What? you mean you still need self defence? At zouk saw you punching and kicking koyok like a professional TKD expert, you really mean you still need to learn for self defence?? :p :D I guess koyok need to learn for HIS own self defence. :D

Wah!!! go zouk nv jio lor!!! Koyok this coming Wed Zouk 11th Anniversary. Free entry for all. In future, Ladies will get free entry oso. Wanna go??? Jingle going oso???

• Replies 392

He'll make sure that you do break fall until you tolong ah~! :lol:

Break fall is nothing as compared to doing SPLITS!

Splits are overrated... Able to do a good breakfall is alot more useful....

yeah especially for bikers! It does help save lifes at certain extend.

haha... i think the hand break first sia... :smile:

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/98/44/3454489/6076769946073l.jpg

~Fast As Lightn|ng~

Keep pushing yourself. Be patient with yourself. Learning takes time and perseverance. Enjoy the process.

Spread your wings and fly.

hmm.....i wunder if anyone here learns Aikido as well.....cos i know the basics but dunno how to apply :D

\"Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak.

Courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen.\"

- Winston Churchill

Hmm . . . think Aikido & Tai Ji Quan (the sparring kind) are good for gals for self defence, since they teach techniques for defeating a larger opponent by using their force against themselves . . .

\"The arrows turn, the swords rebel;

may nothing pierce this mortal shell !\"

Agree ONLY if you can find a real Tai Chi Master who is trained in the combative part of the style. Not those who only know how to do the movements.

Guest *Garnet*

hey, my bro said he is giving private taekwondo lessons... if anyone of u interested, pls pm me abt the rates :)

I just wish to let you guys know, orignal TKD includes lotsa self-defence, incl. breaking fall techniques, tongfa, knife defence, sparring & patterns, pole pattern, defence and sparring etc...Therefore, it is not just constraint to kicking and punching.

You didnt know this cos only the pioneer group of TKD instructors learn these.

BTW, there is no TKD in the army and police anymore, for your info. Only tactical defence techniques taught by their own "trainers", who may or may not be certified blackbelts.

All forms of martial art is good, both for fitness and self-defence.

Example : A yellow belt (karate) can spar better than a blue (TKD) does not mean TKD is no good. It is how well you understand the various techniques and it's execution, together with practise that makes the difference.

Just pursue any martial art forms that you have interest in and do not let others desuade you from learning, as they do not understand the true form and meaning.

Anyone here taking part in the Coming "Sanshou" compeition?

Strength & Honor

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11111/Rune_large_10.jpg

Hi pingster,

Ur junior black belt must be poom belt i.e. with black & red colour, u can convert to black belt 1st dan but need to go for grading or test. Check with ur instructor too.

Originally posted by madman@Feb 5 2005, 11:50 AM

I just wish to let you guys know, orignal TKD includes lotsa self-defence, incl. breaking fall techniques, tongfa, knife defence, sparring & patterns, pole pattern, defence and sparring etc...Therefore, it is not just constraint to kicking and punching.

BTW, there is no TKD in the army and police anymore, for your info. Only tactical defence techniques taught by their own "trainers", who may or may not be certified blackbelts.

Example : A yellow belt (karate) can spar better than a blue (TKD) does not mean TKD is no good. It is how well you understand the various techniques and it's execution, together with practise that makes the difference.

Just pursue any martial art forms that you have interest in and do not let others desuade you from learning, as they do not understand the true form and meaning.

ya ya i agreee. if u dont understand wad u r learning, better dont waste time. last time my void deck alot of those TKD kidz show off coz they are learning it. den one day me and my frenz cannot tahan go and scold them off they pattern pattern here and there my frenz one kick on his tummy he cry liao. kns! no offence to those learning TKD but if want to learn better know how to use it, if not pattern liao liao no use leh.. :sweat: :sweat:

Thai Amulets do not produce instant miracles. Wear it with faiths and a good heart. Eventually you will see the effect.

Im letting go some of my thai amulets which I had collected throughout the years when I go to Thailand. Do PM me if you are looking for something which u cant find in my post, I might have it. Thanks :)

Regarding change from poom to black i don tink need to go grading, but i also forgot how to convert liao... :sweat: :confused:

its been a quite some time since i've not been training le due to work schedules etc

well as to how i kn is cos i'm black belt ma. keke ...

:smile: :smile: :smile:

* tO eRR iS HuMaNe ; tO foRgiVe iS DiViNe *

Originally posted by 13randon@Feb 13 2005, 02:39 AM

ya ya i agreee. if u dont understand wad u r learning, better dont waste time. last time my void deck alot of those TKD kidz show off coz they are learning it. den one day me and my frenz cannot tahan go and scold them off they pattern pattern here and there my frenz one kick on his tummy he cry liao. kns! no offence to those learning TKD but if want to learn better know how to use it, if not pattern liao liao no use leh.. :sweat: :sweat:

TKD is not meant for outside fighting , it to learn some self defense and confidents. Maybe if next time your friends feel not happy about their pattern around , do fight them in the ring but not going around and hit them. thanks :thumb:

There are champions awaiting for challanges like your friend there

A New Rider A New Bike A New Hope ~!

~~TA200 Phantom custom 4 ~ 2004 to 2006

A old Rider , A old Bike but still A New Hope~!

~~Dragstar 4TR custom 2006 to 2007

A forgotten Rider, An old legend, A returned Hope~!

~~VMax12 2007 to 2007

A returned Rider, Another legend, forever hope~!

~~Shadow400 2009 ...

Originally posted by Alexander2004@Feb 21 2005, 01:48 AM

TKD is not meant for outside fighting , it to learn some self defense and confidents. Maybe if next time your friends feel not happy about their pattern around , do fight them in the ring but not going around and hit them. thanks :thumb:

There are champions awaiting for challanges like your friend there

those who understand taekwondo will not do street fight.

I learned Karate, TKD and Aikido. All martial art emphasize on 'DAO' .. is the art of patience.

Is how well you control your kick/punch but how hard you kick, is how well you control your temper but not how well you can street fight :)

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA homepage

Warcraft 3 Singapore Clan BALA Forum

My Computer

My Photo Album

http://www.geocities.com/sean_toh/signature1.JPG

Originally posted by madman@Feb 5 2005, 11:50 AM

madman, i am consider lucky where joining kinda 'original' TKD and have opportunity to learn all these you mentioned.

Just to further emphasize how the TKD formed and how it being splitted.

Taekwondo is origin from Korea.. however, when Korea being splitted to North Korea and South Korea, the Taekwondo also being splited to ITF and WTF.

ITF stand for International Taekwondo Federation and WTF stand for World Taekwondo Federation.

Unfortunately, the founder of the TKD is at North Korea, and is fall under ITF. North Korea is a communist country and the martial art there is not recognised by Olympic.

Where the WTF (which not the origin TKD) is fall under the non-communist country. Where the Olympic is recognised it.

So, what we are looking in the TV or what you have learned in Sinagpore is actually WTF but not the founder's ITF.

In last 3 years, when the founder passed away, sadly to say that the TKD being further splitted. and now, we hardly see the 'original' TKD now.

The differences between ITF and WTF is different emphzsis. ITF emphasis on the art but WTF emphasis on the sport.

Further info you can PM me :)

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

My Computer

My Photo Album

i haf done enshin karate, shitoryu karate, tkd and a little bit of kick boxing in sec school days. actually very fun because you learn a lot of things but the training very xiong, was training with the national team but cannot make it la leg too short :cry:

Hi all... i am into taekwondo too..

Not many people is keen on this sport

Originally posted by 13randon@Feb 13 2005, 02:39 AM

You should be ashamed of yourself.....hitting small kids. You should know that they don't think like adult. :mad:

Try someone you own size.

http://www.bikeland.org/images/articles/2006-ZX10R/0610R02.jpg

2006 ZX10R

Originally posted by hugen@Feb 28 2005, 11:19 AM

i haf done enshin karate, shitoryu karate, tkd and a little bit of kick boxing in sec school days. actually very fun because you learn a lot of things but the training very xiong, was training with the national team but cannot make it la leg too short :cry:

i am from Karate (black belt) to TKD (black 2nd Dan) and now to Aikido (White !!!)

HAHAHAHA

SPIRIT OF DRAGSTAR

My Blogspot

My Computer

My Photo Album

I have my black belt 1st Dan for 2 years and 2 mths now but have not been training ever since...... Want to go for 2nd dan but no time and I forgot all my patterns le..... sianz..... :sian: