hope nt to digress too much..

mind u guys sharing great places for romantic dinners, b'dae for love ones and blah2..of cz halal too la!so hard to find seh halal ala candlelight dinners..

u noe..u noe..

.the Raven travels alone.
  • Replies 466

hope nt to digress too much..

mind u guys sharing great places for romantic dinners, b'dae for love ones and blah2..of cz halal too la!so hard to find seh halal ala candlelight dinners..

u noe..u noe..

Definitely Carousel which is located at Royal Plaza On Scotts. Only thing is that the buffet dinner for two will cost you about $100. :faint: If you are a Citibank credit card holder, 15% discount is given when you pay using the card... :cool:

Bro, check out STRAITS KITCHEN at HYATT hotel, if im not wrong its $45++ per pax. and if its someone b'day, tell the staff, they'll get a b'day cake for u, FREE and sing u a song! was there last year to celebrat b'day. good food! im trying carousel this year

Patience, A Virtue

Bro, check out STRAITS KITCHEN at HYATT hotel, if im not wrong its $45++ per pax. and if its someone b'day, tell the staff, they'll get a b'day cake for u, FREE and sing u a song!

That's a good choice for buffet dinner/lunch...

Went there a couple of times this year...

Good food and worth the money too...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/Emoticons/cheers.gif http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/Emoticons/cheers.gif http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/Emoticons/cheers.gif

Bro, check out STRAITS KITCHEN at HYATT hotel, if im not wrong its $45++ per pax. and if its someone b'day, tell the staff, they'll get a b'day cake for u, FREE and sing u a song! was there last year to celebrat b'day. good food! im trying carousel this year

That's a good choice for buffet dinner/lunch...

Went there a couple of times this year...

Good food and worth the money too...

yup, heard straits oso quite gd..

its better compare to Carousel..wad ive heard la..

tastebuds taste diff hehe..

the borin thing is that the sky dining aint halal..

my gurl wld hv always wanted the cable car thingie..

.the Raven travels alone.
the borin thing is that the sky dining aint halal..

my gurl wld hv always wanted the cable car thingie..

You bring along your own food in a picnic basket and eat while riding that cable car lor. Improvise... :cheeky:

Straits Kitchen halah?

You bet....

Straits Kitchen

The Sunday Times

The restaurant that has opened with the most hype in recent months must certainly be Straits Kitchen, the Grand Hyatt Singapore's halal hawker food outlet.

It is designed by Japanese firm Super Potato, the same team that came up with the look for the hip multi-kitchen mezza9 restaurant on the hotel's second floor.

As such, pre-opening expectations were for something equally trendy and stunning.

After four months of renovations, the 260-seat outlet finally appeared from behind the hoardings in late December last year, occupying the space that used to be the hotel coffee house, The Cafe.

The result is a worthy cousin to mezza9. It boasts the same open kitchen concept and use of kitchen utensils and food ingredients as display items on walls and counter tops, aided by clever lighting.

In a word, it's stunning.

The concept for the food is equally brilliant. Chinese, Indian and Malay show kitchens churn out hawker fare such as char kway teow, laksa, chicken rice, tandoori chicken and grilled stingray.

The abundant display of Singaporeans' favourite foods is a sure crowd-puller and the evidence is the bustling business over the past month.

But it is not a place for everyone because the prices are exorbitant for hawker food.

The main problem is that Straits Kitchen is a buffet restaurant during meal times, which means you have to pay the same price whether you want just a plate of chicken rice or the whole works.

Lunch on weekdays is slightly more affordable at $27 while dinner is $34. It may not sound like a lot, but throw in two drinks at $9 each plus the various taxes, and the bill for two persons' dinner adds up to almost $100.

I guess someone has to pay for the purported $5 million renovation bill. Also, if you do not want to risk dirtying your Prada outfit on a hawker centre stool, you may not mind paying the price either.

In between lunch and dinner, an a la carte menu is available. But with a plate of char kway teow or a bowl of laksa at $19 each, you are not going to save very much.

As for the food, the quality is mixed.

The best cooking comes from the Malay kitchen. The beef rendang is tender and fragrant while the grilled baby stingray - which is sourced from Malaysia specially by the eatery's executive chef - is soft and juicy. The accompanying cincaluk (fermented shrimp) is too salty, though.

Check out the grilled chicken and satay as well.

The Chinese kitchen, on the other hand, is middling. I like the fried rice and fried egg noodles but the oyster omelette is too starchy while the char kway teow desperately needs some cockles to boost its flavour.

The watery laksa, too, comes without the shellfish, which is a travesty to cockle lovers like myself.

I know some hotels still do not dare serve it in case guests contract hepatitis from infected shellfish. But why not give diners the choice?

The Indian kitchen is more reliable, with its moist tandoori chicken and other delectable North Indian dishes.

Singaporeans being such generous folk when it comes to eating out, I foresee Straits Kitchen being as successful as mezza9.

Making it halal is also a point in its favour. Muslims who can't patronise hawker centre stalls can now check out what they have been missing out on.

It's just a pity that they have to pay so much more for the experience.

Straits Kitchen

Grand Hyatt Singapore

10 Scotts Road

Singapore 228211

Never really had the chance to get to know muslim frens so dunno that many halah eating places... this is useful

Are you hinting something or me being oversensitive??

Hinting wat?

I'm stating a fact....

I dun have any muslim frens during my school days....

Oh that's just too bad for you...

:) :) :)

Yah.....

Miss out learning about another culture....

I'm the opposite of you... Hehehehe...

Anyway, betta stick to the topic...

For all of you who are interested in finding 'halal' food establishments, this could prove useful... :)

Heard that Hans River in Simei is not bad too... But I've yet to try there...

what do they serve bro?

any directions, landmark..

river valley rd..long stretch man..

bro which website site shows the singapore map? i cant get it thru streetdirectory, only address shown but no map.

spize is located along river valley road by i forgot the junction name. if u come from orchard, u take paterson road then into irwell bank road, just before going into kimseng road(along great world city), turn right river valley towards lower delta. its around the corner there.

i could assist u more on maps but i could find any maps.

bro which website site shows the singapore map? i cant get it thru streetdirectory, only address shown but no map.

spize is located along river valley road by i forgot the junction name. if u come from orchard, u take paterson road then into irwell bank road, just before going into kimseng road(along great world city), turn right river valley towards lower delta. its around the corner there.

i could assist u more on maps but i could find any maps.

This might help....

i went to sakura international buffet at clementi, it was great, 26 per pax, whole array of sushi, they have chawamushi, epimame and even sashimi. they have laksa, chicken rics, steaks, durian puff, ice cream, 6 types of pizza. do try it guys! its halal!!!

Patience, A Virtue

i went to sakura international buffet at clementi, it was great, 26 per pax, whole array of sushi, they have chawamushi, epimame and even sashimi. they have laksa, chicken rics, steaks, durian puff, ice cream, 6 types of pizza. do try it guys! its halal!!!

Tried that too... But the food is a bit sub-standard for that price to me...

How much is it?

Refer to here....