What is the reasonable price for a 10 years COE for motorcycle?  

165 members have voted

1. 1. What is the reasonable price for a 10 years COE for motorcycle?

• Below $2,000.00
    • $2,001.00 to $3,999.00
    • $4,000.00 and above

• Replies 1.1k

Eg, A $30 cheap material helm with PSB is approved, but a $800 helm with the best material and approved by international racing standard is not PSB approved by our clever Cheng hu!!!

Is like telling me that plastic is more harder than diamond and force me to believe it! How am i going to believed those shiit!!! I not a idiot leh... :cry:

I only had N-level, i don't like to study, i work from below to the current executive lvl.

I had work hard in order to get my current position, but my salary was not high compare to other executive.

My boss told me even i go from ITE, dip or even U my salary also won't up much so don't waste $ and time.

So why? Because there are tons of outside FT merit degree or master that can match our pay with their outstanding paper. Even local degree also a lots every year how to fight with them with our not so colourful paper. We can only survive with our long years of experience and upgrade ourself thur new improving idea within our jobs.

We pay and eat here so no choices, while they can save and spend at their country with much advantages.

This one i agree....

If just based on papers ar... Juz forget it... Have u take a look at what the f.t papers had?

Genuine or not....

Without experience and only papers, we will be replaced with a click of the mouse...

Let's refocus on the COE issue... :) yes we all have our own frustrations and unfortunately, sometimes it doesn't really matter what we think...

So let's try to do something for the Bike COE as a small community.

1. Don't buy COE through dealer.

2. Bid for COE ourselves.

Spread the news to our non internet friends and try to start a movement. Maybe call it DOC... Death Of COE plan... just for bike :)

Who knows we might be able to salvage the one little happiness we have in singapore. Low cost transportation. With only fuel cost to content... until the day we can run bikes using air... :)

Ride safe!

I see in singapore

Even when technology can run bikes using air... That too will impose some kind of new law to generate income

Hahaha

This is unlikely to work. The dealer represents the majority of the riders, most of whom are not even in this forum. So you will be in the minority and get out-bid.

Secondly, even if you bid successfully for a COE, what makes you think a dealer will sell you a bike at a good price? The fact that you didn't get the COE through the dealer means he has less space to manipulate the price, so it is not to his advantage for you to get your own COE. He is unlikely to support such customer behavior.

Let's refocus on the COE issue... :) yes we all have our own frustrations and unfortunately, sometimes it doesn't really matter what we think...

So let's try to do something for the Bike COE as a small community.

1. Don't buy COE through dealer.

2. Bid for COE ourselves.

Spread the news to our non internet friends and try to start a movement. Maybe call it DOC... Death Of COE plan... just for bike :)

Who knows we might be able to salvage the one little happiness we have in singapore. Low cost transportation. With only fuel cost to content... until the day we can run bikes using air... :)

Ride safe!

This is unlikely to work. The dealer represents the majority of the riders, most of whom are not even in this forum. So you will be in the minority and get out-bid.

Secondly, even if you bid successfully for a COE, what makes you think a dealer will sell you a bike at a good price? The fact that you didn't get the COE through the dealer means he has less space to manipulate the price, so it is not to his advantage for you to get your own COE. He is unlikely to support such customer behavior.

This I agreed with you partially , and gov needs to change to change the system to individually bidding system. However I disagree with you on the bike price without COE. In fact if they dont sell it you at market rate then we just select other dealers or manufacturer, remember they need to push sale, buy now the trump card is in our hand, is a diff story if the system belongs to the individual system.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

I only had N-level, i don't like to study, i work from below to the current executive lvl.

I had work hard in order to get my current position, but my salary was not high compare to other executive.

My boss told me even i go from ITE, dip or even U my salary also won't up much so don't waste $ and time.

So why? Because there are tons of outside FT merit degree or master that can match our pay with their outstanding paper. Even local degree also a lots every year how to fight with them with our not so colourful paper. We can only survive with our long years of experience and upgrade ourself thur new improving idea within our jobs.

We pay and eat here so no choices, while they can save and spend at their country with much advantages.

Same, during most of exams in sec school, i only bring a pen and write my name and date down and just sleep.

Between classmates we also compare who's got the lowest mark of cos a big zero is always a winner. I always got A1,A2 or best B3....1 out of 20 is A1....lol.

That's why it is important to select a career that you will only get more ex when you have more experiences. 5 years ago, I decide to embark on another journey, 2 years ago a mid career change. Looking back at my peers, I am glad I made the change. Most are still struck with stagnant pay and still whining till now whenever we have our gathering. What to do...

The only constant is changes.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Well, have you actually tried this yourself? Do you know of anyone who managed to get his own COE and got a fair price from any dealer?

This I agreed with you partially , and gov needs to change to change the system to individually bidding system. However I disagree with you on the bike price without COE. In fact if they dont sell it you at market rate then we just select other dealers or manufacturer, remember they need to push sale, buy now the trump card is in our hand, is a diff story if the system belongs to the individual system.
Agreed i was in a same situation 5 years ago with PRC around me getting cheaper and working longer I am afraid. During that time I was thinking what can I do to improve the situation?

By voting out the white? Which I did vote for WP.

By whining and trolling the internet?

Well, what I did was is to told myself be better than them, simple?

I also told myself I need to double my salary in 5 years time. Now I am very near to the mark not there yet but very close.

Out of my 19 bikes none one of them is more than 10k and except the first 1 all of them is paid in cold hard cash, I used those money which many of you used for payment for new bike to study and improve. Out of 19 bikes I got 2 lemons and sold them within 3 months.

FYI, I failed my O level and I got 2 ITE cert, 2 diploma and a degree coming soon and I spend time to learn and improve my own field of profession when I had a mid career change 2 years ago, well my life did gets better. Did a bit of investment as well. Well, when transport price goes up I am happy, means more dividend for me. I sometimes like to move against the odds.

Rather than to wait for things happen, I rather make things happen

Just for sharing. Of course you can beg to differ, LOL.

I applaud you for achieving all those paper qualifications to better yourself. I could also do the same with whatever qualifications I have which i choose not to list out but I do not want to live in debts my entire life. :)

COE is now a means to generate revenue. The idea of stopping congestion using it is already over. They know, we know, everybody knows.

I'm now thinking what if in the COE game we take out the "10 years duration" and make it life long, like how our driving licenses changed from collecting annually to a one-time payment. What do you think?

Same goes for ERP. The excuse of preventing jams during peak hours for those going into CBD was used to justify the implementation of the ERP system. Did it work? I mean really work? then you have the pay for the IU so as to go through these gantries and your cash card amount gets deducted. Its simply paying them for a device so you can pay them again. After the warranty is over and the device gets spoilt you pay for a new device so you can use it to pay them again. :sian:

I may sound xenophobic. But why do we allow so much foreign plate bikes to be in Singapore? The VEP they pay can hardly match up to our COE, and they are taking up the space on the road which we pay heavily for. Wanna ride a bike in Singapore? Sure, just buy a Singapore plate bike or pay the same in VEP. Malaysia can do the same to us for all I care. I'll respect them even more since they are genuinely protecting their citizens from having to suffer the inflation brought about by trans-border spending.
Not to forget these foreign plated vehicles can have the most illegal modifications don eon their vehicles but our law enforcers cannot even touch them for these. Sometimes I wonder if they really do have a legit licence or even insurance and etc. :rolleyes:

My friend when COE price goes up, the 2nd hand re sale bike price will eventually goes up together! For those who need it will suffer! By then 1.5K you can't event buy a second hand bike unless the condition is very bad that you have to pay event more for repaired or replacement of parts!

COE has surge so... HIGH is an unnecessary cost burden for the lower income bikers and also for those new bikers! Debits, High Debits and Highest Debits for those who take longer loan!

( Your salary can sub stain the loan now but how about later?)

I saw Dayo Wong talk show (黃子華《洗燥》棟篤笑2012), he said: how to save money and is money enough, if now the cost of living is so high and your salary not competitive! US so a big country is in debits and many others as well, worst is countries can goes bankrupt! Can anyone tell how much money does these countries owe the debits!

I don't want to be a slavery to Debits, that you have to work day and night paying Debit, Debits, DEBITss!

I think you meant 'debts' and not 'debits'. :sweat:

This one i agree....

If just based on papers ar... Juz forget it... Have u take a look at what the f.t papers had?

Genuine or not....

Without experience and only papers, we will be replaced with a click of the mouse...

I see in singapore

Even when technology can run bikes using air... That too will impose some kind of new law to generate income

Hahaha

I concur. Just look at the qualifications these so called FTs have? And they are younger which means more physically able and can work for the company longer. As a born and bred citizen of this tiny island I too have been set back 2+ years in studies. Still having the liability of reservists. Of course a company would prefer cheaper and those without disruptions from work to work for them. Some have masters etc. and they are only in their early and mid 20s. :eek:

I wonder if their qualifications are even legit. :cool:

Edited by duo

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

My only debt is housing. All bikes paid in cold hard cash.

Saving can at least tide me through 2 years of jobless life for me and my family.

My only debt is housing. All bikes paid in cold hard cash.

Saving can at least tide me through 2 years of jobless life for me and my family.

Cool!! That the right way to live man.

Some just blindly go into impulse buying without checking on their financial status.

Coe high yes but if personnel transport a must?? We have come to a point where all luxury items become necessity. Now we Camo. Do away with Alot of so called "necessity"

There only two way to go about it.

1)Work for it and achieve it.

2)live without it.

Some might be offended by this but im just stating my opinion.

Why some ppl can live happily with very little but other suffering with the small amount??

It all in the thinking which our environment had mold us into. What ppl have I must have also but is it a necessity?? Well only you can answer.

Not here to debate but I do agreed something had to be done to control some of the system in place however instead of having a mindset of what the country can do for u, we should move on to what we can do for the ourselves.

This might sound bullshit to other but this is the real world.

http://img220.exs.cx/img220/7457/gforcesig1hc.jpg
Cool!! That the right way to live man.

Some just blindly go into impulse buying without checking on their financial status.

Coe high yes but if personnel transport a must?? We have come to a point where all luxury items become necessity. Now we Camo. Do away with Alot of so called "necessity"

There only two way to go about it.

1)Work for it and achieve it.

2)live without it.

Some might be offended by this but im just stating my opinion.

Why some ppl can live happily with very little but other suffering with the small amount??

It all in the thinking which our environment had mold us into. What ppl have I must have also but is it a necessity?? Well only you can answer.

Not here to debate but I do agreed something had to be done to control some of the system in place however instead of having a mindset of what the country can do for u, we should move on to what we can do for the ourselves.

This might sound bullshit to other but this is the real world.

To live or survive? There is a big difference. :rolleyes:

Its not just about buying. But having to take loans like housing loans, study loans and etc. Not forgetting medical expenses. Human beings do fall sick from time to time. ;)

Camo what? Sorry but I fail to understand your camo sentence. :(

And by happy how do you know? Just by outlook? Or did you ask them? Also how happy is truly happy? They may seem happy on the outside but not on the inside. Same as them saying they are happy but hiding all the problems inside. Perhaps a more suitable word to use is 'content'. :cool:

Edited by duo

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Sorry for the typo.

Its cannot instead of Camo.

Well, bad choice of word here. I apologize for that and let me rephrase it. Content with what you have. You might have a different view on it when I mean that some are content "happy" with their lives and yes I do mean it. Of course human u should know, we always want better but some live within their means or below their means.

It more of working within own means and meet the basic need instead of getting a flashy car to show off.

So when ppl complain about high Coe, then I will ask is the bike a necessity??

If u need for work okay then no choice however I believe all the rider are paid for using their own transport.

Some dispatch using cl 2 bike for work if not they own two bike. One for hobby another for work.

Lastly FYI we taking about high COE here and not about loan which if u ask me I will have a different approach toward that as I felt that cannot do without. . What I want to highlight here is. If bike is not a necessity then either u work hard for it if not live without it.

Sorry for the typo.

Well, bad choice of word here. I apologize for that and let me rephrase it. Content with what you have. You might have a different view on it when I mean that some are content "happy" with their lives and yes I do mean it. Of course human u should know, we always want better but some live within their means or below their means.

It more of working within own means and meet the basic need instead of getting a flashy car to show off.

If u need for work okay then no choice however I believe all the rider are paid for using their own transport.

Some dispatch using cl 2 bike for work if not they own two bike. One for hobby another for work.

Lastly FYI we taking about high COE here and not about loan which if u ask me I will have a different approach toward that as I felt that cannot do without. . What I want to highlight here is. If bike is not a necessity then either u work hard for it if not live without it.

Riders are paid for using their own transport but its not a significant amount. Its just a mere few dollars more. You did mention spending. Spending covers a big area. Loans are also spending. Just like how loans are taken up to pay for COE and not just bikes. Perhaps you have been hanging around with lazybums? Because an awful lot of those I know are always busy working not one but two jobs or more to cope with rising costs. And they do need the bike to get from the different job locations due to time constraint. So can they complain about the expensive COE then? :rolleyes:

https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/singaporeans-cars-160000017.html

What Will it Take to Get Singaporeans to Give Up Their Cars?

The public transport have to really improve a lot. Breakdowns are so common like how you never win in Toto or 4D. Not forgetting the fare hike. :cool:

Lastly something for ease the tension. http:// http://www.caarly.com/quiz/driving-in-singapore/

Edited by duo

KRGT-1

A person can only be content if he does not have to worry about money.

If not for the high COE, a motorbike is easily the cheapest practical form of transportation due to its low gas consumption, cheap maintenance and yet gives you maximum mobility. It's even cheaper if you use the bike for 2 persons instead of going solo.

The problem with Sg is that everything is "affordable" when considered on its own. But once you combine all the costs (transport, education, healthcare, housing, etc), then it becomes damn unaffordable for many people. A high COE just adds to this burden.

It's no wonder that Singapore is one of the most stressful and least happy of the developed nations. Our working hours are among the longest in the world, even when compared to less developed countries, because many Singaporeans have to work their ass off just to survive.

What's the point of a gov that builds all these expensive gardens, casinos and fancy shopping malls if many are too stressed, exhausted, or poor to enjoy them? The country becomes a playground for the rich and for foreigners, not the common Singaporean. Is this what a good gov should be doing?

Sorry for the typo.

Edited by chriszzz
Riders are paid for using their own transport but its not a significant amount. Its just a mere few dollars more. You did mention spending. Spending covers a big area. Loans are also spending. Just like how loans are taken up to pay for COE and not just bikes. Perhaps you have been hanging around with lazybums? Because an awful lot of those I know are always busy working not one but two jobs or more to cope with rising costs. And they do need the bike to get from the different job locations due to time constraint. So can they complain about the expensive COE then? :cool:

Sorry I did not know that you are just a hardworking guy.

Im surrounded by ppl whom are "lazy" but motivated that we only need to have a job. We can have a simple life with a bit spare to get ourselves a nice ride when COE is on the high as we push for it and get to where we are now. We started low but upgrade ourselves when we see the opportunity. We grab it and never look back.

I use to hold two jobs(shift and 12hr job) and was working like 7days a week but I tell myself this is not the life I want so I look for opportunities as it does not come knocking.

When im holding two jobs I saw ppl rushing here and there to meet the time constrain however when I dig more info from them what I get was totally different from what you had experienced.

They holding 2 jobs cause of loan(housing) but reason was they opt for condo and not HDB. Having big families which is the aftermath of sexual fun. Some is just to avoid household chore.

So I guess im just one of the. Lazybum you mention. Sorry for that as I rather hold one job than work 2. Been there done that.

All the ppl ard me are not born with silver spoon just that we are a motivated bunch of "lazybum" whom does not wait for thing to turn good and comfortable for us. We change and push ourselves to fit into the environment.

Sorry for my bad "England" as im not well educated. Im only holding a higher nitec which had no value at all. So please pardon me.

Lastly im not here to have a debate so I shall stop here. You can complain all you want but I just want to highlight Singapore will not change or i should say the world will not change to suit us, we had to change and adapt to the surrounding.

Happy CNY!!! HUAT AT 😊😊

Edited by Ni+3KiDz

Woah bike COE now is 5800!!!

having see such record high motorcycle COE; I thought of this and asked the authority.

For illustration; I renew my bike COE now by paying the PQP, for example 5000.

2 years later COE drop; PQP drop too, for example 1000.

Can I refund the unused 80% (8years) and pay for the new PQP of $1000?

Answer is no; refund of COE or PQP will only apply when a vehicle is deregistered.

Just sharing.

Good day.

http://i210.photobucket.com/albums/bb222/cookbird/DSCN4296.jpg
Sorry I did not know that you are just a hardworking guy.

Im surrounded by ppl whom are "lazy" but motivated that we only need to have a job. We can have a simple life with a bit spare to get ourselves a nice ride when COE is on the high as we push for it and get to where we are now. We started low but upgrade ourselves when we see the opportunity. We grab it and never look back.

I use to hold two jobs(shift and 12hr job) and was working like 7days a week but I tell myself this is not the life I want so I look for opportunities as it does not come knocking.

When im holding two jobs I saw ppl rushing here and there to meet the time constrain however when I dig more info from them what I get was totally different from what you had experienced.

They holding 2 jobs cause of loan(housing) but reason was they opt for condo and not HDB. Having big families which is the aftermath of sexual fun. Some is just to avoid household chore.

So I guess im just one of the. Lazybum you mention. Sorry for that as I rather hold one job than work 2. Been there done that.

All the ppl ard me are not born with silver spoon just that we are a motivated bunch of "lazybum" whom does not wait for thing to turn good and comfortable for us. We change and push ourselves to fit into the environment.

Sorry for my bad "England" as im not well educated. Im only holding a higher nitec which had no value at all. So please pardon me.

Lastly im not here to have a debate so I shall stop here. You can complain all you want but I just want to highlight Singapore will not change or i should say the world will not change to suit us, we had to change and adapt to the surrounding.

Happy CNY!!! HUAT AT 😊😊

Thank you for the flattery but I am not a hardworking guy. At least to me I am not.The moment you post your views it means its already open for discussion. The world does change and people are the one that makes it happen. The COE does not go up to 5000+ naturally. It changes due to human intervention. HDB is just as pricy as a condo. To the point that people have to take 20-30years loan. Saying that families have lots of kids due to only sexual fun is looking only at the surface. Look at the older generations. They have 8, 9 or more kids. So just sexual fun? Sorry if you felt that you are one of the lazybums. I never said you were. Also I never said about changing the world to suit us. Happy CNY to you too. :cool:

Edited by duo

KRGT-1