, can someone take a picture of the max level to pump in the petrol? Cos that day I pump petrol I dun know wat is the max level le... and do you all pump setting on the bike? or put on side stand?(Dun know got different or not) Pardon the newbie here.

My method : open fuel cap , fill the fuel till top of the INNER edge , not the top of the fuel cap , ie fuel should not touch your fuel cap. Taught by Snapel so maybe he can give a better explanation :cheeky:

Pump upright , but shell stations require side stand and pump while standing , but malaysia no need , just sit down , open cap , pump , pay the guy beside the kiosk and off you go . :thumb:

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

Just make sure you don't spill any petrol on your groin while sitting on your bike. It has happened before to others and it will happen again. Make sure its not you.

Seriously, how much more can you squeeze in? another 500ml? What's the biggie about getting off your bike?

Just make sure you don't spill any petrol on your groin while sitting on your bike. It has happened before to others and it will happen again. Make sure its not you.

Seriously, how much more can you squeeze in? another 500ml? What's the biggie about getting off your bike?

yup, agree with blackdawn... not much of a diff also, while sitting n pump or put side stand and pump... :)

thats true for singapore. everywhere also got petrol station also..

But for malaysia. Different case. Squeeze!

thats true for singapore. everywhere also got petrol station also..

But for malaysia. Different case. Squeeze!

Yeah... every drop counts when pump in m'sia... cos the missing volume from sitting pump and stand pump can cover the journey back to SG...

Its all a matter of perspective:

Lets say you can squeeze in another 500ml of petrol by sitting on your bike. That's about RM1.5=SG0.60. That is not worth the risk of spilling petrol on my groin (no matter how unlikely).

Likewise, spending at least an hour to travel to JB for 13liters of petrol is a complete waste of time to me. Good for some people, not worth it for others.

malaysia's shell 95 feels like 92 leh...anyone else feels the same ?:dot:

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

if i pump malaysia shell, i would go for v-power =D

Hi guys, when you all pump petrol in Malaysia where do you all usually pump?? Like woodlands or 2nd link? And is it just across the causeway or have to go further in.

Sorry, newbie here so I have yet to cross the river. I'm thinking of going over one day to pump petrol. Any timings i should go to avoid the peak period?? Thanks.

Hi guys, when you all pump petrol in Malaysia where do you all usually pump?? Like woodlands or 2nd link? And is it just across the causeway or have to go further in.

Sorry, newbie here so I have yet to cross the river. I'm thinking of going over one day to pump petrol. Any timings i should go to avoid the peak period?? Thanks.

they would usually go in by the 2nd link almost every friday nights..for makan and petrol..

refer to the FNO thread for more details..

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=160997

22/10/2009--20/01/2010 TA-150

20/01/2010--28/08/2010 KSR-110

28/08/2010--??? NSR *wink* *wink*

Phantom engine is designed for 9:1 compression ratio, so according to this gentleman's analysis at http://www.carbibles.com/fuel_engine_bible_pg3.html

Compression ratio Octane

5:1 72

6:1 81

7:1 87

8:1 92

9:1 96

10:1 100

11:1 104

12:1 108

95 should be used according to carbibles' analysis but it also depends on the engine design. Phantom manual says 92 is fine... in which case my old ride (125Z with 6.5:1 compression) had best results with Esso 92 (2000).

It gave the same smoothness as Shell V-Power minus the hole in wallet.

Still waiting to collect my "new" phantom