[Group] SBF Honda Sonic

Axxis

help!! help!!

I tested my Sonic yesterday and it stops at 110kph!! Doesn't matter what I do it wouldn't go over 120 :( 4th gear max about 105kph but changed to 5th gear didn't make it faster.

all bros, can you tell me if it is normal for a stock sonic or something wrong with my bike leh?

• Replies 907

Originally posted by srs125@Oct 31 2005, 07:57 AM

help!! help!!

I tested my Sonic yesterday and it stops at 110kph!! Doesn't matter what I do it wouldn't go over 120 :( 4th gear max about 105kph but changed to 5th gear didn't make it faster.

all bros, can you tell me if it is normal for a stock sonic or something wrong with my bike leh?

Seems a bit slow... Is the bike new? Maybe you have to give it some time for the engine to free up.

The other question is how big are you and how much do you weigh?

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

I'm around 60+kg so not that heavy lah!! I asked because last time when I was riding with my friend, we got nearly 120 but I didn't push for more due to the vibration. I just don't want to think that my Sonic will run faster under heavy load, don't want to get fat hehe!!

Originally posted by srs125@Nov 14 2005, 03:41 PM

I'm around 60+kg so not that heavy lah!! I asked because last time when I was riding with my friend, we got nearly 120 but I didn't push for more due to the vibration. I just don't want to think that my Sonic will run faster under heavy load, don't want to get fat hehe!!

Don't worry. Should be the lighter/smaller (less wind resistance also helps) the rider the less drag and therefore higher top speed. Could be poorly balanced wheels (extra vibration) poor tuning, bad fuel etc etc. Maybe just a badly calibrated speedo. Maybe you're already doing 130 and dun know it. Thai speedo's aren't exactly known for their accuracy.

=p

Previous rides:

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Selling my Sonic.

Honda Sonic RS125 Latest Model.

FY Plate 6 mths old.

Black

Meileage only 6k

Stock Engine.

Well Run In. (Hard Run In)

Just change Engine Oil and Spark Plug

Racing Foot Rest

Steel Braided Hoses

Wavey Disc Brake

Many Posh Assesories.

Road Tax till April 2006.

Slight scratches on exhaust as i accidently drop the bike. Stock can be bought at FJT for only $80 brand new. Other then that no more damages.

Will up load more Pics when available.

Asking $3.2k

Call or SMS 98893880

http://www.singaporebikes.com/classifieds/...hp?siteid=19426

http://img27.exs.cx/img27/7286/juon4ff.gif

Something Strange in my office...

i am new to this topic... planning to get a sonic soon...

2000 -- Daelim 125 | 2001 -- VFR400 NC30

2001 -- GSXR400 | 2002 -- Super4 spec2

2002 -- Fireblade400 | 2003 -- VFR800 Vtec

2005 -- Suzuki RaiderR150 | 2006 -- Kia Rio 1.6 HB

2009 -- Super4 Revo | 2009 -- HD VRSCD

2010 -- HD Softail Heritage | 2010 BMW R1150RT

http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d79/menphis3435/gals/miwaoshiro0287uh-1.jpg

seems like its not moving in here... where is everyone?

Originally posted by menphis@Nov 26 2005, 07:26 PM

seems like its not moving in here... where is everyone?

Originally posted by menphis@Nov 24 2005, 12:34 AM

i am new to this topic... planning to get a sonic soon...

Still considering or gonna get a Raider 150?

Previous rides:

Originally posted by Axxis@Dec 1 2005, 01:50 PM

Still considering or gonna get a Raider 150?

mostly getting sonic..

as raider still not news when will be on the rd yet..

and the bike is still so new.. will monitor the feedbacks for raider..

whats your opinion?

hi riders,

wanna ask something

went to view a sonic today, when i used my lighter to knock e exhaust stomach and endcan...both sounded obviously hollow...does this mean e bike has been tong?

if e stomach hollow perhaps can understand cos its quite narrow, perhaps can't fit stoppers...but how bout e end-can?

btw, e pickup of this bike is great:)

UNHAPPY with shell?

Take your money elsewhere then. I did.

Originally posted by bgoy@Dec 4 2005, 06:41 PM

hi riders,

wanna ask something

went to view a sonic today, when i used my lighter to knock e exhaust stomach and endcan...both sounded obviously hollow...does this mean e bike has been tong?

if e stomach hollow perhaps can understand cos its quite narrow, perhaps can't fit stoppers...but how bout e end-can?

btw, e pickup of this bike is great:)

wow...bgoy wan to buy new toy leh.... start the engine than u know and hear lorx/... :cheeky: :smile:

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/58/48/10578485/1_668100193l.jpg

SP150- feb 2005

Y125Z- mar/apr 2006

SPEC III- may 2006

K7 600- aug 2007

Honda Fit/Jess 2009

Soulshine... better than sunshine, better than moonshine

Damn sure better than rain...:cool:

MERGED THREAD

Topic : what the difference between cubs

Description : care to give ur views?

Hi guys, just got a honda sonic recently. but can't seem to get much information from the web abt the bike.

Anyone care to run thro the specs n some comparisons?

Originally posted by dorbi@Jan 11 2006, 01:11 AM

Hi guys, just got a honda sonic recently. but can't seem to get much information from the web abt the bike.

Anyone care to run thro the specs n some comparisons?

Much of the information on the web about sonics is on thai sites and in Thai language. Either way you got yourself one of the best cubs.

Sonic is Liquid cooled, 5spd with clutch and normal shifting and also full length front forks as well as a rear mono-shock. It handles MUCH better than other cubs like waves, X1 etc. So much so that they force the sonics to race against the 2-stroke cubs (125z's) in the local cub races at Kallang. If this isn't a clear sign that a sonic is better I don't know what is.

Most cubs are air cooled with a 4 spd, auto-clutch gearbox, non full length forks and twin rear shocks.

HEAPS of aftermarket parts available in Thailand for sonics. Sadly not so many in Singapore because ppl very relac and prefer ride a cub without a clutch. In Thailand the Sonic is the No.1 selling cub.

The one 4 stroke cub that kicks a sonics butt is the Raider 150. Similar but better. 150cc DOHC with a 6 speed box on this one. Best way to get your sonic to outrun this baby is get a CBR150 DOHC head fitted to your sonic. There is atleast one in Singapore with this modification.

And then if you want outright speed/power the yamaha 125z (125cc 2-stroke) is considerably faster. Also comes with a 6-speed box but not full length forks like the sonic.

ps. If you bought your sonic brand new then make sure you change your tires. NOW! The stock IRC's are dangerous. Esp at this time of year when it's constantly raining.

Previous rides:

i also just bought a sonic recently. just wanna clarify something bout the gear shift. my 1st gear is shift up. dan the rest is shift down. basically is the opposite of most normal bikes(other dan cubs). this is normal gear shift for sonic rite?

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y59/i_luff_21/Jingle/special.jpg