Originally posted by Greyhound@Dec 9 2005, 04:30 AM

Now at running in stage. Travelled 217km and pumped 5.6 litres to the brim of the tank. No hard dragging and very gentle acceleration so far. Top speed is occasionally 80kmph so far. Hope the patience pays off.

Anyway guys, can u please advise me on what EO u are using for this GMAX babe. Edwin said hes using Fuchs Pro4. Read from the previous posts by BC on Mobil Delvac.

I am seriously looking at Motul 300V Competition 15W50. A few motor shops even tell me that its under utilised or "too good" to be used on scooters. I disagree though. I need something thats of top quality and has good "stay in" grade. Price a bit steeper also nevermind if the ride is very smooth and lasting.

How often do u change the EO? Alvin mentioned 3000-5000km or when the "rough" feeling is there. Sounds very decent to me as my previous Phantom gets rough on 2000km mileage regardless of what brand of EO i used.

Damn happy with the bike. But gotta tolerate with the run in for now. Enjoy the freedom of automatic scooter!

Oh and do take note. Its REALLY OK to travel 100kmh on this bike all the time on the roads here even when you pass those cameras.... heh heh :D :D :D

• Replies 7.9k

Originally posted by skateboy@Dec 8 2005, 11:42 PM

must wax n wipe everyday wan...

that's the most basic things u need to do to get ur bike clean n shiny... :smile:

u take ur Gmax pic n let me have a look leh... :cheeky:

oh you really don't wanna see it. my camera also don't want to take it.

bought for a few months already. Wash only 2 times. You say leh? :cheeky:

Originally posted by Greyhound@Dec 9 2005, 04:30 AM

Now at running in stage. Travelled 217km and pumped 5.6 litres to the brim of the tank. No hard dragging and very gentle acceleration so far. Top speed is occasionally 80kmph so far. Hope the patience pays off.

Anyway guys, can u please advise me on what EO u are using for this GMAX babe. Edwin said hes using Fuchs Pro4. Read from the previous posts by BC on Mobil Delvac.

I am seriously looking at Motul 300V Competition 15W50. A few motor shops even tell me that its under utilised or "too good" to be used on scooters. I disagree though. I need something thats of top quality and has good "stay in" grade. Price a bit steeper also nevermind if the ride is very smooth and lasting.

How often do u change the EO? Alvin mentioned 3000-5000km or when the "rough" feeling is there. Sounds very decent to me as my previous Phantom gets rough on 2000km mileage regardless of what brand of EO i used.

Damn happy with the bike. But gotta tolerate with the run in for now. Enjoy the freedom of automatic scooter!

Hehe,

As long it's good oil, just test and find the oil u like.

technically, I doing all the oil testing. :cheeky:

Originally posted by Greyhound@Dec 8 2005, 10:00 PM

Cool. Will keep note of those screws.

Theoretically speaking, the petrol should last 262km until its empty rite? Based on calculations of 35 X 7.5.

Thanks for the advice.

True. But surely u won't want to use up every last drop right?

What if u try that, and the bike exactly run out of fuel when u are 100 meters away from petrol kiosk?

Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Dec 9 2005, 10:12 AM

True. But surely u won't want to use up every last drop right?

What if u try that, and the bike exactly run out of fuel when u are 100 meters away from petrol kiosk?

Also when you run out of oil... you'd need more than 1L, I'm estimating 2L of petrol, A LOT of kick starting, sweat and 100 plus to pump the fuel into a mini reservoir before it can flow to the carb.

Don't ask me how I know............. :giddy: :sweat: :sian:

Originally posted by edwinT@Dec 9 2005, 10:15 AM

Also when you run out of oil... you'd need more than 1L, I'm estimating 2L of petrol, A LOT of kick starting, sweat and 100 plus to pump the fuel into a mini reservoir before it can flow to the carb.

Don't ask me how I know............. :giddy: :sweat: :sian:

Don't tell me u really test the fuel level limits?

technically speaking,as long as the oil is for 4 stroke bikes, u r safe... no matter good or no good is up to the rider... not for other ppl to say... :smile:

so moral of the petrol story is dun push your Gmax to the limit!!

u wun wanna push ur bike to the petrol kiosk rite?? :cheeky:

Originally posted by edwinT@Dec 9 2005, 09:41 AM

oh you really don't wanna see it. my camera also don't want to take it.

bought for a few months already. Wash only 2 times. You say leh? :cheeky:

Yoh bro. Few months wash 2 times? Not a bad statistic. My previous Phantom 2 years+ wash 4 times. Try not to beat my record lah...

20 Aug 03 - 02 Dec 05 Phantom 200, FV4764R

02 Dec 05 - 08 Mar 06 PGO GMAX 150, FZ9027G

15 Dec 05 - 06 Nov 06 Suzuki Ignis 1300, SDZ4309A

06 Nov 06 - XXXXXXX Toyota Vios 1500

Originally posted by Greyhound@Dec 9 2005, 12:42 PM

Yoh bro. Few months wash 2 times? Not a bad statistic. My previous Phantom 2 years+ wash 4 times. Try not to beat my record lah...

Originally posted by skateboy@Dec 9 2005, 11:57 AM

technically speaking,as long as the oil is for 4 stroke bikes, u r safe... no matter good or no good is up to the rider... not for other ppl to say... :smile:

Hehe. True true...

I believe 250 is a good number. Will collect statistics on the mean average a litre can travel. Then slowly up the mileage. 230 next, then 240 then target is 250. Think need to arm myself with a litre of petrol. So far my average FC is 37.7.

Petrol run until dry??? Happened to my Phantom before. Wah lan eh. Petrol including reserve totally dry along PIE after the Jalan Bahar flyover. Damn tulan. Push to the Jurong West Ave 5 Shell station. Somemore 7pm a lot of cars.

Originally posted by skateboy@Dec 9 2005, 11:57 AM

moral of the story is, don't push your luck esp if its a new bike and you're going over to malaysia. You'll have a whole 2nd link + highway to push your bike. :sweat: :sweat: :sweat:

Hi Bros,

Most important of all, If wanna test petrol distance, prepare 1 litre of petrol in the box.

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb103/g-max1881/2009tmax500.jpg

"ALWAYS SAFETY FIRST"

"RIDE SAFE & SMART"

HP - 9645 7667 (Alvin)

Originally posted by Greyhound@Dec 9 2005, 12:57 PM

Hehe. True true...

I believe 250 is a good number. Will collect statistics on the mean average a litre can travel. Then slowly up the mileage. 230 next, then 240 then target is 250. Think need to arm myself with a litre of petrol. So far my average FC is 37.7.

Petrol run until dry??? Happened to my Phantom before. Wah lan eh. Petrol including reserve totally dry along PIE after the Jalan Bahar flyover. Damn tulan. Push to the Jurong West Ave 5 Shell station. Somemore 7pm a lot of cars.

The fuel transport system is totally different from phantom.

Phantom fuel feed is via gravity. Where as the G-max is like alot of auto scoot,

uses a vacum actuated fuel pump.

I don't think it's a good idea to let the fuel pump running with zero or super low fuel in the tank.

Who knows? you fuel pump may decide to live shorter or give up it's life altogether.

Originally posted by edwinT@Dec 9 2005, 01:17 PM

moral of the story is, don't push your luck esp if its a new bike and you're going over to malaysia. You'll have a whole 2nd link + highway to push your bike. :sweat: :sweat: :sweat:

Someone was spotted pushing super4 across causeway back to singapore. Something like bike kena stripped bare while he went shopping.

Heh. The "fuel pump give up its life" is whacky. Ok! I will settle at 220km (redline) then pump. Like go JB pump petrol dont save much $ leh. Unless buy cigarettes and such.

Another question. Any K&N oil filter for this bike or must use stock?

Hehe. True true...

now running in period so u r riding slow...

after run in n u ride slightly faster, ur fuel consumption will go up to 36 or 35 km/l.... i did hit 32km/l, over the specs liao... :sweat:

but norm is 36 to 37 km/l.... heavy throttling is 33 to 34 km/l... so do take note... :smile:

brooks did tried to hit 40km/l... :cheer:

Originally posted by Greyhound@Dec 9 2005, 05:25 PM

Someone was spotted pushing super4 across causeway back to singapore. Something like bike kena stripped bare while he went shopping.

Heh. The "fuel pump give up its life" is whacky. Ok! I will settle at 220km (redline) then pump. Like go JB pump petrol dont save much $ leh. Unless buy cigarettes and such.

Another question. Any K&N oil filter for this bike or must use stock?

at the super 4 forum, there's a bike stated alot of parts was stolen... poor guy...

PGO still abit safe compared to S4 but oso dun take chances...

only aftermarket air cleaner box... Gmax scoot had it on his scoot rite?? got time do take a look... power oso better... :smile:

Hehe. True true...

My guess is that u are of small build size to have 37.7 FC , my average is 32-34 , mostly pillion my wife add up with weights of 140kg for both of us on the bike. When pillioning (140kg) , the felling is like dragging a cow , when riding alone (90kg) ,the scoot can fly :sweat: I guess for those ard 60kg , the pickup must be really really good.

Originally posted by skateboy@Dec 9 2005, 06:28 PM

at the super 4 forum, there's a bike stated alot of parts was stolen... poor guy...

PGO still abit safe compared to S4 but oso dun take chances...

only aftermarket air cleaner box... Gmax scoot had it on his scoot rite?? got time do take a look... power oso better... :smile:

Yes. Thats where i read it from. Very angry with the thieves.

Yes. I saw the air box on alvin's bike. Thinking of whether to get air box or clutch lining first.

Originally posted by levin@Dec 9 2005, 09:31 PM

My guess is that u are of small build size to have 37.7 FC , my average is 32-34 , mostly pillion my wife add up with weights of 140kg for both of us on the bike. When pillioning (140kg) , the felling is like dragging a cow , when riding alone (90kg) ,the scoot can fly :sweat: I guess for those ard 60kg , the pickup must be really really good.

Hi bro,

I am 71kg. Just pumped petrol an hour ago. Got 39.6km/l. Mileage now 778km. Moving off from stationary at 5500-6000rpm and i cruise at 80kmph (about 6700rpm) most of the time. I hope to maintain at 35km/l after running in as i normally cruise at 100km/h on my previous machine.

Originally posted by Greyhound@Dec 10 2005, 12:55 AM

Hi bro,

I am 71kg. Just pumped petrol an hour ago. Got 39.6km/l. Mileage now 778km. Moving off from stationary at 5500-6000rpm and i cruise at 80kmph (about 6700rpm) most of the time. I hope to maintain at 35km/l after running in as i normally cruise at 100km/h on my previous machine.

U should be able to cruise at 80kpm with 6000rpm , at 6700rpm - should be reaching 90kpm already, my style of riding also same as u (Moving off from stationary at 5500-6000rpm and i cruise at 80kmph (about 6000rpm) most of the time) but FC not as good, might be due to weight

Originally posted by levin@Dec 10 2005, 02:57 AM

U should be able to cruise at 80kpm with 6000rpm , at 6700rpm - should be reaching 90kpm already, my style of riding also same as u (Moving off from stationary at 5500-6000rpm and i cruise at 80kmph (about 6000rpm) most of the time) but FC not as good, might be due to weight

Well, I getting average 35km/l.

riding style normal pick up until speedo is 80 or 90km/h if traffic allows.

RPM reading is usually 5K ~6.5k.

Usually is 80km/h on normal road. 60~80 in heavy traffic.

90 to 100 on expressway. This one will be 6 ~7.5k rpm.

Go work is always jam at ubi. Go home use TPE so not so bad. :smile:

just like wat the specs provided... fuel consumption should b around 35 - 40km/l...

that oso take into consideration of whether u ride alone or with a pillion. :smile:

seems like the forum is getting up slowly... :cheeky:

where's our pioneer Gmax?? long time no c him liao... :confused:

Originally posted by levin@Dec 10 2005, 09:25 PM

Can our gmax add grounding cable to increase its power?

i wanted to try but haven't try... u got change the magneto coil??

u do the grounding 1st then let us know lor... u b the pioneer... :cheeky:

Originally posted by skateboy@Dec 10 2005, 09:27 PM

i wanted to try but haven't try... u got change the magneto coil??

u do the grounding 1st then let us know lor... u b the pioneer... :cheeky:

Problem is no lobang to do it :sweat: Wats the advantage of changing the magneto coil ?