am not sure wat could be e problem. can anyone provide some insights? it happens when i play games or run my itune or other applications. could it be heatsink problem or fan problem?? sheesh sounds as if my pc's gonna explode man!

• Replies 40

while runing, try stop ur fan with ur hand.. if the noise no more liao. then confirm is ur fan pro lor.. aniway , which fan u r refering ? the powersupply fan? or the fan which u added on ?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/341058511.png

dats y. i computer hero

i didn't added any fan to it, just e one tat comes w e system

Does it remain off, then turns itself on, then off again? If it is, that's the cooling fan for the entire processor system

nope it doesn't just tat whenever i run applications

Run on heavy load ???

the laptop in my office also will Sound out loudly when i on alot of applications loading

maybe its have alot of data to load ??

Ride Down the Highway the 299 way

http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii276/kellboyz/299%20AW%20cum%20Kartin%202008/PermasGoKart008-1-1-1.jpg

It is not common for fans to be turned on during heavy processing eg like playing games, video conversion, etc...

Do check the Windows Task Manager to see the CPU Usage. If it is on the high side, its not common for the fan to go to the Max (Thus causing the loud sound).

Check to see if any strange program is running in the background, this may account for the High CPU Usage.

By the way what processor are you using? Is it Dual Core? Try opening up the side case and investigate which fan is causing the sound. If its at the CPU, you may wan to upgrade to a better heatsink.

Do tell us of your findings.

From ur description ur fans might be temp controlled. Is a good sign that the fans changes speed corresponds to CPU load.

U might wanna change to a bigger heatsink/fan combo as bigger fan pushes more air at a lower speed. Full copper heatsink that conduct heat faster away from the CPU.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Heheh...good joke (yea i know you don't mean to)

If Lass' CPU fan sounds like that, I doubt WD40 would do much. In fact, that might not target the problem; the fan might be loud in nature.

Go and clean your HSF. too much dust and the fan will have to spin harder to cool down your computer.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

me also got same pronblem

but dont know how to fix

just leave it

anout 4 months liao

com still ok lor

Go and clean your HSF. too much dust and the fan will have to spin harder to cool down your computer.

i did clean up yesterdae but realise when u spin the fan manually oso got abit sound, so maybe its the bearing or wat spoilt le

It is not common for fans to be turned on during heavy processing eg like playing games, video conversion, etc...

Do check the Windows Task Manager to see the CPU Usage. If it is on the high side, its not common for the fan to go to the Max (Thus causing the loud sound).

Check to see if any strange program is running in the background, this may account for the High CPU Usage.

By the way what processor are you using? Is it Dual Core? Try opening up the side case and investigate which fan is causing the sound. If its at the CPU, you may wan to upgrade to a better heatsink.

Do tell us of your findings.

the sound usually comes on when i run i tunes, msn games so could be due to the embedded adware or something?

my Dell pc is abt 3+ yrs old so don't think it's dual core. by now warrenty oso over think over e wkend, i will open up my pc and see and do a clean up. hv to move stuff ard a tight space . will update again.

thks again :)

the sound usually comes on when i run i tunes, msn games so could be due to the embedded adware or something?

my Dell pc is abt 3+ yrs old so don't think it's dual core. by now warrenty oso over think over e wkend, i will open up my pc and see and do a clean up. hv to move stuff ard a tight space . will update again.

thks again :)

Dell PC? i'm also using Dell, having some problems with the fan too.. my com always hang while applications are loading during startup.. aft i shut down and turn it on again, the fan started running very loud (windows cannot be started).. i tried calling the Dell technical support, they told me that the CPU generating too much heat, that's why the fan running so loud..

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

Can't trust them (Tech Support) that much also. Some of them have little knowledge and follow a script in front of them. Since they are not beside you, they can only guess.

Bro, maybe its time to change the FAN. From what I know, a good fan bearing can lasts about 50000 hrs of usage. Maybe can half that amount for DELL. so 25000 / 24 / 365 = 2.8 Years. So maybe its due for a change.

I think can get the same or better fan at Sim Lim Square. Juz bring the fan along if you are not sure of the dimensions. If got more money to spend, change the Heatsink as well.

Be aware of your DELL PC. Some comes with a BTX motherboard which means the Processor is in the centre and having a Big 120mm fan blowing through it. But I doubt yours is using this. So should be easy to find a replacement.

Dell PC? i'm also using Dell, having some problems with the fan too.. my com always hang while applications are loading during startup.. aft i shut down and turn it on again, the fan started running very loud (windows cannot be started).. i tried calling the Dell technical support, they told me that the CPU generating too much heat, that's why the fan running so loud..

sounds like a common problem. i used to have tat problem b4 formatting my pc. but did they suggest u a solution to solve e fan issue otherwise ask them like not much of use like tat.

_______

IvikaRazI thks again. u hv been v helpful. i will open up and take a look, sheesh am such a techy idiot.

sounds like a common problem. i used to have tat problem b4 formatting my pc. but did they suggest u a solution to solve e fan issue otherwise ask them like not much of use like tat.

they din really suggest anything other than reformatting and say that it is common for the fan to produce loud sounds.. everytime i call, they ask me reformat, so i reformat till my hard disk had problems.. hahahaha.. after changing a new hard disk, the problem still persist.. i'm getting this hunch that it has something to do with the motherboard.. the problem is on and off 1 leh.. i tried asking them to send my CPU for checking, but they seem relunctant to do so, keep asking me to run hardware diagnostic tests :sian:

18/10/07 - 19/08/08 : Honda NSR150 SP

21/08/08 - 24/09/09 : Honda Wave S 125

02/10/09 - 22/02/12 : Yamaha X1-R

09/04/12 - 13/02/15 : Kawasaki Ninja 250R

24/12/14 - 24/02/16 : Honda Wave R 125

29/06/16 : Honda MSX 125

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s109/edalpha/DSC00291-1.jpg

the pc hw old liao??

if fan loud if something due to too dusty and clogging ..

if not did you install any new program recently, maybe those v resource hogging type?

noise fr fan or HDD, normally HDD more prone to wear tear?

processor maybe gettin old liao, time to up lorry?

you wan just open up casing and use ur normal fan directly blow la.. more effective den those internal fan, temp drop by at least 20 degree celcius..temp lower maybe fan wont spin so much den..

or save e trouble, go to sim lim troubleshoot for $20. Just gotta find those more reputable one..

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr120/rockytree/SERVER.jpg

yup i guess my pc's abt 3 yrs old and clogged. time to operate and do some cheap trouble shooting! :)

it is very simple to resolve, remove the fan n oil it.

your fan is noisy becoz it is running dry, lots of friction.

every pc fan there is a sticker at the fan chasis end.

slowly peel off half-way, u can see the shaft-end with a clip.

drip a single drop of singer oil onto it.

rotate a few hand spin on the fan.

re-paste back the sticker, u r done.

fan will rotate freely n noiselessly.

u probably need re-oil again when it run dry.

Easy... itune, VLC player and design software AND graphic intensive games (like RON, FEAR, FF) requires processor to operate at a much higher level.. when your processor are heavy loaded.. it generally heated up.. and fan starts to blow loud when the interior system gets heated up.. its actually a normal issue... the reason why when the first yr of pc (normally) doesnt occur this kind of situation is bcos the pc has not fully loaded with mp3s, games, folders and other stuffs.. as yrs goes by, your pc will get loaded by the stuff you have in your HD, and all these takes RAM to run even when its not loaded..

you have several options to do:

1) change to a much better CPU casing with better fan or cooling system

2) upgrade your overall system.. afterall 3 yrs old is consider old... i do upgrade every 9mths to 1 yr (also bcos i do design for a living & gaming)

3) you can simply ignore it, its not a serious issue.. or use winamp instead of itune cos its much a lesser ram intensive program.

4) try to download "ACE UTILITES" its helps you clear up unecessary files on drives that may hinders your startup, loading and overall performance.

This is from my years of self- build PCs knowledge for my reference :)

Hope my info helps..

Gracie

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a273/the80schihuahua/bikesmall.jpghttp://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a273/the80schihuahua/Image006-1-1.jpg

Flaws Imperfects My Perfection

all e info certainly helps, at least it gives more options to explore. :)