Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 20 2005, 07:31 PM

i wish those japs would make top-of-the line middleweight sports with a v-twin engine.

They tried, but failed, then decided to concentrate on development of inline4s. The problem is numbers.... How are you gonna tell your pals "i'm riding a 600cc bike with 40hp less than yours, but I'm enjoying it more!"

Well, the most powerful 600cc Inline4 engine comes close to matching the power of the best Japanese litre class V-twins. It will be interesting to see how modern V-twin sportsbikes would be like if the Japanese guys developed them.

• Replies 17.1k

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 21 2005, 12:31 AM

and the RR isn that much more expensive than the gixx and the R6. more by 500 to 1k onli. i donno the kawa, i only looked around these 3 when i was shopping.

$500 to 1K may look less on face value.

looking deeper into running cost is another factor liao.

Gixxr - my concern is the engine rebuild/tunning.Yes,the gearbox is sweet but with a engine parts thats weak.i have my concern.(did experiance rebuild on my ex-Gixxr M/N/P model b4....at unexpected times)

R6 - thats a yummy little thing.but since ride a -01R1 b4 liao.dun really see myself in the same thing again.i have fear for 1st batch high-tech bikes(atless from the yummy family....knn...dun even bother to count the amt of $/time spend just to "make good".:mad:

Z636 - best within the 600 grp - but i wasnt even interested to look.sorry.....personal option.:smile:

RR5 - same old boring technology.....never the Fastest/max bhp/most suit 4 track.....but provide reasonable riding quarlity all day/nite.:cheer:

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

Originally posted by AlvZz@Dec 20 2005, 11:54 PM

anyone interested in solo seater complete RCV 211 Replica??

u meant the rear section is replace with the replica single seater?

PM the price...or was it a MO? :thumb:

next wrreid thing for me is a BOX....on de RR5. lolz :cheeky:

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Dec 21 2005, 02:17 AM

whereas i dun have chance to do it using a litre bike in SG (speeding big time)

thats "one" of the variable factor involve with riding a 1L bike in SG.

nowadays so many hidden/expose/overhead cams......it damn hard to stick to de "right" side of de law.:nono:

while sticking to de "right" side of de law....the engine werent even at 30%....and carbon start to buildup....performance reducted...."find plc to clear carbon"....and the whole cycle repeats itself. lolz :faint:

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Dec 21 2005, 02:19 AM

Mechwira : bought ur full face??

yeah i just did actually

http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/420/1217/320/blog.jpg

i'm the one on the left obviously :sweat:

sweet, sweet bonus..... :clap:

HJC CL-14 for 180 and Rjay's air mesh for 180. pls dun ask me why i didn get shoei and arai.....

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 21 2005, 02:30 AM

They tried, but failed, then decided to concentrate on development of inline4s. The problem is numbers.... How are you gonna tell your pals "i'm riding a 600cc bike with 40hp less than yours, but I'm enjoying it more!"

Well, the most powerful 600cc Inline4 engine comes close to matching the power of the best Japanese litre class V-twins. It will be interesting to see how modern V-twin sportsbikes would be like if the Japanese guys developed them.

heck, if a veteran rider pulls up beside me on a vespa and claims he's enjoying his vespa more than a hardcore sportsbike, i believe him. if impressing my buddies is most important to me, i'd have gotten a litre class.

my opinions regardign v-twins remain the same:

i wish suzuki would tune up their SV650 and SV1000 engine and then put them in gsx quality chassis and call it the new TLR600 and TLR1000.

or honda would update their VTR engine and put it in a similar "rcv-inspired" chassis and call it the VTR-1000SP3.

something like that. essentially a v-twin as "works" as their current inline4. ur right, they failed; i just wish they didn and i could have a viable choice between v-twin and inline4 works bike today. i touch heart and tell u i would have picked the v-twin had the japs succeeded in this. i am an inline4 fan today because there isn any successful jap v-twin.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Seat cowl from POWERBRONZE - Std. color - approx $190.00.

Complete Solo seat RCV 211 Replica from Italy - Mad Doctor - $450.00 or less.

any1 interested....maybe more ppl order den the price maybe lower...???

Cbr600RR

05 RR with laser extreme moving around north east area~ :cheeky:

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Dec 21 2005, 02:19 AM

Enjoy : How's everything man? hope u love it like i do :smile:

Mechwira : bought ur full face??

Haha, of course i do. No regrets on picking my first sports bike to be CBR600RR which happens to be ur bike. Most probably going to send the front cowl for respray next month because something hitted it and one of the portion got chipped off. Also because of some scars (stone chips?) on it.

Still getting myself to get used to the posture (very long hor, haha), at least it's so much better now rather than the first day when i took it from u. Within 5 mins, my back and neck was aching, hands numb, realised how comfortable super4 is.

Yet to collect the signals from Neo (hehe, sorry!) cos really too busy in camp and shifting house.

actualy v-twin is smooth & pull like a silk.

true that v-twin has less BHP output.

but it "torque" that helps move a bike/car not BHP.

i quite like the VTR1000Sp-1/2 but design abit dated liao.

Originally posted by hockie69@Dec 21 2005, 06:51 PM

actualy v-twin is smooth & pull like a silk.

true that v-twin has less BHP output.

but it "torque" that helps move a bike/car not BHP.

yeaahhhh.....

sums up why in an ideal world where the japs roll out top-of-the-line v-twin sports alongside their inline4's, i'd have picked the v-twin.

i quite like the VTR1000Sp-1/2 but design abit dated liao.

and yeah, sums up why in this real world where the japs don't roll out said v-twins, how can i pick anything other than an inline4.

i'd like to ask something about aftermarket pipe for our bikes.

i notice our end-can isn a 'bolt-on' or 'slip-on' type like the others. is it to install the aftermarket end-can, one must cut off the stock end can and weld the aftermarket end can to the flow pipe? if yes, does this then mean that our bikes cannot easily change between stock and aftermarket pipes as when the owner decides?

full system i can see must cut and weld right at the header and cannot easily interchange, so not much confusion there.

thanx vets.

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 22 2005, 02:36 AM

i'd like to ask something about aftermarket pipe for our bikes.

i notice our end-can isn a 'bolt-on' or 'slip-on' type like the others. is it to install the aftermarket end-can, one must cut off the stock end can and weld the aftermarket end can to the flow pipe? if yes, does this then mean that our bikes cannot easily change between stock and aftermarket pipes as when the owner decides?

full system i can see must cut and weld right at the header and cannot easily interchange, so not much confusion there.

thanx vets.

for aftermarket slip-on for cbr600rr, its come with a mid pipe and a end can

look at the area around brake lever, somewhere below that..

stock end can will remove from there.. its 1 piece straight from e bottom to e end can

so the aftermarket midpipe will start from there, extend all e way up

and then fix e end can

hope u can visually.. im not gd at explaining...

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

ah so. thanx for the clarification.

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 22 2005, 01:53 AM

and yeah, sums up why in this real world where the japs don't roll out said v-twins, how can i pick anything other than an inline4.

inline4 is cheaper to mfg & cheaper to run.

unlike V-twin.....so "cost" could be the reason.

true that V-twin NEW model is getting lesser by the year.sigh

a pix....tell it all.

the end can slip-on actualy comes with another extendsion pipe for the slip-on end can.

http://www.hardracing.com/images/MC600RR.JPG

so for the RR4/5...the end can "slip-on" package comes with "endcan + mid pipe".

getting a "end can" only...will not fit without the mid pipe.:cheeky:

yeah i guess i got confused by the conventional terms 'bolt-on' and 'slip-on'. last time the terms were literal whereas today i guess if its not a full system then its termed 'bolt-on' or 'slip-on'.

interesting to see how the pipe manufacturers will make exhaust systems for the r6 and gsxr6k6. those look like need specially designed pipes specific to its model. gotta be expensive.

last time...bike no under tray exhaust mah.

almost all were refer to as "muffler"...now it term "end can".lolz

and all are bolt-on or DiY slip-on.....now...every thing factory-made.:smile:

now for 06 is "fat & short" exhaust...lolz :cheeky:

guys,just like to find out from u guys on the below part & it price in sg.

how much would a tank bra for RR5 cost at motorworld?

http://www.bagster.com/en/moto/newcata/1495A.jpg

and

Zero Gravity dbl-bubble windscreens for RR5

reason for asking...cos dun want to feel chopped...when i went down next mth. :cheeky:

thanks !

Originally posted by hockie69@Dec 22 2005, 10:29 PM

reason for asking...cos dun want to feel chopped...when i went down next mth. :cheeky:

I believed that the pricing at motoworld is pretty firm, not much of variation between different ppl unless u know them damn well.

Got no idea how much it costs :cheeky:

okie....had my 1st experiance with them today...lolz

anyway..the tank bra is $155. order mine today liao.shd be in b4 CNY.:bounce:

*saw a black RR5 fitting de tank bra while i was there...wonder was it a fellow member here.:smile:

but they dun have Zero Gravity dbl-bubble windscreens .

any idea where can i find it in local ?

Originally posted by hockie69@Dec 23 2005, 06:57 PM

okie....had my 1st experiance with them today...lolz

anyway..the tank bra is $155. order mine today liao.shd be in b4 CNY.:bounce:

*saw a black RR5 fitting de tank bra while i was there...wonder was it a fellow member here.:smile:

but they dun have Zero Gravity dbl-bubble windscreens .

any idea where can i find it in local ?

heard mah motor have ZG wind screen for $130 if i'm not wrong . but i did not get mine from them

http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s190/redsuns74/FP3762J-1_zps552ea30c.jpg
Originally posted by hockie69@Dec 23 2005, 11:35 PM

noted.

which mah motor huh? the huge 1 or de 1 opps SLT ? :help:

Unity at alexandra village selling ZG too

was quote $110 for tinted double bubble for 04 in July

not sure for 05, mayb can try ur luck :thumb:

shld be the big mah opp fire station :smile:

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

noted.

will go dwn mah to have a look.(nearier to home).

jialat....yet to collect bike...buy parts liao...lolz :sweat:

thanks.:thumb: