Northern Thailand - Mae Hong Son Loop (Sep 2007)

fn328k.multiply.com/photos

Life is short, Ride hard..........

• Replies 127

I normally rent from the shop near C'mai gate & the lady boss speaks Teochew & here son name is BON. I normally ask for a new bike at TB150.

Happy Hari Raya to all our Muslim riders ......................

HP: 93891138 :angel:

What are the recommended place to stay in Changmai? Since it is not advisable to do the Mae Hong Son(MHS) loop in a day, where is the recommended stop? MHS town? Any recommended accomodation over there? Thank to all who share their info here! :smile:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3194/2532558653_bfc8b7386c.jpg

Sunrise @ Sg Lembing

What are the recommended place to stay in Changmai? Since it is not advisable to do the Mae Hong Son(MHS) loop in a day, where is the recommended stop? MHS town? Any recommended accomodation over there? Thank to all who share their info here! :smile:

MHS is still quite a long way from Chiangmai. You can consider making more than 1 stop. In addition to MHS, you can consider stopping at Pai or Khun Yuam. Pai has plenty of choices for accomodations. At Khun Yuam, I would recommend Ban Farang Guesthouse.

Tha Phae Garden Guesthouse is good..... 400Baht for a nice clean guesthouse room, even better than some hotels. Location is between Tha Phae Gate, Loi Khro Rd & Night Bazaar. Super convenient.

If you are going to MHS, take the MHS anti clockwise route and return via Khun Yuam - Mae Chaem - Doi Inthanon - Chomthong - Chiang Mai. Route 1192 is superb..... super nice, tight, winding road. Taking this route brings u to Doi Inthanon without paying the 400Baht foreigner admission fee (effective Nov 2007). Damm bias.... foreigners now have to pay 400Baht to enter ALL national parks in Thailand, while Thai locals pay 20Baht or even free at some :sian: admissions.

FYI - Doi Inthanon was 4 deg celsius last Sunday morning!!!! farkinnnnngggggg cold......... I only wear 2 top clothings and had to battle the chill uphill. :giddy:

Tha Phae Garden Guesthouse is good..... 400Baht for a nice clean guesthouse room, even better than some hotels. Location is between Tha Phae Gate, Loi Khro Rd & Night Bazaar. Super convenient.

If you are going to MHS, take the MHS anti clockwise route and return via Khun Yuam - Mae Chaem - Doi Inthanon - Chomthong - Chiang Mai. Route 1192 is superb..... super nice, tight, winding road. Taking this route brings u to Doi Inthanon without paying the 400Baht foreigner admission fee (effective Nov 2007). Damm bias.... foreigners now have to pay 400Baht to enter ALL national parks in Thailand, while Thai locals pay 20Baht or even free at some :sian: admissions.

FYI - Doi Inthanon was 4 deg celsius last Sunday morning!!!! farkinnnnngggggg cold......... I only wear 2 top clothings and had to battle the chill uphill. :giddy:

Thank you for your recommendation & advise on the route. You just came back from doing MHS loop? Can i know where are the stops you made and the estimated duration of travel? Thanks! :smile:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3194/2532558653_bfc8b7386c.jpg

Sunrise @ Sg Lembing

Pauche, want to ask a few questions also...

How was the weather on the road?

Are there any tour agency in Chiangmai that operate like the ones in Hatyai for rooms booking?

Were you using any GPS?

Thank you for your recommendation & advise on the route. You just came back from doing MHS loop? Can i know where are the stops you made and the estimated duration of travel? Thanks! :smile:

I didnt do the full MHS loop, I only went to Mae Sariang in MHS province. And from Mae Sariang, I went to Mae Sam Laep where the Salawin River borders Thai and Myanmar.

If you are doing the MHS Loop, I suggest you do the anti clockwise route, stop a night at Pai, 2nd night in MHS, and 3rd day return via the Khun Yuam - Mae Chaem - Doi Inthanon - Chomthong - Chiang Mai route. This route is much better than taking Route 108 direct from Khun Yum - Mae Sariang - Chiang Mai.

If you have more time, stop 2 nights in Pai, and 2 nights in MHS.... lots of stuffs to explore in MHS province.

November-December is the sunflower bloom season.... there are lots of sunflowers along the side of the road. If you are going to Mae Ho (near Mae Sariang), there is a huge plantation of sunflowers in the mountains..... definately very scenic for photography!

Pauche, want to ask a few questions also...

How was the weather on the road?

Are there any tour agency in Chiangmai that operate like the ones in Hatyai for rooms booking?

Were you using any GPS?

weather was perfect during my travel last week. No rain, and not very sunny. cool breeze constantly cools you down during riding in the mountains.

there are tour agency like those in chiang mai, u can book your tours/hotels through them. but walking in to guesthouse are cheap lah.... guesthouses in chiang mai starts from 150baht per nite.

yes... i was using GPS.... and had clocked a top speed of 894km/h during the trip..

.....speed recorded is on SIN-CNX flight lah! :p

Maesalong is very cold now, day time it is 25degrees & night is like 12. Maesalong Little Home is own & run by Mr. Chang & wife, very nice place - 10 meter for the main morning market - rooms ( wooden) are very simple & well kept. Hotspring place is very nice with private pools but now no more giant size flowers. Lots of shop sell tea leaves - as main agriculture is tea growing.

There is even a mosque there............................

was riding from chiang dao to mae sai this morning...

temperature in the morning btw 7am-12pm thai time was as low as 12 degrees...i was wearing 3 layers excluding my riding jacket n thermal liner...

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

was riding from chiang dao to mae sai this morning...

temperature in the morning btw 7am-12pm thai time was as low as 12 degrees...i was wearing 3 layers excluding my riding jacket n thermal liner...

dude, heard abt ur mishap. hope u're ok.

i nvr experience dat kinda temperature there. was cold at nite in mae sai but nvr too cold. not even MHS. so u guys done MHS Loop? how my bro brayem n his new toy doing?

ride safe n enjoy ya..

Sport_Bike_Rider

http://im1.shutterfly.com/procserv/47b7cc20b3127cceb1565ade2b5a00000026100Acs2rJw2ZOWOg

hey Pauche .............. did u notice there is so little " kung Fai " in the Northern sky during the festival - must be the high oil price biting.

This was taken last week.....

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2122/2073857490_e075b5824d.jpg

picture courtesy of 'offspring', CS-er

wahhhhhhhhhhhhh sooooooooooooo many ............... I was watching from far din see so many ley ............................ Soooooooooooo................ Nice ....................

This was taken last week.....

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2122/2073857490_e075b5824d.jpg

picture courtesy of 'offspring', CS-er

Wah, which part of the town u took the pictures? I never see that many also ler... :faint: :thumb:

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1293/803949831_3325244f73.jpg
Wah, which part of the town u took the pictures? I never see that many also ler... :faint: :thumb:

exact location is du dong kasa tan.

dude, heard abt ur mishap. hope u're ok.

i nvr experience dat kinda temperature there. was cold at nite in mae sai but nvr too cold. not even MHS. so u guys done MHS Loop? how my bro brayem n his new toy doing?

ride safe n enjoy ya..

im doing fine...back home already...

did the MHS loop clockwise...i guess it's impossible to complete the loop within a day...

some stretch a road are quite bad and it don't favour the RT and the RSV...so i frequently see yem having smoke break along the stretch...

if i had my strommie there will have no problem swerving through the loop....

one thing we miss was going up to doi inthanon..

the route along mae saelong was awesome...

mae sai is freezing cold at night and even in the morning...

I love Maesalong ......................... hey Al-Simmons ....... did u check out the muslim mosque in Maesalong ??

i think i saw a sign somewhere near maesalong...i think the name of the mosque is Al Amin....din have time to check it out...

we were in a hurry to reach chiang mai...but the night was too dark and cold and we made a stopover and chiang dao...

maesalong has the best view in thailand....everything there are like postcard pics.... :thumb: