the bulbs u got were 3watt or 5watt?

i've had 1 of the speedo bulbs replaced w/ 5watt one before

and it blew within a few days

original bulbs are 3watt

correction, stock bulbs are 1.7W. i got the 1.7W ones. i got 5W ones also, planning to put it on my signal lights instead since they dun stay on for extended periods. :smile:

anyway, stock headlights are 17W, aftermarket sells 35W, which i used on my old CBR150R before, yes it's very bright, but if u're not careful, u'll end up with a burnt bulb holder. i currently testing out a 25W one from JB motorshop, hope it won't melt my buld holder. :sweat:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

correction, stock bulbs are 1.7W. i got the 1.7W ones. i got 5W ones also, planning to put it on my signal lights instead since they dun stay on for extended periods. :smile:

anyway, stock headlights are 17W, aftermarket sells 35W, which i used on my old CBR150R before, yes it's very bright, but if u're not careful, u'll end up with a burnt bulb holder. i currently testing out a 25W one from JB motorshop, hope it won't melt my buld holder. :sweat:

jia lat man

how come the figures we have for original bulbs are different? haha

for me speedo are 12V3W (T10 size)

i've always thought 12W1.7W comes in T5 size

for headlight, to me it's 12V18/18W

eek found out my bike's rear tyre is almost flat this afternoon. The last ride before it was yesterday night (4-5 hrs round singapore trip with plenty of pit stops :p)

tried to put some water after i re pump at petrol station. couldnt find anything major.

any advise on where i should go to try to check and repair? General tyre shop or bike shop? anyone open on sunday?

hmm.. i just changed my headlights n got the 25W bulbs. so far so good, didnt melt my bulb holder. n it's brighter than the stock ones:smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/aman47/SNC001921.jpg

Honda CBR 150R (Mar 2006-Mar 2008)

Yamaha X1-R (Mar 2008-?????)

eek found out my bike's rear tyre is almost flat this afternoon. The last ride before it was yesterday night (4-5 hrs round singapore trip with plenty of pit stops :p)

tried to put some water after i re pump at petrol station. couldnt find anything major.

any advise on where i should go to try to check and repair? General tyre shop or bike shop? anyone open on sunday?

i thought need to put soapy water, n not only water? cos i dun tink water is enuf to find any holes rite? i might be wrong :cheeky:

can try going to HKL as they sell tyres there, they shld know.. on sunday they open 10am-6pm, as stated on their webpage..

hey guys. updates on my airfilters that might interest you..

hmm.. performance wise, i can feel it improved acceleration and pickup abit, but i duno y.. haha.. and top speed never try before, cos i still dun dare to go above 130km/h.. but tt time i reached 125km/h in gear 5!! duno still can go up or not, cos i dun dare to go further.. lol..

and dun worry about heavy rains. cos i rode and also parked my bike during heavy rains. n i dun tink the airfilters got wet. cos when i ride, it's just like normal..

lastly, i love the sound:lovestruck:

jia lat man

how come the figures we have for original bulbs are different? haha

for me speedo are 12V3W (T10 size)

i've always thought 12W1.7W comes in T5 size

for headlight, to me it's 12V18/18W

u're probably right about the headlights, 18W, my mistake, but the meter lights i'm very sure stock is 1.7W, made for honda by Stanley, same for headlights, also by Stanley :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

hmm.. i just changed my headlights n got the 25W bulbs. so far so good, didnt melt my bulb holder. n it's brighter than the stock ones:smile:

ya it's brighter, for me, 1 side is stock 1 side is 25W, seems like the bulbs project differently, the 25W shines higher where the stock 18W shines to the floor. :smile:

i thought need to put soapy water, n not only water? cos i dun tink water is enuf to find any holes rite? i might be wrong :cheeky:

can try going to HKL as they sell tyres there, they shld know.. on sunday they open 10am-6pm, as stated on their webpage..

the last time my mechanic also used soapy water to help check my rear tyre. he found 2 nails embedded in my Metzeler M1, 1 of them is about 2cm long. :sian: i ended up changing the entire tyre since it was worn out. :smile:

Hello guys.. just wanna ask how much dose a FZ plate CBR150 cost outside?

My Rides

Dec 2006 -Aug 2008 : kawasaki krr150

Aug 2008: Honda CB400 Super 4 Spec 1

27-29 JUNE 2009 - Hatyai (Thailand)

14-17 NOV 2009 - KL/Fraser Hill/Malacca

hey ozzarhomb.. ur pic damn big.. haha.. new forum den so many changes.. i still prefer white bg easier to read and not so confusing..

ok i resized my avatar le, haha, now i not such an eye-sore le. :smile: :smile:

but tt time i reached 125km/h in gear 5!! duno still can go up or not, cos i dun dare to go further.. lol..

wah.. your bike power.. at gear 5 what is ur rpm? i also wan change to ur air filter.. haha.. i got the need for speed..

Pride & Care

hi guyz.

erm i neew here and toking abt bikes. im a noob. knows practically next to nothing. im goin to pass my 2b soon. setting my eyes on cbr 150 but juz wanna dbl check is it wise for me to get cbr 150? i mean my height... 1.76 liao. weight ard 76kg.

i heard ppl say cbr is for GERLS n that its underpowered. is it true? plz help me out...

-=[ Bike is lyk singing, the better it sounds n looks, the more ppl r attracted to it. ]=-

hi guyz.

erm i neew here and toking abt bikes. im a noob. knows practically next to nothing. im goin to pass my 2b soon. setting my eyes on cbr 150 but juz wanna dbl check is it wise for me to get cbr 150? i mean my height... 1.76 liao. weight ard 76kg.

i heard ppl say cbr is for GERLS n that its underpowered. is it true? plz help me out...

hi, i dun think it's a problem, i'm 1.8M, a while ago AXXIS was riding also and he's bigger than me.

CBR150R is not for gals only but it's true that it's underpowered compared to other bikes, but it has excellent fuel economy and LOW maintenance cost. it's fast enough to bring u above legal speeds though. :smile: :smile:

yes i agree cbr is not meant for gerls wad. there r no such gender bikes mah.

is it recommended to get a racing bike for neewbies?

how much does a 2nd hand cost? insurance? im 20 this yr.

-=[ Bike is lyk singing, the better it sounds n looks, the more ppl r attracted to it. ]=-

this bike is ok lah.. i am bigger size in term of weight than u too.. it perform well even with pillion..

side note my bike having power issue lol.. so hard to solve troubleshoot until duno wat to trobuleshoot..

ok..

juz two days ago i saw this red cbr 150 at my void deck... sweet man..

nvr take note of the the plate no tho.. :(

how much wud a 2nd hand one cost? n since im bike 'illiterate' care to tell me wat to do when im buying a bike?

ie. to check wat parts werking or not, test this test that..

wah.. your bike power.. at gear 5 what is ur rpm? i also wan change to ur air filter.. haha.. i got the need for speed..

haha.. not sure what rpm cos too fast liao, need to keep my eyes on the road.. but i tink the needle is facing 12 o clock (only 40% sure only.. LOL). so shld b 10k? but i tink full throttle liao.. oh btw, i was carrying a pillion, ard 75kg..

hi guyz.

any height shld b ok. dun worry.. actually personally to me, the bike is more stable if more weight is on it. cos i feel more comfortable cruising 100km/hr wif pillion than when im riding alone. im 1.8m, 60kg btw..

no such thing as cbr is for gerls la.. juz try the bike in bikeshops, if u feel that u like it, then get it :thumb:

hehe, on sunday morning, went to jurong industrial park near jurong port. saw one tyre shop open.

checked with soapy water, found 1 piece of sharp metal about 10mm long (0.5mm thin). Used the standard 'T' bar with the rubber patch to poke through the hole and fix it. $6.0.

full throttle around 11rpm easily leh. I tried mine before gear 6, hugging the tank, full throttle for around 1km, hit 150kmph. I think can hit higher, 155-160 if given more guts and distance. ehhe.

Mine is 2003 FW plater btw.

u refering to Aprilia RS125 and Cagiva Mito ah? tt's the only 2 i can think of, expensive woah~~

i advise not, cuz newbies might have problem handling the power of 2-stroke bikes. newbies usually have a hard time learning about road conditions already, so why give yourself more problems by getting a bike that's harder to handle?

:sweat: my own opinion lah, dun flame me guys. :sweat:

ya it's brighter, for me, 1 side is stock 1 side is 25W, seems like the bulbs project differently, the 25W shines higher where the stock 18W shines to the floor. :smile:

same here

i had my entire headlight assembly replaced before

the old that came w/ the bike was in a seriously weak condition

i realised that my left and right headlight beam is also somewhat directed one on top of another rather than at the same level. strange, but i decided to heck it. hehe. since i only switch on 1 side of the headlight when i ride :cheeky:

so the next time u guys c a CBR w/ Repsol paintwork + silver rear box & 1 sided headlight, it should be me~

for new riders who are potentially aimming the CBR150R,

guess a FZ plate would cost somewhere ard $3K

slightly +/- abit would still be fine

for insurance, i suppose the cheapest ard would be in the region of $300-$400

good luck!

powerwise, i agree that this bike is confirmed less powerful than the other 2B sportsbikes ard, probably due to it being a 4stroke design. i personally dont think this bike suits racer-wannabes. do check out the pros & cons of 4stroke vs 2stroke engine designs yah? =)

Don,

$3K is for 1st or 2nd hand uh??

Insurance is 1st, 2nd , 3rd party one u tok abt?

im not a racer wannabe, but to me it's juz a mode of transprotation la..

i've look at both 2strokes n 4 strokes n i admit 2 strokes are more powerful

but they consume oil like no tmr! unia bo? summore nid to top up 2t..

4 strokes may be less powerful but easier to maintain rite?

im looking at scramblers too.. ktm egs 200 or wr 200..

which one u reccomend uh? cbr or those dirtbkes???

haiz.. nevre know getting a bike cud be such a hassle le...

Don,

$3K is for 1st or 2nd hand uh??

Insurance is 1st, 2nd , 3rd party one u tok abt?

im not a racer wannabe, but to me it's juz a mode of transprotation la..

i've look at both 2strokes n 4 strokes n i admit 2 strokes are more powerful

but they consume oil like no tmr! unia bo? summore nid to top up 2t..

4 strokes may be less powerful but easier to maintain rite?

im looking at scramblers too.. ktm egs 200 or wr 200..

which one u reccomend uh? cbr or those dirtbkes???

haiz.. nevre know getting a bike cud be such a hassle le...

hmm, i tink he means for 2nd hand. and the cheapest insurance is the 3rd pty one, ard $300-400..

ya, 4 stroke easier to maintain..

hmm, if ur using for transportation, dun go for scramblers cos they also eat petrol. KTM i tink is 2 stroke, FC is worse than SP.. WR is 4 stroke, but FC i duno cos i dun hav frens riding any..

just take ur time n think what u really need(or want) in a bike. then, go to bikeshops n test the bike to c if it suits u i.e riding posture, power etc.. dun rush in getting something that u will regret in the future :thumb: