hi guys jus wan to knw wat polish piston N block mean?? Does it hlp in remove scratch on piston N block? Cos my sp piston N block got a small scratch n my last service i did't change it cos i don hv much money with mi. So i jus wan to check if polish it can remove the scratch:cheeky:

• Replies 8

It all depends on how bad the scratch is.. If okok then polish can liao.. If damn bad dan i suggest u change a new one.. Dun put ur life at risk as it can cause the piston to jam..

hi guys jus wan to knw wat polish piston N block mean?? Does it hlp in remove scratch on piston N block? Cos my sp piston N block got a small scratch n my last service i did't change it cos i don hv much money with mi. So i jus wan to check if polish it can remove the scratch:cheeky:

The process is called "honing". Not just simple "polishing".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hone

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

Sp's block inner lining wall is cerami c lined and cannot be hone or polish...correct me if I'm wrong. Piston cannot be polished or honed. You will have to change to a next larger sized piston to match the new bore diameter of the block ( applies only to cast metal block).

Whoever tells you can polish sp block is really out to con you!

Take care.

i last time abt (1/2 yr ago) i piston jam den i onli polish my block and change a newe piston and piston ring at AGL at malaysia (xing hock). yuntil now no problem. its onli cost me 130 sing dollars cos i using 2nd hand piston and piston ring hehe. next week go change a new piston and ring. if u want i can bring u go.

pm me if u want to go wif me.

http://tyga-performance.com/leighfrost/DSCN1810.JPG

i think i found the place yesterday. it's called sun ngai cheng or something. look for michael. sibeh lao jiao uncle working in this field for 30yrs at least. they specialize in rebuilding engines, repair crankshafts, boring and honing of cylinder block, renovation of cylinder head valve seats, etc. they use a honing machine to hone to block, not a hand held honing tool.

i was quoted RM220 for boring and honing of a 4 cylinders 1100cc block.

they know what they're doing and not some "engineering workshop" u find in the back alley.

the address is Jalan Scudai kiri, Jalan K-2, No 24-26.

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg