HI all.

This is to plead all riders to ride with care and always look out for cars. There are alot of reckless drivers and riders out on the road. Please relay to your friends or family.

Firstly, I am working w an insurer (M...). I too rides. Based on our study on motorcycles, the claims and accidents has been escalating since last year. It has never been so bad for the past 20 years.

I am not here to explain why there is a hike in the insurance premium. You will know when you start reading newspaper daily (home section...not sports or toto)...hahah.

So I plead all riders to exercise the below. Hope to see or hear less accidents.

1) Please ride safely. Do not speed. Do not zig zag the lanes. Cut corners with proper speed (especially when carrying a pillion.)

2) Look out for other users such as cars, bikes, pedestrains etc....

3) Ride with the right attitude. Stay calm. It helps me especially when i get impatient on the road.

4) When accident happen, contact your agent or insurer. Do not engage lawyers or workshop without knowing them. Most of the lawyers and workshops are out there to claim more than you can imagine. You will be the one suffered...trust me....i know what i'm typing.

5) If both parties agreed to settle privately, DO NOT REPORT TO INSURER... make sure there is proper docements signed by both parties...ie private settlement letter. This will protect yourselves in case the other party write in to claim from your insurer.

Hope everyone rides safely.......cheers

• Replies 23

Please ride safely. Do not speed. Do not zig zag the lanes. Cut corners with proper speed (especially when carrying a pillion.)

Look out for other users such as cars, bikes, pedestrains etc....

A friend once said..Speedin doesn't really kill..Its being stationary for a short period of time that does..:cheeky:

Also I have a number of friends being hit by cars/lorries while they were travellin within the speed limit on the most left lane..:cheeky:

How careful or safely you ride..If there's a reckless driver thinkin he's in an F1 race..The safety of the rider will still be jeopardize..Well I guess..The advices given on top should be directed to a driver..Seein how most motorcycle accidents involves other bigger vehicles..

I agree wit u.. But speeding aso kills wat.. if u r too fast, u wont have time to react esp if a car or wat suddenly swerves into ur lane or watsoever.. either way.. going too slow or too fast is dangerous lah..

i tink that accident when wan to happen cannot avoid one...

lets say u riding at a safe speed but one idiot bang u...u cant do anything about that..u are "right" but still kena..

then imagine,u riding high speed, but no one around and so noting happen...so later go home u argue with safe-riding-preachers that "i speed noting leh..."

my point here is that accidents can happen anytime but of coz, being patient and practising considerate riding SURELY lowers the probability of u being in an accident...

juz my 2cents worth...

ride safe all!!!

2005-2006 : Yamaha RXZ 135

2006-2010 : Honda Super 4 Spec I

2010-2012 : Honda VFR 800 5th Gen

2012-current : SYM MaxSym 400i

yah..wat u said tru..accident happen if u r bound to meet it..hehehe..even when u r in a right of way or lane, doesnt mean tha law will b by ur side..happen to my fren... :cheeky:

yup..it also up to fate. i heard recently a pillion died when he accidentally slept and fell off bike. he died. but then...got speculation he died while on the bike coz he just fell like that and nv got hit by a vehicle.. so if God wants u back, u gotta go means u gotta go.

Yamaha 125Z-Oct 2006 to OCT 2010

HONDA CB400 SPEC 1 - OCT 2010..

u can hv d full attention on road conditions, abiding 2 d speed limit, keeping safe distance between d front vehicle but it jus takes 1 idiot 2 do all d DONT'S n WHAM!...an accident happens. who dun wana b careful while riding on d roads...life is at stake while riding n even more if got pillion

fate... god's will... so why do god want all these poor ppl before their time? why must god be so bad? or wat did they do to make god want to take them back?

no wonder u scared. 1yr only. take bus/mrt better i reckon for u.

may all be well and happy

yea guys...n look out for other vehicles incoming ure path...i just came back from accident on 051007, hit by a lorry making a right turn while i was going straight.

YAMAHA FZ1S ABS 2K12

For guys who leave everything to fate, i really pity you. I sincerely believe your life is at your hand. Please really take care of yourself before leaving it to fate.

Fatal accidents are becoming more and more common. I really pity the victims' family who have to suffer much more than those who left.

Singapore is a civilised country...please do not make your road looks like babarians' road.

Cheers and ride safely.

i ride, i siam cars.

i drive, i give way to 2 wheelers.

But sometimes, when i ride or drive past little india, i have the urge to raise my arm up or wind down the window to slap those who cross the road recklessly. drive by slapping :D

it is only natural for bikers to give way to other 2 wheelers when they drive

at the very least i do too

& yes... i agree with sheep

little india has always been the place to test if my horn is still working

i did not buy a stebel magnum horn to collect water only

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

yea man, think the hike in insurance is due to the increasing number of bike accidents on the road..

The best thing is to cultivate an awareness of the situation around you. I ride everyday thinking that everyone is out to kill me. I think thats y i'm prolly still alive...

When lane splitting (sometimes u have to thats y some of us ride...) keep a lookout for open spaces and look at the cars beside the open spaces, if their heads even turn abit to the side prolly means they wanna cut into that lane liao. Match your speed accordingly to the vehicle speed around u. Faster yet slow enuff to be able to observe the traffic situation around and ahead of u.

When approaching any yellow box (be it traffic lite junction or juz a T junction, SLOW DOWN!!! You will never know when a car will deside to turn out even if u know the driver has seen you. Sometimes the brain think faster than the hands and feet! The driver might want to stop but the leg still pressing on the gas!

Be esp. careful around taxis when u see potiential passengers by the road and u are travelling near one. Do not think that u will be safe once they finish picking up/ drop off the passengers! Relax only when u are a safe distance from them!

When there are stupid jay walkers on the road, DO NOT THINK FOR A SINGLE MOMENT THAT THEY WILL HURRY UP. Most prolly they will stop and stand in the middle of the road or still walk slowly!!! HORNS DOES NOT HELP! Stop and allow them to cross first. U knock them u sala, they knock u, u sala! No point!

Thats a few general advise to keep yourself safer (note that it is safer not safe as when god wants u by his side, u muz go) on the road.

Hope this helps keep more riders from becoming a statistic.

Ride safe.

Relax!

hate inconsiderate jaywalkers. and walkers who still walk slowly after light turn red for them. like wanna ride by and give them a kick road rash style. if only i can fix a bus or ship horn to scare the hell out of them.

Yamaha 125Z-Oct 2006 to OCT 2010

HONDA CB400 SPEC 1 - OCT 2010..

few days ago saw a kupkia hit the side of a car turning right a traffic light junction, the kup was going straight with green/ right of way, from the damage on both vehicle, i suspect th kup ride very fast, yes he is in right of way, green light, the car driver fault. So what???!!......the kup rider that is the one lying groaning in pain.